Skip to main content

Used 2020 Jaguar E-PACE Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$33,998 - $46,998

Used E-PACE for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...6

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2020 E-PACE, so we've included reviews for other years of the E-PACE since its last redesign.
3 out of 5 stars

2018 Jaguar E pace

Hk_650, 08/01/2018
2018 Jaguar E-PACE P250 First Edition 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
32 of 32 people found this review helpful

Bought this car because the Volvo XC40 I wanted to order was so far out on production. I thought this would be a good alternative despite being almost $10,000 more. However, the tech is extremely lacking, the interior is simple but my Chevy Cruze rs is just as nice. So no big points there. Also, the car has less then 2,000mi and been in the shop twice with transmission issues kicking it out of gear while driving down the road and not allowing you to select a gear, Essentially leaving you straded. Oh, and when I was asked to review from Jaguar they took down my review. So be quite weary if you decide to purchase this car.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

I love my E-Pace

Dennis Kennedy, 06/19/2019
updated 06/24/2020
2019 Jaguar E-PACE P250 SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
22 of 23 people found this review helpful

I have used the same process when purchasing a new car for the last 5 vehicles I have purchased. I first research on line various vehicles in the class that I am interested in at the time. In the past it has always been a sports car. I then compare different vehicles using Edmunds and Kelly. After narrowing my selections I schedule test drives. Once I decide on a specific vehicle I go back to the internet to build the specific vehicle on the manufactures website and request a quote. Jaguar was quick to respond and amazingly had the E-Pace I built. The Corris Grey Metallic exterior along with the 19" Satin Dark Gray wheels and tinted winds makes a beautiful vehicle. While it is an SUV I still feel that I have the feel and handling of a sports car. The sound system is superb as is the navigation system. Bluetooth connectivity is excellent and I particularly like the "Read Out" function when a text is received while I'm driving. The memory for the front seats is great since I am considerably taller than my wife. I have to admit that some things took a little while to get used to since my last car did not have the back up cameras. I love that when you put the car in reverse the passenger side mirror angles down. The gear shift really isn't a gear shift in the old sense. I would relate it more to a joy stick changing from one function to another. It is a simple matter to press the button and move from Park, to Drive or Reverse. My sales adviser went into great detail on all aspects of the vehicle as there are so many. He also assisted me in setting up my Jaguar Remote connectivity on my smartphone. How cool is that. I can connect with my car on my phone, see numerous details about my car, lock it, unlock it, start it or contact to Jaguar if I have trouble. Most people are looking for a place for their phone when they get in a car. The E-Pace solved that problem with a slot in between the cup holders right in front of the center console. Raise the arm rest of the center console and in addition to ample storage there are 2 USB ports, a Micro Sim card slot and a 12 volt outlet. If you get the impression I like my car you are right I love it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Do Not Buy This Vehicle...Safety Defects Galore!

G.T. in SoCal, 10/17/2018
2018 Jaguar E-PACE P250 SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
28 of 30 people found this review helpful

After reading so many positive reviews, my E-Pace may be a lemon! The engine suddenly loses power (has happened to me twice, once in a 55mph zone and the second time on a 5 lane freeway!), the check engine light illuminates and the E-Pace goes into a "limp home" mode. Jaguar is well aware of this defect and has just rolled out a "software patch" to supposedly fix this issue. Too little, too late. I was almost rear ended by a semi when this first happened! My E-Pace went in for the patch on 9/28/18, and whatever they did to "fix" the problem has affected the start/stop function. It remains on 80% of the time. This affects the mpg of the vehicle and should raise the eyebrow of the EPA. Additionally, the engine and the transmission are poorly synched. Once I place the E-Pace in drive or reverse it takes 1-2 seconds for the vehicle to move, and when it does, it leaps. The entertainment system lacks Apple or Android connectivity, the speedometer is far too small, voice recognition is horrible...I could go on and on, but to top it all off, Jaguar's Customer Relations is a joke! Do Not Buy This Vehicle!

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Best Compact SUV by a mile; but could be better

Lance Bowling, 08/11/2018
updated 02/22/2022
2018 Jaguar E-PACE P300 R-Dynamic HSE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
20 of 22 people found this review helpful

Pros: Best looking, best handling in class and fun to drive. Stunning looks & style for a SUV, well laid out & comfortable sporty cockpit (F Type copy), good driver visibility, brilliant performance technology, great features, smooth shifting nine-speed transmission, quite nimble, precise steering, super stable braking, great cornering & windy conditions stability, excellent surround camera system, brilliant adaptive cruise control, unbelievable self parking, very good sound system, good interior fit and finish, and great storage capability considering vehicle size. Cons: Little expensive, feathery overly sensitive accelerator (spurts), 1 second transmission kick down delay, washed out touchscreen display, windshield blocks radio frequencies, and a few other minor issues listed under, “Details of Issues”. Overall: A vehicle well suited to city driving and equally at home in the country; but not my first choice for long distance trips (full-size SUV time). The vehicle is best suited to a family of four or less (children and smaller bodies in the rear). The 21 inch wheels provide a great ride in “Comfort” & “Dynamic” modes, better than the smaller offerings. Brakes are excellent and feel stable under hard braking. Has “ECO” mode to improve fuel consumption. 6 -different models and a plethora of options to suit most needs. Has all the latest safety features and collision avoidance. Top model could do with a more powerful motor. It is miles better than the competition. 5 out of 5 if it wasn’t for the metalized windshield, display washout, spurty throttle and transmission delay. Bottom Line: If you want the best looking, best handling compact SUV in the world, your search stops here. Details of Issues (nothing major) Expensive Has better performance technology than the competition which costs a little more; but even so, still seems a bit pricey. Windshield Blocks Radio Frequencies I really dislike the metalized windshield which blocks radio frequencies. Toll Tag clear patch is too small. Range of wireless devices is reduced (up to 95%), including; door and gate openers, phones, RFID, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, radar detectors and medical alert. Feather Light and Overly Sensitive Throttle Pedal Almost no foot feel and too sensitive. A bumpy road, a sharp corner or just acceleration forces can cause unwanted acceleration spurts (jerking). Also, you have to hold your foot up all the time when just cruising. It feels unnatural and a little uncomfortable. Thank goodness for the excellent adaptive cruise control. Transmission downshift delay Foot to floorboards and wait 1+ seconds for significant acceleration. Touchscreen Washout The touchscreen difficult to see in bright daylight and is barely visible in bright sunny conditions. The problem is that the display sits angled almost flat well ahead of the roofline and there is no sunshade, so the sun shines right on it. Accentuated by no high contrast color scheme option, just “Light” (light pastel) or “Dark”. It’s fine at night or on dreary days. Windshield Reduces Night Vision The windshield is metalized to block UV rays which it does well. It also cuts down visible light reducing normal vision just like sunglasses or regular window tint does. The problem is that it also reduces vision at night too when you need maximum clarity. Road Noise Road (tire) noise is noticeable and could benefit from improved floor and wheel arch insulation. Automatic Relocking & Arming Only the dealership can turn it on or off. I can see the reason for automatic locking and arming in high crime areas. In the country, the automatic system is annoying and inconvenient. There should be an easy way to turn the feature on and off. Door Locked Condition Indicator No visible external indicator that the doors are locked (except the folding door mirrors). In a noisy bright light situation, it’s difficult to see (light flash) or hear the doors lock. Automatic Power Fold Door Mirrors Useful option, but it can only be turned on and off by the dealership? Keyless Door Locking Keyless locking is overly complicated and imprecise (Unlocking is great). The manual goes into detail not to grab the door handle while touching the lock sensor. In reality, it is only necessary to be lightly touching the handle for the sensor not to work; or if your finger touches a little outside of the sensor area. One could turn on the auto locking full time, but that causes other irritating convenience issues. Restricted Driver’s Foot Well No good place to put your left foot if you have long legs. Wheel well intrudes into this space. Reflections from Bright Shiny Bezels Reflections in driver’s side mirror from bright shiny driver’s side air vent bezel. Reflections from bright shiny bezels (air vents and display) on front windshield. Driver’s Maximum Seat Height The front dash and side windows sills are quite high. I found that with the seat all the way up, I still felt like I was sitting a bit too low (1 inch). Update: After nearly 4 years the vehicle is still performing very well and no failures and no visits to the dealership. 4 new tires is the only major expense. I have had to replace the battery in the key fob twice, they don't last long.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Vehicle

Bobbybo, 12/07/2019
updated 06/11/2020
2019 Jaguar E-PACE P300 R-Dynamic SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

My wife and I have owned numerous SUV's over the years and really love this vehicle. It is fun to drive with excellent handling and braking which stops on a dime. We have the nearly 300 horsepower turbocharged 4 cylinder model and it is very quick. The safety features are excellent as well with automatic braking if you would happen to not see a pedestrian or biker in time, it will stop the vehicle for you. The heated windshield will come in handy in the winter, plus the heated seats and steering wheel.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page: