Used 2000 Chrysler Voyager Minivan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$976 - $1,657

Used Voyager for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2000 Chrysler Voyager 4-cyl, automatic

elurael, 02/15/2012
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is the basic model (Base), and I bought it new in February 2000. It has a large 4-cylinder engine, which allows for pleasantly surprising acceleration, yet 22 miles-per-gallon performance over all. However, I did have to pay to add cruise control and a roof rack. It does have an automatic transmission, which I also prefer.Everything else is manual (windows, door locks, etc.), but that is what I prefer. Aside from what I mentioned in suggested improvements, performance and function have been reliable and pleasing. At 70k miles, the brake pads have had to be replaced once and as well as the battery (at 10 years). I do try to keep it serviced regularly with 5 quarts of synthetic oil.

Report Abuse

Milage is age too

Belinda, 08/20/2008
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have had trouble with my trans too but I have a great trans guy. Just 1 adjustment no more leaks. After 125,000 mi my wheel fell off pass front. Hey 100,000 mile come on cars are driven more now than in the 60's. We hope in the car and dive 50 miles to go buy a pair of shoes and save $25. But do we remember to get the oil change every 3000 miles? Or do you have the fluids checked. every month. Your duty to your car is not to just put gas in it when it needs a drink, but to ck. under the hood every once in a while and if the driveway has a spot then take it to the dr. like it was your baby. in short be kind to it and it will be kind to you.

Report Abuse

250,000 miles

R Villarreal, 08/03/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought mine with over 200,000 and it now has over 250,000 miles. It still runs great but I needed to replace some parts. Water pump, fuel pump, radiator, thermostat, and tires. Engine, transmission, and body are still in great shape, but crossing my fingers. Brought it for $1,000.00. Best car I ever brought for the money. Previous owner took very good care of it.

Report Abuse

93,000 mile report card

sunjet74, 06/28/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought new in Mar 2000. I own the base 2.4 L auto with no options. I have never done less than 20 mpg. Average 24 and have don 29 mpg on highway. It's simple, do a service on the auto tans every 30k miles. Do Not shift abusive, use the trans. gently. Also, that's how to maximize the MPG. I live in the very congested SF Bay area and still achieve these real MPG as stated. This is not an exciting vehicle to drive. But when I realize that I've not even replaced the orig battery, that the orig tires went to 65K miles, and not a single light bulb has even been replaced. How can a vehicle be more reliable than that? It did have a rear brake job and all sched maint. done on-time. A++ van!

Report Abuse

What Happened?

NJGal, 04/11/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have you ever driven on a hot day and see other Chrysler vans with their windows opened? I do all the time. My A/C broke and I was told was unrepairable. The kids in the back are so hot and with the windows open creates pressure on the eardrums of the driver and passengers. I think it's a flaw in the design. I used to love this car, I have 108K on it and the inside is still beautiful, the body and paint is great but the overall engine quality is shoddy. I have a leak of transmission fluid and the repair would cost so much the mechanic told me to just keep replacing fluid it's cheaper. Bummer, I didn't want to get rid of it yet but I WON'T ever by Chrysler AGAIN!

Report Abuse

Good car

John, 06/04/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The van has done exactly what we needed it to do. Performed well, great acceleration for a van, carts kids well, had few non wear and tear mechanical problems. At 114K it still looks and drives well. We have had to replace all the expected parts, such as tires, shocks, platinum plugs. I think that we can drive the van for another 10 years.

Report Abuse

favorite minivan

kvmare, 10/27/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We purchased two used Chryslers during the same year. The 3.0 without 4 speed - overdrive got worse mileage than the 3.3 with overdrive in all conditions. The 3.0 never gets out of second gear until reaching 40 MPH. So, driving in the city is not efficient. The 3.3 has LOTS of power and gets 16-city and 23.5 HWY. Now, I am always looking for a low mileage V6 Caravan or Chrysler van but MUST HAVE 4 SPEED TRANSMISSION. I do not like the newer 09-10 ones with the lower front suspension.

Report Abuse

2000 Voyager 4DR

Joe, 08/13/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got this after my Saturn was destroyed by a semi and my wife wanted me in a bigger vehicle. I was skeptical, but came to absolutely LOVE the convenience of this mini-van. The four door entry makes it easy for me to get things in and out. The back seat has hangers for plastic grocery bags. Chrysler really did a nice job with this smaller version of their standard model. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a used mini-van. Hub South in West Allis, WI did ALL the service and is a wonderful place to get a vehicle and the follow up service. I highly recommend them for both!

Report Abuse

Great Minivan

Daigs, 08/05/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

For an entry level minivan, I wasn't expecting much at all. The ride on the Voyager is pretty darn good. Acceleration is smooth and peppy. I've also had no problems whatsoever. It's been extremely reliable!

Report Abuse

Chrysler cant build a transmission

Thomas Rose, 07/10/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have a new van at 20000 miles I needed a new transmission. Several dodge dealers in my area ,would not work on a Chrysler!! Then the told me if I did not buy the van there they wont do warrenty work! Now I got it repaired an at 29000 miles it needs a new transmission. What a peice of junk..

Report Abuse

Never Again

trivetthelton, 09/28/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have replaced numerous wheel cylinders, had the transmission pulled to replace the seal, and replaced the condensing unit for the A/C. None of which were covered by warranty, and the A/C compressor is going out, so it will also need to be replaced! I will never, I repeat never, purchase a Chrysler product again!!!

Report Abuse

Can you like anything of this car?

WolfgangKastenmeier, 02/04/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought the car as an emergency purchase - we simply wanted the cheapest minivan out there and traded in our beloved 1999 Audi A6 station wagon. I wish we never would have done that. Sure, it was cheap, and perfectly served the needs we had at that time. Get us from A to B. This is what this car does, nothing more. Lousy 4- cylinder, shoddy build quality, outrageous gas-mileage, terrible back seats, horrible steering and the list goes on. I am not sure what we thought when we bought this car almost 4 years ago. Loses value quicker than anything else.

Report Abuse

Quality review

Young, 07/15/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The only issue that I have had in 4 years of owning to vehicle is that I had a coolant leak that was hard to detect and persistant. The leak appeared after approximately 3 years of ownership.

Report Abuse

Got What I Paid For

rickj, 09/05/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have canx any Chrysler from my next purch list. Shoddy worksmanship. Parts all over van break prematurely. Replaced A/C condensor 20K mi, front axle 50K, rear bearing 55K. Has been marginal transportation. Oh yeah, only car worse for depreciation is probably a Kia or Hyundai - Nuff said! Honda or Toyota more expensinve but better workmanship, quality, resale.

Report Abuse

satisified customer

KITTYBABY, 11/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

So far this vehicle has performed greatly and we love the comfort of sitting and ability to remove seats and use it to haul larger items. Great heater and air conditioner. Smooth ride

Report Abuse

Yikes

Ginbers, 03/03/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I liked this van for the first year, except that after only 3 months, the power window belt broke. Then things went down hill from there. The paint is terrible, scratches easily. The brakes went several times, well before they should. The transmission is horrible. This van seems to be only good for the first year, and then look out...everything starts to go wrong. The Blue Book value is so low, it makes me wonder why I bought it new in the first place. I lost a ton of money. I would never buy it used.

Report Abuse

2000 Voyager

jkc918, 05/20/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The 2000 Voyager has proven to be very reliable. The ability to remove both back benches has been very handy when moving or purchasing odd shaped items. Special slots on the back bench keeps grocery bags (plastic) from falling over. Almost 5 years later and I am still pleased with my purchase.

Report Abuse

Not Bad

Cranes, 12/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my third extended version van and I did have transmission problems with the second van but while under warranty, Chrysler fixed it "NO PROBLEM"-----what's the risk? I personally love these vehicles, I couldn't care less how I "look" in a ride so this makes my van the most functional vehicle that I've ever owned. Think about it, why are there so many on the road.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050