Used 2000 Oldsmobile Alero Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,168 - $2,946

Used Alero for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

I'm going to miss this car

chris, 11/03/2010
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

My wife bought this car Brand New from the dealer. we've had it for 10 yrs now and its been wonderful. Very few problems the fuel pump went at 70k which i hear is very common, and we've replaced all the power window switches. everything else is great, very fun to drive and very roomy. I'm trading it in and I'm going to miss this car.

Report Abuse

2000 alero after 11 years

mountaintop1, 11/14/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This has been a great car, great mileage, and very little problems. 108000 miles so far, can't complain I will be buying a new car soon, I hope it will be as good.

Report Abuse

Oldsmobile NEEDS to Replace every Alero

Becky, 10/30/2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my vehicle in June of 2002, thus far I have replaced brakes, rotors, intake gasket, waterpump, fuel filter, power steering pump, and now my transmission is slipping, have any of you realized that there is n o way to check the transmission fluid on your own? Not to mention the tires I have had to replace. The dashboard is raised due to sun damage. It appears to me that a bunch of monkeys could have done better when they decided to build this car. I had contacted Oldsmobile many times and they seem quite content that a bunch of fools like us made them rich. The car is paid for, but the repair bills are adding up. I will NEVER buy AMerican Made Again!!!!!!!

Report Abuse

Trash Heap

Wildplrbear, 11/07/2009
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 6 years and treated it like an old man would. It did not love me back, it constantly bit the hand that feed it. The car is horribly constructed. It has built in flaws that are unfixable and dangerous. It completely broke down with 112000 miles. By break down, I mean it gave up on life. I do not believe it is even ok to sell this car to someone. I plan on taking it to a junk yard and asking them to destroy it. Did not start 15% of the time because of security system issues, new bearings every 15K miles, windows that stop working every winter, bad head gaskets, bad intake gaskets, new breaks every 20K miles, shorting wires on a semiannual basis.

Report Abuse

GM fooled me once but never again!

ihateGM!, 09/24/2010
5 of 12 people found this review helpful

This was my first new car buy ever. Peeling dashboard at 36K miles, rack & pinion and tie rods needed replaced at 38K miles. And I'll spare you all the other repairs under $500. Yes, I'm still driving it after 10 years, but when your car has $0 trade-in value at year 4, what choice does one have? (The dealer says to replace the dashboard is over $2000 to repair). My father was UAW and I never thought I'd say this but my next car won't be an American brand. GM, shame on you! The government bailout money will be the last penny of mine you'll ever get from me.

Report Abuse

Stay away from GM

Patrick, 07/05/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Major repairs: Transmission blew up at 95,000 miles, although 80% of my driving is on the highway. Replaced fuel pump at 60,000. Minor repairs: Two stuck front calipers. 1 front wheel bearing, intermittent driver side power window. Leaking intake gasket and transmission gasket. Power steering hose disconnected. Fan resistor replaced twice. I do expect the car to have some things to fix once in a while, but I do not accept a premature transmission or fuel pump failure. GM, you fooled me.

Report Abuse

Thank god for warranties

Tickedoff, 07/14/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I own a 2000 gls, brakes are horrible, windshield leaks, problem w/turn signals (would not turn on until hazzard switch pressed several times) Not to mention it's not worth anything!

Report Abuse

Great car for less!

Espfire, 07/25/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I feel the Oldsmobile division has taken a major criticism for a lineup that rivals Buick and Pontiac. Redesigned cars from the year 2000. The models have been safe, reliable and have outstanding body designs. Though a little behind in overall quality from Toyota and Honda, it really outshines Ford and the previously mentioned GM divisions. It will be a shame to see Oldsmobile go. People were catching on to the new look and feel of Olds and now GM simply gave up on a lineup that was making headway in a full market.

Report Abuse

YOU'LL BE SORRY............I WAS !!!!!!!

kuld@N.J, 08/02/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Where do I start???It all started at 7000 miles.Matter a fact,it is still going on.The car was to the dealer about 13 times already.The problems were;check engine light(dealer said it was only gas cap problem,The next day I broke down on the highway.It turns out the guts inside the catalitic converter broke apart.It took 9 trips to the dealer to figure that one out and a lawyer.When that went so did the muffler.The light came on again,this time oxygen sensors blew.From there on the car has been back for a alternator,door gasket,gas cap problems and a fan motor next week.

Report Abuse

Alero Happy

Vipersaint, 03/01/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Car is a nice size and handles exceptionally well for a sedan. Reasonable acceleration(this from a former Viper owner). Have heard of issues with brakes but no problems yet as of 31,000 miles. Reliable. Leather is cheap and will tear. Nevertheless, can recommend this car to anyone.

Report Abuse

don't do it

ready to get rid of , 06/18/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

At 9000 miles, brakes went out on me three times. Had to replace brakes a rotors. At 23000 had to replace fuel pump, at 31000 replaced power steering pump. Doors stay messed up, have had three of the four doors fixed at different times. Fuel gauge is off, have to find a station at little over quarter tank. Drivers window won't roll down, already fixed passengers window in back also.Its gonna cost over three hundred dollars to fix the window. Pass side door stays stuck now. Door locks possessed, they click locked unlocked on their own continuiously, have to take out the fuse to get them to stop. Lots of road noise also.

Report Abuse

Bye-bye Olds

mountainman68, 09/09/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Maybe it is good GM is axing Olds. This was a "program" car, so maybe it was abused before we got it, but before 75000 miles we had a motor mount break, coolant leak from intake manifold, 3 full brake jobs, twice in shop for driveability - one was an air sensor. Don't remember the other problem. Continuous intermittent electrical problems that dealer can't find. I'm glad I bought an extended warranty. (too bad the brakes weren't covered) I do like the sporty styling and V6 performance, but interior is too small and car cannot be trusted. I will be trading it in the very near future. I will not be buying another GM product. Period.

Report Abuse

WORST CAR EVER!

Katy, 01/01/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My 2000 Alero has been a nightmare! Six months after buying it I had to have the brakes replaced (two more times since then). The dash board and door upholstery is peeling up, I've had to have three of the motors replaced in my power windows ($200 per window), the alternator has been replaced twice, and have had numerous electrical problems. This is the worst car I have ever had!

Report Abuse

Not the best

danny, 04/03/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It may look good, but the 4-cylinder engine in the Alero was not made to last. I have had so many small problems with this car, it is a big headach. Furthermore, the interier is very cheap the dash looks like a raisin. If you buy a vehicle, buy a better class.

Report Abuse

Tale of an Alero

Radkor, 11/11/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my '00 Alero w/32000 mi in May '01 as an rebuildable. This car has been great! 37mpg. Fuel regulator replaced under warranty, Frt brakes & rotors rplcd at 50k, rears at 70k, tires every 55k. Replaced poorly designed pass dr window regulator for $70 via boneyard. $80 flasher was to be rplcd under warranty but GM stopped that because it was a rebuilable. I love that car, everyone thought the factory 8 spker CD was aftermarket, it is that good! I was never tired after 9hr drives, and I have a bad back. I beat that car, I learned how to do 360s in the Red Hot Rod, what my kids called it. drove 4yrs. Its my daughters' now.

Report Abuse

Do Not BUY THIS CAR!

redlovely1, 06/13/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I was in love with my Alero when I first bought it. However, it's safety rating dropped and my auto insurance increased. Also it has this annoying clicking noise behind the hazard switch that the dealerships could not fix while it was under warranty and I took it 3 times. They kept changing the hazard switch, but the clicking continued. This car had lots of power, but with high miles (mine had 77K) it is worth $1 and starts having problems other cars would have at 100K +. Brakes were an issue.

Report Abuse

Nice Car

lbsorensen, 05/15/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car 6 years ago. The kids were much smaller then. Now that they are leggy teens, the back seat is small for 3 of them. But I find that the car is a great family vehicle. nice body style, and fairly peppy.

Report Abuse

B-E-A-UTIFUL!

SkaterHick, 12/24/2009
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Over all an amazing car. Reliable, handles well in the snow, and over all speedy. the only draw backs would be a wavy interior on the dash.

Report Abuse

Olds Alero is Great!

Matt Terpstra, 08/08/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

the alero is an awesome car for the money. great looks and a blast to drive. too bad they're going away.

Report Abuse

I Love Oldsmobiles!

Jennifer Carnahan, 09/22/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2000 Alero used in 2005 when it had about 86,000 miles on it. I have never had a problem with my car. It has been a great first vehicle for me. Still runs great with 130,000 miles on it.

Report Abuse

Great car!

kr, 10/13/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned this vehicle for almost 8 years. I bought it in 2001 and it only had about 9000 miles on it. It was previously a rental car out of the state of Washington. This car still runs almost like new! I change the oil every 3000 miles and do basic maintenance (very minimal). This car has had a security problem (fixed for about $300.00 with no other problems), and also has had the rotors replaced 2x but I guess that should be expected with 180,000 miles. This has been a GREAT car and I would highly recommend it. I am even considering buying another when this one finally quits.

Report Abuse

loved it!

lovedmyalero, 05/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just traded in my alero gl 4dr for an suv. But I really miss it! The car was fun to drive. I put 30,000 miles on it with just some minor problems all covered under the warranty. It can do 0 to 60 in just seconds. It's fast, racey and great looking. I feel like I'm driving a sports car. Too bad they are not made anymore. I had to trade it in because I needed a 4wd car. But otherwise, I loved it and I miss it.

Report Abuse

Great car

jon, 07/14/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a good strong car built by GM. I've driven it to the ground and have had to replace rotors, a/c and a few electrical components. It's definitely a well-built car. I've experienced some problems mentioned by other people here, such as the peeling dash, and some paint problems on the hood, but otherwise I'm satistied with the car. In town mpg is about 20 when I drive like a madman, but on the highway i get closer to 36mpg. Pretty good for a car with decent umph. Steering, throttle and breaks a lot more responsive than many japanese cars that i've drive.

Report Abuse

Good Car

Bradley James, 07/12/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had very few problems with this car, I had a bad multifuntion switch that caused the turn signals not to work, but it was fixed under warenty. The only other complaint i have is that it is a four cyl. but it gets worse gas milage than most 6 cyl. cars, and also the 4 cyl. motor is quite noisy

Report Abuse

Good Car

Mr. Markus, 09/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been a very good car overall. Especially like the traction control and ABS. On the highway this car gets over 30 miles to the gallon, with the air conditioner on. Small problems, strut broke, driver window power motor, but all were fixed with the warranty.

Report Abuse

2000 Alero GLS Sedan

GLS Owner, 12/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Within the first 9000 mile iI realized that I can't get more than 24 miles to the gallon and my rotors were warped, although I had plenty of pad left.After 4000 more miles(twice) I turned them at my own cost. Then had to replace them all. My right side driver seat bolster pulled off so I am driving around with a metal bar against my back.The problem is WARRANTEE and SERVICE no car is perfect!

Report Abuse

A little short on quality

rmc, 12/21/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The good: torquey engine, handling, braking (but see below); exterior paint/finish/styling; sound system. The bad: front brakes replaced at 28K miles-- rotors warp easily & sound creaky; interior material cheap/unrefined; poor seal on driver's side door caused sound system to short out on wet days; hazard switch went through dash (the last straw). Overall: A pretty good car with nice features that lacks refinement & compromises a little too much on quality. Was not sorry to let mine go after 56.5K miles.

Report Abuse

Stay away from this car.

Aubreysdad, 07/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought used from CarMax dealer. After two months (only 29k miles on car), fuel pump has to be replaced, side mirror breaks off and replaced, dash starts peeling away and repaired, shifter nob breaks and replaced. Sure, a little less expensive than Japanese, but you'll pay more in the long run. Went back to CarMax, took $1800 hickie on appraisal, and traded in for Honda.

Report Abuse

Fits Like a Glove

Alero Boy, 08/18/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my first Alero GLS Sedan in 2000. I loved this car since I first saw it in 98 at the Auto Show. It's a good mix sportiness and class. The brake rotors are worthless. I went through 4 sets, all during the warranty. The intake manifold gasket needed to be replaced at 50k, which was after warranty period. I sold 4 of my friends on Alero & they also had the same problems and nothing more. I traded in for an 03 GLS Coupe this passed February to take advantage of the $5000 in rebates I qualified for. Too bad GM is dropping Olds; it's the only division that actually has what it takes to compete with the imports.

Report Abuse

bob's review

lotus halldorson, 09/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a fun car to drive with plenty of power a sporty feel.

Report Abuse

Do your research before purchasing

Craftina, 08/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought this car when it was already a year old with about 36K miles on it. About 2 months after we got it, the radio has this problem where it won't stay programmed. We have to turn it on every single time we turn the car on. The dealership didn't know why it was doing that, so it never got fixed. It just left my familystranded on the high way after the fule pump went out in the middle of Alabama (we lived in NC. That among various other repairs needed that I don't have room for. Just do your research.

Report Abuse

Alero

Konrad Romero, 09/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned the car for almost 3 years and I have to commute 100 miles a day. The car has been great. I do all of my service to the vehicle. The performance and reliability is all there. I have to count on this car daily. I have not had any major mechanical flaws. The only problem was the passenger’s window regulator went out on the vehicle about 60,000 miles. Currently I have 87,000 miles on the car. I highly recommend changing the fuel filter frequently about every 20,000 miles. The car is close to being stock; I have a K&N air filter and Bosch 4 prong platinum plugs which made a difference in performance and fuel economy. I am very pleased with this car.

Report Abuse

Several problems ruin a nice car

c34j46, 09/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The rotors made by GM are junk and should have been recalled but GM refused to recall the part. My new brand new rotors and pads were pulsating after only 3500 miles. My turn signals would not work at least once a week and then magically start to work again so the switch needs to be replaced. Rear stabilzer bars had to be replaced to stop the annoying squeak the car would make after even the smallest bumps in the road. I'm looking to buy some aftermarket rotors which hopefully will last more than 3500 miles. I think the brakes on my ten speed bicycle would have stopped the car more efficiently than the junk GM puts on the car.

Report Abuse

No More Olds

FootballMom, 10/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The worst car I have ever owned. The brakes are a continual problem. The gear shift button has been replaced. The cruise control is broken. The rear door upholstery is peeling up. And last but not least, the dash board is peeling. The Olds dealer says it was caused by the sun and will cost $1200 to repair and my car is only worth $3500. GM Customer service says since my car has 90,000+ miles on it, they will not do anything about it. I told them my 94 Toyota Camry and my 97 Jeep Cherokee had no such problems and I will never purchase another GM product.

Report Abuse

Its been good to me!

chridan, 11/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has been great! Have had it almost 4 years and haven't had any problems with it.

Report Abuse

A Powerful Pleasant Suprise!

us_blueskirt, 11/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car was purchased 3yrs old with about 40K mi...In 11 mos I've put another 20k+...Multiple trips from E TN to FL, VA, TX, GA, and DC; plus a 40mi comute to work every day. This is a fantastic little car in city and OTR! It feels like driving a sporty car. It responds better if you keep an almost religious maintenance schedule. Great handling and power getting on and off the interstate and around these mountain curves. I run this car very hard and I'm very pleased with it so far. As I set out for another trip to TX..there is not a single doubt that this little car will get me there and back with pleasure!

Report Abuse

My Expensive Mistake

sam2000, 12/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I liked the features and styling when I bought this car, but the build quality has turned out to be very disappointing. The rear rotors are scored deeply with plenty of pad remaining. Had to have all the windows replaced due to the glass getting scratched every time the windows were lowered and raised. Cruise control switch went bad. Power window switches went bad.... three times. Many minor electrical problems. Dash board also had to be replaced. No problems with the power train so far (45k mi.), but I don't trust the car anymore after so many problems; and with the awful resale value, I can't afford to get rid of it.

Report Abuse

Nice Vehicle Thus Far

Margaret, 09/14/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my used 2000 Alero GLS in July 2005. I have all of the service records and the only problem I have, thus far, is the peeling of the door handles. There was only one previous owner and the car is under an extended warranty. When I initially purchased it, there were approximately 43,000 miles on it. Not bad for a 2000 car of any sort. I paid cash for it and it is definitely a nice ride for the money (I could never afford a brand new one). I was also a previous Honda owner (Value Package sedan). I like my choice. It has a lot more features than the Honda or any other car I have owned. I am going to stick it out! I think GM should definitely stay keep the Alero.

Report Abuse

Sporty Ride

RKP, 01/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great ride, sporty and great acceleration for a 170 HP engine. I like it's cornering ability no push in the tight corners. Layout is good, night lighting excellent. The ride is solid Excellent handling capability. I am very satisfied mechanically but am looking for a softer and more plush ride.

Report Abuse

Do not buy this car!

Caseyc, 03/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is mediocre at best. I have had numberous problems with this car. In the 3 years I have owned this car, I have replaced the brakes 5 times, the cruise quit working, the middle overhead light pops out and falls out on occasion, the upholstry on the dash has begun to pull up, both of the electric front windows have broke twice, the right front sun visor clip broke and my blinkers quit working. I definitely would not recommend purchasing this vehicle.

Report Abuse

pass on it

jim williams, 04/13/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Numerous problems with wheel bearings, brakes, wheel sensors, and turn signal switches. In the shop every week. True story-went to trade it at a local GM dealer. He said, "no offense but I cant take it on trade, those things are junk."

Report Abuse

Trouble free vehicle

jqxwl, 06/09/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle on 6/18/2000. Besides regular services, I have never brought it to car garage! And it is still in great shape! Very stable and reliable!

Report Abuse

great car for my family

alleng, 07/04/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have really enjoyed this car. Has performed well for what I needed. If you are a traveler, probably not the best option, but does well for teenagers and small families. I've had one brake problem. No other major issues. Gas milleage is great!

Report Abuse

So near and yet so far

rdeschene, 07/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My wife and I both love this car - torquey V6, good handling and steering, about 30mpg(US) hwy, very comfortable front seats, good visibility, nice styling with the rear spoiler, decent price as a 1yr old car. What has been disappointing are the mechanical failures which I KNOW GM knows how to prevent -- I didn't have any of these problems with my previous Corsica. At 107,000km we have replaced both front bearings, the fuel tank sender, the interior fan resistor and the button on the auto shifter TWICE. I am quite certain GM knows how to make front bearings that don't wearout in 100,000km. There's no excuse for it and it makes me hesitant to buy GM next time.

Report Abuse

Decent value.

alerodriver, 08/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought in 2000... no problems after they recalled the brakes in 02 (they had to replace pads twice). Trunk a little small but no other problems. Great commuter. I replaced the fuel filter at 60k and oil changes is all. I added an aftermarked spoiler (the same one that is on the 6 cyl) to my base model for 300$, improves the looks greatly. Would buy again in the same situation.

Report Abuse

I agree

chairmanfat, 11/14/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

All the same problems: brake rotors that are worthless, a recall on the turn signal problem, and a rapid depreciation but I like the car. Weird. When I think of the crap I could have bought for same money ( I went in with a budget and stuck to it) I really like the car. I won't buy from GM again though. The last American car I owned was in 1984. There just isn't any excuse for the problems they have with this car. They must do it on purpose, seriously. They can't be this stupid.

Report Abuse

Worst Car I Have Ever Owned!

nick, 03/13/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This looked like a really nice car. The first year changed that! Constant brake problems, transmisson problems, and broken interior switches. After about 4 years and 80,000 miles all sorts of things went wrong! I replaced alternator, starter, fuel pump, wheel bearings, and the ignition system( because a cheaply made plastic cover cracked and fried the whole system!) Olsmobile would look for any reason not to honor the warranty and were constantly difficult to deal with! I can see why they went out of business. It is too bad, I paid a lot of money for a very poorly made car and I will never buy American again! It is really too bad!

Report Abuse

Wish I hadn't

Unhappy, 10/14/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought an Oldsmobile Alero because of it's easy handling. I wish I hadn't. Luckily some of the problems have been covered under the warranty, but now that's up and I might as well have a car payment with the money I spend on the thing. I've replaced the rotors, brakes, cruise control and much more. The interior is falling apart with the upolstery sundamaging very very easily. I wouldn't recommend this car to anyone at all.

Report Abuse

Like the car, but not the problems

Lynette, 03/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I liked how it looked(sort of like a Mustang).The first year I had my gear shift break. I did have problems with my turn signal. It wouldn't work, unless I hit the hazzard lights and then turn the hazzard lights off quickly. ROTOR problems...it eats them up! I found out that it is actually a design problem that I think GM should have a recall on. The tires are not rotating straight, but at an angle, like a shimmy....they need to shim the rotors to fix the problem...but of course you'll have to pay for it! The tires will cost you about $500. It's hard to tell when the AC light is on in the day time. The dash is peeling on the driver's side.

Report Abuse

3 Year Update from 11/09/03 Post

us_blueskirt, 10/02/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The milage and performance has dramatically decreased over the last year! The only real issue outside of that was a problem with the flasher system, which was fixed by a factory recall on the assembly. I can't really complain about the performance...It's got just over 165,000 miles on it. The performance didn't waiver until it hit around 120,000 miles, but it's been downhill since then. I keep up with all 'scheduled' maintenance and it seems to work for this car. It is very reliable...I still take long trips on a regular basis!

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050