Skip to main content

2023 Nissan ARIYA Consumer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
25 reviews

Pricing

Edmunds suggests you pay
$37,248
Federal EV Tax Credit: not eligible The Engage trim does not qualify for the Clean Vehicle Credit.
1

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable, quick, quiet and feature-packed!

Peter R., 05/17/2023
updated 05/31/2024
2023 Nissan ARIYA Engage 4dr SUV (electric DD)
39 of 41 people found this review helpful

The trim levels are a bit confusing, but if you're looking to get the most value for your money, I would go with the Engage version. It stickers at $44K, has 216 miles of range and includes: heated front and rear seats, heated steering wheel, heads-up display, radar adaptive cruise control, front and rear parking sensors, power folding outside mirrors and much more! It also has a pretty decent sound system. I really enjoyed driving it, finding the Ariya to be quiet, comfortable and fun to drive. I think Nissan did a great job with this car. My only caveat is that the top-end Platinum e-4orce stickers at $63K, which is a lot of money, especially compared to other similar cars from Audi, BMW, Hyundai, Genesis and Volvo. 6/5/23 UPDATE: Well, I bought my Ariya Engage in Deep Ocean Blue with the Light Gray interior and I couldn't be happier! I did my research and test drove most of the competitors. Here are the ones I drove with a brief impression: BMW i4 - beautiful car, but about $10K more than the Ariya and a little too low to the ground for me, Ford Mustang Mach-E - very nice with a great sound system, but seats were a little difficult to adjust and I didn't like the all-glass roof that has no sun shade, Hyundai Ioniq5 - beautiful car that would have been my choice except for the lower seating position, and the firm seat back bolsters that pressed into my back, Kia EV6 - very nice, but the interior felt cramped due to the low roofline, Kia Niro - another nice car but too much piano black plastic in the interior and a somewhat jittery ride, Toyota bZ4x - nice car, but the interior had a lot of cheap looking black plastic, and the instrument pod obscures part of the windshield, VW id.4 - poorly designed controls, and slow screen response, with more copious black plastic in the interior. Back to the Ariya: I've been seeing a range of 240 miles on a full charge, which is higher than the EPA rating of 216 miles. The car is beautiful to look at, inside and out, and is so comfortable to drive. The interior ambient lighting is soothing and pretty, designed to resemble a Japanese lantern, very different from the ambient lighting in other cars. The seats have a number of adjustments and are very comfortable. The sound system is excellent, better than I expected! I really like the power operated center console that allows us shorter drivers (I'm 5'8") to find a comfortable position for the center armrest. The car has lots of tech features and many adjustments, but it's not overwhelming. Spend some time with the owner's manual and you'll be glad you did. I highly recommend the Ariya! 09/05/23 UPDATE: Well, three months later, and I'm still loving my Ariya! I'm really impressed with the efficiency: consistently using e-Step and ECO mode, I've been seeing a predicted range of 250-272 miles, which is outstanding considering the car is rated by the EPA at 216 miles. I've heard of other EVs not meeting their EPA range estimates, but that hasn't been the case with the Ariya. This car is so quiet and comfortable that it is my "go-to" car, despite the fact that I also have a new Mercedes GLC. So, after living with the car for three months, I have noticed a few annoyances, all minor. First, the driver's door armrest is VERY low on the door and creates an awkward driving position if you use both the driver's door and the center armrests. Second, the light at the charging port faces outward rather than facing the charging doors, so in some conditions, it's difficult to see the port. Third, and lastly, I wish Nissan had darkened the rear door windows, as do almost all other SUVs. It would make the car cooler on hot, sunny days, and it enhances the appearance. Those are my gripes. Otherwise, I'm still very happy with my Ariya and always look forward to driving it! 05/30/24 Update: One year and 7K miles later and I still love my Ariya! I recently brought it to the Nissan dealer for its one-year maintenance, which basically consisted of rotating the tires, at no charge. Overall, this car has been problem-free and dependable. A few times, the infotainment screen has gone blank, but it only lasts for a few seconds and then it comes back. I only charge it at home and have not taken it on any long road trips. As for range, in the warmer months, I see a predicted range of 260-280 miles (283 was the highest), and in the colder months, it drops to 180-200, still not bad considering it is EPA rated at 216 miles of range. After a year of owning this wonderful car, I still see very few on the road here in MA, which is probably due to low sales. People should really drive this car to experience how comfortable, quiet, responsive and substantial it is, before buying an id.4, Ioniq5, Mach-e, or other similar EV. Nissan recently lowered the prices on the Ariya, so that should help increase sales. I'm really happy with this car and can't recommend it highly enough!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Long term rental, previous driven low end EVs

Robert T, 09/25/2023
2023 Nissan ARIYA Engage 4dr SUV (electric DD)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I've been driving the entry level Ariya for about 3 weeks now. Overall a clear upgrade to the previous compact EVs I own(ed). Very quiet, roomy, my kids love the looks. One thing I want to mention and that many competitors charge extra for is the heated steering wheel, thank you Nissan that is very thoughtful for cold winter mornings. Many reviews have listed the nice features, here is my list of possible improvements. 1. The hatch is really hard to close. Not motorized and if you are short and light weight, have fun trying. 2. Audio! There is no option I would have found to adjust low and/or high frequencies (equalizer style). Depending on the source, the sound can be great or a lot less than great, c'mon this is still a $44k car. 3. One-pedal driving, could not find on option to make this my default when starting the car, WHY NOT? 4. Expected better mileage in the city, not much difference to freeway. If you are heavy footed, 200 miles range is a challenge or something like wishful thinking. 5. I turn the AC sometimes on, sometimes off, after all it eats lots of miles, there is no AC button, only in a sub-menu of Heating :(. Along the same lines, one air vent left, one on the right is all the driver / passengers can adjust for themselves. No center console air sources. 6. Then there is the thing with the absence of the TAX-credit, that would be the killer for me as the Ariya doesn't stand out otherwise. All of these reasons don't make the Ariya a bad car, it is a good car (hence 4-stars) and what stands out is the looks. If you want to drive a "bat-mobil" style of a car (mine is black), it sure looks cool! I would buy an Ariya well before I buy a Model Y but that is more related to personal reasons, can't buy a car that benefits the Tesla CEO even if I pay a bit extra.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great ride

Jim, 08/13/2023
2023 Nissan ARIYA Evolve+ 4dr SUV (electric DD)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

We purchased the Evolve trim in June. I actual enjoy driving this car. So smooth. Great acceleration when needed. Our model has the wireless charger between the seats. Heads up display is a great feature which I've never had before. Car is very roomy. Cargo space could be better but it's adequate for general use. Car range is supposed to be 290. When we first got it, it was showing 330. I'm sure this is going to very greatly depending on climate. We are in Arizona and because the AC was running basically full blast constantly and also the car would have to keep the battery cooler when it was very hot outside, our actual range was probably around 250. I expect it to be around 300 in the late fall and winter here. We only charge at home so far. You can charge it 220 or 110 and we just plug it right into a regular outlet. We have an Explorer if we drive out of town. For now, it is just an around town car and that works great for us. Combined with the solar plan we have (which is .05/KW on Peak) a 0-100 charge would only cost about $4.50.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Ariya lives up to the hype

AW, 02/02/2023
2023 Nissan ARIYA Premiere 4dr SUV (electric DD)
12 of 14 people found this review helpful

I'm one of the few lucky early reservationists for the Ariya who got the vehicle delivered in mid-December 2022. I placed the reservation all the way back in November 2021. The whole experience, with reserving the vehicle online until delivery, was really pleasant. Multiple times during the very long waiting period Nissan reached out to check on me, sent me a few Ariya branded swags (a branded tote bag, a Nissan t-shirt, a Ariya branded Yeti cup, and I think some other reservationists depending on time of order got an Oculus VR headset pre-loaded with a virtual Ariya experience game in it). Nissan also held an in-person driving experience event which allowed the reservationists to test drive the vehicles. Overall, it was a cool experience through the launch process. About the ownership so far, I'm surprised how much I'm enjoying the EV ownership. Nissan provides a 1-year free charging with EVgo network. That's a wonderful incentive over most of the competitions. My Ariya is a Premier trim with 2WD. Stated range with 100% SOC is ~320 miles. Actual driving miles is around 280 so far based on my driving experience. Being a new EV owner, I don't really know if this is good or bad yet in terms of efficiency compared to other competitors, I need more education on this, but it works for my needs so far. The interior of the Ariya is the highlight of the vehicle. I'm impressed with the large glass moon-roof, the ingress/egress power driver seat function, the wireless AppleCarPlay, the heated seats front and rear seats, heads-up display, camera-view rear mirror. And to me, the best feature is the ProPilot 2.0 that allows hands free driving on interstates and freeways. It makes driving so much less tiring/stressful. I don't know if I'll ever buy another daily driven vehicle without this feature. Overall, I'm loving the Ariya and I definitely recommend it to anyone.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Test drive them all and this was my choice

D Murphy, 07/21/2023
2023 Nissan ARIYA Platinum+ e-4ORCE 4dr SUV AWD (electric DD)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have owned a Platinum two motor Ariya for five months and it has delivered. It is quick and the range has been true to estimates. The electronic rear view mirror is a must. I am a big guy and the space is better than the other EVs I tested. I don’t have issues with the menus as others reviewing have noted, and the voice system is the best I have had in a car. It can be quick and fun or easily carry four in comfort, and you can slow down and extend the range. I am certain the software will improve and they will adjust e-step- I didn’t own a LEAF so I didn’t have expectations from that perspective. Don’t judge it by the entry model and try it and judge for yourself. Only real complaint is that the premium Bose stereo option should deliver better for base model than it does.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1
Items per page:
5