List Price Estimate
$1,684 - $3,544

Used Sierra 1500 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Love My GMC Truck

Dr. Grimes, 06/15/2009
K1500 SLT 2dr Regular Cab 4WD LB
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have pulled stumps with this vehicle as well as a utility trailer with household articles, motorcycle, and ATV. It never had any trouble. I did have the water pump changed a while back. The previous owner had placed small wheels on it for some reason. I put the size tires it should have had. Therefore, I think the mileage is a good bit less than the 60000 that the odometer reads.

Report Abuse

My GMC turned me into a Toyota fan.

cspu, 11/20/2003
K1500 SL 2dr Extended Cab 4WD SB
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought my 1997 GMC Sierra K1500 SLT extended cab in 2002 with 67K miles on it and sold it just over a year later with 81K. During that time it became apparent that GM is not building their trucks to last. I won't list everything, but major things include the waterpump, trans, and front axles. The squeaks and rattles were everywhere. The brakes are horrible, even after being replaced, this truck is too heavy for the brakes it comes with.

Report Abuse

Love it

james dietsch, 07/13/2006
K1500 SLT 2dr Extended Cab 4WD SB
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have had a lot of fun in my truck. The only real trouble was me beating on it and pushing it to the limits off roading. Otherwise can't complain!

Report Abuse

my 1st new vehicle ever

richard, 05/02/2008
C1500 SL 2dr Extended Cab LB
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck in 97 new off the lot. I replaced the tranmission twice, water pump, radiator, wiper motor, power steering pump twice, and the AC went out at 155000 miles. I loved this truck and would love to keep and fix it up. It has 223,000 on the small v-8 motor but needed a better mileage with fuel @ $3.50 a gallon. Everyone who rode with me thought it was such a nice truck. My lil kids love to ride with me and the fact that I could turn off the airbags, made them extremely happy.

Report Abuse

Best Truck On the Road

rebecca, 09/30/2009
K1500 SLT 2dr Extended Cab 4WD LB
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought truck 10 years ago, with 12,000 miles on it. Fuel pump at 100,000 another at 200,000. Wiper problem was a solder-fix. New starter, alternator. Truck runs like a champ, lots of power, has 210,000 on 350 vortec and I'm leaving for a 1000 mile trip next week. A comfortable ride, killer music system (after-market), tinted windows. I'd buy another one in a heartbeat.

Report Abuse

Several Problems

JHaysPE, 12/22/2003
C1500 SLT 2dr Extended Cab Stepside SB
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Purchased truck with 30k miles on it. Intake manifold gaskets have leaked / blown out and been replaced. Alternator has been replaced. There is a fitting on top of the intake manifold towards the front just behind the alternator that has severely corroded for some reason (looks like heater hose line) and will have to replaced. AIr conditioning/heater fan speed switch has been replaced. Leather seats have craked badly in spots in spite of regular care and conditioning. ANd third door has always rattled, popped, squeaked and basically sounded like a bag of bolts.

Report Abuse

bad buy

leo444, 02/10/2004
C1500 SLT 2dr Regular Cab SB
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

transmission went out 50000 miles, wiper motor went out 52000 miles, alternator out 40000 miles, egr valve bad70000 miles, door handle broke 75000 miles, thermostat heater went out 66000 miles. many other little prob

Report Abuse

Time out!!

edelp, 03/04/2004
K1500 SL 2dr Regular Cab 4WD SB
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Third GM with intake manifold leaks. 1 4.3, and 2, 5.7 vortecs. GM knows this problem exists. ASK ANY DEALER. Sun Crashes dashes. Two water pumps, one on 4.3with 47000 miles, one on 5.7 with 50M Rattles in dash. Gas mileage on 5.7 is excessive. New tune up may get 15... Heater hoses are poor quality...corrosion.

Report Abuse

No Brakes, Bad Electrical Systems

Brian Sampsel, 07/04/2006
K1500 SLE 2dr Extended Cab 4WD Stepside SB
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've owned this 97 GMC z71 fullsize truck for about 2.5yrs. Had lots of repairs completed, listed are radiator, rear brake wheel cylinders (both sides) brake lines, alternator., water pump, egr valve, idler pully, headlight switch, loose steering box. The list goes on. The truck is much too heavy for the braking system. I lost the brakes at a red light, the brake pedal went to the floor. Rear brake line rusted out. This truck has been very well taken care of, garaged and with light use. About 79,000 miles on it now, looking to spend more money to get the electrical problems resolved. Breaks my heart GM can't build a truck that will last. Looking to trade, can't afford repairs, along with payments.

Report Abuse

My Awesomer Truck!

Kid with a truck, 01/04/2007
K1500 SLT 2dr Extended Cab 4WD SB
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Well I just got this truck from my parents, well my mom, with a whole 220 thousand miles on it! I love it! Only thing is my mom gave up on fixing the problems on it like 6 months before I got it, so I put a new heater core in, new radiator, new tires and wheels. We did have some problems with the transmission like at 160k miles, and I think the rear diff is going out.

Report Abuse

Tuff Trucks

Z7 Power machine, 04/02/2003
K1500 SLE 2dr Regular Cab 4WD SB
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have a 1997 GMC Z-71 With 5.0lLiter pushing 317h.p. This truck is a power house. I have had little to no trouble at all with it. I have added 33inch tires and the 2001 silverado rims, computer, reprogrammer, throttle body, fuel injectors, strobe lights, tinted windows, billet grille, lights covers, and a nasty stereo system. I am averaging 20mpg and wouldn't trade it for anything. The look of these style puts them in their own class. Remember always Like a Rock and never buy a FORD!!!!!

Report Abuse

My last American product

MJ777, 04/13/2004
K1500 SLE 2dr Extended Cab 4WD SB
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I will never buy another American product (automotive) as long as I live. And especially never a GM again - and I've let everyone know. This truck was the absolute lousiest vehicle I've ever owned - the tow truck guy know's me by heart and my repair shop. Ever since I got this truck its been nothing but repair bills - you name it, I've replaced it. O2 sensors, EGR valves, fuel pumps, anything electrical, 2 transmissions .... I've sunk so much cash into this truck and I haven't even paid it off yet! WHATEVER you do DON"T buy this make, don't buy any GMC from 95-current unless you've got money to waste.

Report Abuse

third gm truck

r3d_elite, 08/28/2012
C1500 SLE 2dr Extended Cab LB
6 of 10 people found this review helpful

this is my third gm truck and i have yet to be disappointed. first truck was an 87 chevy that i drove until i hit a deer and ditch and the frame warped. second finally gave in when the truck was loaned to a friend (at the time) and they blew the engine.... (friends dont beat friends' vehicles...) this 97 gmc has 220k on it and still running great yeah some maintenance is required but that comes with all vehicles. who needs a jap vehicle. id like to see how many honda's can pull a stump out of the ground then go on a comfortable 3 hour trip back home

Report Abuse

GMC 1500 great truck

Wadek, 07/25/2009
K1500 SLT 2dr Extended Cab 4WD LB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have a 1997 GMC 1500 extended cab. This is the greatest truck Ive ever had.It has about 125,000 miles on it and sill runs strong. Plenty of towing power. I love every feature on this. If you wax and wash them and keep the scratches off it looks great and with regular maintenance this truck lasts.

Report Abuse

Greatest Truck Ever!

codymortensen58, 05/18/2010
K1500 SLT 2dr Extended Cab 4WD SB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My Truck has 250,000+ miles on it and it is still running great, i live on a country road in Minnesota and it takes the snow and heat with no problem at all. It has little to no rust on it because i wash it biweekly. The greatest truck i have ever owned, i upped the tire size to 285 just to give it a beefier look and to help in the field. I guarentee that this truck will get me another 200,000 if it keeps up at this pace!

Report Abuse

Very reliable and FUN to drive

EJA, 07/10/2002
K1500 SLE 2dr Extended Cab 4WD SB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This truck has awesome power with the 5.7 engine. It has also been the most reliable vehicle I have owned. The speed speed controlled radio volume can't be beat. You will know what I meen if you travel the open road frequently; turning up the volume at high speeds....turning it down at toll booths. Now, with this feature, I adjust it when I get in and THATS IT! Unfortunatly, for those like me, without the 3rd door, getting into the back seat is a challenge for adults, plus it lacks leg room. On the other hand, it is great for kids. It's guaranteed my next vehicle will be another GMC Sierra.

Report Abuse

Transmission Wary

Medic31, 10/14/2002
K1500 SLE 2dr Extended Cab 4WD SB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The transmission started shifting hard at about 48,000 miles. After a transmission service, it totally burned up the new fluid after about 8-9,000 miles. The dealer's service department was absolutely no help. It was replaced for about $725.00. At about 51,000 miles it started doing the same thing again. This time, GM and the dealer were no help. We then came in contact with a transmission place in Reno, NV and they informed us this was a common problem with these trucks and was due to a GM design defect of a small $21.70 switch in the torque converter. They replaced this switch for less than $400.00 about 9 months ago and we've had no more problems.

Report Abuse

Jusbob Says

jusbob, 10/19/2002
C1500 SLE 2dr Extended Cab Stepside SB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

at 75000 intake man gasket leaked, was told it was common on these.plugs bad .used oil. 75.oo to test. justto tell what was wrong,but cost 127.50 instead. all this was supposed to be good for 100000 miles.all fixed now, after about 600.00. just hope it stops using oil!!!! Helpfull hints; buy a ford !!!!!!!

Report Abuse

No complaints

JGraham, 10/13/2003
C1500 SL 2dr Extended Cab SB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

In the 3 years that I've owned this truck, I've had to do brakes once and one tune up (plugs, wires & a cap), nothing else. My truck has teh 4.3L V6, and a 5sp manual tranny. No word of a lie: in the summer I get 20 miles to the gallon, and the rest of the year she gets about 19 to 19.5miles to the gallon. It is a 2 wheel drive truck, so (living in New Hampshire) I've been forced to get a set of tire chains so that I can crawl out of almost anything, and it works.

Report Abuse

Completely Satisfied

Boomstik, 07/13/2004
C1500 SLT 2dr Extended Cab LB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchase truck at 40k. I now have 110k on this vehicle. Replace the tranny 10k ago. Replace intake manifold gasket, corroded hose connection twice. Other typical consumable items have been replaced. I was a little disappointed with the transmission replacement but otherwise the truck runs great and takes quite a beating.

Report Abuse

Dependable workhorse

Sean Ross, 02/23/2007
C1500 SLT 2dr Extended Cab LB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle new in 1997 and have driven it ever since. It has reliably hauled loads whenever I needed it. It has been inexpensive to maintain and comfortable to drive. After 10 years the paint is still sharp and the sound system good. I suppose I could wish for better gas mileage (16 city, 21 hwy) but I don't know any other V8 truck that would do any better.

Report Abuse

A Great Truck

Great truck, 11/24/2007
C1500 SLT 2dr Extended Cab SB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Currently at 262,000 km. This truck has been excellent. Only had to have work done on the manifold gasket twice& replaced fuel pump. I look forward to driving in it everyday. I prefer it to the newer models and hope to keep it for as long as possible. It rides nicely. I get pretty good mileage for a truck (last fill up I got 534 k.m with the tank.) I would recommend this truck to anyone who is looking for a very reliable, comfortable truck.

Report Abuse

The best truck I ever had!

WICKKED, 03/12/2008
C1500 SL 2dr Regular Cab LB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have a lead foot and every month or so I'm replacing the bald rear tires. I have driven a lot of veichles and this one has stood up to the abuse allmost as good as the 94 Chevy Cavalier I had. This truck is awesome. It's a 5 speed and I have no trouble with it. As much as I rag on it it still passes emissions with no trouble.

Report Abuse

Awesome GMC

lovepontiac, 06/24/2002
C1500 SLE 2dr Extended Cab SB
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

When GMC says they're professional grade, they mean it! I've hauled tons and tons with my Sierra and she's performed like none other I've seen. I have a family of six and can take them all on trips.

Report Abuse

1997 GMC Z71

nip4nowon, 05/29/2003
K1500 SL 2dr Extended Cab 4WD Stepside SB
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

The only good thing about this vehicle was the price I got at the dealership in Urbana Ohio. I’ve had a lot of electrical trouble; tons of problems with the brakes and the transmission, power steering going out again and you don’t want to be out in the rain with it when the windshield wipers quit working. This is the last straw for me. No more GM products. We have always drove GM products and it just isn’t worth it anymore. I wish someone would run a red light and broadside me, so I could go and a buy a reliable Jap car with the insurance money.

Report Abuse

GMC TRUCK

fresh, 02/10/2003
C1500 SLE 2dr Extended Cab SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

No mechanical problems. Very quiet ride with the right tires. Plenty of power.

Report Abuse

Old Friend

Dennis, 02/07/2006
K1500 SLE 2dr Extended Cab 4WD SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I'm selling after 160,000 miles. Mininum maintenance required: 2 sets of tires, new fuel pump, manifold gasket. No rust, paint and interior still like new. 16 mpg under most conditions. Does not burn oil between 6000 mile changes. In spite of high gas prices, will buy another, but this time a crew cab as entry and exit difficult to crowded rear seat.

Report Abuse

GMC Sierra

Dakotah, 11/27/2006
K1500 SLT 2dr Extended Cab 4WD LB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the first car I have ever owned. I am quite lucky that I am able to drive something like this. Now as a younger person in the world how else am I supposed to drive this truck. I used to be hard on it.. Hard accelerating, braking, steering, offroading.. The list goes on. Really though, now I take good care of it and the only problem I have had with this truck is the manifold gasket and the drivers' seat. Other than that the fluids are fine between checkups. The truck runs great for me.

Report Abuse

its a [non-permissible content removed] tank

16stmica, 04/08/2012
K1500 SLT 2dr Regular Cab 4WD Stepside SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i have had my 1997 GMC sierra 1500 (it a heavy half ton) for 10 years ever since my grampus ford got stolen. dam good truck loved it since the day we bought it its a 4wd has 203837 miles on it it blue has a regular cab its an sl it has a towing package.

Report Abuse

Dependable truck

sierra21122, 12/01/2007
C1500 SLT 2dr Regular Cab Stepside SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck with 165,000kms on it. Very well maintained and in perfect shape. I have driven it a total of 10,000kms to date. It's the 4.3L V6 motor which gets anywhere from 15-21 mpg in the city, I have no idea why it fluctuates so much but the drop came with the cold weather. The truck is dependable but performance is weak (definitely suggest the v8 models). The A/C condenser has a leak now it does not work. The transmission sometimes makes hard shifts. The rear shocks are clunky now and will need to be replaced. Otherwise regular maintenance seems to keep this truck running well. Couldn't ask for more from a truck.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Dillon, 02/11/2016
K1500 SL 2dr Regular Cab 4WD SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My family has had this truck for over 10 years now it's mine. I started driving it with about 100,000 miles and it now has 220,000 and and I've only had to do regular maintenance and replace the starter and alternator.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The best vehicle I've owned.

John, 01/09/2019
C1500 SL 2dr Regular Cab SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned a 1997 GMC Sierra Stepside 4.3L V6 for a while now and is the best vehicle I've ever owned. I've done limited work on her, bearing in mind she’s a ‘97 as always has been a work truck, so she’s a lot of miles. 1: Shifter cable 2: Power Steering Pressure Line 3: Steering Column Shift Mechanism That last one was my fault, I was on vacation back home in Florida as the shifter cable was going, but rather than changing it immediately, i waited and the cable fully failed, so I had to manually shift it from the tyranny and that snapped the bracket, most people won't have the last problem. I've driven her from Gulfport Ms to West Palm Beach Fl and back twice, that's somewhere around 3,000 miles, driven her from town to town for work, tack on another 1k mile for that, hauled 1.5k+ pounds of material at a time, this is all in the span of 3 months, that's not counting all the other miles I've put on her, so I've put this truck through more than most people will ever use their vehicle for and she’s never failed me. Bearing in mind that i bought this truck used from a coworker, he also used it as a work truck, I dropped $1,500 on the truck, so I can say whatever vehicle you use, you'll most likely never put it through what this one has been through.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome truck

Karen, 05/18/2020
SLE 2dr Extended Cab SB (4.3L 6cyl naturally aspired 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my 97 GMC Sierra in 2001 with a little over 56,000 miles on it. I had to replace the brakes and back drums the first year. The fuel pump. The pistons gasket(it is plastic). In 2009 I had to replace the radiator reservoir. In 2013 I replaced the alternator. Over than regular maintenance it ran like a dream. One thing that did happen was the brackets that are riveted to the frame that hold the shocks fell off. Had mechanic at the dealer tell me he has never seen that happen before. Oh had to replace the wiper motor. Inside handles would brake.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050