Skip to main content

Used 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$4,629 - $7,333

Used TrailBlazer EXT for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...11

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Great Large SUV

hpopik, 01/29/2014
updated 03/30/2022
2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Bought the Trailblazer from GM dealer in 2006 with 18,000 Kilometers or fifteen thousand miles for a great price and got the extended warranty for it. SUV has about 125,000 kilometers or about 75,000 Miles .The vehicle has been excellent as it is January ,2014 and still looks and drives excellent. It is a 4X4 which is great as I am in Alberta, Canada and we have over four feet of snow already this year so the 4X4 is great and no problems with it. This winter we went through the Rocky Mountains and purchased Cooper Winter Tires and the road control on both ice and snow is remarkable. The factory tires originally on the car are bad and I wouldn't recommend them to anyone. round Great SuV I am updating my review August6,2016 and the SUV is still excellent .Had one fairly Major large repair bill of about $800 to replace the entire gauges like odometer as the speedometer didn't work. My mechanic who is excellent said it was a common Problem on GM SUV and Gm should have had a factory recall to replace them free. The Suv has 150,000 Kilometers which is approximately 94,000 miles. Used mostly commuting to downtown Edmonton from St.Albert Alberta a bedroom community bordering Edmonton but went on a 300 mile trip to Cold Lake and back and the SUV rode like a dream. Plan to go on another trip on the highway of about 400 miles each way in September this year when school is back in and less holiday traffic..The SuV body is excellent after these tough Alberta winters with snow , ice and continually freezing at night and melting during the day quite regularly November to April of the following year. Spend a lot of money getting the car washed during the winter as the roads tend to be messy and greasy. Couldn't have a better Suv as ride and comfort is excellent. It's my wifes car and her daily driver and our holiday trips during the summer and Fall seasons. Would recommend this Suv to anyone wanting one and the motor and transmission and mechanical part of the Suv are also great from operational aspects and overall reliability , W e use synthetic oil all the time since purchase and I think it helps the mechanical part of cars operation . I t is February 2017 and have 160,000 Kilometers or 100000 miles and had a major tuneup for SUVas recommended by Gm maintenance using ONSTAR System and had the brakes done .Suv is in excellent shape interior and exterior are just great and the unit is used everyday for about 30 Miles . Had a engine light come on and had to replace a sensor for throttle control which is costly but under $500 dollars. One of the best vehicles we have owned and plan to keep it going for a long time in the future.Rate the vehicle excellent with the exception of the gauges being replaced should have been factory recall by Gm. It is August 9,2018 and the Trail Blazer is still in Excellent condition both interior and exterior at 175,000 kilometers 110000 miles.or and running strong . Had the ignition switch replaced was the only problem but next oil change going to have the struts and shocks replaced all around which is just maintenance but costly.Overall a great vehicle and still in Excellent condition and plan to drive it along time in the future. February 2019 and had the rear brakes and muffler replaced.Car looks good and drives excellent .We plan on keeping it a long while as we don't drive that much anymore. 4+4 drives good in winter time . february ,2020 and the vehicle is still a great vehicle about a 120000 miles or about 10000 per year.vehicle is still in good condition and the interior and exterior are in both excellent condition.I am in my late 70"s age wise and it is my wifes car and she drives it almost exclusively especially on long trips which the longest trip is about 8 hours one way It is February 12,2021 and it has reached - 40 this week and the SUV is still running strong and i anticipate it going for a long time yet and it runs good and still handles good. Car is always been garaged away from the elements ,uses synthetic oil which is extremely beneficial when going shopping and the car starts with no problems in this bitter cold weather. We don't go on many trips with COVID restrictions in place but the SUV keeps on rolling with no major repairs so overall been a great vehicle since we bought the SUV in 2006 April for the 2005 demo from the dealer Itis Monday August 16,2021 and the Chevy trailblazer is still running good but there are some problems as the brake light is always on but the brakes are operating just fine. Another sign of wear and tear because of old age of the car is the arm rest between the bucket seats in the front of the car pop up on their own without opening .the dealer stated that both problems were annoying they could not be fixed because parts are not available so we will live with it.Other that the SUV is operating just fine and other than the two nuisances which i mentioned the car is in trmendous shape mechanically and still looks good and no rust any where. It is March29,2022 and the trail blazer and the brake light issue was resolved by our Service mechanic and the car is running very good and about 180,000 Kilometers or 113,00 miles and everything is just operating fine.My wifes car and she handles it just fine.we only use synthetic oil which is especially extra good in the winter where it was between -30 and -40 for over a month period. at that temperature synthetic oil still flows really good saving engine wear.We are both elderly and we plan on keeping the car for a long time still as the body and interior of the car are still very good and the Trail blazer runs very good.Other with a few glitches the SUv is just great.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3.38 out of 5 stars

2005 Chevy trailblazer

alex160, 09/04/2012
2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT LS Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

For the price this SUV is not worth it , Mine only has 64000 miles and I had to replace the transmission at 39000 , TheClusters and now will have to replace the gas gauge again , back lights burned out ,and going on my second water pump. Driver's adjustment knob doesn't stay in , this will be my last chevy anything.

Report Abuse
2.38 out of 5 stars

Now I know why we always bought Toyota's

mwermuth, 02/12/2013
2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT LS 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

A complete lemon. We purchased the car in 2005 and have had more problems than we ever had with any other car. Year 1, trips to dealer for repairs 4 Cause, after market DVD player falling off the ceiling and no volume in stereo. Water leaking through window seal. Year 2, trips to dealer 3 Cause, broken belts in two tires, that they denied were a problem. Resulted in complete replacement of tires and wheel hub and bearing assemblies. Year 3, Replaced breaks and rotors Year 4, Replaced tires and exhaust system which had completely rusted out. Year 5, New breaks and idle pulley and serpentine belt. Also new water pump. Cont...

Report Abuse

2.25 out of 5 stars

Money Pit

yesman12, 07/01/2011
2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT LS 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this 2005 EXT model with the I6 motor as a new car. Nothing but problems since then - instrument panel replaced 3x's, wheel bearing hub replacement and new water pump all before 80K miles. Vehicle now has 93K miles and had to have it hauled back home from vacation because of a mis-firing problem in the 5th cylinder. the cyclinder has no compression which will likely require a head replacement (not a cheap or fun endevour). If you are thinking of buying this vehicle - Don't - it's a total piece of junk. I'm a die hard Chevy guy, but I think this is my last.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Happy Happy Happy

Donelle, 08/29/2004
2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT LS 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have bought many vechicles in my lifetime searching for the right one. I as a mother of 5 children feel absolutely comfortable driving this SUV. It's been several months since I bought my first trailblazer and I can already tell you that from here on out when it's time for me to purchase another vechicle it will be this exact same SUV.

Report Abuse
12345...11
Items per page: