Skip to main content

Used 2008 Chevrolet Avalanche Crew Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$9,929 - $14,468

Used Avalanche for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...10

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.88 out of 5 stars

2 years later & LTZ is still the best!

Michael, 07/27/2010
2008 Chevrolet Avalanche LT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

I bought this big black beauty 25 months ago, and it is still the best vehicle I have ever had. The only issue was I needed to have the chrome handle replaced last month after it came loose. But other than that this truck is still as great as the day I bought it. It rides like a Cadillac, 90% of the time I can haul without removing the sails, the bed has ample room for transporting furniture without having to lower the back seats.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Why did they stop making the truck I love!

houseman, 10/28/2016
updated 11/17/2022
2008 Chevrolet Avalanche LT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

UPDATE! (11/17/22) just rolled 250,000 miles on my 08 Avalanche. This was the best purchase I made. It was listed for almost 43K and I paid about 28K with all rebates and my fathers GM discount. Not bad. Now being 15 years old, just had to replace 3 sensors, spark plugs and bearings in my passenger front wheel (2022) I am a firm believer in how you drive and take care of your car is how you get paid in return. I always bought new vehicles and I have always owned them for at least 10 yrs or more. I do want to see If I can least put 300k on it before major issues turn up (almost there). It still looks good with a couple nicks here and there where I touch up and I do spiff it up with 20 in chrome wheels in the summer and I have a chrome hood shield in front. If someone is interested in a used one. I would recommend but research the history before buying. It is just like anything else.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3.75 out of 5 stars

Avalanche LTZ

yakfloater, 12/28/2011
2008 Chevrolet Avalanche LT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

Purchased this truck new in December of '08. Traded in my '04 Avalanche after putting on 130,000 miles. I am very pleased with the ride comfort and new styling, interior and exterior, compared to the '04. I have used this truck for freeway commuting for work and for towing a snowmobile trailer and camping trailer. The gas mileage in commute traffic on the freeway averages 16.5, towing the 5,000lb trailer = 9.5. Now at 54,000 miles the truck uses oil, 1qt per 1000miles and there are more rattles in the dash/interior than any vehicle I,ve ever owned. I,ve been back to the dealer 3 times to have the oil consumption issue resolved but GM doesn't have any fixes that seem to work.

Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

very disappointed

michael r. lewis jr./ Nicole M. Lazaro, 01/14/2016
2008 Chevrolet Avalanche LT 4dr Crew Cab SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
18 of 22 people found this review helpful

The truck at first glance and test drive is amazing from the drive to storage to comfortability i bought my 2008 avalanche 3 years ago and up til now i absolutely loved this truck. I have owned 5 chevy/GM vehicles throughout and adter this i will never own another one pending on how GM itself takes care of the issues at hand. Burns oil over consumption bad without telling costumers to be aware of. Now at 90,000 miles my truck is running and sounding like crap, lifter problems traction control stablitrack, engine misfires in cylindersand after i have extensively researched this is a common problem most of the morors were poorly made crappy parts in mexico, ultimately you need a new motor otherwise replacing lifters, pistons, cam shafts, rings, spark plugs, list goes on and on before you can fix the problem we as preferred costumers should not have too fork out thousands of dollars on engine problems on a $35,000 vehicle after only a year or two of owning it especially if like my self ur one who stays up on maintaince religiously i have replaced TPS, oil pressure sensor, new brakes and rotors, tune up new plugs and wires new throttle pedal position sensor all to try and fix this lifter noise and traction control and stabilitrack and engine lights, and noise and vehicle running and sounding like crap all to find out this is a common issue and fault on GM with this particular motor issues i think its time to switch to ford based on how GM addresses this issue with me especially since my truck is just out of warranty now go figure

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Avalanche!

Western NJ Native, 01/13/2009
2008 Chevrolet Avalanche LT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Nothing beats this vehicle for flexibility, functionality, performance and comfort. An awesome combination for an active family of four. Averaging almost 19 overall with typical NJ suburban traffic. Overall extremely satisfied with the entire package, best truck I have ever owned. Thanks Chevy

Report Abuse
12345...10
Items per page: