Used 2006 Ford Focus Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,805 - $3,633

Used Focus for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Noticed no recent reviews- thought i'd add mine!

Justin, 02/04/2016
ZXW SES 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
67 of 71 people found this review helpful

I've owned this vehicle for a year now and bought it used on craigslist and got a great deal on it. The previous owners had all records and maintained it really well with the exception of wearing out the leather in the backseat with their children's car seats a little. I've put around 10k miles on it and am currently at 135k. I've driven it from Atlanta to Key West and all over the mountains of north Georgia and I've loved every second of it. I've always been into the appearance of this model and in shopping around noted the recurring problems of interior plastic parts breaking (something mine doesn't suffer from) and electrical/wiring issues. One thing I wish I had been aware of beFORE purchasing this wagon was the issues with the wiring harness in the rear trunk hatch. It's a shame that Ford has not recalled effected models since it seems to be a widespread issue. I managed to rewire mine and all seems well, but what a nightmare it was to do. Advise to anyone thinking about buying one, check and see under the rubber boot that houses the harness to see if the wires have already been replaced... it's likely it will need to happen at some point, so be aware of that fact. On long rides I've been happy with the comfort and level in which you can adjust the drivers seating position. Some complain they find the car uncomfortable, but as the driver I don't. I have had my significant other tell me that on long rides it wasn't super great with comfort for the passenger. For every amenity you get with the price range these sell for, for model anyway, it's made me feel a little spoiled. Heated seats, leather (that has held up incredibly well for a now 10 year old car), heated and electric mirrors, etc... all great features. I have also seen in many of these that the coating and labeling on the interior knobs wears off. Mine doesn't suffer from this issue either, and every time I've cleaned it I've done taking care to make sure it stays that way. The cargo space is ample, and got even more so once I realized that the backseats fold all the way down after lifting up the bottom of the seat first. My only issue with this the one time I've needed it was that after remaining in that position for a few days it left some pretty gnarly marks in the leather from where the backs of the seats rested while pulled down - in the end however, it came out and all was well. Also it should be noted that partly why the previous owners opted to sell the car was due to the fact that the back seats don't have headrests. Not having children and rarely carrying more than two adults, this hasn't been an issue for me. Odd that a wagon would not have this included. Gas mileage has been better than advertised despite most of my day to day driving being inner city driving. Very pleased with that. This reminds me however that when I purchased the car the caveat was a new thermostat needed. I took it to my mechanic who then informed and showed me the lengths that Ford went to to save space (and weight) to achieve the fuel economy it does. Some repairs are a bit more complicated (and time consuming) than they might otherwise be with other models. In my case, several other parts had to be removed to get to the thermostat adding to the labor costs. Overall, I'm very happy with this car and hope I continue to be as it ages. I intend to keep it around for a while... definitely happy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Focus on bang for buck

bliston1, 04/09/2011
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
29 of 30 people found this review helpful

First real car that i've purchased coming from driving a dodge neon that i put way to much time into keeping running been driving this car since 01/08 and it's been doing great, now i've been reading through the reviews saying that it's bad in the snow, and i'm going to go out on a limb and just say they must have bald tires or be horrible drivers. living in Logan Utah i have yet to have any problems through out the 3 winters that i've had this car, and I've got 40k+ on the all weather tires. Also i'm 6'1 and fit very well into the car with plenty of room to spare may be a bit low to get into but not that bad,

Report Abuse

First American car in 22 years

M. Koltz, 05/02/2006
ZX4 SES 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I have owned and driven Toyotas for the last 22 years and experienced good value and quality. This Ford product is an outstanding value. The drive and feel are exceptional. Gas mileage is above average. I love the styling of the interior and exterior of the vehicle. The styling moved me to Ford along with the fair acquisition cost.

Report Abuse

Fun, Fast but squeaky

nickmbb, 10/25/2011
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
41 of 44 people found this review helpful

Its a nice fast city run-around car. Great on gas and is fun to drive. On the highway, it drives smooth at high speeds. Had it for 6 years now and haven't had any mechanical problems (except that squeak).

Report Abuse

Great replacement for my Honda

G Clark, 09/12/2016
ZXW SE 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Update: still ticking along. 115k. Needs suspension work, struts and bushings etc. Pricey but OK with it. Done with daily work commute. Only gripe is air/ventilation system controls often very stiff and balky. A pain when needing defrost but stuck directing warmth to feet. And, of course, all that buried beneath and behind the engine. Other than that, no worries. Believe it or not. Bought this car after my Honda wagon got smashed. I know its now 10 years old but has been a great car for the last 40K miles. Only major repair was alternator at 90K. It is NOT a cheap fix. I fit well into it, and I am 6'4". Much noisier than my Honda, but most of that is road noise and wagons are just noisier than sedans. My only major complaint is that mileage is below expectations. 26 mpg for city driving with lots of freeway. I can tow a 450 lb. trailer and still have 500 lbs of cargo capacity. I like the looks. I love the utility. The paint has held up well. I have used the integrated roof rack several times. Glad I had one. The center arm rest/storage bin is a cheap piece of junk and mine, like so many I’ve seen on other Focus cars, is broken, too. But the engine and drive train have held up well. Shocks are not very robust and need replacement at 92K . I plan to drive mine for many more miles. I really like this car and have same affection for it that I had for 2 Volvo wagons and one Honda wagon.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice car!

mndriver4, 11/05/2012
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
34 of 38 people found this review helpful

I really enjoy driving this car, It's nimble and quick, visibility is the best, nicest economy car I'v ever driven. I get 32 to 34 MPG for my average with about 75% hwy. I like the way you sit high, I'ts been vary reliable 110K miles on it now. I'ts not a refined luxury car but I find it more fun to drive.

Report Abuse

Works for me!

scott, 11/08/2006
ZX3 SE 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I just wanted to comment that I have had my Focus for about 6 months. I have had no problems with the car (knock wood). I am 6 foot 4 and weigh about 360 lbs and have had no comfort problems. As a matter of fact it is one of the most comfortable new cars I've been in lately. There is plenty of head room and my knees are not jammed into the dash or anything else. It is very fun to drive and the mileage is good.

Report Abuse

It's an economy car

pyzik, 06/27/2012
ZX5 SES 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
18 of 21 people found this review helpful

I bought this car back in 2009, it had 60k on it at the time. I jumped into this car from a 2002 Mercury Sable Premier that had an engine electrical problem I didn't want to pay to fix. Going from a Premier with all the bells and whistles to this is really what made this car seem less than it is. I am at 120k miles now with the only issue being shocks. All four are bad. Other than that brakes were the only other things that have needed changing. MPG for me has been 25 city and 34 highway. The car has road noise and isn't very comfortable but as I said it's an economy car. It's a little slow but handles great.

Report Abuse

Fun & Practical

Brent, 02/05/2006
ZXW SES 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

First Impressions - The first time I drove the Ford Focus Wagon was in 2003 as a rental. I was really amazed how fun it was to drive and so eventually we needed to buy a second car and it had to be capable of long trips that allowed our new dog to come along for the drive. Second Impressions - Our new 2006 Ford Focus Wagon ZXW SES is even better now that when I first drove the Focus. Not only is it extremely fun to drive, but it's fully loaded with options that some car makers don't even offer. The engine is peppy yet fuel efficient, the drive feels sporty and the visibility is perfect. Plus we can drive in comfort with leather heated seats and our dog has his own room with a view.

Report Abuse

Focus ST 5spd Still Fun

Proud Owner, 10/12/2010
ZX4 ST 4dr Sedan (2.3L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2006 4-door Focus ST (5 spd) in Jan, 2009. It had 6.5k mi. Now it has 44k trouble-free miles and continues to be dependable, economical, and fun. Just as tight and fun to drive now as it was 38k miles ago. 25mpg in town, 30-31mpg on highway at 70-80 mph. Has always been a great highway driver, and now with new Continental Extreme Contact DW tires, tracks like a toy slot car on the highway and just as pleasurable in town. Great combination of economy, value, reliability, and fun. Was hit from behind by Corolla while at stop light. Corolla's front end and hood was crumpled and couldn't tell Focus had been hit except for Corolla's paint on rear bumper.

Report Abuse

Ford Focus S w/automatic

Bill, 12/22/2005
ZX4 S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Just bought the Focus Saturday and am impressed with it. The pick up for a small four cylinder is decent. The feel of the car is solid, the ride a little like a buckboard, but all small cars are like that. The car responded great when merging on the highway. Was surprised at the quality feel and no noise, no rattling from an engine that I thought would be straining.

Report Abuse

Focus is practical and fun

Woody1, 03/20/2006
ZX5 SES 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I drive mostly highway miles, so I wanted something that was responsive and comfortable with good gas mileage. I got it with the Focus. No problem driving to and from work. My Focus is equipped with the safety package (ABS & side airbags), as well as traction control. I also have a six CD stereo, which has a great sound. It's tough to find a car with all that for around $15,000 after the cash-back offers. I recommend this car.

Report Abuse

Original owner, bought new in 2006

Peter Buchwald Buchwald, 03/17/2017
ZXW SE 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Has been a excellent inexpensive reliable basic auto.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Extremely reliable

Marion A., 11/28/2016
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I've owned my 2006 Focus for 4 yrs now. Bought it from a friend (he was the first owner) with 77k miles on it. It's now at 130k and still runs like a champ. Only major repairs I've had to invest in is changing out 2 of the engine mounts early on into me owning it (I blame my friend because he likes to push ANY car to its absolute limits. This is NOT the car for that) and changing the lower control arm on the driver's side (got hit by an out of control tire bouncing all over the highway). Other than that I do regular maintenance on my car and have my mechanic look it over every so often to catch anything that I might not notice. This car is absolutely perfect. I do have an aftermarket Bluetooth/Entertainment system installed so I can't say anything about the original system. And I do find it to be a teenie bit sluggish when going up a steep hill/highway (I have to floor it to stay above 55 mph) but that's not really much of a problem for me since I live in L.A. and we have pretty straight pavement here. Maneuvers well, accelarates/brakes well, great on gas, trunk space is pretty spacious. Overall, this car has been an absolute dream.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

FordMan

southbender, 10/14/2008
ZX5 SES 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Have had since 2/06. Had issues with the tailgate immediately, and the backseats needed adjusting, they wouldn't relatch first time folded down. Drivers door needed to be reset also right after purchase. Hatchback door key mechanism fell out, my spouse noticed and picked up a small key cover. Have driven from Northern IN, to Boise, Phoenix, and Nashville. Cruises at 70mph no problems. Great gas mileage. Good pick up and go in traffic. Tight steering. Great car for the money.

Report Abuse

LOVE MY FOCUS

MMUSSO, 05/04/2010
ZX4 SES 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought the car right off the lot in June of '06 with 61 miles on it. it has been a great car wit great gas milage. the only mechanical issue I have had is the CD player quit working twice, warranty fixed that. I do have the brake noise (coming from the rear drums) like I have read others have issues with, replaced the tired last year because the husband ran over a screw. but that's not the car's fault. Does squeak going over bumps, handles better in snow that it did with the factory tires (can't remember which brand, but they were not pirelli's) And it could have better sound proofing.

Report Abuse

Very Reliable Car!

sobefobik, 03/14/2011
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Overall this has been a great car and I would purchase another. I have put over 110,000 on this car in 4 years with no problems other than replacing the alternator, which is a cheap fix. The CD player did break, too. Also, the rear brakes are very squeaky, which seems to be a common problem with the car. I've driven this on several trips each being 2,000+ miles with NO problems.

Report Abuse

My Focus

Ron Holmes, 01/09/2006
ZX4 SES 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have owned a 2003, 2004 and a 2006 Focus. I have enjoyed driving each one. I also own a Ford 500 and it sIts in the garage most of the time. The Focus is a fun car to drive.

Report Abuse

Good car for the money

Tony P., 03/05/2006
ZXW SE 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I find this car to be a good value; lots of room, good performance, great gas mileage. It sort of reminds me of a mini-SUV. The seats are overstuffed and very comfortable. It has the road manners of a more expensive car. This car has surprising power for a 4 cylinder vehicle. Fully featured with power windows, locks, tilt steering, and an excellent audio system. I would recommend this car to anyone.

Report Abuse

Ford Focus wagon

percy abols, 07/20/2006
ZXW SE 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Went to look at the new Fusion and ended getting the Focus - on impulse. What attracted us was the exterior design and the comfortable interior. Following a brief test drive, we found the car peppy and fun to drive. One can quickly exceed the speed limit without noticing it. The car is my wife's city run about. The only problem we had was with the AC. Turns out that one cable was improperly connected at the factory - hence the problem. It has been corrected and all is well. Should have gotten cruise - perhaps we will get it installed at a later date though the expense gives one pause for thought.

Report Abuse

Good dependable car

mike, 08/19/2017
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Currently have 290,000 miles on my car that I bought used in 2007. I average between 28mpg winter and 31mpg summer. It was an Ebay rebuilt wreck purchased from pictures only and I have been happy with this car for the past 10 years. Original engine and transmission although the engine has been making a idle ticking noise for the past 100,000 miles. Oil changes every 5,000 miles with cheap oil, whatever is on sale. Alternator went out at 250,000 miles, fairly cheap to repair yourself but difficult to remove. Center console broke but repaired broken plastic stops with epoxy putty. Rear driver wheel bearing go out at 100,000 and every 50,000 after that. Finally had the rear passenger wheel bearing go at 200,000. Radiator replaced at 60,000 because screws came loose on the fan which then cut into the radiator, possibly from the rebuilt front end from the wreck. Easy to replace the radiator yourself as with most cars. Major annoyance is the a/c is intermittent because the a/c clutch needs repaired but that didn't happen until 250,000 miles. Also, the air deflector switch gets stuck. The floor flap door gets stuck in the open/close position. The switch seems to be a common issue so watch for that issue. Easy to replace but it will break again if you don't fix the sticky flap. Seat fabric is holding up well even after so many miles. Has some squeaks and road noise that you would expect from an entry level car. Good power and good reliability.

Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Just Buy The Car

Lou, 10/09/2005
ZX5 S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Just Bought a 2006 Focus SE. Have 1500 miles on it. This car doesn't drive like a small car; it is comfortable and has a quick response when you hit the the pedal. Handles like a dream and feels at home on the highway. Gas mileage isn't as promised but isn't far off. I am averaging 24 MPG city & 30 highway. So far I am very happy with the car.

Report Abuse

2006 Focus ZX3 2 dr Hatchback

starrynight548, 08/24/2010
ZX3 SE 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I like this car, especially how easy it is to maneuver in tight areas. Brakes are noisy, took it in for check up & was told squeaky brakes were normal for this car. I do wish I got better gas mileage, and wish the back seats would fold down flat (as the dealer assured me they would, but they don't)

Report Abuse

Focus ZX3 S

dan, 07/13/2006
ZX3 S 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I got this car about four months ago, and I have no complaints, other than I wish I got one with AC. For what it is, which is a cheap, entry level car, it's a great value. Very fun to drive on back roads, and can pass decently on the highway if you drop it into fourth going 60ish. Manual transmission and clutch are good. Acceleration isn't blistering by any means (I have the PZEV version, with only 130 horsepower), but it's fun on windy roads. I love how the back seats fold flat, cause it give my dogs a big area to hang out. I installed front seats for the 2004 SVT focus, which I'd recommend, since the ones that came stock weren't too supportive. I get 23-24 mpg, all city driving.

Report Abuse

Functional and Sporty

Jay, 02/16/2006
ZX4 SES 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Although the look is nice, the best way to sum up the Focus SES is function and performance. The value you get upgrading from SE to SES is well worth the incremental price increase. On the performance side of things, the SES Focus is very sporty. The steering and suspension are tight and responsive, with rock solid cornering for a car in its class. It's a sports car "feel" in an economy package.

Report Abuse

Revaluation of 2006 Focus

Don Arthur, 07/17/2006
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have discovered that Ford engineers have designed the Focus on-board computer to disengage the A/C compressor when accelerating either easily and normally or upon hard acceleration from a stop. This causes the A/C to blow warm air during this procedure, which is normally not too noticeable EXCEPT if you live in a place like Phoenix AZ when it's 110-115 and the car's interior is even hotter. My dealer service department has checked the car and reports all is normal and I have even seen a bulletin from FORD indicating this is normal. I have gone from loving my new Focus to now thinking it is just another new car piece of junk. Also, it appears in this climate I am now getting only 17-18 mpg city.

Report Abuse

Kudos for Ford

Nookarr Beier, 09/26/2006
ZXW SE 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Being thrifty and practical, I researched extensively before buying. The Focus wagon is what I was looking for, and I have been greatly pleased. Averaging 34 mpg (should be 40 in my opinion), lots of cargo space, good comfort features, more power doodads than I care for, comfy seat. I replaced a Corolla wagon with it. While not a Corolla, it's a very good car. I like the ride - suspension carries me across unpaved roads, construction sites, etc. without jarring. I've done high-speed highway driving with passengers as well. No real complaints, but good praise.

Report Abuse

Good, but...

economicat, 10/19/2006
ZXW SES 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is a very useful family car. We chose a wagon instead of an SUV so my small kids could get in and out easily on their own. The problem is that there are no rear headrests, so my children (4 & 8) will soon outgrow this car and we will have to replace it. The heated mirrors and seats work great and the care gets decent mileage. It will make strange noises if gas falls below a quarter tank, so beware. Sometimes the start is a little jumpy, but not really that bad. Fully loaded, it is an affordable alternative to the $35K+ we would have spent on another wagon, with as much rear room as a midsize SUV.

Report Abuse

Comfort for tall drivers

Great ZX3, 11/12/2006
ZX3 SE 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have owned my ZX3 for almost a year and it has been perfect. The seats are awesome on short and long trips. After driving 12 hours, no back pain at all. The faster you go, the funner it is to drive. I get around 26mpg in town and 34 mpg on the open road. I'm 6'2" and it is the most comfortable car out there to drive (much better than my 2003 Monte Carlo). The fun factor for driving is a 10+.

Report Abuse

Most dependable car I've owned

Robert, 11/18/2016
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2006 Focus SES Wagon Automatic - Bought new, now 5 years old

jmiller38, 07/03/2011
ZXW SES 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
10 of 14 people found this review helpful

The first 2 years gave me very satisfactory service, and then things went from good to not so good. Had to have a new transmission around 34000 miles (under warranty). Headlights needed replacing at 3 years. Trim clips are lousy. Starter battery died; needed new fuel line and now the alternator went out ($700). Bumper crumples and quite costly to repair. Plastic gears for the arm rest break easily. Costs $500 to replace. Have had all my service done on schedule by Ford and do get good mileage. Bought for safety considerations. My car has had more problems than my friend's 2006 Focus hatchback. I'm wondering when the brakes and/or exhaust will go. Considered contacting Ford directly.

Report Abuse

crap!!!

sm448669, 09/16/2011
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 11 people found this review helpful

I have a 06 se at focus,and this is the 3rd!!!! tranny i have put in it...the original crapped out on me at 60,000 miles replaced it and the 2nd one crapped out on my after only 30,000...i will never ever ever again buy another ford car!!!!!!!!

Report Abuse

06 Focus SES ZX5 AT

Sgeur67, 12/01/2009
ZX5 SES 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Purchased my Focus SES ZX5 new. Love it. getting 25mpg city/30mpg hwy at 70mph. Original Pirelli P6's were super noisy, replaced them after 400 miles with Goodrich TA radials. Quieter than the P6's and far far better traction in snow. After 54K mi brakes are still great, no noise, no squeaks, no dust and still now wore out. AC is always cold when you really need good and cold. This car has all the power you need for every day commuting and quite comfortable on 4hr trip too. I would buy another 4dr hatch if Ford made it. Great little car.

Report Abuse

Unstoppable!

Matt R., 08/17/2017
ZX5 SES 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Car just keeps on going, and without a bit of trouble. Keep in mind that my review is based on the fact that this is an entry level Ford, not a Lexus. I bought this Focus new and have had to put very little money into it. Brakes, tires and the usually maintenance items are all readily available and very affordable. Some rust showing around the antenna on the roof (might become a problem) and a few other places, but 10 Michigan winters and salt on the roads will do that. Speaking of snow, this little front wheel drive car does incredibly well. Definitely a good choice for a beginning driver if budget is a consideration.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Like a Slot Car

FVC496, 04/12/2019
ZX5 SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Handles like a slot car. Of course this is not stock—I added wheels, tires, shocks, anti-sway bars. But it's amazing how well the car takes those upgrades. It's still slow as molasses and squeaky, but it's a Ford Focus, not a BMW.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Problems

April, 12/10/2009
ZX4 S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used a year and a half ago, because I was going through a divorce and need something that wasn't a gas guzzler and compact. Since the purchase it has needed a new transmission, a new fly wheel and I just replaced the starter. When I bought it the back passenger side strut was already squeaking (and still does). Luckily the transmission and fly wheel were covered by the warranty. However, it cost me $460 to replace the starter. I know there is up keep in buying a car but geez...

Report Abuse

Never One Regret

nursesrock, 07/04/2010
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought my 06 SE Sedan in 8/06. I have never regretted the purchase for one moment. I'm probably going to trade it tomorrow, knowing its resale value is worth well more than what I owe. It's a good feeling knowing Ford builds cars like the Focus. I'm done with Japanese products. The Focus has been an awesome, reliable car, and I've had nothing but compliment feedback from observers and guests. High marks, Ford is only getting better.

Report Abuse

Only one good thing about it

aarolar, 10/02/2012
ZX4 SES 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
14 of 26 people found this review helpful

Car was purchased new in 2006 since then, it has had 4 sets of tires in only 120k, 3 alternators, been back for a messed up fuel tank vent where it would spit fuel back out of the tank at you, and now to top it all off the cooling fan broke and jabbed through the radiator costing me another 800$! Add all this to the crappy ride and worthless uncomfortable ride and this excuse for a car only has one thing going for it and that's gas mileage. I knew the instant I found out it has a "lifetime airfilter" that this was a worthless throwaway vehicle. As soon as I get this radiator back together I am trading it on something worth my while!

Report Abuse

Ford Focus

Cathy Bell, 10/30/2005
ZXW SE 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Our Ford Focus meets our family's need for both cargo space and fuel economy. The easy steering makes it a pleasure to drive on busy city streets while driving our kids to their many activities. The interior would be improved with more drink holders, storage, and rear seat head rests. But overall, we continue to be happy with our purchase.

Report Abuse

Agood car All around

Andrew, 04/15/2010
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my car used. I went from a 1998 cavalier to a 2006 focus i had a coil pack go out the same day i bought the car and replaced same day NO cost to me. I'm a stock holder for Ford and i like this car. I am 38 and is a good car all around.

Report Abuse

Great deal ... inexpensive and economical

C. Jones, 09/07/2005
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

What a surprise to drive the replacement for the Escort, and find it to be such a fun car. Nothing like the Escort. I bought the 5 speed, and it has every imaginable option ... some which I haven't figured out what to do with as yet. Incredible gas mileage, plenty of looks, an unbelievable warranty, shifts as smooth as anything I have every driven, and for its size, very quiet. No, I am not a Ford salesman, I am a cop who rides the big Crown Vic, and was absolutely astonished at how nice this car is. The Japanese have nothing close to this car, when you factor price, gas mileage, comfort and basic warranty. Enjoy this neat car!

Report Abuse

Convinced, happy owner

dimes4slim, 06/08/2008
ZX4 ST 4dr Sedan (2.3L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Being that our other cars are luxury or sport vehicles, I wasn't sure how I would adapt to my new commuter car. Two and a half years into my ownership, I have had zero problems. The Focus is reliable, very comfortable, handles well and gets a consistent 28 mpg in normal driving. It may not have been so fashionable when I bought it, but now that gas is $4+ per gallon, it is the envy of all of many SUV owners. The seats are great on long trips, and the 5 speed manual puts a smile on my face. With the rear seats folded down, there is a credible amount of hauling space. Simple, sporty, reliable, and economical, with great handling as a bonus. I'm convinced that the Focus was a wise choice.

Report Abuse

Focus Follow-up

Focus follow-up, 06/13/2008
ZX4 SES 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After having the car a little over 1 1/2 months, 3000 miles and in the Texas heat of 95 deg here are my observations: 1) the A/C interuption during accellerations is annoying, especially if you just got in the car and it is not already pre cooled. 2) gas mileage averages 28-29.5 mpg with 50/50 driving type. More if A/C not used. 3) all else I'm pretty happy with so far. The A/C deal was not a make or break for me when I was deciding whether to buy or not. The many other advantages out weigh this flaw.

Report Abuse

Still makes me smile

GK, 07/01/2008
ZX4 ST 4dr Sedan (2.3L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had my Focus ZX4 ST for almost 2 years now, and I still really have no complaints. My parking brake relase button cracked, but was replaced no problem under warranty. Many people seem to think the A/C shutoff under acceleration is a huge deal. I lived in Las Vegas for the majority of the time I have had this car, and it was not a big deal. Most people just need to not accelerate so much. MPG varies, but can easily achieve 27 city mpg in FL, and have achieved as high as 34mpg highway. It's really a good buy. The car is kind of a sleeper. Drive it normal or give it hell and it will respond. Very fun to drive. Too bad they got rid of the ST option and the 2.3 I4..

Report Abuse

2 month review

Biker8, 08/11/2008
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought the car for work/commute 2 months ago as gas prices were just eating me alive. Drive about 30k/yr. After ablut 5k mi, I've had no issues. The car has 29k mi. I do have a wheel bearing noise in front otherwise, everything else works fine. I'm actually surprised how comfortable the car rides. Performance is reasonable. Car looks somewhat cheap inside however, it's not an expensive car. For the money, it's much less expensive than it's Japenese counterparts & much better than it's American counterparts. Overall, for the money I definintely buy another Focus. By the way, I'm getting over 30 mpg combined. I am however, conscious about how I drive it.

Report Abuse

I love this car!

Tanya, 08/28/2008
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

So, I've been driving my Focus for about a week. I did a lot of research beforehand and got a good deal for a low mileage car at a local dealership. I am surprised that the engine has enough power to overcome the steep hills here (I live in the mtns) at a decent speed. That was a factor I considered before purchasing, but it doesn't seem to be a problem. It runs well, although I a little loud and it's very fun to drive as well as comfortable. It seems to get pretty good gas mileage, which was one of my reasons for buying it, but I'm still keeping track of how it's going. The gas tank seems to be pretty small, but I downsized from an SUV, so there are a lot changes in that area.

Report Abuse

Very Fun, Great Buy

TB765, 09/09/2008
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my 06 Focus SE sedan brand new and the car has never disappointed. The engine is very peppy and have great all around pickup and performance and it makes a great sound. Gas mileage is alright. i get between 28-32 mpg in normal driving. This car is probably the best handling, most fun to drive small car on the market. You can throw the tightest bend at it and you can take it very fast, and with absolutely no drama at all. Yes, the a/c compressor shuts off during acceleration, but it turns right back on so i dont really mind. The only bad things about this car is the quality of the interior and it hydroplanes sometimes in heavy rain. The finish on the radio is coming off in places.

Report Abuse

Damn good cheap dependable car

Chadmonster, 08/24/2018
ZX5 SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just make sure you get the color you want and only thing I really heated was you have to wear seat belts always if someone in passage seat they have to wear one to or in will ding till you turn the car off lol

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

06 ford focus zx3

Andrea, 10/06/2019
ZX3 SE 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2006 ford focus zx3 a yr ago from another private owner. It's a cute lil car. If I could keep it running long enough I could love it. First thing i had to repair was the wheel bearings and front axle. The last week I've noticed the clutch is going out. I priced the cost of that repair and according to Google that will cost me btwn $700‐$900. Today I closed my drivers side door like i do everyday and my window shattered in a million pieces. The other weird thing with this car is that there is a loud annoying vibration coming from the motor and vibrating the entire car while motor is running and when driving. I have a feeling the motor mount(s) are needing replaced and possibly broken and could quite possibly be causing other bolts and screws and parts in the engine to become undone or loose and causing me lil annoying problems that will get bigger and more expensive in the near future. I'm gonna have to take it in to be checked out. My water dummy light is on constantly even though it isnt overheating at all and all water and oil levels are good. The radio does this really annoying thing too. It will stop playing music and flash the word "protect" across the screen until I have to take apart the heater vents and adjust the wires going to the speakers. Lastly, a few other nuisances with this car is the seatbelts are very inconveniently placed so far back behind the front seats they are impossible to reach. Also the sun visors are equipped with those fake mirrors like the ones in fun houses at the fair's and theres no light on them. The manual window handles are manufactured backwards as are the outside locks on the door handles. The hood latch is jankyee too. The front seats do not go forward far enough for an adult to get into the backseat very easily and God only knows how a mother with a small infant in a carseat would get the baby and carseat out of the back when the seats do not go forward far enough. This entire car is falling apart. I've put alot of money into this car and theres still tons I have to fix. Now I know why the ladt owners sold it. I wonder what all they fixed on the car b4 I got it. I'm about ready to sell it as is and buy me another lexus. Im about done with ford focus zx3's.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fuel economy disappointing

Don, 07/23/2008
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Like the car overall except the city fuel mileage stinks. Not using the A/C 21 is tops and in heat of summer using the A/C anywhere from 16-18 mpg. Have gotten 32 on highway, but seldom take trips so mostly the mileage is bad. Also has annoying "feature" when accelerating the A/C compressor shuts down momentarily (Ford claims this is normal for performance reasons which is nothing but a crock.). This is annoying when it's 110 or more outside in this stinking Arizona desert heat. Like 99% of the newer cars today, the design is rather ugly. Small wonder I drool over the classic car shows and their displays. I think Ford needs to make 4 cyl. cars that give decent mileage.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050