Skip to main content

Used 2015 Honda Pilot Consumer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
32 reviews
List Price Range
$10,000 - $31,998

Used Pilot for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...7

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

one year of ownership

osprey, 05/18/2016
SE 4dr SUV 4WD (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
64 of 66 people found this review helpful

Was really torn between last of the 2015's vs. new 2-16 redesign.... Saved some$$$ and went with the 2015. After reading all the issues with the transmission, touchscreen, radio probs of the 2016 glad I did. No issues as of yet. Had an anchor seat cover come loose and that is it (glued back in) It is a famiiy hauler...very smooth on the highway. tracks straight and true easy family cruiser. BIg, boxy and bulky - tough to find anymore. Love the true center console. great sound system, rear dvd, and no touchscreen crap - true knobs to turn!!! So far so good.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

4th and I'm afraid last Pilot

Bob, 01/07/2018
Touring w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment 4dr SUV 4WD (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
36 of 37 people found this review helpful

This is the 4th Pilot that we've owned and second Touring. An absolutely incredible machine with all the bells and whistles. Wish it had a heated steering wheel, but outside of that Honda nailed it. And then, not unlike most auto manufacturers, they went too far and ruined the Pilot with the 2016 and 2017. I hear that more big changes are in store for the 2018, which means it's going to be very unlikely that I buy a 5th Pilot in the future. If you want a 2015 before they're gone you better move fast and be prepared to pay a pretty penny for it as well as the Dealers can't keep them on the lot. I had a Dealer friend of mine notify me of the one that I just bought as soon as they took it in on trade, ran down there with Momma and bought it immediately. Glad I did. 2015's with 20kish miles are hard to find!!!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

A Very Good Value Three Row SUV

Bryan Connington, 04/07/2015
SE 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
23 of 24 people found this review helpful

A really super vehicle. Very smooth ride . Very quiet cabin, including at highway speeds. Plenty of power (although I have not been towing) and good automatic shifter. Some great deals available (I was helped get an excellent price through edmunds Price Promise) - Breakaway Honda in Greenville SC made this one of the easiest car purchases I have ever made.

Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Blue Smoothy

Mark, 08/30/2015
updated 09/04/2018
EX-L w/Rear Entertainment 4dr SUV 4WD (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
28 of 30 people found this review helpful

I always wanted a Pilot, but could't justify the cost, but I finally made the plunge and love it. Sure, I looked at the 2015 Highlander and almost spent a few grand more to get the latest tech, and maybe in retro spec I should have, but the family and I love our Pilot and how it gets us around in our daily lives. The DVD player for the eight and twelve year olds are a must. Great MPG and my wife and I love how it glides down the road. Would buy another one. One crazy thing though... I had all four brake calipers rust, just surface, and Rivertown Honda replaced them under warranty without more than a "Hey guys what do you think of this." Cant say enough about how easy that was and a new 2015 Civic for the day without charge. Thanks Honda and Rivertown Honda of Grandville, MI.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle for the price!

Dave, 07/28/2015
updated 07/29/2016
LX 4dr SUV 4WD (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
26 of 28 people found this review helpful

Overall, I love this car. I wasn't too thrilled the first week. The VCM (variable cylinder management) system is kinda clunky and going from a smooth CVT to this led me to believe I was having transmission issues. This is not the smoothest SUV. It does great in every other gear but when I hit 20mph and downshift into 1st gear (I believe) there is an audible clunk that you can feel. It was a little annoying but only because I previously owned a Ford Explorer with tranny issues that started similarly to this. After taking it in to be looked at, it was explained to me that this is normal. With the car constantly turning off and on 3 cylinders, it does make the ride "less smooth" but you get better fuel economy in exchange. I will say that it's a great highway cruiser with lots of nooks, crannies and cargo space. The A/C blows cold as soon as you start it up! (Even in the hot VA summer.) I love the interior of the new pilot. It's a huge step up. The interior is a little dated. I would've waited a couple weeks and bought a 2016 but I don't want a mini van. Which is what all new SUV's look like nowadays. I had to choose between interior aesthetics or exterior aesthetics and I chose exterior. I want my SUV to look like a SUV. Not a mini van. So, I chose the 2015 instead and got the square body SUV I know and love, but at the price of a dated interior. I do love this car. Aside from the VCM, I will say braking distance is poor, but it's s great vehicle overall. If the 2016 Pilot kept the same body style but updated the interior to what it is now, I would've bought a 2016 in a second. This looks like the last true SUV in the market I'll ever be able to afford. I turned down a 2015 Pathfinder strictly due to the mini van design. Had the pathfinder kept true to its SUV design, I'd be the owner of one right now. I understand gas mileage is important. Especially this day and age. But, me personally... I'd rather sacrifice a few mpg and have a real SUV, not a minivanified SUV. Overall a great car. It has it quirks but it's super reliable and super comfortable and looks like a real SUV. What more could you ask for. I'd give it a solid B+ overall. Now is the time to buy a 2015 Pilot. With the new 2016, lots of dealerships are offering their 2015 models far below invoice price. The pilot has always been outside of my budget, but the 2016 Pilot's new designed changed that for me and allowed me to buy a car I could never afford. That's the only thing I like about the 2016 Pilot. UPDATE: Have now owned this vehicle for over a year. Have had no issues with it. If anything, it actually rides smoother after putting a few miles on it. I'm at 6,500 miles now. My opinion is the same. Great car, but the transmission could be tuned a little bit better. There is a slight delay between depressing the accelerator and the car actually moving forward. It's a small quirk to deal with.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page: