Used 2002 Lincoln LS Consumer Reviews

List Price
$2,200

Used LS for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...14

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Love my car but it is breaking me!

csmorgan, 10/04/2010
Premium 4dr Sedan (3.9L 8cyl 5A)
50 of 50 people found this review helpful

Where oh where do I begin? I bought this car in 2008 with 70k miles on it from the Ford dealership. I have replaced 4 coils, 4 plugs, 1 valve cover gasket seal, one headlight assembly due to a bad seal, clock spring due to airbag light (that worked for about a year now the airbag light is back on), front brake pads, and now the power steering pump is leaking fluid somewhere.

Report Abuse

2002 Lincoln LS V8 (2nd review)

vkmaxima, 10/31/2013
Sport 4dr Sedan (3.9L 8cyl 5A)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

This is my second review of my LS. I've owned it a little over a year now, and I still like it. The fuel economy is not the best, but then again it is a V8. I average anywhere from 13-15 mpg city, and 17-22 mpg highway on 91 octane fuel. In this past year I've change all four tires, rear brakes and rotors, alternator, air filter, cabin filter, and a few bulbs. Now I have to fix both front upper control arms,spark and coil plugs,and clock-spring. I purchased this car with 167k miles, so obviously repairs were expected, but I now have 183k. That's 16k miles in one year, I like to drive a lot. I use Pennzoil Synthetic Blend 5W-30 instead of 5W-20, it runs much smoother. Overall a good car.

Report Abuse

Great Car

likeusluxury, 07/29/2012
LSE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

My 2nd LS. I had a 2004 LS. I bought a 2002 LS for my daughter. Bought both used. Highly recommend. My daughter loves her car. Fun to drive. Highly reliable. Safe. Between the 2 cars have over 100,000 miles with only one issue at all. If you can get one, get it. You will not be sorry.

Report Abuse

I love it, but it's cursed

Kristy, 07/09/2010
4dr Sedan (3.9L 8cyl 5A)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

Keep in mind, I have bought it with 178,000 miles on it at a very good price. Nothing but problems so far. I have barely been able to drive it. The transmission was bad. Replaced rack and pinions, all front control arms, hydraulic fan, hydraulic pump, power steering pump, and driver's side window regulator. I'm hoping after the control arms are replaced I will be able to finally drive it. Plus, my air bag light is on. Also, my check engine light is on due to a leak in a HVac hose somewhere. All I say is keep up with the maintenance on this car.

Report Abuse

First Lincoln!

vkmaxima, 12/21/2012
Sport 4dr Sedan (3.9L 8cyl 5A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Couldn't afford my 2005 Nissan Maxima anymore (stay away from that car). I needed something inexpensive, and so I found this 2002 Lincoln LS V8 with 167k on it for $4500. The ride is very smooth and comfortable. It has plenty of get up and go. I've never driven a V8 before, and boy do I love it!!! Even though it's 10 years old, plenty of people compliment how good it looks. A few things don't work like my heater, rear defroster, and horn(clock-spring). I think an engine mount is broken,because there's a slight bump into reverse. Other than that she runs/shifts smoothly. It does require premium fuel,and I get about 14-18 city, and 23-27 hwy. It's a pretty rare car,which makes me like it more.

Report Abuse

So many lemons, finally.. a peach! @<3myLSE

Terran 'papabur' Schatz, 07/31/2016
LSE 4dr Sedan (3.9L 8cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

The sports package edition(aka the LSE) are V8's...just so everyone knows..if you see a spoiler and a sunroof, its most likely the V8 sports edition (LSe) I personally have owned a 2002 Lincoln LSE(yep, sports package, with rims-sun roof-etc) since 2011 and it has by far been one of the most enjoyable vehicles I've owned. When i went to test drive this car, I was ready to give up for the day as I had already looked/test drove 15+ other cars throughout the day. She was hidden, in the back of the car lot..like a black stallion calmly awaiting its master..it called to me. Per the usual, I asked to test drive her and was handed the keys. Once I hit the key fob, the interior lights came on as I was approaching the driver side door and I could see the interior through the light tinted windows...leather..wood grain.."Yep, its a Lincoln." I said to myself and popped the door open to climb in. First off, the heated leather bucket seats are by far the most comfortable I have ever had the pleasure of owning....after a minute or two of taking it all in..enjoying the smell of the leather..all the fun buttons n gadgets..something magical happened..I put the key in and all of the sudden my seat is moving@! and the steering wheel moves out(tords you) and down, perfectly in front of me!!! At this point, I come back down to earth, and growing up with a mechanic, I instantly start disecting... 93k miles showed on the meter..everything worked(electronically), Oil preasure was good..Temp was holding steady, idle sounded like a cute lil kitten, purring its way through a Milo and Ottis dream..too good to be true...too goo to be true is all I kept telling myself. I barely even got the car off the lot when I knew...I had to have it...considering the money came from my grandfather passing away, I felt like this was the car he would have wanted me to get. So, I paid $6500 cash and drove it off the lot right then n there and haven't looked back since. As I mentioned at the beginning of this review, I bought the vehicle in 2011 with roughly 95k miles and other then common maintance, have not had any major issues with this vehicle..well other then that stupid AdvancTrac bullshit that likes to beep for like 5 minutes everytime I start the car...other then that, the car has been a tank for me and I constantly drive back and forth to/from Portland OR. to Spokane WA. and again, the comfort of this vehicle on the highway is par to none...rides very smoothly with its equal 50/50 front/back weight ratio (...hince why the battery is in the trunk!) and loves to hug corners! I highly recommend this car to anyone, young or old, who is just looking for a comfortable, nice looking ride that can pass everything but a gas station! Strong Ford motors...and as far as people complaining about electrical stuff going out...thats because they either mistreated the car in bad weather, etc. OR they are just lazy and rather come complain on a forum then actually look into addressing the issues (such as windows coming off track..) Most of the electrical work can be done fairly easy...anyways, hope you traded for the LS!! :D

Report Abuse

Great road car, highly reliable

Joe Glotz, 07/31/2009
4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Base V6, purchased new, June 2002. Trouble free since. It's a great long- distance road car, ok as daily driver. Great handling, great suspension, great brakes. Ok engine. Transmission has to think a lot; upshifts are ok, but it positively cringes at even the hint of a downshift. Over-the-road mileage is 22-23, commuting is about 19. Supposed to use 91 Octane gas.

Report Abuse

NOT A GOOD CHOICE.. and its sad

Brit, 02/02/2016
4dr Sedan (3.9L 8cyl 5A)
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

I have been crushing on this particular car since the early 2000's when I was in junior high. Finally I got old enough, but not smart enough to go out and pick out my own car.. I have had it for a year now.. and Ive had many problems with it. The inside is falling apart.... (air vents...driver heated seat..door control panel...) the 2 driver side windows have quit working and they're both off track.. The heater doesnt blow very warm, esp on the driver side and the a/c quits after getting up to about 35-40 mph and it doesnt work at all on the passenger side. The radio...well the speakers are magnificent! The cd player hasnt worked since I bought it. Lets see.. The battery is huge and its located in the trunk... had to have new breaks over the summer- which those are normal replacement parts on any vehicle. Had to have the water pump replaced. I have recently had to replace the power steering pump and let me tell you, it was a job and a half getting that done, the location on the darned thing was horrible.. I've been having trouble with the jewel shifting out of 1st gear properly... The car started missin' after I got it... and the gas miliage has since then been horrible.. i am lucky to get 10 mpg. Oh yeah ..there's something going on with the advance trac mode/deal.. that and the break light sometimes stay on after starting the car..I just shut off and turn it back on til they are not there. There isnt really anything too normal about this car, but I guess thats a "Lincoln Lesson" for ya. Anyhow the body on the car is super cute in my opinion, and like I said the radio sounds great but only makes for an expensive looking radio... and if youre looking for a car, remember any of these that are actually left on the road today.. will only wind up being left on the road.. :-( Ive still got mine simply because right now its my only option.. too bad I dont have one in my yard I could use for parts... But then again, there wouldn't be...because they're all junk.. lemons, i tell ya... and it certainly is a heartbreaker... she aint worth a dang, but boy she's pretty. Now i gotta go, time for me to take it and have the oil changed and a tire rod end replaced.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I hate my Lincoln

I hate my car!!, 01/24/2010
Sport 4dr Sedan (3.9L 8cyl 5A)
9 of 13 people found this review helpful

I bought my car 3 years ago and it has been nothing but a problem. I will never, ever buy another Ford/Lincoln again. Everything is very costly. My car needs repairs that cost well over 2000 dollars and the stupid car is only worth 1800! I do not recommend anyone purchasing this car.

Report Abuse

I love my car!

cyn, 08/30/2008
4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We bought this car in 08, with 42000 original miles on it in immaculate condition. We went from a Chevy Blazer to the Lincoln LS. What a difference! We got the deal of the century, and couldn't be happier!

Report Abuse
12345...14
Items per page:
51050