Used 1992 Saturn S-Series Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$796 - $1,880

Used S-Series for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great First Car

spacedude86, 06/02/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This was my first car, and it was a great little gas saver. If you plan on picking one up, do it. It was reliable for about 25K miles before I had to put about $500 into a new alternator. Lacked horsepower or an real luxury features, but that's not what you're buying this car for. You're buying this car for a little commuter car than will get you from point A to point B. I thought it was fun to drive. It's light weight almost makes up for the lack of power. Fun through the corners.

Report Abuse

Nice Beginner Car

sean, 08/08/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got this car when I was 15. I got awesome gas mileage even when I drove it like a maniac. It is a good car for beginner drivers. I learned manual in it and so did my little cousin.

Report Abuse

America's cheap econo car

T. Patten, 08/24/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with 156k on it and have put almost 10k on it no problems at all. Great mileage 42 mpg at best 36 mpg at worst and 39 mpg avr. If you arer looking for cheap and a gas saver buy one of these. Pretty basic but gets the job done

Report Abuse

GM really blew it, getting rid of Saturn

Kevin, 04/30/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had been looking at Saturns after returning from 3 years in Germany (USAF). My Olds moved-up my plans, and a young airman on base was selling her's before going to the UK. The bare-bones SL at least had A/C, and the optional CD player! I normally had 33 to 35 mpg, and as high as 40 mpg, and using the A/C with wife, two kids, and luggage in the car! Yes, it was burring oil towards the end, and the materials used inside weren't the best, but I had over 250,000 miles on the car. GM made a big mistake by rebadging some Saturns as Chevys, Pontiacs, etc. Then they went away from that wonderful "lost-foam" cast 1.9L motor. GM should have stayed with the SL/SC line, and added the Vue, & Sky

Report Abuse

92Urn

Dave79rs, 07/17/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has 138,000 miles with the only replacement parts being a EGR valve, the headlamp motor(while under warrenty)and standard wear items (belts, brakes rotors). It still is on the original clutch! This is has been a very reliable car!

Report Abuse

Best Car I've Owned

JonMan, 08/23/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had this one for ten years. In that time only had to take it in a few times for minor repairs and normal maintenance. No major breakdowns yet. Drove it all over Western Europe while in the Army and across country when I came home. By far, the best car purchacse I've ever made.

Report Abuse

STILL GOING

saturn girl, 08/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

WE BOUGHT OUR SATURN AT 164000 AND NOW AFTER THREE YEARS, IT HAS OVER 206000 MILES. IT HAS BEEN A VERY REILABLE CAR AND WE HAVE ONLY HAD TO DO THE USUAL OIL CHANGE AND TIRES. WE WILL KEEP IT UNTIL SHE DIES, HOPEFULLY TILL 300000 MILES.

Report Abuse

My review

Alison Amelia, 09/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my car for 4 years and have been very pleased with it. I had never thought about buying a Saturn befour, but now that I have had one, I think I will stick with this make.

Report Abuse

save you money!

Sir It Got Better!, 10/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

purchased 160K now DEAD at 280K. burns a LOT of oil - 1 L of oil with every 2nd fuel up! Good fuel econ. Problems include: alternator died, battery died, clutch died, and now the engine is dead - broke 5 of 8 rocker arms on start-up!! Was good for a while but soon became a major pain. Put on a lot of miles and is NOT comfortable on long trips. Parts VERY expensive (windshield, engine parts, etc) not many were made at time of manufacture and some parts are impossible to find (such as a set of new rocker arms!) Enjoy while you can but dump it off before the miles get to high!

Report Abuse

Dependable Manual Transmission

cheffer, 11/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have driven my SL for almost 200,000 miles and have only replaced the tires, battery, brakes, oil, and an alternator

Report Abuse

Look beyond the cover

allaps, 02/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned my 92 Saturn SL1 for almost ten years and it still runs like a top. It has started every day except one time when the weather dipped into the below zero marker once. With a jump start it was fine. To this day, the engine sounds the same as the day I bought it. It now has 92,000 miles on it. I have since stepped up my purchasing power over the years, but I can honesting say this is the best car I've ever owned and I'd buy another one for my family any day.

Report Abuse

My 1992 Saturn SL2

Jack Durden, 10/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2001 as a daily driver with 158k miles. It is aquick little car. The 124 horses will get the little 4-door up to 60 mph in about six seconds. (I timed it with 93 octane and performance switched on). This car has never left me stranded and starts and runs like a top. Minor problems - my AC quit, it still blows but it isn't cold. Also the odomiter died and no longer counts miles. The cats are also dead and the exhaust is LOUD. The dent resistant doors and bumpers are great. I was rear ended in traffic at about 15 mph and that caused me to hit the person in front of me. There was zero damage front to rear. Great daily driver.

Report Abuse

Still My Trusty Steed

chuckf, 08/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 11 years and it has been the best car-owning experience of my life. Reliable, low maintenace, great on gas and fun to drive. Sunroof broke recently, but it is not a necessity. All cars should be like this.

Report Abuse

Saturn SL2 1992

tamariadawn, 09/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had to replace the alternator x3 and the sepentine belt x3 in the 10.5 years I have owned the car. Leather driver seat wore out/cracked after about 5 years. Low head room for tall persons. Slow acceleration from a complete stop. Smooth ride. Good fuel economy (20 city/25-30 HWY). Would own again but newer model preferred (LS series).

Report Abuse

the truth

stratz, 09/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

great car i love it 12years and running strong

Report Abuse

Agree with Saturn Sam

RickyTT, 10/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It keeps going and going. Sadly, I will be parting ways with her but we've had a good run. Roof leaks, Burns Oil, but still has good handling and gas mileage... those dent resistant panels still look great.. this after years of abuse out in the elements (no garage)!

Report Abuse

Build Your Life Around A Saturn

Brendan Kilfoil, 10/05/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My father was nice enough to buy me a Saturn for my 17th bithday, and we've been together ever since...the Saturn and me...me and my dad too. This 1992 Saturn SL2 is a great car. Sure it isn't the snaziest, or fastest, but it sure is a great car. It has never given me problems and it's worked when I needed it. I recommend it to anyone and everyone!!!! Buy a Saturn and you won't be upset!

Report Abuse

D.SATURN

jan dean, 10/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just recently bought this vehicle off of a private owner. Seems to run real good and the perfomance is good. The body style, I like it pretty good. The difference is that I've went from a dodge minivan to this car. This was a big step for me, whom is a mother of 2 small children. Important is it has enough room for the hole family, but at the same time, it is still small enough to still look real sporty. Gas mileage is wonderful!!!

Report Abuse

Very Reliable & Fun

Schrader, 10/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car for my wife in 1999 with 150K miles (hwy) on it. We owned it for 4 years until we moved then sold it to my sister with 177K miles. PROS: Very reliable (no major repairs needed); easy to work on yourself and lots of fun. CONS: Sunroof motor broke, starter and oxygen sensor went bad but with 150K miles you need to expect some minor repairs.

Report Abuse

great car!!

rollinlarge2700, 11/16/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i have had this saturn for about 3 months. i got it for an extremely low price!!!!!! i have had to replace a few things on it. but even with those repairs i could sell it and make double/triple what the total cost was for me!! great gas mileage 350-400 a tank. faster then many other compact cars, especially imports. nice and comfertable inside. leather holds up very well. great on gas and amazing on insurance

Report Abuse

Surprising car

Bobmobile, 02/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car last year and it still runs good after 145k miles. It starts every day during Canadian winter. It's reliable, fast and fun to drive with the 5-speed transmission. I surprised some cars with 16.67s for ¼ mile. Some plastics feel real cheap and it burns oil, but it's not expensive to repair. Other problems, the gas gauge and A/C aren't working anymore.

Report Abuse

It was OK

betteroffwithaford, 08/03/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car for $1000 about a year ago with 92k on it. I wasn't a big fan of it, but hey it was cheap. The front facia's clearcoat was peeling. The first thing I noticed was the left wheel bearing, then went the right. during that short period of nothing going wrong it was a great car to drive, awesome on gas and just a great car in general. Then my alternator blew. Then finally my tranny was skipping 3rd gear so it had to go. My advice do not get a Saturn that is older than a 1995.

Report Abuse

Loving this car

Barbara, 03/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned my car for 10 years. I just love it. No major problems,low maintance car.

Report Abuse

I still love my Saturn

Klaire, 09/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent gas mileage - between 32- 35MPG in the city. Very reliable & excellent in the snow as long as you have good tires. Cheap interior - the power window has a tendency not to work and the plastic is low grade but mechanically, this car just goes and goes. The 5 speed standard is peppy and easy to drive. Seats are comfortable and visibility within the car is also good. Engine drags when the A/C is on though.

Report Abuse

My red Serrari

Elmodorph, 11/24/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned my car since 2001 and I must say people get annoyed when I pass them on the highway. I am a road warrior by trade and I love my manual shift, manual window with the cruise control option. If you read the review from 11 sep 04 by Klaire it is exactly what I would say but I don’t have power windows so I don’t have that problem. I commonly take it over 100 mph and it goes. My favorite upgrade is my wider tires it brings the handling and stability to new levels. Warning do not drive over 100 mph with the stock sized tires! My other vehicles are a BMW 5 series, Volkswagen passat. I love my cheesy Saturn. It’s the cheapest to maintain.

Report Abuse

Keeps on tickin'

BLS, 01/18/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car with 83,000 miles on it and now have 220,000. Between then and now, it has been through hot and cold, fast and slow, and has been totaled and repaired and is still highly reliable transportation. The A/C compressor cracked about three years ago, but repair would have been more than the car was worth. Other than this, routine maintenance has been its only demand. Now in its golden years, cosmetic items are breaking and wearing, but it still fulfills its mission: reliable transportation! A great value!

Report Abuse

Bestn car I ever owned

AlP, 02/01/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new in January 1992 and have put extensive mileage on it ( I estimate over 250K). After all that time and travel only two things do not work, the odometer and the tape deck. Radio, A/C and all other things still operate. Incidentally, I have used it as the truck for all my home improvement projects including extensive landscaping, irrigation and carpentry. I am about to replace it with a sedan more suited to my advancing years and physical capabilities. I will miss it a lot.

Report Abuse

I wish it would quit running

SaturnSam, 03/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Saturn is the most reliable, car I hope anyone ever ownes. I have no reason to part with it other that I am tired of it.

Report Abuse

Cheap car

khusid, 06/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very cheap car in everything, quality especially. No competition to Japanese cars. Decent engine, nice acceleration but mine eats a lot of oil and other problems even though the car is only 80K (nothing by the Japanese standards). Interior is as cheap as it can get, roof is leaking, plastic is crumbling, the car is vibrating.

Report Abuse

Don't

Badger & Bobcat, 03/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Iimage is BS. Engine mounts not torqued. Sound proofing not installed. Two failed alternators. Oil change the service tech did not install the oil filler cap. Repair shop replaced the coolant with water. Result was a burst line while visiting my mother in New England. Threatened to take Saturn to court before they agreed to pay for repair. Odometer broke. Repair was to the tune of $235. Brake pads failed. The transmision died.

Report Abuse

Great small car

saturn man, 07/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for over 10 years and have been very happy with it. I bought the top of the line interior so I have no complaints except that the cup holder stinks. handleing with the 5 speed stick is exclellent. plastic body panels have saved me from many a repair and they still look great after 10 + years.

Report Abuse

Good and bad...

Jynxie, 03/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got this car after falling in love with the exterior sporty look it had. It was the car I seemed to have always wanted. It drove nice, looked nice... the only thing bad was that as it got older (around year 2000) it seemed to just FALL APART. I was going to hand it over to my sister and by that time, it was a 92 model with 2000 parts.

Report Abuse

SATURN is super car!

J Merrin, 11/05/2016
SL1 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have found this Saturn to be more than reliable. It has served me well. I've left it unused and unattended for long periods of time, and it starts up and runs beautifully from the moment I turn on the ignition. It has low mileage because of infrequent use. Everything about the car functions well.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050