Skip to main content

Used 2019 Ford Edge SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$17,499 - $35,475

Used Edge for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...11

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Better than my 2017!

EdgeOwner, 08/13/2019
updated 09/01/2022
2019 Ford Edge Titanium 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
25 of 25 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 2017 (which I was very happy with). Wasn't in the market, but dealer made a great offer. After 3 weeks with the vehicle, the upgrade was well worth it. It feels like Ford asked me "How can we improve on your 2017?", and then addressed all of my answers. The new 8-speed is super smooth, and the car feels much peppier especially off the line (it's no hot rod). The Start/Stop system is innocuous, and the ride is more refined as well. The dial shifter takes some getting used to (I reach for a stick that isn't there). The B&O stereo has better sound quality than the Sony system in my previous car. Build quality is much better, and the restyled hood gives better visibility than my previous one. Like the new steerable headlights (LED) and the fog lights, and the wireless charging. 1 year update: Everything above still holds. Have taken it on a couple of road trips and averaged 27-29 mpg highway depending on conditions. I never get below 21 mpg in all conditions. I recently noticed that Ford deleted the Adaptive Steering system in the 2019 that was part of the 2017 Ford Edge Titanium package (not that I ever used it). 18-month update: Above still holds. Also like the OTA updates that Ford provides for Sync 3. The latest updates have include enhancements to the Navigation sub-display next to the speedometer that shows Google Maps directions when using Android Auto. It also shows the speed limits. They also revised the Sync 3 "skin" to reflect the current Ford graphics style. 2-year update. Only one problem so far: faulty Windshield Washer motor, which dealer replaced under warranty. Only beef I have is with the sound system when using Android Auto. The sound quality is diminished if you use Bluetooth for audio. If you connect the phone to the car via USB, you have to select "This phone" on your to get improved sound quality (through USB) rather than "Ford Edge" (which uses Bluetooth). I wish Ford had sprung for Aptx support so that higher frequencies would be reproduced more effectively. 30-month update: Ever since purchase, the front end had a clicking noise when turning. Two dealers couldn't find it. I took it to a third dealer (with a video of the issue occurring from my phone), and the dealer replaced both front half-shafts which eliminated the issue! Other than that, car's been great!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

AWD malfunction!!!

Ruben Contreras, 04/16/2019
updated 10/18/2022
2019 Ford Edge ST 4dr SUV AWD (2.7L 6cyl Turbo 8A)
123 of 129 people found this review helpful

So I bought this car on 11/23 but it came from the factory with a broken touchscreen. 1 week later, new one installed and had problems with Apple car play. They replaced the screen and still had the same problem. Next they replaced a module and then Apple car play worked about 80% of the time. Then the AWD Malfunction warning occurred on a Saturday, dropped it at service on Monday, picked it up on Wednesday by Saturday I got the same AWD Malfunction light. Took it back to service on Feb 25, 2019. Today is day 51 straight that it has been in the shop at Ford dealer. They've replaced at least a rear end differential, the rear end wiring harness, some modules and still the problem exists. They even sent an engineer from Ford and it sits in the shop with no estimate on when it will be fixed. I keep asking for my money back or a replacement vehicle but Ford keeps refusing. It's been in for repairs 61 days of its less-than 5 months of being on the road. That is well within the qualifications as a LEMON in the state of Texas but they won't acknowledge that fact. So FED UP with Ford. NEVER AGAIN. Ford Motor Company ended up buying back that vehicle from me and I now drive a Chevy Blazer AWD and love it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

ST is a worthy upgrade over the Sport

Gregerst, 03/04/2019
2019 Ford Edge ST 4dr SUV AWD (2.7L 6cyl Turbo 8A)
78 of 83 people found this review helpful

I went from a 17 Sport to the ST with brake package. Ford did a great job with the suspension and brakes on this vehicle. It rides and handles better than the outgoing Sport model. The brakes are fantastic for vehicle of this size and weight. The new 8 speed transmission is an nice improvement as well. Off the line acceleration feels quicker and smoother than the old 6 speed. As far as the exterior styling goes, I love it. Ford really nailed it with the updated front and rear fascia's. Optioned with the 21" inch wheels and brake package, I think it is one of the best looking 2 row SUV's on the market right now. It gets a lot of looks and people asking me how fast it goes. The safety features and technology you get with the co-pilot 360 is pretty good as well. I'm glad to see Ford bringing it to more models and trims. As far as the interior goes, the B&O play sound system is a noticeable improvement over the Sony system that it replaced in the Sport. The seats look great, are comfortable with just the right amount of bolstering. The updated center console with rotary shifter definitely looks better and allows for more functional use of the center console space. I wasn't sure how I would like using the rotary shifter but after a couple weeks of using it I wouldn't want to go back to using the gear shift knob. Surprisingly, using a gear shift knob seems clunky and antiquated to me now. Now, If i was going to ding the Edge for something it would be the blah looking dash. Functionally, there's nothing wrong with it, all the buttons you'd expect to have are there and the 8" screen with Sync 3 is good. But the instrument cluster and dash could use a styling and refinement upgrade, something similar to what they did to the 2020 Explorer would be great. All in all, I really think the Ford Edge ST is a fantastic vehicle and a very nice upgrade over the Sport.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Windshield Distortion Titanium

Buggaboo, 07/30/2019
2019 Ford Edge Titanium 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

Love the vehicle this my 3rd one. I am about to get my 4th windshield installed since April. There is bad distortion all around rear view mirror on every windshield. They are coming directly from Ford.

Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly not enjoying.

Edge Owner, 05/08/2019
2019 Ford Edge SEL 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
70 of 75 people found this review helpful

This is my third Edge, and wish I would have kept my 2015. The good: The 2019 drives and handles well. It has a very solid feel but still soft and compliant. Ride is very quiet. This is my first experience with the Ecoboost, and it really has good power and acceleration. The bad: Beginning at 400 miles, had issues with heavy clunking from under vehicle under acceleration. After 24 days in the shop without answer, Ford engineers determined it was a bad PTU, and since being replaced, only had it happen a couple more times. Also having issues with sluggish acceleration. If driving steady and lift off throttle, when I pick it back up, the vehicle doesn't respond quickly to the throttle. Like there is a lag. Still working to demonstrate this to dealer, but frustrating and a safety concern. Also some issues where the Sync screen backlight doesn't turn off. Bottom line is that I really want to like the vehicle, but just can't get past the issues with it compared to previous models. At this point, I'm disappointed.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...11
Items per page: