Used 1991 Eagle Talon Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,485 - $3,456

Used Talon for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

catchy title

Kirstie, 01/07/2016
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

it's a fantastic car It's now 5 stars [non-permissible content removed] Now add test driving and purchase date. 2/21/2016 - attempt to re-set clock on update email. Added Fuel Econ = great

Technology
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Talon AWD: Diamond in the Roth

Silver Talon, 08/09/2003
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Unfortunately for the Talon, it always gets bad reviews from people who don't know anything about the car. I bought mine needing repairs and had NO trouble fixing the car. The typical things to watch out for when driving the 4G63-based cars: Timing Belt and the Balance Shaft Belt (small belt behind the timing.) People complain about the transfer case leak, it's under recall from Mitsubishi, people. Treat this car right, and you will have no problem with it. You will not believe how many of these cars are treated bad, and end up with problems because of it.

Report Abuse

take care of it

DaddysGurl19, 03/05/2003
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got this car with 70k miles and I'm not at 100000k. It came fully stocked and the car has been good to me. As long as you check up on your car and TAKE CARE OF IT, it will run just fine. It's great on the highway and very sporty and fun to drive. If you dont let it cool down or warm up in the mornings of course youre going to screw it up, which frankly you deserve. Like any other car you cant just run it into the ground.

Report Abuse

My two cents

screamineagle, 05/09/2002
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

What a great car. While it's not the most reliable car I've owned, it's not really terible. As long as you take care of it and don't abuse it too much this car will last. The engine is completely bulletproof. The only real problem is the transmission. In the performance arena, mine is still capable of ripping up new mustangs and camaros. I have put about $1000 into it fyi. If you do get one of these cars make sure that you take care of it. Don't push that oil change for 4000 miles. With that said it's a blast and good in the snow.

Report Abuse

When to say when

grimme, 05/14/2002
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car brand new and hoped to get 200K out of it if I took good care of it. The first 120K went well with little problems. Timing belt change and tune up. The next 60K was not so good. 2 cluches, 1 tranny rebuild, 3 alternators, a broken timing belt which means a top engine rebuild, and lots of oil leaks both engine and tranny. The paint also faded really bad on the hood and roof.

Report Abuse

Talon TSI....DREAMY

jessmulder, 05/20/2002
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had only minimal problems related to having an older car. My car is loaded and being small I find it easy to drive because its sporty and compact. The previous owner had to replace the head gasket and the timing belt has been replaced twice. Other then that, everything has ran smoothly with this car.

Report Abuse

Nothin' but a LEMON

Curlykicker, 05/27/2002
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Within 8k miles new, the windows wouldn't roll up on track. Took it into the dealer 7 times to get them fixed. They still don't work to this day and I have to "pull" them up. I did get it up to 135mph on my way to Colorado. The car ran very well for the first 60k miles. But the tranny had to be rebuilt soon thereafter. The timing belt went out around 120k and destroyed the engine which was then rebuilt. The tranny continues to shift roughly and grind. The A/C leaks and the cruise control no longer works. The black paint on the roof is faded white. The engine had to be replaced at 150k and it does not run well either and leaks oil.

Report Abuse

TSI

TALONTSI, 05/28/2002
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I Love my Talon so much i bought 3 now, you can beat them on snow or dry gound, after a few times you can figure out most of the problems on your own, but beware, its imposable to find a mechanic that can work on them.

Report Abuse

Now Very Rare for parts

Richard, 05/23/2009
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

As of 2009 replacement parts are becoming next to impossible, electronic part failure may mean weeks with out a running vehicle. I purchased mine new in 1991 and loved it. But like having an elderly dog it comes time to put it down. "was" a great car.... If your looking at picking one up cheap, there's a reason its a good deal, you will be forking over money to your mechanic hand over fist.

Report Abuse

2.0L turbocharged, 5spd awd FUN!

Lor, 12/02/2009
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very nice vehicle. I've owned plenty of these in the pass and they've all been quite reliable. Of course that's if you can keep it in stock form. The mod bug can come in if you start.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050