Used 2012 Honda Civic Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$5,991 - $11,995

Used Civic for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2nd review-crash result

carlonz, 12/30/2012
80 of 82 people found this review helpful

I submitted a review previously, just after purchasing my new 12 civic. I thought I should submit another after recently totaling it. It was a great car, in fact I have replaced it with the same exact model and color. Whats important to know is that I was hit (t-boned) on the passenger side at about 35 mph. Side impact air bags went off and car spun 180 degrees. I walked away with only a bruise to my right foreman, no other bruisers, breaks or next day sorenss, with the driver and passenger seating areas fully intact. It's not often someone submits a review on safety in a real world incident. Above and beyond its strengths and weaknesses, this car is built for safety. Thank you Honda.

Report Abuse

Lesser of the evils

dannerd, 07/07/2012
33 of 33 people found this review helpful

I based my car buying decision on my experience with owning an assortment of different beaters, and that this time I was going to buy something new. Out of all the beaters I've owned, Hondas always got the best gas mileage, were the cheapest to fix, were easy to sell. If you read the bashing reviews for the 2012 civic, you'll notice the gripes are mostly about the cheap interior plastic and road noise. If you compare the reviews to other competitors like the 2012 focus or elantra, they are having serious issues involving the transmission, and check engine lights coming on recent to the purchase of the vehicle. That should tell you something. No car is perfect, but Honda seems to get close.

Report Abuse

wow!!! impressive!!! got our $$ worth!

bnward1988, 05/16/2011
39 of 42 people found this review helpful

Was looking to downsize with an economical vehicle and had looked at many other economy cars (mazda 3, hyundai sonata, toyota corolla) before looking at Honda's Civic. Have been impressed with the engine's performance...Living in Co. thought we'd have to buy a standard to provide more power to drive over the mountain hwy, yet, was impressed during the test drive..that we bought an automatic and have not been disappointed. Enjoying the interior layout! Feel we're getting our $$'s worth and if we decide to trade in later, we know that we'll get a better trade in value compared to other vehicles.

Report Abuse

The Best Yet

nmskies, 12/27/2011
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I have owned seven Civics: an 83 hatchback, a 91 DX sedan, a 95 hatchback, a 99 LX sedan, an 05 hybrid, an 07 EX coupe and now, my 12 EX Coupe. I loved my 07, and I believe the 12 is an upgrade on the gen 8. What has improved? I like the softened lines, the road noise has decreased, and the A pillar blind spot has been eliminated by thinning the pillars. Streaming music through Bluetooth from my iPhone is incredible. The quality of the Bluetooth is exceptional. I don't believe the dash is busy at all. The control buttons for the iMid on the steering wheel are intuitive and extremely ergonomic. I have never had a problem with my Civics, and I expect the same from this one.

Report Abuse

LOVE this car!

shootingstar3, 04/24/2012
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I wasn't even going to look at this car due to poor reviews, but my hubby had to take his CRV in for service and I was killing time browsing the lot, sat in one, drove it, loved it and traded my 07 RAV4 on the spot. Super glad I did! Don't understand the knocks this car is getting. Over the last month, I drove a Prius, Fiesta, Focus, Elantra, Mazda3, VW GTI, and Volvo C30(loved that one, but $$), and ruled them all out. Was just going to keep the RAV until this car. It is comfy, sporty, and OMG, the mileage! I just filled it for the first time and got 35mpg in TOWN people! This is an automatic and not a hybrid. It rides smoother than my RAV and handles great. Not a rocket, but adequate power

Report Abuse

No more Hondas for me!

ravfjr, 05/30/2014
16 of 18 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd civic, and will be my last Honda. It appears that Honda has (sadly) taken the road to greed by offering an inferior product for profit. At 500 miles the traction control unit failed, then at 13,000 miles the A/C unit wouldn't work, followed by an emission control failure at 15,000 miles. The car is extremely noisy and uncomfortable to drive. The stereo is one on the worst I've ever heard. I really can't believe this car is a Honda product.

Report Abuse

2012 Civic

virgie, 09/01/2011
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

We bought a 2012 Honda Civic back in June. It is just my husband and myself and we decided to downsize. We had a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. We were disappointed with the service we got from the Impala. I was interested in buying a Toyota Corolla. My daughter has a 2004 Corolla and has gotten excellent service. For example she still has the original battery. The Corolla has only had to have routine service work (oil changes, brakes, and tires). When the time came to ditch the Impala we had trouble finding Corolla's. So we went and looked at Civics. I loved the dash inside the car. I love the Econ. feature. We loved the way the car handles.

Report Abuse

Forget Consumer Reports

subarubiker, 01/02/2013
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

The fact that Honda only made slight changes to the Coupe for 2013 shows the 2012 was a great car. I have a Dyno Blue Coupe EX with the 5-speed manual, absolutely stunning and sporty looking. This is my first manual car and I love it; it has a smooth-shifting stick and a very easy to modulate clutch that's a breeze in traffic. It gets great mileage on regular gas, getting 28mpg combined in winter temperatures with snow tires. The ride is a bit loud, but it handles very well and is a big upgrade over the past Civics with the handy i-Mid and the great 7-speaker sound system. Seats are very comfy! The only thing that lacks in the Civic is winter handling- winter tires transformed my Civic.

Report Abuse

NOT DISAPPOINTED!

Cameron, 01/21/2019
EX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought my Civic coupe pre-owned with 54k miles. Over the course of the past 2.5 years I have driven it quite a bit. Odo is currently at 113k and she has never required any repairs other than general maintainence. The only lights I've seen lit up on the dash are the TPMS and low fuel light. The car is a great value and has plenty of tech considering it's almost 8 years old. Bluetooth connectivity is easy, but callers have a hard time understanding me while I'm driving at highway speeds. The stereo is nothing to sneeze at. 360w and 7 speakers is more than enough for a two door coupe. It's loud but bass is a bit lacking for me, considering it has a sub in the back window sill. Comfort is an easy 5 out of 5. I'm six foot but can easily sit comfortably in the back seat. The trunk on the other hand is a bit on the small side, but the rear seats do fold almost flat. Fuel milage combined for me is about 31, mostly highway miles ranging between speeds of 75-90. Not shabby. Only complaints I have are minor. With only 140hp and and the 5spd auto, the car is quite frankly a bit of a dog at times. I have no problems getting up to speed, but the car does feel under-powered occasionally in hilly areas. Also, the traction control cannot be disabled if the tire pressure is low enough to trip the tpms. Found that out when I got stuck in snow. Great car overall. I would recommend it to anyone!

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

The 2010 Ex got even better

jabutix, 08/17/2011
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

The Civic EX 2012 exceeded my expectations. It drives well and is quite responsive, making it a fun ride. Mileage got even better and the Economy button works very well for slow traffic conditions. The interior design is attractive and the accessibility to all commands makes it quite functional. It is a good buy for the money.

Report Abuse

What I expected...

miami305, 09/22/2011
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

It is what I expected. I bought this car for the better gas mileage. It's a traditional civic.. hard to park straight and completely in the parking spot, with the sloped hood and windshield, but I suppose I 'll get used to that eventually.

Report Abuse

EX-L with Nav excellent

dadmansr, 04/27/2011
12 of 17 people found this review helpful

Purchased 2012 EX-L with Nav. Great car! Drove back from Columbus, OH got 46 mpg using econ mode averaging 65 mph. Overall 38mpg for first tank. Technology is great, nav system and bluetooth excellent. Interior very quiet for small car, leather is very nice and seats comfortable. Always bought Toyota's til now.

Report Abuse

Love my civic!

Nyagresk, 10/06/2015
EX-L 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

ROAD NOISE SUCKS THOUGH!!! Very noisy. And there no outside air display which is kind of weird. Other than that it is amazing. I love the gas mileage and that it takes regular gas. Looks super sporty on the outside and slick interior is nice and simple. So far so good! 19.120k miles and going strong.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love My New Civic!

drewdiddy, 12/18/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Okay, so it's a little premature to write a review about a car I've owned for 6 hours, and 50 miles. However this is my fifth Civic and I'm loving what I've seen so far. The technology is awesome, the mileage has been outstanding, and to be able to see your actual mpg improve by my method of driving, and using the ECON button is short of a incredible. I've owned a 1989 Civic, 1993 Civic Coupe, 2004 Civic Coupe, and most recently acquired my mom's 1996 Civic sedan.

Report Abuse

Perfect lil spaceship

Alexa, 11/21/2018
EX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Totally feel like I'm in my own little zone, a safe little cruiser. I can't stop driving it! So zippy and fun, but with a small engine that keeps me safely within the speed limit without having to think too much. Eco mode is great on the highway, but it got me stuck in the snow when I forgot to turn it off - oops!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Five Manual Transmission Complaint

mastersergeant, 09/02/2012
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

Body styling is sporty in coupe compared to the competition. Thought I was purchasing a quality built vehicle. I prefer manual transmissions in small cars for the sport of shifting. The five speed transmission has a 'clunking' sound when engaging and releasing clutch pedal shifting out of first into second and from second to third gear. Honda is aware of the complaint/noise and has no repair. Had they simply put on the window sticker that the complaint is there without a fix I would not have bought the car. Very disappointed. Have driven other older vehicles to include the old VW Beetle that have had quieter transmissions. Fuel economy is great! Very disappointed with transmission.

Report Abuse

If you think this car is noisy...

shannonb36, 02/01/2013
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Just traded in a 2009 Accent for a 2012 new, left over Civic. have put on 150 miles in 2 days and planning a road trip to test its mettle. Very impressed so far. Started with a 2012 Accent which was totaled. Went with the 09 on the assurance that it would give me 300,000 miles. What it gave me was 2K worth of repairs in one year. I haven't driven other cars in the Civic's class, but it handles and rides like a dream. Seating is very comfortable, back seat even in the coupe model is spacious. Engine is a quiet hum. Hoping that this will be my 300K mile vehicle.

Report Abuse

Great for the Price

Deanne Lock, 04/11/2016
DX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

You get what you pay for. This is a car that is great for someone without kids. Back seating a very tight and the rear view is difficult. It has FABULOUSA gas mileage and steering. It is road noisy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Update

shannonb36, 08/29/2013
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Have had my 2012 Civic coupe for 7 months and have loved every minute of it. Have put 12,000 miles on it so far. It gets me everywhere I've asked it to go so far. I do agree with others about the blind spots, but have learned to be aware of them when changing lanes. I also agree about the acceleration. It takes a little while to get up to highway speed, but once it does it cruises very comfortably and sometimes when I look down the speed on the speedometer surprises me and I slow down quick! Still impressed with all of the features offered in an economy priced car. Very happy, very good purchase.

Report Abuse

Nice Car but Having Some Mechanical and Mileage Issues

happykt1, 05/20/2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I like my car even though it looks like a 10 year old fuddy duddy Toyota Camry from the rear. With the Eco Assist on, the acceleration is very mediocre on this car. I also haven't gotten over 30 mpg because of stop and go traffic on the freeways in Austin Tx, which is a huge disappointment to me. I expected better especially since I keep the car in the green zone according to the Eco Indicator quite often. The first month I had the car, it stalled out twice and I was going to take it in but the problem went away. However, four months later in 90 degree heat, the car is once again stalling out, especially in the morning. I only have 5.4 K on the car and drive 22 miles a day to and from work.

Report Abuse

civic exl

adansereau, 08/24/2012
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

Just gor this EXL coupe w nav three days ago. Traded a 2010 ex coupe. This car is quiter, more comfortable, rides better, and feals more premium. Consumer Mag dished this car and i am saying nuts to them. I have had 64 cars and this is nicely appointed quality car. Big difference to the 2010. The nav and bluetooth and xm are great ! Buy one you won't be sorry.

Report Abuse

Alternator Issue

Kiran Mehta, 01/18/2016
DX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 8 people found this review helpful

I had to replace the battery because it went dead. When I got replaced the battery at battery + I was told that I need to get Alternator checked out because it not charging the battery the way it should. So I called dealer they wanted $80 to run diagnostic on vehicle instead of spending $80 I went to my mechanic who is working on foreign cars for a while. He checked to see if battery is being charge while car is running and it wasn't, it was showing battery was holding at 12.4 V and it should have been 14 V. He tried various method to see if it charges the battery and finally when he turn the head lights on while car is running battery started charging and showing 14 v. He told me that it is weird and never saw anything like this. He thought probably the alternator was made that way. So I called to confirm with Honda company to see if they have any thing on this issue I was told they don't have information or recall on it. Rep at Honda company was pushing me to take it to dealer and pay $80 for diagnostic.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Upgrade to EX, it's worth it

barba311, 08/10/2011
5 of 11 people found this review helpful

This is a great car. Honda lives up to everything they stand for. Fuel economy, value, and it's a really nice looking car! We upgraded to the EX model. It's less than $2,000 more but you get sunroof, bluetooth, and alloy wheels. It's definitely worth it for those 3 things.

Report Abuse

It's a small car

es330suck, 02/19/2012
5 of 12 people found this review helpful

The resons i bought this car are MPG and its style. I get Lx and add fog light for reason. The car run loud under 35 mph but much quiet above that range. Upgrading better tire maybe can reducing some road noise, but I can live with the firestone fuel fight tire for now.There are a lot of places could be done better but it will add more cost and weight for any impovement. The cheap carpet and insulation The easily scratched plastic door panel are the obvious.

Report Abuse

Despite reviews, still a great car !

hondafan88, 12/06/2013
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Had my 2012 Civic for 2 years now and have already put 61.950 miles on it with zero problems ! Have only put new tires on it since purchase, well taken care of. This car has taken care of me ! Love to drive it everyday and gas mileage is superb ! My only complaint is the road noise and the glove box sometimes rattles..handles beautifully in the snow and ice and never let's me down. Love the leather bucket seats for comfort, it's a great car for reliability and value. I will buy another one when I reach 500,000 miles with this one ! Driving a Honda Civic is just plain smart and recommend it to anyone over any other compact ! This is my second Civic and never disappointed !

Report Abuse

This is the car that drove us from Honda forever.

IndyMike, 11/30/2017
EX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
2 of 6 people found this review helpful

Ugh, where do I begin? We also have a 2002 Honda Civic LX Coupe that was purchased new in January, 2002 that is a much more refined vehicle. This 2012 edition is actually louder, gets worse mileage, is less fun to drive and RATTLES. From, like, everywhere. The cheap, hard plastic dashboard is the worst offender. The rear suspension has a weird squeak that developed in about the third year. The road noise is less now that we got rid of the OEM tires for some Yokohama Tornantes, which greatly helped the handling but it is still difficult to hold a conversation at highway speeds, especially when the road is rough or it is windy. The driver's seat has a stress tear in the fabric between the side bolster and the center of the seat about halfway between the bottom cushion and the headrest that developed in our third year of ownership because it sits so low and the seat bolsters are so aggressive you can't get in without bumping into them. It is painful to get in and out of and sits very low. We have to drive through the Ozarks once or twice a year, and this thing with its 140 HP is a nightmare on even well-paved hills. There just isn't enough power and many times we've felt unsafe trying to pass. The transmission shifts at odd times and frequently has to hunt for the right gear, and we don't even use the "Econ" mode because that just makes you floor an already slow car to get up to speed. We have always had Honda do routine maintenance and they have already had to add an additive to our transmission at the last fluid change because it had developed a mild shudder and slight slip. Almost any vehicle that pulls up behind us blinds us at night due to the low ride height and the huge back glass. We really dread going anywhere in this. It's a total piece of crap, and there's only 81K miles on it. If you simply must have a used Civic, do NOT get the 2012 model in any style or you will live to regret it. We're so angry with Honda's admission that they didn't think they needed to make this car nice from the start because Americans were having financial troubles and wouldn't know the difference that we will never trust them again. Seriously, who does that? We're done with this company. Looking at a new Subaru product for our next vehicle. Sorry, not sorry, Honda.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Buyer Beware

timd7, 02/16/2012
10 of 36 people found this review helpful

The vibration inherent in this vehicle is unbelievable - and carpal tunnel and cubital tunnel are the result. Buyer beware - this vehicle should have warnings printed everywhere. Honda says - so what - we know the vibration is there - so what. Honda executives said - we duped Americans into paying top dollar for a piece of vibrating crap. That's why they are redesigning quickly for 2013... What will that mean to the 2012s we have now - the resale on this vehicle is soooooo low already I can't get out of it. So what, Honda customer services said - buy another vehicle. Honda lost my business.

Report Abuse

The Snooze Cruise

newcivic2012, 09/06/2011
11 of 43 people found this review helpful

I've had this car now for a little over a 1000 miles and man do I have a lot to say about it - and not all good. The windshield and sloped hood make it almost impossible to gauge how close you are to something and makes it hard to park tightly. The '160 watt' radio is ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE! The controls for most of the components - awkwardly placed and an eye sore. The Bluetooth - a complete failure/hard to use (Mazda and Nissan system were much better - I know because I rented both). Traction/assisted steering/whatever the heck it's supposed to be - does little (in fact feels more responsive when it's off). What a joke! Really Civic? You got me at hello but now I a divorce.

Report Abuse

Does exactly what is needs to

code_break, 12/26/2012
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased a 2012 Civic LX after doing a lot of research on fuel efficient compact cars. Fuel economy was a top priority as my old gas burner was robbing me every other week. After comparing real world users reports it was clear the Civic would get good fuel economy. Many other cars seem to be highway rated at 40 mpg (Hyundai Elantra), but people in the real world are not actually getting that. After about 1k miles I've already got over 45 mpg on a 200 mile trip.

Report Abuse

Not like they used to be

edward1171, 03/05/2012
1 of 16 people found this review helpful

This has been the gold standard in econ cars for years. I'm a bit disappointed at the gas mileage. Even with the "econ" button, t's no better than my 12 year old Sentra. The button takes torque away to such an extent that you need to be on flat land in order for the driving to be consistent. Climate control is pretty good but it's nearly impossible to keep the windows clear of fog. Premium audio is almost useless. The auto traction and brakes are decent, if you are hoping to have the car drive for you. However, if you like to control everything it's not so favorable.

Report Abuse

Love 2nd time around

tikadawn, 07/31/2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I recently owned a 2006 civic coupe and crashed at no fault of my own, it was totaled, so when I got the insurance check I immediatly told my boyfriend I want another civic. He tried to get me to look at other types of cars, but I had to have my civic and I just love my 2012 automatic w/ navigation. I feel safe and comfortable with the size of the car. I dont feel the road noise as people talk about or the vibrations. My car has a smooth ride and its a step up from the 2006, but to be honest, I liked the look of my 2006, it was more sporty, but thats not neither her or there, its a great car. I get double takes on the 2012 car all the time. I know I made the right decision.

Report Abuse

Very impressed, and happy with my 2012 Civic !

merickson88, 04/06/2013
EX-L 2dr Coupe w/Nav (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am impressed with the new 2012 Civic...still under two years old I have already put on over 50,000 miles with 0 problems..smartest buy I've made yet and it's my second Honda and will never buy anything else ! I avg 32 city and 33 to 39 on the highway depending on how I drive. Excellent gas mileage and comfortable car. Love the navigation, stereo and sound, leather interior which is nice and durable ! I just love my Honda and can't wait to drive it, it's a remarkable car ! I plan on trying to get as many miles out of it as I can !

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050