Skip to main content
12345...7

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2018 Promaster City, so we've included reviews for other years of the Promaster City since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
2 out of 5 stars

Very underwhelming after 2000 miles

Aceadman, 08/20/2019
2018 Ram Promaster City Tradesman Cargo 4dr Minivan (2.4L 4cyl 9A)
27 of 27 people found this review helpful

I was looking for a simple small cargo van and after driving the Promaster City, Ford Transit Connect, and small Nissan van, I chose the Ram. I have to say that after 2000 miles of driving it, I am distinctly not impressed. The transmission seems VERY clunky especially at low speeds. With very light acceleration, at very low speeds, it often seems to almost "sputter" as thought it's about to stall. For a truck designed for CITY driving, awkward engine performance at LOW speeds is a ridiculous flaw. Motortrend said it has smooth transmission, but I beg to differ. It feels like it shifts 11 times when accelerating from 0 to 45 from a stop. really awkward and jerky. It really NEVER seems like it's in the correct gear, and I am constantly overriding the automatic transmission downshifting as a rule. It has a very rough idle when in gear and stopped. I actually took it back to the dealer in the first week because it seemed broken, but they said that's the way it runs. To me, it shakes worse than my 2003 Subaru Forester, a 16 year old car with issues of its own. Putting it in neutral smooths out the idle but it is still worse than you'd expect in any vehicle in 2018. Cargo space is good and exactly what I need, but it does seem a bit cheaply made. The box seems pretty flimsy when you close any door. Much has been made of the awkward driving position, and I notice it, but it doesn't really bother me. I can adjust to it. Air conditioner works well as does defroster. Haven't really used the heat yet. Rubber gasket on rear door peeled off when pulling something out through the back. I got it back on, but I think that's a bad design. Side doors work well. The little "storage" details are all pretty lousy. But that's no big deal to me. Could EASILY be more ergonomic and usable with really minimal thought and work. The rear brakes are crazy noisy, when it's empty especially. It sounds like they have no pads in the rear and are "scraping" on something rather than slowing the wheels. I thought it might "break in" but did not. If I hadn't had the same issue in the one I test drove, I'd think something was wrong. All in all, the flaws are workable EXCEPT for the transmission/engine performance. It's really annoying and makes the vehicle NO FUN to drive. in 2018, everything should be fun to drive.

Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

The worst vehicle I have ever owned.

D. R., 06/13/2018
updated 12/28/2020
2016 Ram Promaster City Wagon SLT 4dr Minivan (2.4L 4cyl 9A)
48 of 51 people found this review helpful

Every time I take it to the shop for repair (2-3 times a year), it’s like buying this piece of junk van all over again. If you like paying way too much for repairs that are needed way too often... needing an alignment as often as an oil change, riding around in seats that are like torture devices, and having a digital transmission that causes whiplash every time it changes gears, then this is the vehicle for you! Thank you RAM, for ramming me into poverty. Repeatedly. Almost any vehicle will now seem luxurious after this one. Update! Had a $2000 fix in May of 2018 to replace the front axel. Don’t know why the axel broke from regular use. Probably just something promasters do. December of same year: the coolant thermostat crapped out and a replacement thermostat cost $500 by itself. May 2019- Air vents started misting coolant in at me. Went to dealership to get the heater core replaced ($900) the car promptly broke down on the interstate and I had to get towed back... coolant drenching everything inside and out. EVEN THE SUPER EXPENSIVE REPLACEMENT PARTS ARE TERRIBLY BUILT. The dealership re-‘fixed’.... but left the van in such a mess that I couldn't actually tell whether or not it was fixed (Coolant still dripping on my feet and everywhere). I had to take it to a different dealership where they charged me $130 just to tell me whether the heater core was fixed or not. They claim it is... after having serious questions about why the heater core has no support bracket... turns out the answer is that Ram didn’t make these vans with a support bracket for the heater core. Would have been too expensive for them. Quality control need not apply. June - 2020 - the slow death of my vehicle and wallet continue. Sway bar links had to get replaced... somehow one of the replacements even ends up being defective. It's like the pro master city's natural state is to be broken. Dec 2020- Blinker stopped working. In a normal vehicle this would be a twenty dollar fuse box fix (the relay). But the blinker in the promaster has no fuse or relay. It goes through the computer. Which means what is normally a twenty dollar fix you can do yourself, on this van is of course a five hundred dollar part and you’ll need a mechanic so as not to set off the airbag... replacing the blinker relay on a Ram Promaster means having to replace every other switch on the steering column as well. Thanks Ram. Under both the seats is an in explicable hole that you can reach quite a ways back under the floor. I don’t know how, but when I drive through rain they fill with water. And stuff starts to mold. Ram promaster goes above and beyond. It’s not just a mechanical hazard, it’s a biological hazard too. There’s also a new intermittent leak from the dash onto the passenger front seat side floor. Would have assumed it’s to do with the ac, except it’s winter and I haven’t been running the ac. Starting to get the feeling the van is trying to drown itself. Maybe I’ll give it what it wants and drive it into a lake. A Christmas miracle. What will fall off next? When will the money run out to repair this pothole with wheels? Stay tuned for more exciting adventures in pro disaster city... the anti-herbie.

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
1 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Promaster City Wagon SLT

Lostrminds, 07/11/2016
2016 Ram Promaster City Wagon SLT 4dr Minivan (2.4L 4cyl 9A)
25 of 27 people found this review helpful

Sitting at home late one night researching minivans on YouTube. Thank goodness I ran across the Ram Promaster City Wagon. The wife wanted stown'go style mini. That was enough to make me throw up but this van was interesting. We had looked at and drove C, D, H, K & T vans, did I miss any? Sure they had the stuff but they carried the average $33k+ price tag. Two weeks later a new Ram City Wagon SLT in our drive. A great bang for the buck. Now owning our Ram Promaster City Wagon SLT for almost 3 weeks now with 2400 miles on the clock. I can say we love it. Ride, handling, gas mileage and interior space is fabulous. Our wagon had a long list of options from heated seats, backup camera w/ rear audible sensors, fog lamps, aluminum wheels, electric windows and doors (child proof lock outs in rear for windows & doors too), adjustable steering wheel, electric adjustable heated mirrors, rear wiper/washer with defroster and the Uconnect radio which is far superior than our Mylink on our GM. The front overhead storage shelf is Awesome, too. For the cup/bottle holder baby crowd: front doors 2, rear doors 1 and center console 2 that's a total of 8. Head room, shoulder, leg room up front and back is great. The front doors offer easy access to the front seats which are equipped with turn knobs to adjust seat recliner with lumbar support. Boohoo no lever. Passenger has recliner knob. The rear sliding doors open to expose rear seats that tumble forward in 60/40 fashion. 60 on drivers side 40 on passenger side but are non-removable. Putting our toddler in his car seat with ease, no issues with banging your head, bending over straining your back and easy access to adjust that car seat. Also each rear seating position (3) has the LATCH System to install a child's car seat. Cabin safety I see front air bags, front bucket seats tagged with airbag equipped and side curtain airbags front and rear, too. I read something about knee protection: not sure if that means airbag or just the design of the lower dash. Other safety items that seem standard on every vehicle I assume need to be stated: antilock brakes, skid control, hill assist. A personal not on safety I've read the professional reviewers complain of "NO" 3rd row seat: thank goodness! I've witnessed a few highway rear ended accidents in my day and everyone I've witnessed are automobiles that get smashed into the back to the rear window. It is in my personal option a tragedy waiting to happen to place your children or loved ones in a far rear seat/3rd row in any minivan or small SUVs. That could result in your child being (the Bumper) compacted in any type of rear end Collision/accident. As the driver I have a cripple zone in front of me with airbags and a steering to attempt to maneuver but you have limited of no control what so ever when hit from behind. With that in mind why would you place a child in the rear crumple zone! Explain that to me? Why! A quick internet search will qualify my option. Purchase a full sized van, Suv or a bus. The rear cargo doors are also 60/40 opening to 90 or 180 degrees they offer easy low height access to the rear cargo area which is carpeted with 4 anchoring points and shallow built-in side shelving on both sides. Rear cargo area is roughly 49" between wheels by 52" with seats up and 67" with seats folded. Stack that firewood, carry mulch, toss in the dog or pickup your groceries with no worries of damaging your interior cargo area, no fancy trim just space. Our gas mileage is averaging 26.8. Nice pickup, great cruising on the highway. Set cruise at allowable speed and the motor and 9 speed automatic handles it nicely. If you want to control your shifts tap the gear selector to manual and take control of that 9 speed gear box. Handling on the winding roads at posted limit to me is sure footed and pleasant. In our area we have many unpaved, washboard, loose gravel roads it performs satisfactorily stays were pointed. I've driven auto cross in my Alfa, motorcycles, snowmobiles and boats. Is it my Alfa Spider no but it's not a barge either. Fun would be the word with manners. Interior noise seems to be a topic of concern. It's a van! Well we both think our Ram interior is as quiet as our 2014 Chevy extended super quiet cab. Nice sounding 6 speaker stereo, free satellite radio for a year, flawless Bluetooth hookup and iTunes no problem. Two 12volt plugs between the seats and one in the rear driver side also near the shifter a usb and audio input for your phone. I personally like the look of the wagon. I've fielded many questions from I suppose similar minded folks at almost every stop: gas station, grocery and even the highway rest area. I'm willing to shown'tell but the wife not so much. Our dealer was superb out of Warren PA. Hats off to Cory and Troy. Best ever experience I've ever had! Out the door with the exterior and interior protection treatments and a Michelin tire swap w/nitrogen came in rig

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Very poor interior/exterior design

Sharon, 11/26/2018
2018 Ram Promaster City Wagon SLT 4dr Minivan (2.4L 4cyl 9A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

Things I don't like: van is too narrow. gear shift & emergency break situated between driver & passenger, one very small cup holder, very useless indented places to put stuff, almost inaccessible over head shelf, controls for lights etc. in weird places; turn on/off high beams and turn signals come on, wipers only have 3 speeds, poor visibility, and over all construction VERY poor quality- very light & tinny. This is after a week of owning this vehicle. I bought it for the cargo area for farm and art show use, and also needed to be able to carry passengers occasionally. This was the best of the Ford, Chevy/Nissan etc. from what I could find locally.

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

What can't my Promaster City Wagon do?

Wendy F, 09/15/2016
updated 09/16/2019
2016 Ram Promaster City Wagon SLT 4dr Minivan (2.4L 4cyl 9A)
41 of 47 people found this review helpful

I love my Promaster City Wagon. In bright yellow, I might add. It looks like a little bread truck/caution sign driving down the road but I am so happy inside. I have to say that I am trading in two cars for this one PMC wagon: a 1998 Toyota Tacoma with camper shell, and a 1995 Chevy Lumina minivan. I like a car with great utility and a car that I can sleep in on road trips. My old truck and van were each really good in their own way. But my new PMC Wagon tops them both--as a hybrid truck/van monster. Obviously my review is being written by someone that drove a Tacoma and an old van--not a Lexus so my needs for comfort and luxury may be somewhat less than yours, but here is what I think. This car is so fun to drive and so comfortable that I have no idea that I am in a cargo van -- except for the fact that it holds boat loads of stuff. It accelerates quickly -- too quickly if you want to watch your gas mileage, it handles and turns very well. It stays on the road. I can pass ANYONE on the highway, and often do. No trouble getting up to speed to merge onto the highway either. The seats are comfortable in the SLT with the extra lumbar support. It is true, you do have to crank the recliner knob and it is a bit slow, my old Lumina van was the same way. The front seats go so far back that you can sleep in them just fine. I am 6'2" and find so much leg room up front that I don't have to put the seat all the way back (never happens in other cars). If you don't want to sleep in the front seat then tumble half the back seat forward and sleep diagonal on the floor (if you're under 6' tall you don't have to sleep diagonal). It can come with satellite radio and has a great entertainment/computer console with buttons integrated into the steering wheel, built-in hands-free phone calls with bluetooth. Someone complained about not having a CD player. Well any smart phone or mp3 device will hook right up to the radio console with USB or bluetooth. Tons of head room, you can put your arms straight up and wave them around. Way cool overhead storage and clever bottle holders in the door pockets. Good, solid construction. Sliding doors are light and very slidey with very clever handles. I love the simplicity and design of the door handles and latches and the combination door handle/lock button in the front seats. Cavernous front seating area with wide angle view. I want to drive this thing to Alaska to see the wide open scenery. I think it is quiet. I know it is quiet compared to my Tacoma (which is a noisy little truck) and even compared to the Lumina. Even during a wind storm, I did not feel that the van was too tall or got too much wind noise or battering around. Note that it is wider than your average minivan. A wider track like a jeep might be helping to avoid that too-tall feeling. It corners like a car, not like a van. I have almost 5,000 miles on it so far and no mechanical problems yet (knock on wood). I am getting about 24 mpg in town and more like 26 on the highway. Best mileage in 9th gear (85mph and 30 mpg). I have not tried it in the snow yet. As a front wheel drive I expect it will do OK, but we'll see. It has a quick disconnect battery! Seriously, you just pull up a big pin. I have been waiting for that for years. My first car was a Studebaker (no I am not that old...the car was older than me) and I loved my Studebaker because of the simple, functional design. I feel like I have finally bought another Studebaker. You can't beat the combination of price and utility (and I suspect, but we don't know yet because it is a new model...reliability). Driver fatigue is very low in this car due to comfort. The speedometer is oddly off to the left of the dashboard (not centered) and I don't think the trip computer allows you to show a digital speed which would be handy. What you see in front of you is the date and some other trip info. I think this is funny because the date doesn't change--all day long. But maybe if you're using this as a work van and have to sit in that front seat and do paperwork, you'll appreciate knowing where to find the date? I had wanted to buy a car with automatic climate control, but this car did not have that option. I must say I really don't spend much time fiddling with the temperature controls in this truck anyway. There is an unfortunate blind spot where the panels are in the back/sides that prevents you from seeing, in parking lots, if someone is approaching the back of your car from the side. But a backup camera, and audible object detection system help with that. So my complaints are way fewer than the things that I love about the car. I get compliments often about its looks and potential versatility. My old parents find it easy to get in and out of both the front and back seats, it has a low step-in height than most trucks and a higher seat height than most cars. I consider it a FWD SUV, for on-road adventure; a mini, dry camper; a daily driver; and a cargo hauler.

Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page: