Skip to main content

Used 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$11,073 - $21,590

Used Santa Fe for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...23

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.13 out of 5 stars

My 2013 Santa Fe Sport, FWD w/leather

pete3478, 10/01/2012
Sport 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
126 of 130 people found this review helpful

We have owned a new 2013 Santa Fe Sport for one month now. We have traveled from Chicago to Mackinac down thru Wisconsin and a week later from Chicago to Branson, Memphis, Nashville, Gatlinburg and back. Approx. 3000miles all together. On the low side we got 22.5 mpg to 28 mpg on the high side. This was done in moderately hilly terrain and a tight new engine. My wife loves it. The standard 4 cyl engine has good pep and 6 speed transmission works well. A VERY quiet ride for a SUV. Leather seats are comfortable with good adjustments. Handles and brakes with good feel. While the steering is on the light side with not a lot of feel, I personally wouldn't call it dangerous.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Fun car, great turbo power, lots of features.

djg77, 01/30/2013
Sport 2.0T 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
33 of 33 people found this review helpful

This isn't a review about mechanical issues since it's too new to tell. I've had my new Santa Fe 2.0T (FWD, base package, no frills) for a couple of weeks now. I love it. It is a comfortable, quiet, fun car to drive. The 270+ hp turbo engine has no problem pushing up the steep inclines of the Texas hill country. It doesn't even blink. You'll take a bit of a hit on gas mileage over the non-turbo model, but it's worth it. The non-turbos are just sluggish. The interior is very comfortable, has great looking trim, and the standard options on the base package are impressive. Heat seaters, power everything, bluetooth, all of the things you want.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Bad to the Bone

backtoblack1, 12/09/2012
Sport 2.0T 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
59 of 61 people found this review helpful

Bought the 2.0T after an extensive search and reading reviews. Test drove the 2013 Equinox, Grand Cherokee, Highlander, RDX, Pathfinder, and Edge and Escape. All were good vehicles but the 2.0T was the most impressive - size, space, speed, gas mileage, amenities, looks and at a decent price. Out the box the 2.0T is an excellent redesign. I am getting about 24 mpg combined after about 700 miles but my goal is to get closer to or exceed the EPA estimated 27 mpg by playing more with the ECO setting. Took a road trip of about 500 miles last weekend and the 2.0T never struggled (no whining at all) when going up hills or passing vehicles going up hills at 75 -80 mph…I was thoroughly impressed.

Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

engine knock and random codes

bigal78, 02/09/2014
updated 08/10/2017
Sport 2.0T 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
31 of 32 people found this review helpful

Bought 2013 in January 2014. One week later heard knocking in the engine, took it to dealer was told that the GDI engines make this noise, normal. 2 weeks later took it back as knocking is not normal and there has been numerous reported engine failures with same noise, vehicle throws random emission codes which there is a tsb for but not all dealers know this so I have to put up with a defective SF. I loved it at first but that ended within 3 weeks. I think the 6 cylinders are more reliable than the 4's. Traded in for SF XL limited, has the 6 cylinder. Update Feb 2017; the SF xl limited has performed excellent.

Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Our was a Lemon, Manufacturer didn't care

jsb71, 01/20/2015
Sport 2.0T 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
29 of 30 people found this review helpful

The problems with our 2013 Santa Fe Limited (2.0L AWD) began last July when the engine died (rattling noise in cylinders). Shop foreman requested full engine block replacement, but Manufacturing Company only approved short block. Car was returned 30 days later (no rental given) and continued to have problems. 5 months later, we are back at the shop, having the engine replaced again. Dealership is working with us on a replacement vehicle deal, for which we are thankful, but the Manufacturer has shown no compassion. We will be going to court to reclaim lost time with the car over payments and insurance costs.

Report Abuse
12345...23
Items per page: