Skip to main content
12345...20

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Pleasantly surprised!

Scott in Illinois, 06/07/2017
updated 12/10/2021
2017 Chevrolet Cruze Premier 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
87 of 90 people found this review helpful

I got my GM Certified Pre-Owned 2017 Cruze Premier with only 15k miles on it. I went with the intention of buying a Malibu, but after driving the Cruze I was so pleasantly surprised, I bought it instead of the Malibu. I have only put on a little over 1000 miles in the few weeks I've owned it, but it has not disappointed. I drive 100+ miles round trip 2-3 days per week for work, through moderate rush hour traffic (so no using cruise control, and some slow downs and stop-and-go traffic), and the seat comfort and ride quality have been great. I wish in the Premier at least there was adjustable lumbar support, but the seats are plenty comfortable anyway, so no big deal. The Bluetooth, Android Auto, SiriusXM, voice recognition, etc, all work flawlessly without any hiccups. Climate controls are simple to use. Performance wise, I'm not sure what the deal is with Edmund's review. Most other review sites put the 0-60 around 8.0 seconds, some even under 8.0 seconds. I would agree with those test results. The 1.4L turbo has plenty of pep. Merging and passing on the freeway is easy. Plenty of instant torque down low in the RPM's. I had driven a 2016 2.0L Mazda 3i before buying the Cruze, and in daily driving, the Cruze is way more peppy. The Mazda had to get the revs up before it had any power. Gas mileage for me has been a little over 33 combined, based on miles divided by gallons @ fill ups. The trip computer says about 35 combined, I've had it read as high as 42 in highway driving. My driving is about 50/50 highway/city. But my highway driving often includes some rush-hour traffic, so it isn't pure highway cruising. I agree that the engine start-stop feature should have a turn-off. But if I'm in traffic and I don't want it to stop, I simply shift down from D into L, which disables the auto-stop feature. Overall, I'm very satisfied with the my purchase. We'll see how long-term reliability is, but so far I'm pleased with every other aspect of the car. Update at 33k miles: Still completely satisfied with this car. Zero problems or repairs. I think I like the car better now than when I bought it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

It's still a Chevy

NoGMOs, 08/10/2018
updated 02/20/2024
2017 Chevrolet Cruze LT 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

The last time I owned a Chevy was 20 years ago. That was when I bought a Subaru, which lasted the 20 years, with few complaints. The only reason I did not buy another one is they moved out of my budget. The last Chevy I owned, I had to work on it every weekend so I could drive it during the week. Chevy's quality has improved dramatically, except there is still driver window air noise, and the paint is still suspect, scratches too easily and with 6 stone chips in the hood already ( 13 months), and no I don't follow gravel trucks. The trunk space is lacking, and can't fit golf clubs without the back seats down. The good? The mileage is phenomenal, 41 mpg+ on the highway, and 33 mpg combined. I got the Bose sound system, and it of course provides great sound. It is quite comfortable, and drove several hours on a road trip with no seat fatigue. They could put a 3 sec. delay in the Auto-Stop feature, for when a stop is only temporary, but you can crawl through a stop sign or kick it in neutral if you want to by pass it. I think this would be a better car for a young person, as it has all the communications you could ask for, I think. It has good acceleration, handles well except in deep snow, and is fun to drive. ***2020 update*** I now have 25,000 trouble-free miles on my Cruze hatchback. I put 5500 miles on from two road trips. The mileage is still excellent, actually achieving 55 mpg on long, flat, straightaways. Nice touring car! After putting a bug deflector on, I have not had any more stone chips in the hood. The resale value seems to be holding up now, probably because more people are discovering the value in this car.***2021 Update*** Still going strong four years after purchase with no issues! UPDATE*** No problems! 2022 Update*** No problems! 2023 Update*** No problems! 2023 UPDATE ***No Problems 2024 Update***No problems!

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

70 year old great granny with a 2017 Premier Rally

Annie, 12/13/2016
2017 Chevrolet Cruze Premier 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
27 of 27 people found this review helpful

I am really having a ball driving this car as I have been very conservative with previous rides - been driving Chevrolet products exclusively since my first 1972 Chevette. The only 2 problems I find with the car is the rear/side visibility when merging into traffic. I am only 5' tall and look around as best I can, cross my fingers and go for it. So far, so good. I also find the vehicle lacking in electronic connections. Despite my age I am a techie and have several items to plug in - dash cam, laptop, etc., and the car just doesn't have the capacity to utilize all I'd like to.

Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Just bought a new 2017 Chevy Cruze LT

William Shawns, 12/09/2016
2017 Chevrolet Cruze LT 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
69 of 72 people found this review helpful

After being in a 2004 Toyota Corolla I took a leap of faith and went with a 2017 Chevy Cruze. I am very happy with my choice. I think the engine is peppy and has good acceleration. I don't understand why there are a few pro blogs and reviews that this engine is not strong enough. I test drove a few other cars like the new Civic, new 2016 Corolla, and an Elantra... This 1.4 Turbo engine deigned by GM is more than fine. Especially for an entry level price point. I am tall 6'3" and I weight 275... Yet I fit perfectly. I think this car is an excellent choice and I am glad I took it over the other competitors.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

2017 LT hatchback

Tom Bradder, 11/14/2016
2017 Chevrolet Cruze LT 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
68 of 73 people found this review helpful

Highlights: I drive pot hole infested roads up a mountain to work and the suspension soaks up the craters and cracks like a champ. Transmission is unexpectedly smooth as well. I also like the diesel-like throttle mapping, as it allows you to drive very smoothly and efficiently. But if you need to speed up in a hurry, you feel that turbo kick in with a lot less lag time than other diesels I've driven. The cabin is very well muted for its class. The amount of technology you get for the price is also impressive. I have the convienence package as well. The steering has a nice balance of responsiveness and road feel. I would have expected something a lot more numb feeling and sloppy. The rear legroom, though I don't have passengers often, is FAR larger than expected. Tall people can sit in the backseat even with the front seats pushed back. Cons: None. This car feels like a great value and seems to punch above its weight in terms of its luxury-like smoothness and solid feel.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...20
Items per page: