Used 1994 Chrysler Concorde Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$780 - $1,819

Used Concorde for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

1994 Chrysler Concorde 3.5L

tbolt2, 07/23/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We have not had the same experience as others. With only 108,000 miles on this car in July 2011, we have had the following experiences: 1. Had to replace whole AC system at 65,000 - cost $1500. 2. Had to have two intake and two exhaust rockers in right back overhead cam replaced in 2007 at 66,500 miles. 3. Had to replace engine timing sensor in crankcase at 82,000 miles in 2008. 3. AC compressor failed again at 92,000 miles in 2009 - replaced at $650. 4. Alloy wheels every 2 to 3 years have to be taken off and oxidation removed from tire bead area to prevent air loss. Worse in winter for some reason. 5. Whole front end tie rod ends and steering linkages replaced in 2011.

Report Abuse

one of the greats

moman, 07/08/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought a 1994 concorde in 2000 and had 130,000 miles on it. Now in 09 its at 312,387 miles and the trans shifts smooth as can be. only problem I ever had with this car was the tires. it has not failed me once. I am a firm dodge/chrysler man. I've fixed more cars then most. the 3.5 is a great motor along with the 3.3. Every dodge I've owned has given me my moneys worth. have a 1977 dodge powerwagon with a 360 that has 796,342 miles on it. Best truck I will ever had owned. just like this concorde is shaping up to be the best car i ever owned. you treat her right she'll treat you like a king. Plus it doesn't have pointless parts which go out that need replacing like chevy and ford.

Report Abuse

Chrysler Conconde

ERMA PATTERSON, 07/13/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This 1994 Chrysler had major problems and recalls when I bought it in 2002. It had (2) recalls clucth and gear shift. also cv axles problems. It look like it was in and accident, but the dealer fail to tell that story.

Report Abuse

Best car built

chips0735, 04/29/2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I leased the 94 Concord for three years then paid it out and kept it. I never was a Chrysler fan, but this has got to be the best car they ever built. We have always got over 30 mpg (imperial gallons) highway and 20-25 city. It has the 3.5 engine which I feel is BULLET PROOF as it now has 353,243 kms and does not use any oil between changes. I have always used an oil stabilizer at each change and am sure that this car is good for at least another 100000 kms. Good looking, comfortable and the wide stance makes it a dream to drive at high speeds.My wife would be lost without the onboard computer.

Report Abuse

ok

jbirmmd, 03/28/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Ok car, not the best performance or fuel economy, but comfortable and nice to drive.

Report Abuse

the hare beat my turtle

stuart, 05/31/2009
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

it's ok when it's on a full tank,you have to constanly check the tranny fluid to make sure it's ok otherwise she'll only ride in first gear i used lucas tranny fix i've had no problems with it my other complain is the car has no giddy up and go. i used to think chrysler built damn good cars.i need to change my way of thinking. i bought the car used.joke is on me.

Report Abuse

Loved this car!

Laurie, 11/19/2015
4dr Sedan
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Received this car from my aunt, when she got too old to drive. It had been garage-kept, and regularly maintained, so it was in great condition, and VERY LOW mileage. In fact, for a 20 year old car, it had 86,500 miles on it! Car runs very smooth. Great acceleration getting on the highway. Extremely comfortable to drive, and to be a rider. Front seat space is huge, and the back is quite comfortable, even for a long drive. The trunk is huge! We really had no use for it, and we wouldn't get very much for it, so we donated it to the Fire Department for training. So sad to say goodbye.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Long Term Dog

Concorde Failure, 06/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car was impressive off the lot new but has given us plenty of trouble over the years. Many recalls, etc and a stack of repair invoices. The car is very powerful and sporty with the 3.5L engine plus has retained it's good looks over time. I just have to say that although it hasn't left us stranded on the road, it has cost us thousands of dollars to repair.

Report Abuse

Truly a lemon

white karen, 06/14/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has been a nightmare since I purchased it from a lease buyback. Low miles was should have assured me miles of driving before repairs. Off the top of my head I can remember a new air conditioning still under warranty. NOT UNDER WARRANTY a second air conditioning, new transmission at 43,000 miles, new track system at 30,000, new brakes at 50,000, new plugs and wires at 54,000, new water pump, timing belt,etc, at 56,000---I could go on but my check engine light has now come on and I am getting rid of this nightmare. Wish me luck

Report Abuse

A great Car

David Miller, 06/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned a great number of vehicles over the years, always prefering large North American built cars with High Performance capability. This Concord has been above average in terms of overall affordability. There is nothing about this vehicle that I dislike. At the present time it has almost 200,000 miles on it and it is just a solid and strong as a new car. I can't understand some of the bad press this series of car has received because it had performed beyond my expectations and will continue to do so for many more miles.

Report Abuse

Excellent Full Size Vehicle

delawaremike, 06/25/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had the car 8 years and had only one problem. The transmission was replaced at 60K. Rides well, hands well, plenty of power, nice family car!

Report Abuse

Big and Mushy

BoughtaNissan, 06/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Really liked this car, some days, and hated it others, but the repairs really got to me. The Air Conditioner broke because of a design flaw, costing me over $1000 in parts/labor. The transmission was useless after 100,000 miles, at least in town. On the highway, this car was awesome. Plenty of power, comfortable seats, great sound sysmtem, all the bells and whistles, even under heavy use and abuse held up OK for 5 years (bought 4 year old car). I recently sold my 9 year old Chrysler Concorde for $2500, not too bad, but this will be the last American car, short of a truck, I will ever by. Car rides like a pig on springs down the road.

Report Abuse

Excellent car

Big ole Al, 10/04/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Concorde used, from a friend that had owned the car for a very long time. It still drives and rides like a dream. The leather seats are comfortable, the ride is smooth. the acceleration is there if I need it, It gets great mileage for a car of its size. I usually average above 20 mpg in town and I have gotten as high as 28 mpg on a long ride. I can still spin the tires off the starting line after 16 years and 240,00 miles plus. My only 2 complaints are the cruise control. It still works -- but it is a little jerky on a down grade. And the paint. the quality of the original paint really is poor. If not for those two issues my car would still near perfect. Can't ask for more

Report Abuse

Never again will I buy a Chrysler!!!!!!!

c_a_gomez, 08/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love the design, the 3.5, the audio system but even those gave me problems. Tranny had to be rebuilt a year after the engine was rebuilt. Water pump seemed to go every other year and he list can go on but the trophy goes for the front end suspension even after the recalls the problems kept re-occuring. Ended up giving it away!

Report Abuse

Quality

jack600, 08/16/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

1.Air Condition need repair 2.Transmission break down, went to AAMCO in Centereach,NY, the repair cost $2600, had to discard the car

Report Abuse

My Chrysler

Eduardo, 10/10/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has been an excellent runner, comfortable to drive and with very good looks. My problem: A month ago the automatic transaxle went bad on me. It only operates in reverse or second gear. The car has only 88000 miles on it. Im am very upset with this car because I thought that I was buying something reliable for at least 120000 miles. How wrong was I! My next car fore sure will not be a Chrysler.

Report Abuse

Happy with mine!!

Timbuk2, 10/16/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ya, my ac doesn't work like most I hear about, but I don't have any other complaints about this car. I'm geting about 25mpg, the performance is impressive, comfort is above average for sure. One thing to mention is the stock OEM tire is Goodyear GA, not impressed with them at all. I added 4 new Dunlop Sport2 series tires (less than GA's were new), what an increase in performance and ride! I'm keeping this car for a while.

Report Abuse

New owner

mason, 11/08/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just brought the car and love it. I'm 6'5 and have no problem fitting in it and its one of the best riding cars I've ever had.

Report Abuse

Reliability not in Chrysler Dictionary

JETPILOT, 07/10/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I guess I'm just repeating the other unsatisfied drivers. A lot of A/C trouble,Waterpump failed a couple times,and now the second transmission has to go in.It's time that Chrysler takes an example at the Japanese! With this worthless reliability level,it is no surprise their business is going down.Maybe the flaws in the design are not a coincidence at all ! Maybe their engineers need to go take some classes in Tokyo ! All together,it is hard to believe that we can build a space shuttle , but not a reliable car.

Report Abuse

Satisfied Senior Citizen Owner

Robert324, 11/21/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Mom traded her Olds 98 for this car after Dad died. She likes the smaller car size and ease of parking, handling, etc. Very comfortable "road car". Maintenance has been minimal. (Had to replace hood "cylinders".) Very fuel efficient, but plenty of power on highway for Mom.

Report Abuse

Nice car

wolfie, 12/20/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Owned since new, only problems were with the air conditioner system. Great gas mileage. But the center console is way too low for the average driver.

Report Abuse

Love/Hate relationship

XLR8, 02/05/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I LOVED this car... until the transmission needed rebuilding at 60,000, and the ENTIRE a/c had to be replaced at 88,000 ($1700). Then there was the water pump and brakes, and how many other repairs that I simply didn't think should have needed repairing. When everything was working, I LOVED this car... until the next thing broke.

Report Abuse

My Green Baby

mitchell1205, 10/02/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My mother has a car just like it so I went out and bought one too. Dont regret it one bit. They are very comfortable cars and they have power if thats what you want. Mine has all the options so I really enjoy driving my car, even on long drives. The only down side is the large engine is not very good on economy.

Report Abuse

concord or is it?

antichrysler, 10/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

visually innovative for its time. expected power from a 6-- lots of room but.......... with only 2000 miles the tansmission quit shifting..lots of recalls- seats, A/C, and other stuff. seats are hard on the lower back and were not supportive.. its been in the shop 27 times under warrenty. and more nickle and diming after warrenty. poor quality overall compaired to Honda or Toyota.

Report Abuse

1994 Concord Albatross

woodrow ban, 01/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Don't buy this car. Mechanically unsound. Despite religous oil changes, bottom end traumatic failure at ~80000. Transmission rebuild at ~90000. A/C evaporator failed after extended warranty expired. No factory help. Blown head gasket at 167000. Several water pumps. Needed rotors every 17000 until we found NAPA's thick rotors. Front rack only good for ~80,000. Tie rod ends only good for ~90000. Car gets decent milage for a larger sedan. Pick-up so-so. Maneuvers well for its size, and drives and handles like a smaller car.

Report Abuse

Nothin' but happy!

mombandy4, 02/26/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We purchased this car used as a wedding gift to ourselves. What a great gift it was!!! The Concorde is a beautifully built car with lots of style. The transmission was replaced shortly after purchase, and was covered under warranty. That is the ONLY problem we have had out of it. It handles as well as any small car but with a big car attitude!!

Report Abuse

~Purrs~even at old age! My Garden angel

gwendolyn, 04/10/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car was my first! I'm telling you, if this baby goes out on me with age (miles) I'm getting an exact model of this car. it has over 203,000 and runs great, even when i had minor stuff go out, it still ran! This car has never stop going... Safety is in this car carries a garden angel for sure! We had hit 3 deers, NO joke, last one was a huge deer horn deer running almost 60 mph and yes we felt the knock but when we got out thinking maybe not that much damaged we where totally WRONG! it took my front fender off hanging, pass side panel, hood was smashed in and the car still took us home! If you had seen this car you impact was not as bad as the damaged it caused. A+ RECOM!!

Report Abuse

For want of a nail...

MaxDrivesLikeANut, 04/07/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this as my first used car after college. I knew there had been recalls, but I wanted to believe that American manufacturers built a good product. 5,000 miles after buying it (with 58,000 on it) the distributor left me on the side of the road during rush hour. Torque converter locks up in reverse on cold mornings, until the car warms up. Told to get a new transmission by dealership for $3,600, but AAMCO guy suggested I run it until it failed. I just back into every parking space; been getting by for 40,000 miles. The turn signals fail when it's cold or wet. A/C went, front tie rods and the climate control just went.

Report Abuse

My Frog gets up and goes

My 1994 Concorde, 07/28/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A few reasons(even with 119+)to buy it. To start reliablity, space, and economy (fuel wise). Being able to haul what I do is a +. She's my own tow truck as well as mobile garage. I'm at 148+ with the origin tranny and my complaint was when the battery died on me. I had her over 3 yrs avr $160/yr in maintenance oil, coolant, etc and $300 for 4 brand new tires; even "superb imports" need them. I change my oil twice a yr (no racing or synthetic oil, reg 10W-30) and my filter once a yr. She's yet to let me down. My first/last car was/will be the Charger. Mopar built right. Thanks for the ride Diehard Fan.

Report Abuse

1994 Concorde

mx5racer, 04/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very impressive - far better than I expected of an older Chrysler. I believe these fullsize "LH" sedans heralded the beginning of a sort of "rebirth" of quality design and build at Chrysler.

Report Abuse

not great, but good.

jl_sat04, 05/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

For as long as I've had it, I haven't experienced too many problems. It's a great, dependable car.

Report Abuse

Concorde Lemon

Sanchez, 03/29/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Tranny is a TOTAL piece of Junk!!! Constant Heating & A/C problems!!! Endless suspension problems!!! Going bankrupt trying to keep it running!!! Kids are looking concerned about their inheritance!!! Looks are deceiving!!! Time to go to Tokyo!!!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050