Skip to main content
12345...9

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2020 LEAF, so we've included reviews for other years of the LEAF since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

driving has never been this easy

Jeff Powers, 03/13/2019
updated 09/20/2019
2019 Nissan LEAF SL 4dr Hatchback (electric DD)
79 of 79 people found this review helpful

This is our second leaf. We had a 2017 SL with the 30kwh battery. It did cause us some range anxiety, surely at first. My wife was very skeptical regarding that car. We made it work and drove it 14,000 miles from July 2017 to April 2018 before we traded it in on the 2018. The new car is so significantly different, my wife prefers driving this car over our luxury sedan. I enjoy driving this car as well. With the free charging at local charging stations, it is a no brainer if you are into saving money on fuel cost. I have 16,000 miles on this car now, since April 2018, I have spent $65 on a cabin air filter two weeks ago, and that's it. I have done only the free tire rotations as scheduled, otherwise the only reason it goes to the dealership is to charge as I am in the area. I get free refreshments, and hang out for a bit. The dealer I bought it from also has detailed my car twice for me during the maintenance trips. I can't explain how easy this car is to own. I have an 8.1kw solar panel system on my house, so for my wife who's not into waiting around to charge, it doesn't cost me anything to charge at home. I mean it is free. I do not have an electric energy bill since last year when it was installed. We have bought two of these leafs, qualified for all the tax rebates, which from the fed alone was $15,000 combined on our tax return, the state of Colorado gave us $10,000 combined at the time of purchase, and Xcel energy gave us $10,000 straight off the top of the first leaf, but nothing on the second as we chose the zero percent interest loan for the 2018. So we basically got a car for free. We have driven about 30,000 of the easiest and cheapest miles in two nicely equipped Nissan's. I do not plan on trading in the 2018, it gets 150 miles of range in a normal temperature, which is sufficient for the driving we do. I look forward to getting the SL Plus for the times we need the added range. I will be quite happy trading in my BMW, and not missing it... too much. September 2019: Update We now have just over 23000 miles on the 2018 Leaf. I would say this has been a fair amount of time to really get to know this car. I will say that it still is a very easy car to own. We have done next to no maintenance. I've rotated the tires twice and taken it in for a rattle in which they removed the full dashboard to finally solve the rattle mystery, something to do with an airbag bolt, and also got a new nissan windshield a couple weeks ago due to a stone chip. Either way, still charging when possible at the local EVGO or the like charging stations. It's quite nice not paying for fuel. The car has held up well, everything still works.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

A Solid Alternative to Tesla Nation Etc.

EV Guy in CA , 09/30/2020
updated 10/04/2021
2020 Nissan LEAF SL PLUS 4dr Hatchback (electric DD)
52 of 54 people found this review helpful

One year of ownership on the books - and the Leaf has officially become a welcome member of the household. It has done this by providing a fun and reasonably quick driving experience, perfect reliability, delivering its 225 mile range as advertised, and just having a cheeky presence on the road. I'm a former Tesla owner, so there's no need to explain how the Leaf can't touch the 0-to-60 figures of anything from the Tesla stable. The SL model has plenty of oomph to zip around town, merge onto the freeway, and cruise along at the typical 75-to-80 mph range on the California highways. Innovation is swell, but it's also pleasant it is to own a car with a traditional dealer network standing behind it. Service appointments are quick and painless, and accessories (extra floor mats etc) are easily attainable. Over the air updates are not part of the equation. But when the car needed a software update for the audio system, I was OK having a Latte for an hour while the dealership did its thing. If you're a heavy road-tripper, the Leaf likely isn't your best choice. But if you have a 240V fast-charge in the garage, the Leaf fits the bill as a perfect commuter option, with enough range to head to the wineries, lakes, golf courses (yeah - this is Northern CA) for your typical day trip. There are a few de-merits out there. After a year of tweaking and playing with the audio system, it's still not very impressive for a Bose branded system. Bass and depth are limited, more in line with what I would expect for a "base" audio option. It's still annoying that Nissan cheaped out and didn't include a power passenger seat. And there's some work to do with brake feel. It feels a bit more golf cart than sporty sedan. On the other hand, single pedal driving is easy and intuitive when the car is in the "Eco-Drive" mode. The intuitive cruise control works like a charm, and I love the 360-camera view option. Balance it all out, and the Leaf impresses as an EV with that ingrained reliability and careful fit and finish we have come to expect from the Japanese automakers. If you need extended range, this obviously isn't your best choice. But for a price around 30K (purchase price after discounts and Federal / CA incentives), we're quite pleased, and would definitely consider another Nissan EV down the line.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great EV, just don't pay MSRP/Tesla prices

Tori, 06/02/2021
2020 Nissan LEAF SL PLUS 4dr Hatchback (electric DD)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

Nissan is currently (June 2021) giving thousands of dollars in incentives, plus state and federal credits that can bring a fully-loaded Leaf Plus down to ~$25,000 or less. At a $42k+ sticker price, it doesn't impress compared to a Model 3, but at $25k after incentives and tax credits, it's a fantastic value with 200+ mile range and lots of great features. Things I love: Cheapest car on the market with ProPilot's capabilities Cheapest 200+ mile EV Single-pedal driving feels great in stop and go Very spacious trunk (coming from a Prius Prime this is wonderful) Surprisingly powerful motor on the Plus trims (equivalent to the Bolt) Android auto Physical controls for climate control (as opposed to on the touch screen) Things I don't love that you'll have to evaluate to see if they're deal breakers: Center console sticks into the legroom more than I'd like, but seats are otherwise comfortable Visibility around the A-pillar is so-so No option to automatically stop charging at a certain percentage Touch screen can feel unresponsive at times

Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Good commuter car, not so good for road trips

New LEAF owner, 12/02/2019
2019 Nissan LEAF SV 4dr Hatchback (electric DD)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

My wife and I love the car for local driving. It is ideal for my 18 mile round trip commute. I installed a level 2 charger at home so keeping charged is easy and there are chargers at work. Although the range is listed as 150-160, in winter 100 miles is more realistic. Cold weather battery performance, heat, headlights, and driving over 60mph really decrease the range. An inconveniently out of service Level 3 charger turned our 3 hour drive home from thanksgiving into a 7 hour marathon of hunting for working chargers and driving at 50 without heat to stretch the battery. We’ll take our Honda Fit for the next trip over 50 miles. Get the Plus if you can justify the extra $7000

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

still the best car I ever have

Jim Yeh, 11/24/2020
updated 05/26/2022
2020 Nissan LEAF S PLUS 4dr Hatchback (electric DD)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

after driving this car more than 1.5 yrs, I still like it very much: almost 0 maintenance, extremely low running cost; handles very well, accelerates very well. The list goes on and on. But I will say a few things that I think could use some improvements: no day-time running light, Nissan should not save on safety related things. when I turn off the car, the information about battery charge level disappears. this should be an easy fix, as the charging timer is set after the car is turned off, so I have to remember the current charge level. Also, instead of setting a charging time, maybe also a level so that I do not over charge? do not know if Nissan has a channel to hear customers' feedback. ah, the car radio unit failed and that's under warranty. i take it a rare incident, just back luck, not an indication of the quality of the car. other than this, no other issues at all.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...9
Items per page: