2020 Jeep Gladiator Crew Cab Consumer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
42 reviews
MSRP Starting at
$33,545

Save as much as $3,300
Select your model:
12345...9

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

Finally -the Best of Both Worlds

AJ, 02/29/2020
Overland 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
70 of 72 people found this review helpful

Look, this will be my third Wrangler-style vehicle (JK, CJ5 & Gladiator in that order) and my 6th Jeep product overall so my post is obviously a bit biased. That being said, when you buy a Jeep, you probably know what you are getting into; they ride and look different. If you are looking for a vehicle that rides like a Bentley on the road, look elsewhere. If however you can accept reasonable creature comforts, ride, and noise while benefiting from extreme versatility, ruggedness, freedom, stable value and the timeless "cool" factor then this is the vehicle for you. Taking off the top and doors gets you as close to the freedoms of riding a motorcycle without having to wear a helmet. It really is a great time. Also, no other vehicle is as customizable as a Jeep. There are entire magazines devoted to it so you can make each one into your own. I've loved Jeeps but always needed a truck, now I can have both. My only two critiques are 1- the keyfob is the size of of a Zippo lighter which is unnecessarily large and 2- the soft top version of the Gladiator simply looks "off" -like something out of World War 2 which is perhaps why they are not selling well. Small concessions for what you get in return. The hard top is the way to go anyway for heat and noise. The new hardtop material is feather light and I can lift everything off by myself. Go buy one and don't look back. I will drive this thing until it or I are dead.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Don’t think about it, buy it!

Greg Granello, 07/03/2019
Sport S 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
124 of 134 people found this review helpful

We thought about buying a Gladiator for 4-5 months, never having owned a Jeep or Chrysler product. But we needed a 4WD we could configure (roof, doors, windshield) and that was off-road capable for fun, that could tow our boat or motorcycle, and that had a truck bed for dogs, tool box or trips to Home Depot. I should mention we are recently retired to the lake, so we don’t commute, the Gladiator is an occasional use errand, towing and hunting/ camping vehicle. OK, we have a white Sport S for a few days now and are amazed at this product’s features, solidity and quality fit & finish. We connected to the entertainment and other electronics such as nav in five minutes, everything worked instantly AND IT ALL WORKS TOGETHER. Popped the roof and stowed the panels, three minutes. Pulled over, threw it into 4H and took off through a brushy, wooded, rocky lot, easy. We love this truck. If there are any negatives they would be that this truck must be driven, it is torquey (surprising power in low gears) and a bit pitchy until you adjust your driving techniques (accelerator-brake). It will wander a bit if you do not drive it. The cabin is a bit small if you are used to a full size truck, especially for items like water bottles, phones, handguns, purses, etc. We’ll get that figured out. None of these things slowed us, we expected them going in. Back seat surprisingly comfortable. The V-6 is plenty, impressive torque at low speeds and acceleration from any speed. Pulls our boat easily, where the 4Runner was a bit iffy (mostly because 2WD). Very happy with our decision and enjoying this truck.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Impressed

Jeffrey T, 06/29/2020
Overland 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
31 of 33 people found this review helpful

*10/18/21* update - I've been in the Gladiator for more than a year and over 20k miles. It's been outstanding. Reliable, powerful, tough. It's towed, hauled, and been topless. It's the most adaptable and fun truck you can own. *3/31/21* update - I'm approaching a year with my Gladiator and I've never been happier with a vehicle. In a world of dime-a-dozen, vauge-looking crossovers and gargantuan "full-size" trucks, the Gladiator stands out as an anachronism. For me, the size is just perfect. It's small enough that I can still pull it into the garage or park it side-by-side with my wife's Volvo XC60 in the driveway. It's big enough that I can carry four or five people plus gear. It's strong enough to take about anything you can throw at it and tows a 3,000-pound boat easily. Of course, it's 100% Jeep styling and function with a more supple ride than a Wrangler. Jeep hit a home-run with this one. Note: rear-window leak mentioned below was fixed under warranty. No water leaks anymore. *12/30/20* update - it's now relatively cold here in North Carolina and the Gladiator is still performing great. The Jeep heats up quickly and can get HOT fast. Seated heats and steering wheel are a big plus this time of year. The only issue I've had in about 8,500 miles is the rear glass on the hard top apparently came from the factory leaking around the seal. I've read in some Gladiator forums that this was a common issue on some early Gladiators. Chrysler is replacing the rear glass under warranty, however due to COVID it's taken two months at this point for the glass to come in. Thankfully it's a relatively minor leak. To be honest, I somewhat expect things like this to crop up on a new model vehicle in its first year. All in all though, the Gladiator has been fantastic. I've owned a '13 four-door JK Wrangler and an '18 Grand Cherokee so maybe I have a bit of pro-Jeep bias, BUT my new Gladiator Overland continues to impress me. It shares many parts with the new JL Wrangler, so of course the cabin comfort and quality of materials are head and shoulders above my JK Unlimited. Splurging for the 8.4-inch screen is worth it. The UConnect infotainment system is the most intuitive and best looking I've ever used. Driving-wise, I've only spent a limited amount of time in a JL Wrangler so I can't compare its driving experience to the Gladiator but as far as the JK is concerned the Gladiator is a vast improvement. It soaks up bumps and imperfections with ease. The truck bed is what sold me. I'm not a big off-roader so the compromises Jeep had to make with the longer frame are a fair trade-off to enjoy being able to haul things on the weekend/throw stuff in the back and get going. Wranglers aren't known for their cargo space, though my JKU wasn't too bad. The Gladiator just makes loading gear effortless. And unlike most other trucks you can reach right over the side of the bed and grab whatever you need. Another plus is the 3.6 Pentastar engine paired to the 8-speed auto transmission. The Pentastar is reliable and gets up to speed just fine with the 8-speed. Yes, you notice the Gladiator's additional weight but I think the Pentastar is completely suitable for this size vehicle. To top it off, the truck is a convertible and oozes personality. Are there cheaper options available in the mid-size truck category? Absolutely. Will those trucks put a smile on your face every day like the Jeep? To each his own, but I always look forward to getting behind the wheel of the Gladiator.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Disappointed, electrical/build quality issues

Kilroy, 06/30/2020
Sport 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
58 of 64 people found this review helpful

7/15/21 door hing is starting aluminum corrosion. And now the hard top rear window leaks badly!! This is pathetic quality.... condensed update 4/16/21 Base Radio has been replaced three times and the update to fix everything, fixes nothing and causes a new black screen problem. Update, after a year of unfixable base radios jeep has refunded me the price of the radio...as they are all defective and they can't fix them. Aftermarket looks like the only solution. Cons: 1. All Jeep gladiators and wranglers will get the broken inner door weld eventually. A design flaw since the 2018 JL. Weld in the door breaks and makes a clicking sound every time you open or close the door. Jeep has ignored this problem and there is no fix. Continues in 2021 2. Rear outer locator pins on the hard top freedom panels will randomly break off pieces like chalk and drop them on your passenger's, jb weld plumbing putty and aluminum tape cover to them is the only real fix. 3. The lug nuts they use are from Rams, look sand blasted after one year. 4. Rear freedom panel outer latches will squeak horribly like styrofoam on styrofoam. Only fix is to add non friction tape. 5. Steering box TSB is a must and should be a recall. The stock aluminum box makes it want to wander all over the road. 6. All fuses came from the factory super loose and required me to push them all in properly. A problem since 2018. 7. Freedom panels came badly installed from the factory and required me to readjust them to prevent leaks. 8. Stock halogens headlights are like candles in the dark, unacceptable for 2020. 9. Plate around the rear bumper tow hook came from the factory with painted over rust that is now getting worse and will require removing of the bumper to properly sand down, treat and repaint. 10. Make sure you have the Jeep undecorated or it will rust away. 11.Hard top seals require meticulous care as the seal rubber is of cheap quality. Treat every six months. 12. No 4x4 Auto,this is 2020 come on Jeep 13. Had to add bushing safe high heat grease to exhaust bushing under driver side. With movement makes a loud crunching sound like a shock going bad. Pros: 1. Nice ride, bit jittery. 2. Plenty of power. 3. Paint is stronger than Japanese brands. 4. 4x4 with Limited slip differential work well with snow tires. Honestly it has become a on and off love/hate relationship with my gladiator due to how Jeep treated a long time repeat customer.( Which took over a year to issue a refund since radio is unfixable) It's not just my case either they now have the worst customer satisfaction of any north American dealership brands. To top it off before FCA jeep was half american owned, now that Peugeot purchased FCA Jeep is now owned and operated by Stellantis who is owned by the French Government. Chrysler is nothing but a little two car brand now and Ram, Jeep, Dodge etc are all French vehicles now.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

first jeep truck i ever owned

Dr. Tom Polcari, 11/06/2019
Sport S 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
33 of 37 people found this review helpful

i wasnt the first on the block to get one, but i finally gave in because the gladiator is a true half breed, unlike me, with good seating for five - or two and a big greyhound-plus, a small sized truck bed that can be easily converted to a full seven foot bed with an aftermarket bed extender gate that fits over that great new lightweight tail gate...i can handle it with one hand- no sweat...i have the s model so it has lots of toys inside...compared to my 1 ton dual wheel ram cummins the gladiator rides like a caddy...well, the ram is 28 years old and came from the indian res in new mexico..the turbo diesel has just enough torque to pull my 2 story house off the foundation and across the street...i have no regrets getting the gladiator and its no wonder there is a gold rush stampede for others to get theirs too...

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...9
Items per page: