Used 2011 Mazda 2 Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$4,995 - $5,891

Used 2 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Love it!

Jen!, 11/23/2010
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

I bought this car to replace an '03 Civic coupe, I was initially torn between the Nissan Versa, Scion xd and Honda Fit, this one is way better. I had never even heard of this car before but after driving it I was sold. It handles well, has features I didn't know I could afford, and is spacious enough to meet my needs. I recommend the touring model, the extra features are worth the slight jump in price and make the car stand out a lot more. I'm no longer embarrassed when I drive to work, I'm getting really awesome gas mileage, and I'm having a lot of fun with all of the features.

Report Abuse

2 Times the Fun, 1/2 The Cost

armrobc, 03/20/2011
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

After doing a considerable amount of research on a variety of small cars, I settled on a Mazda2 for a variety of reasons. Chiefly, the styling, fuel efficacy and cost; while not truly being great in any one category, the Mazda2 is very good in many. Many of the reviews and comments I read referred to the 2’s small, 100 hp engine and “slow” starts off the line. Frankly, it is a bit slow; however, if I had wanted a spirited performer, I would have bought a VW GTI. With gasoline prices increasing, the need for a reliable and gas efficient vehicle more than eclipsed my need to go from 0 to 60 in five seconds.

Report Abuse

Like a big 'ol Go Kart!!

robtech34, 11/03/2011
16 of 18 people found this review helpful

Fun, fun,fun! (5 speed manual) I've read some 10.2 second 0-60 numbers on the 5 speed to which I can only say, learn how to drive pal. This car is like driving a comfortable, Go Kart!! Tooling around town is so much fun because 35 MPH feels fast in this car. On the Highway, 80 MPH no problem. Very good build feel inside. Lacks some Bells and whistles, but I have zero use for blue tooth and own a much better GPS than is offered in other competing models.

Report Abuse

Drove one in Australia

segesta, 05/14/2010
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

In May 2010 I visited family in Sydney and drove the Mazda 2. Right hand drive aside, it was a fun car, roomy, even fit my big international-traveler suitcase in the back. Seemed well built, the doors thunked nicely. They've had no reliability problems with it.

Report Abuse

Excellent Commuter - Fun and Economical

ljt813, 04/05/2011
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I commute about 100 miles per day. I was looking for an economical yet fun car. I decided on the Mazda 2 w/5sp based on reviews, and past experience with Mazda products. This car is comfortable, is responsive and economical. My commute is 60% highway, 40% local and I have been averaging 38-40mpg. I can't recommend it enough.

Report Abuse

Why can't they sell more of these?

ksonic, 04/12/2011
14 of 17 people found this review helpful

In the U.S., the 2 must be one of the great automotive secrets. Since buying mine more than a month ago, I've seen all of one other on the road, and I live in a metro area where subcompacts are common. It's such a great, satisfying car at a low price that it's hard to understand why Mazda dealerships can't seem to give them away. The 2 may seem to be just a cheap economy car for those on budget, but I beg to differ. As a fan of Euro-style small, quick hatches (last car was a Ford SVT Focus), I had to give the 2 a try. It's amazingly fun to drive. It's not fast in a straight line, but it's quick enough. And the features, fuel mileage, and practicality make it a great all-arounder.

Report Abuse

Awesome little car!

bigkampe, 08/15/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased this car and enjoy its quick and responsive handling. For a 100 hp, this little car can move. I could not disagree with edmunds assessment of this car more. I drove the Fiesta and was a little disappointed. Plus, while the Fit is a nice car with more storage, the drive is not a pleasant and its styling is less attractive to me.

Report Abuse

Fun with a few flaws

dp1, 09/18/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought this to replace a 12 year old clunker. I love driving the car. The engine does feel peppy. The lower horse power forces you work the gears. The shifter and gear box are great -- exactly what I expect from Mazda. It is always fun to drive a slow car fast. I bought the base Touring model. It had all the features I wanted; cruise, upgraded stereo, trip computer, etc. I would love to see a center console. I have no where to put my right arm on longer freeway drives.

Report Abuse

Nice B Segment Alternative

arevee, 10/14/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I read a lot about this car before the purchase and find the following to be true. The car handles very well, but does have some roll. The steering and brakes are great and the engine has enough pep for me. I had a Yaris prior to this car and find this an all around better vehicle.

Report Abuse

2 for the Money

gabagooo1, 06/29/2011
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

With 4000 mile gone, I must say that the Mazda2 is a great car. You will read that it only has a 100 hp engine. You will read that it is small. Yup, both are true. But the 2 is a blast to drive, is peppy and economical. We are averaging 38 mpg in mixed driving. If I had wanted a packet rocket, I would have bought a Mazdaspeed3. The 2 has tons of personality, storage space and room for driver/passengers. I am 5'11" - 340 pounds and I fit in it fine. Great car. Love it.

Report Abuse

My trusty "Mazda 2" friend

lboylesusa, 09/12/2010
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Having owned 3 Mazda's I purchased the Mazda 2 HB Automatic just weeks ago for commuting highway and city. So far this vehicle matches in quality or exceeds my former Mazda's. The room is outstanding for this 6'commuter...my legs will extend fully, ample head room. The seat exceeds it's sister Fiesta, thicker, deeper, more supportive. The body is firm with 5 solid closing doors. Engine response is fast and nimble, with excellent suspension. Automatic is smooth shifting up or down. MY FUEL MILEAGE IS 37.8 MPG CITY/HIGHWAY... above the sticker rating!!! This is a ZOOM vehicle, priced well. Style, fit, finish is outstanding. It would be a mistake not to purchase this vehicle if undecided. lb

Report Abuse

Best handling subcompact hatchback out there

carboloader, 09/14/2011
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

Exactly what I planned on buying. The 2 handles great. It is best on curvy roads. I put a K&N air filter in it and it helped the acceleration. I drive 90% highway driving and I am averaging 40 mpg. That is with 3k miles on it. It is not a perfect car; however, I think that it is the best handling subcompact hatchback sold today. I test drove both auto and manual an the manual is the most fun to drive. I test drove other cars, but this car handles better than the other subcompacts that I drove. This car has the zoom zoom handling Mazda is famous for. At least test drive one before you buy another subcompact. I would buy this car again.

Report Abuse

2011 Mazda2 ZOOM!

P. Vestal, 09/24/2010
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

I LOVE my new 2011 Spirit Green Mazda 2 Touring 5-speed! As a 50+ professional female who was considering the purchase of a Lexus Sedan, I shocked myself by buying the Mazda 2 after I saw one zoom by earlier this month. For me it is somewhat nostalgic as I remember in high school and college driving a hand me down 72 Subaru, a 70 something Ford Fiesta and 79 Mazda 323. I have be a Toyota driver for years: 2 4Runners, 2 Rav4s, and 2 Tundra's. My 2007 Toyota Tundra Limited hasn't moved from the driveway since I purchased the Mazda 2! I love cranking up the stereo even though I mostly listen to classical, driving the The Mazda 2 rocks!

Report Abuse

Oh my gosh!

tsarheld1, 08/19/2011
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car nearly 2 weeks ago and I love it. Have burned though 2 tanks of gas...had an emergency in the family out of town....but on tank was around town and I got 33.28mpg and the second tank was all highway miles at 37.58 mpg...not bad for less that 500 miles on the car. I was really captured by the looks and took a test drive and then went home and checkout lots of online review...from people not consumer reports ..".which I find useless when it comes to cars". Everyone that owned on raved about handling so I took another test drive and checked out the competition ......and I was convinced this was the car to replace my tired old 2004 Aveo.

Report Abuse

This is a great car!

Hamilton, 09/21/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

It's easy to drive in rush hour DC metro traffic. It's quick, not that it'll beat a high HP car, but fun quick. The shifter is a joy, it took a while to get used to the light gas, brake, and clutch pedals though. MPG on 1st tank was 34, 42 on the 2nd, and 38 on the 3rd. Bought the car in black, which makes it look so much better than that the green like color. Cargo space with the seats up handle about a week worth of groceries. Fold the seats down and Costco here I come! Ride is nice, not too soft, not too hard, it's just right. I don't carry more than one passenger when I drive so passenger room isn't a problem. Fiesta has more feature but the 2 has more fun.

Report Abuse

Fun Hatch

Car Guy, 10/02/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

At first I didn't like the goofy face of this car, but after test driving one yesterday I loved almost everything about the car. The bright green color attracts a lot of attention (yellow cobalt stood out less than this car). Acceleration is adequate for a car of this size and weight. The clutch is very light and will take time getting use to. The steering is sharp and adds to the "go-kart" feel. I would love to see the MazdaSpeed version of this car if/when it comes out. Price is cheaper than the fiesta but, it feels more spacious and with the touring package (I think) you get more bang for your buck. You're only losing out on SYNC and SAT radio. Gas mileage is outstanding.

Report Abuse

Nice little car to drive

Bob, 10/24/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

If you're looking for a small car with zip and fuel efficiency, this just might be your car. The interior and exterior design is simple in a good way - minimalist is the word I'd choose. The car had all of the creature comforts I wanted without any that I didn't need. If your commute is short and you need a car that doesn't need frequent fill-ups, get a Mazda2.

Report Abuse

Excellent and FUN little car

s1652, 11/11/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car in August after holding off all summer to make a new car purchase specifically so I could test drive it before making any decisions. I am so glad I did. I had test driven the Fiesta and was not as blown away as I expected after all the hype, and had looked closely at the Yaris as well. This car is fun to drive! The more I drive it the more I love it. I have driven more in the past 3 months than in the 6 months previous with my old car. If you do a lot of your driving in the city as I do it is perfect for navigating tight side streets, making quick turns and edging through traffic. It does just fine on the highway. I have found the 100 hp to be sufficient.

Report Abuse

Very Fun to Drive but Needs More Power and Comfort

weskania, 07/02/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The Mazda2 is a lot of fun to drive, it handles well and gets excellent gas mileage. I regularly get over the stated 35 MPG highway, getting around 37 MPG average. Hills can be a bit of a problem, as this car doesn't have a very big engine. I can make it through the mountains fine, but it's necessary to downshift considerably to speed up on hills. The car is comfortable for short trips, but for long trips, can get uncomfortable. There is no lumbar support or center armrest, which can be uncomfortable for longer rides. However, for a small car, it feels big inside and has excellent visibility.

Report Abuse

Updated review..

tobbeybear, 05/17/2013
Touring 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have 2011 Mazda 2 touring with 51k. Just retired my Mazda protege with 300k on it. The protege has the 1.5 liter which only has with 90hp. The Mazda 2 also has the 1.5liter. Every go see the Christmas lights and you can not turn your head lamps off?The 2 doesn't have the day running lamps. Has a self adjusting timing chain and not a timing belt so that is saving you 500 to 600 every 60k that you have to change on most imports.I work at a big dealership and get to drive every make and model and can say with certainty that this Mazda is the funnest car out. The 5 speed tyranny is smooth. The engine isn't loud. So what it only has 100hp. That is a upgrade for me from the 90hp I had for many year Update..Feb 2016 My Mazda now has 77000 miles and still running great. I need to correct the fuel mileage that I previously wrote on my review. The car is averaging about 35 combined. Can get a little better on the highway if its babied like a Sunday driver. I have no complaints with the car as its a great car all around.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

More than what I expected

cbrandon, 03/04/2016
Sport 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought this car a month ago for commuting to work after the old s10 sprung several oil leaks and wow. People complain its slow obviously the don't know how to shift and double clucth. Turning off tcs and putting flat on the floor will get you to 60 in 7-9 seconds depending on how you shift. The fuel economy? Ive put 1000mi on my car and with premium gas and a somewhat conservative foot I average 30-33 mostly highway. The interior is actually fairly comfortable for a economy car I have a magnaflow exhaust and new intake order for the car which cost all off 200$ and it will more than make up for the "lack of get up" everyone complains about. For a used 10,000$ car holy cow its nice. Now I love my drive home

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Zoom-Zoom, little go-cart

kertruss, 01/31/2012
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

This car is excellent in every area!! It gets awesome gas mileage and is so much fun to drive. All of the reviews are right! I had been looking for a car for about 5 months and was real tired of it. I was at the volkswagen dealership and my mom saw it. I fell in love and now its the best car I've ever owned. I hope to have it for many years. The interior is very suitable and I love how easy it is to clean and so comfortable!! I would buy it all over again.

Report Abuse

First one in South Florida

DJ, 08/10/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I just purchased the car tonight at a dealer that just to delivery of them on Saturday. I purchased it for my wife, she loves the look and color. We bought the green one. It is so sporty and nimble she loves to drive it and I love the way it makes her feel. So far so good. I would recommend the car to anyone who just wants to have fun while you drive. It puts a smile on our faces.

Report Abuse

Great Little Car

Robert, 08/26/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The Mazda2 really is a great little car. I traded in my Jeep Commander and am loving every minute in my Mazda. It handles like a go-kart around corners and acceleration is fine for a car in this segment. I really like the feel of the electronic power steering, but the throttle progression of the gas pedal is a little odd. The quality, fit and finish, and standard features can't be beat! I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a small car, and I prefer it over the Yaris, Fit, and Versa any day. My dad put 250,000 miles on his 1981 Mazda GLC, and I hope the same from my Mazda2.

Report Abuse

This is a great car!

Hamilton, 09/08/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car on Sept 3. I first saw this car in Hong Kong in 08 and wanted it ever since. I've driven the '11 Fiesta but preferred the feel of the 2. Although it has only 100HP, it's not a concern when you drive it. Driving position took about 50 miles to perfect but now it's set it stone. The Fiesta and 2 are very similar in size, inside and out. The interior controls are different, the 2's radio controls are easy to use, I like simplicity. The Fiesta's radio has a learning curve, not very user-friendly, one needs SYNC to use it. *Extra $595 to get SYNC* Overall, great car for anyone looking great ride at a great price.

Report Abuse

fantastic choice

bridgetshaw, 08/10/2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car on a whim. I was at a Mazda dealership with a friend to get their car washed, looked around the lot, and ended up buying this wonderful car after four hours and two test drives. I had a 2000 Toyota Camry before this one and I loved my Camry so very much. I wanted a new one, but with Toyota's recalls I wasn't sure. After I test drove this car and realized what a good deal it was for the mpg and price and everything I was set. I'm a delivery driver so this car gets its use in, I'm already over 2000 miles having bought it the end of June. It is very fun to drive, great space in the car for being so tiny, roomy trunk, and it is pretty quick for such a small engine.

Report Abuse

Bought new 2011 and still love it

Rachel, 02/12/2017
Sport 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

80k mi and they only thing new is 2 front tires and oil. Sure I would like a little more power but otherwise it is exactly what I need - a car that reliably gets me from A to B cheaply. I am surprised how well it has retained value. You can barely even find one for sale!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun Little Hatchback!

Jason, 10/22/2019
Touring 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The Mazda2 was about the smallest and lightest 4-door hatchback sold in the states, and it shows its size. It's a little rough on the highway and above 70, fuel economy drops considerably even with the 5-speed manual. But as a small city car, it's stellar. With the manual transmission at least, it's responsive and quick, and it has decent cargo capacity. Though it doesn't have bluetooth as standard, it has an aux input jack and a decent stereo. Rear legroom is lacking, but it's about average for the class. Overall, it's been a great little car for me. My fuel economy has been above EPA estimates on average, I've not had any reliability issues with it, and it's been a lot of fun to drive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Happy with M2

rjfinva, 02/10/2014
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Don't know what people expect. If you are looking for a high end expensive sports car, shop on! With the 5 speed, this car has more than enough get up and go, and is a blast to drive. First gear could be a little taller. Seats are frim but nit uncomfortable. It handles like a go cart, and rides like one too, that's the car's design! It holds the road like glue, but picks up all the bumps. I live in Hampton Roads, VA, mostly highway driving, and with premium gas (which I recommend for performance) I average 38 mpg if I drive conservatively. Get a K&N air filter for the performance tweak, it's worth the money and the filter saves $$ in the long run as it is washable.

Report Abuse

A true Zoom-Zoom

redkills, 10/19/2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased a M2 just in sept of 2011. I love the handling on the car and yes it may be a bit short on power aka 2 least powered car sold in US market but it's light weight and amazing handling makes this the perfect city zipping car. I went with the sport because the touring is a waste of money. you get "extra" stuff you don't really need, plus for those that want to autocross the sport weights less. I'd rather add my own aftermarket gear and tuning. such as adding a in dash nav, if you have the touring version adding a in dash nav will make most of your wheel control features useless. lastly, this is a great car for easy upgrading and aftermarket work.

Report Abuse

Disappointed

fww, 04/30/2012
4 of 13 people found this review helpful

I was wanting to buy a new car for my wife and we wanted a smaller car than the 96 Maxima and better gas mileage. We looked at Toyota Yaris, Prius C, Honda Fit, Nissan Versa and the Mazda 2, as well as Ford Fiesta and Chevy Sonic. We ended up choosing the Mazda 2 because it and the Fit were the only 2 assembled in Japan. I wanted the Japanese quality. I am very upset with the dealership and not real happy with the car. We've only had it for 5 weeks so maybe things will improve. I knew it was not a "road" car and after 2 hours in it my back was very sore. It does not get anywhere near the gas mileage they suggest and I've always gotten more mileage than the window sticker says I should

Report Abuse

Loved it; hate it now

mzdaowner16, 08/10/2012
2 of 7 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2011 Mazda 2 new back in November 2010 and initially wrote a glowing review about fun it is drive. Well, it's fun...when it's not in the shop. Once I hit 15k I've had nothing but problems specially with the brakes. The dealer tells me they are safe and that they squeak because of the brake pad composition but why didn't they squeak for the first year? Squeaks at low and high speeds and is embarrassing. I also has to flush the transmission at 20k because the fluid it comes with is cheap junk. At 22,300 miles I'm trading for a Honda Fit this weekend. No more mazdas for this buyer. Don't buy this car; save your money, take on a bigger payment and get a car with a better warranty.

Report Abuse

I've waited two years

gwendoline, 03/02/2013
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I drove a 2002 Protege5 for nine years, the longest ever for one car. I enjoyed it. It still looked good, but I was bored, so bought the 2011 Mazda 2 hatchback. Not good, Too light, skips all over the road, trunk and back seat, too small. The economy is awful, but I would like to trade the car before it begins to have trouble. I've only 12K miles, have driven two, less than 1000 mile each round trips. Taking a 800 mile round trip in two weeks. Highway mpg sucks. How can a good, 2002, go to a poor, 2011, like that? Angry

Report Abuse

Just what I needed

mamom1, 10/29/2011
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Just bought the 2011 Mazda2 to replace my slowly dying 1999 Nissan Maxima. It is awesome. The savings on gas is unbelievable. I drive mainly around town (work commute is under 4 miles on surface streets) and it handles beautifully. Contrary to the "pro" reviews, I don't find the engine noise loud and the acceleration is fine. This car has everything I had in my Maxima with the exception of cruise control (I wasn't interested in paying extra $ for fog lights, cruise control, and red seat piping on the Touring edition). Oh, and did I mention, my 16 year old thinks it is awesome!

Report Abuse

Great Second Car

professor52, 10/28/2011
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just purchased this vehicle. I was looking for a second car, since I'm retired and I sold my car to my daughter. I did research on all subcompact cars available and drove my top three choices. For the money, Mazda 2 was the least expensive and I have had gas mileages from 35 to 40 mpg which is a combined city/highway useage. I chose the manual because of the size of engine, I could change gears when needed faster than an automatic. I don't regret my decision in a time of our economy and gas prices.

Report Abuse

Mazda 2 not for you

Richard Davoust, 01/08/2018
Sport 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 7 people found this review helpful

Interior quality very cheap

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

Automatic transmission is terrible

grayliner, 07/13/2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car is great, but NOT with an automatic tranny. I would have bought the stick but my wife can't drive a stick. I miss my Echo, that was the best car I've ever owned. The ride is fine. But getting out into traffic is dangerous. The acceleration is very laggy. There's a delay. Going around corners is sketchy because throttle control is a guessing game. You step on the gas and it's a crapshoot what's going to happen. There's no gradual acceleration, it hits - reminiscent of a 2-stroke dirtbike. The cruise control buttons are my least favorite of all the types I've had. The fuel economy is not what I'd expect from a tiny car. The driver seat is all the way back and I'm 5'8".

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050