Skip to main content
12345...15

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

A Cadillac Inside of a Chevy !

SNM, 05/19/2018
updated 06/05/2023
2017 Chevrolet Malibu Premier 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

This is the nicest Chevrolet Sedan ever produced when considering the new technology features, ride, handling and size. I thought the Impala was the "king", but the GM engineers will have to up their game to surpass the new Malibu Premier. With the new 9 speed automatic transmission you can't tell when the gears are shifting, and the engine is very smooth, quiet and powerful. It makes the car feel nimble and fun to drive. Additionally, the gas mileage looks like it will be great ( 35 + MPG) on the highway. The interior is exceptional and this car just has the looks and feel of a high end luxury vehicle. If you are looking for one don't mess around. Find a Premier with the Driver Confidence Packages. You will not be disappointed. Update 11/22/18 ----Just drove home from a 1 hour highway trip with our Malibu. It is 28 degrees out and our gas mileage is still terrific (aprx. 40 MPG / Highway). Combined with the awesome heated seats, steering wheel and the tight/quiet road handling feel this continues to be a great car for us. The engine torque of the 2 liter turbo engine and 9 speed transmission is also remarkable in that when going up and down hills it maintains a steady cruise control speed without downshifting or jerking to compensate for a changing terrain -- very remarkable ! When combined with the navigation, crash avoidance, parking and lane keep features, this car is just awesome. Just like the sales person told us, this car will do everything but make breakfast ! I did try some of the competitors vehicles, but I'm glad I bought this one. Update 11/26/19 ----This Malibu Premium is still a great vehicle. We are still getting used to the many features that are available. The ride remains tight, quiet and powerful. The Bose radio is excellent, and the gas mileage isl way above the EPA estimates (33 highway). No recalls. No issues. It is just a great vehicle as promised. One additional feature, the I06 Navigation system is terrific. It continues to work just as nice as it did thru the normal free trial period, only finally there is something that works as promised without having to pay a monthly fee. Keep it up GM ! With these types of vehicles you may see a gain in market share. SNM Update 11/28/20 --- This vehicle is still awesome. We still like all of the features and the side, front and rear sensors keep us away from other vehicles and objects. The gas mileage is also still great. It is also nice to know the features in this car are still up to date with the brand new models. If you want to buy a used one, the 2017 and 2018 Premier models are the ones you want. Update 5/30/21 -- Our Malibu Premier is still as nice, tight and quiet as new. Additionally, now as gas prices are escalating the gas mileage of this car really shines (35mpg +). There have been NO problems, just an awesome driving vehicle. Still the best value and features in mid size vehicles. Update 12/2/22 ---Our Malibu Premier still rides and drives like new. It also still delivers great gas mileage. We just don't see anything in the current market that can compare, and that is a good feeling ! Update 6/2/23 --- This vehicle is just as nice, tight and quiet as it was when it was new. It is perfect when also considering the 35+ mpg combined warm weather gas mileage. I know GM is going to dis-continue this vehicle soon, so the only remaining sedan in their lineup will be the Cadillac models. I hope they reconsider as this vehicle is a star.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

2017 Malibu most expensive pos I have ever owned

Amanda, 04/12/2018
updated 04/16/2020
2017 Chevrolet Malibu L 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
61 of 65 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2017 malibu new with 5 miles 12/2016. Check engine light came on a month and half later. Vehicle in the shop 15 times in a 16 month period. Repeat emission related issues, rumbling, vibrating noise, clunks and jerks upon deceleration, reduced engine power lights causing car to not accelerate and not shift out of 2nd gear. Oxygen senors replaced 3 times and received error code that they needed to be replaced a 4th time. Catalytic converter replaced, wire harness replaced twice, rear wheel bearing replaced and still had repeat issues. Chevy Malibu is unsafe and is a hazard to the driver and others on the road. On 3 occasions the reduced engine light illuminated and the car would not accelerate. There is no warning ahead of time. The last time this happened I was on the freeway. After repeat inconveniences of taking my car for repairs, time off work, time without a vehicle, being stranded roadside and put in unsafe conditions from lack of reliability and lack of resolution from the dealership and GM I turned my car in as a voluntary repo. I will never purchase another GM vehicle! It is by far the worst vehicle I have owned! It is unsafe and unreliable. I will not drive behind a Chevy Malibu on the freeway because I know at any moment their reduced engine power indicator may come on and cause their vehicle to substantially slow and not accelerate. DO NOT BUY A MALIBU

Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

VERY DISSATISFIED

DANNY, 09/25/2018
2017 Chevrolet Malibu LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
33 of 36 people found this review helpful

Bought the car with 359 miles on in in december of 2017. From day one I have a vibration hum from the rear end only when a person is sitting in the front passenger seat. Noticed it had a sweat line on the passenger rear head liner so I took it in for service. They said the fixed the hum too by unbolting the a/c compressor and retorqing it to the new specs...Did not fix the vibration. I have been noticing several new things latley, fuel mileage has gone from 35 to 24, has loss of power on take off until the turbo kicks in, has engine vibration at idle, almost stalls out sometimes when going from reverse to drive. On friday sep 22 the check engine light came on and it was put into limp mode. Had it towed to the dealership and on saturday they told me in was fine and was just low on oil, I asked where did the oil go then? They argued with me further and said it was fine and there is nothing wrong with it. On sunday morning the light again came on and it again went into limp mode, when I stopped at a light the car died and wouldn't restart. Had it towed to the same dealership and now they are saying it has a blown motor. Say it has metal shavings throughout the engine. The dealership has not been helpful at all and has argued with me through this whole process. I told them they should have looked into it more closley on saturday instead of arguing with me. The car only has 65k miles. As soon as it is done I'm trading it in. I will never own another gm product again!

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Advertisement
Also Consider
Build Your 2024 Silverado 1500
At a Glance:
  • 10 Colors
  • 1 Trim
  • 5 Packages
  • $36,800starting MSRP
Build & PriceChevrolet.com
*The Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. Click here to see all Chevrolet vehicles' destination freight charges. Dealer sets the final price.

5 out of 5 stars

Chevy Malibu 4 door sedan Saved my Life.

Maggie, 10/18/2017
2017 Chevrolet Malibu LS Fleet 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
36 of 42 people found this review helpful

I'm a full time student and this vehicle made being a student less stressful and much more enjoyable. I owned the vehicle for only a few months when I ended up totaling it sadly. I will be purchasing another one to replace my first and favorite vehicle. I was driving home at 11pm after a busy day of school and errands, as I was driving home there was a pack of deer that sprinted out in front of my vehicle and because I was driving the car I was driving I not only survived but walked away from the crash unharmed, I hit a tree after trying to avoid the deer and also rolled three times. Overall the safety on this car was flawless and because my vehicle came with a five year on-star prescription 9-1-1 was instantly dialed the moment my airbags went off. This style vehicle is not only stylish but safe and I would recommend this vehicle to any and everyone.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Great mileage however costly repairs

Brii, 03/29/2019
2017 Chevrolet Malibu Hybrid 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid DD)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

My husband and I own a 2017 Malibu and it is always in the shop. My husband just got it out of the shop and ten minutes later the check engine light came back on. We always had troubles with the Malibu’s. It is a good car with gas however the car only have 60k on it. I’m scared when the warranty runs out.. it is gonna cost an arm and a leg. If you wanna charge so much for a car make the car come with non faulty parts.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...15
Items per page: