Skip to main content

Used 2014 Jaguar XJ Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$28,990 - $37,990

Used XJ for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...12

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2014 XJ, so we've included reviews for other years of the XJ since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

This car is my child

Virgill Mouton, 11/20/2015
updated 05/23/2017
2012 Jaguar XJ 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 6A)
37 of 37 people found this review helpful

May 23, 2017 30,283 miles It's still a bad ass car! 2016 I recently took this car on a road trip, around 2000 miles round trip. On the return trip home I decided not to spend a night in a hotel and just stop for gas and food, I don't know what you've read or heard about this car but trust me. This is a bad ass car. I was thoroughly impressed. During the trip I drove on many types of road surfaces and sometimes bad weather conditions and nothing fazed this car. There was nothing it couldn't handle and all systems worked perfectly. Nothing broke down. I"m 48 years old, 300 lbs and I hadn't been on a long road trip in about 25 years. Didn't know if I was going to enjoy it as much as I did in my younger years. I really enjoyed the trip. Mainly because of the XJ. Believe me many a time I was in some desolate country, there wasn't a town for maybe 40 or 50 miles and this car took me through that without breaking a sweat. Sometimes I did 110 mph and put it on cruise control. I'm a car person so I'm getting a little teary eyed talking about this. No I don't work for Jaguar. I'm here to help those who are maybe thinking about buying this car. I've had it for almost 4 years and nothing has broke on it. Seriously, ....nothing. Performance is excellent. All that bad stuff you used to hear about Jaguar reliability, that's over.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

SuperSport: Just something extra

fastrunner13, 04/03/2011
2011 Jaguar XJ XJL Supersport 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl S/C 6A)
34 of 34 people found this review helpful

As is custom built and I ordered my 2011 SJL SS in March 2010 and wait to end of August 2010 for delivery the wait was worth every moment. I had driven the Supercharged 470hp with all the extra add ons that are standard on the Superport and just had to have the ultimate with 40Hp more. Long wheel base is great, hadles like a sports car (almost) and goes like the new Ferrari 1/2 second slower in 1/mile at 112mph. Eats up miles with on long trips of 12hrs without driver fatigue. Maybe the best car ever and at a bargin price. In metalic silver looks like a block of machined aircraft aluminun. Sound system is better than any I have heard from expensive stereo/theater systems.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

My third Jaguar, but my first XJ

cbrandi, 03/27/2015
updated 04/02/2018
2014 Jaguar XJ 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl S/C 8A)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

I cross shopped all the major cars in the class, wanted a luxurious car with a definite performance edge. Decided Maserati Ghibli was too much an unknown and its interior wasn't up to snuff. The S Class was superb but too large and too expensive. The BMW 7 series needs updating, it looks and felt like a bloated 3 Series. Audi's are boring. I've been very happy with my decision. Its fast, but very comfortable on long road trips. Although large, it drives small. Quality is outstanding and attention to detail, make it one of the best interiors for any amount of money. Gas milage has been amazingly good for such a large car. This is where the all aluminum construction pays off. Update: Traded this car for a sports SUV. Needed more cargo carrying capacity. Having some regrets. The XJ was perhaps the most luxurious and prestigious car I've owned. Inside you felt special with that Jaguar interior. It was quiet and fast on the road, reliable and returned 32mpg on the highway while cruising at 80mph. I didn't buy another Jaguar because I don't like the interior of the F-Pace when compared to other premium SUVs, it felt un-Jaguar.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Jaguar XJL portfolio, awesome car

Bill A, 05/30/2017
updated 05/31/2022
2013 Jaguar XJ XJL Portfolio 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
27 of 27 people found this review helpful

After you buy one you will not want to drive anything but a Jaguar. I have owned many fine cars but the Jag is so comfortable, quiet, plush, and powerful, it makes my Lincolns, and Mercedes pale by comparison, and the Jag costs less than the my Benz. Since purchase in 2013, nothing has broken. For required service the dealer picks up my car and leaves me a new Jag to use and delivers my car back to me. On trips the Jag delivers 30 mpg ! Where ever I go people look at it and comment how good it looks. Back seat passengers are in awe of the space. I am about to buy another one. I dislike only one thing, the engine shuts off at stop lights etc and restarts when you take your foot off the brake, very stupid idea, thank goodness there is an "eco" button to disable it. I LIKED THIS CAR SO MUCH I TRADED IT FOR A NEW ONE. THE NEW ONE HAS A FEW MORE FEATURES AND IS OF THE SAME SUPERB QUALITY, TROUBLE FREE FOR THE LAST 4 THOUSAND MILES. BUT I STILL HATE THE AUTOMATIC SHUTOFF, RE START IDIOTIC IDEA, THANK GOODNESS IT CAN BE SHUT OFF WITH THE "ECO" BUTTON. AWESOME CAR! As of 5/30/19, the 2016 car has 20,000 miles on it, not one problem, what a great car to drive, I still hate the auto shut off when I stop, if I forget to hit the"eco" button off. This car is head and shoulders nicer than my 550 Benz was, and so much more reliable.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Welcome to my gentleman's stage of life

cbrandi, 04/22/2015
2013 Jaguar XJ 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl S/C 8A)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

I've owned performance oriented cars of all stripes. This is my first tilt into the luxury side of the equation. I've had two previous Jaguars and loved them, being fast, comfortable and beautiful. I like the fact that these cars stand apart from the German crowd. They offer color choices and interior choices unlike the German boredom. BTW I've owned several German cars too.

Report Abuse
12345...12
Items per page: