Skip to main content

Used 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT Consumer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
7 reviews
1

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2016 Grand Cherokee SRT, so we've included reviews for other years of the Grand Cherokee SRT since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Sleeper SUV

paul clark, 01/12/2017
2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT 4dr SUV 4WD (6.4L 8cyl 8A)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is a blast to drive.....gas mileage is not the greatest, but you don't buy this SUV for its gas mileage, you buy it because it's a real preformer...will easily outrun most anything except ultra high performance vehicles.....so far has been great in the snow

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Finally I own Grand Cherokee SRT

GregSQL, 09/19/2016
2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT 4dr SUV 4WD (6.4L 8cyl 8A)
23 of 25 people found this review helpful

I was looking to replace my 2012 BMW X5 Sport Activity after owning it for 4.5 years. No questions BMW is a luxury vehicle and at the same time provides great handling. However I wasn't satisfied with 300hp V6 engine. Acceleration wasn't that great. Getting X5 with V8 engine is an option but a pricey one and simply out of my budget. I spend almost a year researching and test driving different vehicles. Finally I decided to purchase 2016 Grand Cherokee SRT. So far I'm happy with my purchase. Acceleration: phenomenal!! There is no such thing as lack of power with this engine. Light touch on the accelerator and the vehicle is going 95mph uphill and this is in Auto-ECO mode :) Very responsive - rapid acceleration in order to passing other vehicles is fun. Tried 0-60 as well: 4.7 sec in Sport mode and A/C on! Very impressive. Handling is great as well, still didn't decide if it's better the BMW's. Technology: Active Cruise Control - you realize you can't leave without it once you have it. You can drive hours on a freeway w/o touching pedals. Gauges cluster is well designed, very configurable. One thing I will be there: Nav shows speed limit for most of the roads which is very helpful. However the speed sign sits in the lower right corner of the Nav screen. I wish it would be possible to have it on the gauge cluster as well. Graphics for Nav systems are ok. Two things I don't like about the Nav: 1. you can't enter a destination while driving. 2. Turning voice guidance on/off requires multiple steps on the screen. No top/360 deg. camera - I really miss this one. However rear view camera has a wide angle and good resolution. No power folding mirrors - don't really need it but still a nice feature to have. Interior: quality of materials is decent. Will see how the alcantara will hold over the time. There is definitely less storage in the front seats area then I had in my BMW. Door bins are smaller. The storage compartment under the armrest is small and in my vehicle half of it is taken by DVD slot for the rear-seat entertainment. Heated/cooled seats are great. Ride on bumpy roads is softer then BMW which is good, but at the same time cabin noise is quite noticeable. Overall I'm pretty happy with the purchase - if I would get similarly equipped BMW I would pay at least $20K more.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

The beast

Jeff, 07/26/2020
updated 01/30/2023
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT 4dr SUV 4WD (6.4L 8cyl 8A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Roomie,ride like a sports car,put your foot down go like a rocket,all while rolling in interior and exterior style....head turner for sure. 7/27/2021.. still love the Beast.... fast, sounds great, every where's I go people check it out.... 1-27-2023 still love my SRT.... zoom zoom...in style and comfort.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Fun and Powerful but Buyer Beware

Michael L Johnson, 01/02/2018
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT 4dr SUV 4WD (6.4L 8cyl 8A)
16 of 20 people found this review helpful

In August 2017 I purchased a 2015 SRT8 with all of the available options. It's definitely fun to drive and super powerful. The gas mileage is to be expected 15-19MPG. However, the tow lights didn't work. It took a computer upgrade and a week at the dealership to fix it. The interior is beautiful as is the sound system. However the dash and door trim all had to be replaced due to the adhesive failing to maintain adhesion. However the main reason I would not purchase another one is because of the extremely poor service from every dealership that I tried. It seems like the Dodge, Jeep and Chrysler reliability issues keep these service bays backed up. My experience comes from the fact that I drove a Ram truck for 7 years prior to purchasing the Jeep. My trust or lack thereof is from actually catching them charging me for services not actually done. If it wasn't for this, I'd consider a new SRT.

Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

WICKED SRT

Grand Cherokee SRT Lover, 02/20/2020
updated 03/06/2023
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT 4dr SUV 4WD (6.4L 8cyl 8A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Purchased at Pre-owned 2015 Jeep GC SRT to replace a 2007 Trailblazer SS that was stolen. The upgrade in technology is a blast, but driving this beast is a lot of fun. The 8 speed shifts so much faster than the Trailblazer and the power in incredible. Chrysler has always done "fast" very well and this shows they know how to do it and they are cornering the market on muscle SUVs because GM and Ford are not playing in this space...so your only option for an American Muscle SUV is the Jeep. I was not happy with some of the trim items...all the carbon fiber interior trim popped off and had to be re-glued but this was obvious from reading previous reviews...everyone complained about the trim pieces. Other than that I think the build quality is better than expected for a Chrysler product. GM and Ford are leaving a bunch on money on the table the longer they stay out of this market because every SRT or Trackhawk being made is not sitting on the lot. Both GM and Ford could be selling these at $70000 to $80000 a clip with minimal R&D investment. GM already has the 6.2L and Ford the Coyote engine. Ford has reverted back to RWD on the new Explorer but GM dumped the RWD in favor of the Traverse...another bad decision because they cannot give them away. Plus the Trailblazer was the perfect platform below the Tahoe and people loved the size...and in the Trailblazer SS you basically had a Corvette that seated five people. Fiat Chrysler...keep putting the screws the GM and Ford for their lack of interest in the segment. While GM and Ford are fighting for EV dominance there is one thing that the freeze in Texas and the current passing of Ida in NO. If you have an EV in NO today...all you have is a brick. Without electricity to charge an EV you may as well have it sitting on blocks. Hybrid power is what these companies should be trying to achieve. Can you imagine trying to leave NO in an EV while stuck in traffic along I-10 and watching your battery drain to zero? Go right ahead with all those that spout EV technology. Recently added a K&N Cold Air Intake (CAI) and you can tell the difference immediately off the line. K&N claims a 29HP increase and I certainly believe their published results. Shifts are still very smooth but the launch is where you feel the added HP. A worthwhile investment if you are into improving performance.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1
Items per page:
5