Used 1997 Chevrolet Suburban SUV Consumer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
55 reviews
List Price Estimate
$2,567 - $5,443

Used Suburban for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.5 out of 5 stars

An absolute Juggernaut

james_nicklin, 09/20/2011
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

Purchased used for $5k @ 150,000 miles. 20,000 miles later I still think it is the Best truck I have ever owned. I have carried two families of 8 (4 car seats and 4 adults). I have hauled 1,500 lbs of equipment with space to spare. I pulled a friends crew cab truck out of 3 1/2 feet of running water (interior and bed flooded) uphill on gravel at idle. It has protected my family through two car accidents in which the other vehicles were totaled and the Suburban withstood cosmetic/no damage. Fantastic comfort for long drives, 3 leather rows. Moving from Tacoma Wa to Phoenix AZ took two tank-fulls for a 1,600 mile drive. Over my 20k miles I have averaged 16.3 mpg and maxed at 19.3

Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

Pretty Good Vehicle

VinceInCali, 03/06/2006
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

The only problems I have had with mine is the front brakes and the catalytic converter. It seems to run great otherwise

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

228,000 miles and doing great!

runner97, 09/29/2012
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

My 97 4dr k1500 has 228,000 miles and is doing great. Just used it to pull my travel trailer 6,000 lb through Penn, Maryland, WV, V, KY, and back to Michigan and did great! Other than regular maintenace as well it is doing good. Can't be more happy with it. I don't think you can find anything better for pulling. Things I wish they would keep in the new suburbans. A simple, tuff, and not be afarid to get dirty suburban. The new ones are to nice. Why would you use it for hauling things in.

Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

Great truck

hello, 06/05/2010
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

My 1997 chevy suburban diesel is fantastic. the truck is very tough, looks great, and saves money on fuel( get 1300 km a tank, how can you beat that. barely have to put any money in to the vehicle, except for regular maintenance.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I've ever owned!!

jbradabadowski, 10/12/2012
C1500 4dr SUV
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I use this truck for a work truck. I usually haul from 1500 to 2000 lbs. of tools in the back of this truck and also pull a 5x10 enclosed trailer fully loaded with tools. It now has 260,000 miles and has never given me any trouble other than I had the transmission rebuilt at 175,000 miles. I have worked this truck much harder than was intended for it and it has never let me down. These older ones are stronger and tougher trucks than the newer ones. My wife drives a 2006 Tahoe and it is just not the work horse that my older suburban is although hers IS a good truck. If you can find one of these Surburbans from 1995 to 1999 with the 5.7 engine with decent miles, buy it. You'll love it.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

K2500 4WD Diesel

kegler, 10/24/2003
K2500 4dr SUV 4WD
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have the diesel version, so my experience is probably different than others. The diesel runs very well and is extremely reliable. It pulls a trailer without problems (both a heavy boat and a camper). Overall, a very nice vehicle that gets better than normal fuel mileage because of the diesel package.

Report Abuse
2.13 out of 5 stars

Needs a full time mechanic onboard.

billman2, 05/29/2012
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I must have got a lemon like most others. 9k in repairs to go 80k miles and it's due for more junk parts to be replaced. So far trans, intake, alt, a/c 3 times, brakes allways need work, window motors and a few other goodies. Nice work GM... the heartbreak of america.Even with the price of fuel I may burn it just so I feel better.

Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

poortruck

walkingman, 04/26/2002
C1500 4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

just this year i have spent over $2000 on this vehicle. stuff like the intake gasket due to the poor selection of antifreeze by gm.,the pitman arm, the power steering pump, the water pump, and rodding out the radiator. just today i have had to call a tow truck to come and get it. this time it is the transmission(bad news) i dont even tow stuff with this vehicle.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle!

J.R.Gibbs, 04/28/2009
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We purchased one for family traveling and some trailer towing.. Ours has 185,000 miles on the original engine, transmission. We have had no real problems with it, except we did replace the water pump and radiator due to minor issues unrelated to the quality of the vehicle. This is a very well- built vehicle, and I would recommend it to anyone. Recently, driving 1800 miles and back, we averaged 20.9MPG with the cruise set at 75MPH. If you take care of this vehicle and get one that has not been driven by an idiot kid, you should be totally fine. I do recommend you totally flush out the Dexcool coolant(red) and replace it with green or yellow, as Dexcool is known for destroying gaskets...

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Ultimate family hauler - 4wd diesel Sub

4smiths, 04/29/2004
K2500 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After 20 months and 24,000 miles, my wife loves this truck for its overall capability and family friendliness. Gets 18mpg @ 75 mph cruising, and 15mpg in strictly around-town driving. The 6.5L turbodiesel is a remarkable powerplant for a full-size SUV, and the 4L-80E transmission is simply outstanding in every way. Surprisingly good handler for such a huge rig, although it will never fool a driver into thinking that it's a sports car!

Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page:
51050