Used 1992 Saturn S-Series Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$776 - $1,833

Used S-Series for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great First Car

spacedude86, 06/02/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This was my first car, and it was a great little gas saver. If you plan on picking one up, do it. It was reliable for about 25K miles before I had to put about $500 into a new alternator. Lacked horsepower or an real luxury features, but that's not what you're buying this car for. You're buying this car for a little commuter car than will get you from point A to point B. I thought it was fun to drive. It's light weight almost makes up for the lack of power. Fun through the corners.

Report Abuse

Nice Beginner Car

sean, 08/08/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got this car when I was 15. I got awesome gas mileage even when I drove it like a maniac. It is a good car for beginner drivers. I learned manual in it and so did my little cousin.

Report Abuse

America's cheap econo car

T. Patten, 08/24/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with 156k on it and have put almost 10k on it no problems at all. Great mileage 42 mpg at best 36 mpg at worst and 39 mpg avr. If you arer looking for cheap and a gas saver buy one of these. Pretty basic but gets the job done

Report Abuse

GM really blew it, getting rid of Saturn

Kevin, 04/30/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had been looking at Saturns after returning from 3 years in Germany (USAF). My Olds moved-up my plans, and a young airman on base was selling her's before going to the UK. The bare-bones SL at least had A/C, and the optional CD player! I normally had 33 to 35 mpg, and as high as 40 mpg, and using the A/C with wife, two kids, and luggage in the car! Yes, it was burring oil towards the end, and the materials used inside weren't the best, but I had over 250,000 miles on the car. GM made a big mistake by rebadging some Saturns as Chevys, Pontiacs, etc. Then they went away from that wonderful "lost-foam" cast 1.9L motor. GM should have stayed with the SL/SC line, and added the Vue, & Sky

Report Abuse

STILL GOING

saturn girl, 08/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

WE BOUGHT OUR SATURN AT 164000 AND NOW AFTER THREE YEARS, IT HAS OVER 206000 MILES. IT HAS BEEN A VERY REILABLE CAR AND WE HAVE ONLY HAD TO DO THE USUAL OIL CHANGE AND TIRES. WE WILL KEEP IT UNTIL SHE DIES, HOPEFULLY TILL 300000 MILES.

Report Abuse

My review

Alison Amelia, 09/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my car for 4 years and have been very pleased with it. I had never thought about buying a Saturn befour, but now that I have had one, I think I will stick with this make.

Report Abuse

save you money!

Sir It Got Better!, 10/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

purchased 160K now DEAD at 280K. burns a LOT of oil - 1 L of oil with every 2nd fuel up! Good fuel econ. Problems include: alternator died, battery died, clutch died, and now the engine is dead - broke 5 of 8 rocker arms on start-up!! Was good for a while but soon became a major pain. Put on a lot of miles and is NOT comfortable on long trips. Parts VERY expensive (windshield, engine parts, etc) not many were made at time of manufacture and some parts are impossible to find (such as a set of new rocker arms!) Enjoy while you can but dump it off before the miles get to high!

Report Abuse

Dependable Manual Transmission

cheffer, 11/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have driven my SL for almost 200,000 miles and have only replaced the tires, battery, brakes, oil, and an alternator

Report Abuse

Look beyond the cover

allaps, 02/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned my 92 Saturn SL1 for almost ten years and it still runs like a top. It has started every day except one time when the weather dipped into the below zero marker once. With a jump start it was fine. To this day, the engine sounds the same as the day I bought it. It now has 92,000 miles on it. I have since stepped up my purchasing power over the years, but I can honesting say this is the best car I've ever owned and I'd buy another one for my family any day.

Report Abuse

My 1992 Saturn SL2

Jack Durden, 10/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2001 as a daily driver with 158k miles. It is aquick little car. The 124 horses will get the little 4-door up to 60 mph in about six seconds. (I timed it with 93 octane and performance switched on). This car has never left me stranded and starts and runs like a top. Minor problems - my AC quit, it still blows but it isn't cold. Also the odomiter died and no longer counts miles. The cats are also dead and the exhaust is LOUD. The dent resistant doors and bumpers are great. I was rear ended in traffic at about 15 mph and that caused me to hit the person in front of me. There was zero damage front to rear. Great daily driver.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050