Used 2014 Toyota RAV4 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$12,495 - $18,930

Used RAV4 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Toyota's Legendary Solidity, but Some Issues

William, 08/29/2015
LE 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
113 of 114 people found this review helpful

Revising my review at 21,000 miles, I've now owned the car 36 months and driven it 32,000 miles. 2/3rds of those have been on interstates and local highways on long trips. Quite a change moving from 2004 Camry to a 2014 RAV4! I have adapted to a much stiffer suspension which really shows on poorly maintained urban streets. Not harsh, but stiff. Highway behavior at speeds at least up to 75 is very good, not subject to buffeting the way my 2004 Camry was, and the suspension set up is good. I do not find it tiring to drive 500 miles daily for multiple days. The front seat at least for a smaller person (5'6") is comfy, though an adjustable lumbar support would make the seat better. I miss the power seat of the Camry, but I can comfortably live with this basic seat with its height adjustment. The interior is not quiet on many highway surfaces. Engine & exhaust noise are higher than I think they should be in city driving. The body is quiet - no booming, rattles. squeaks or reverberations. The view out is surprisingly good, but I find the slope of the A pillars to obstruct turning vision in both directions. Thought I would not use the back-up camera but it is very useful. The screen is hard to see in bright overhead sunlight, and turns into a mirror with low sun from the rear. And - surprise - it is practically useless with polarized sunglasses. With no navigation feature, the screen is simple and easy to use for the radio. Other vision-related observations: There are metallic and reflective surfaces on the flat leading edges of the dash which reflect bright sunlight during some hours of the day depending on driving direction. At night I am bothered by what for me is a bright info screen. This turned out to be a default setting, and with some hunting through the menus (or reading the manual!) can be turned off. The instruments are hard to see in high contrast daylight. Cruise control is consistent. Brakes are very good with nice modulation and no grabbing. Rear discs usually have a grinding noise for the first three - five stops after sitting even one full day of high humidity/rain, but are not wearing prematurely. The car maintains good firm highway manners with a full load on long trips. Engine power is enough to easily get up to speed on most interstate ramps. Gas mileage is not better than advertised except on long flat runs in the mid 60 mph range, then I get 35mpg or better. This car has very usable load room. The rear seats do NOT fold flat, and the front passenger seat does not fold flat forward. Nonetheless, the space is useful with exactly 6 feet from front seatback to tailgate easily arranged.. The bay has a couple of D rings for tethering things. Safety for the 2014 model I own is decent, but not great: In particular see the NHSTA front passenger score, and the IIHS Small Overlap score. Handling seems fine. Last critical notes: The reliable 6 speed transmission is set up so that it will dramatically downshift from 2200 rpm to over 3100 rpm even on railway overpasses in the flats of Illinois(!) Very very annoying and hard on drivetrains. I have found that turning off the cruise control before even a moderate grade allows me to anticipate the grade, feather the throttle, lose not more than 1 mph and avoid rpms above 2600 with no harsh downshifting. This is a real nuisance in my view, and I've not universally seen this in similar non-turbo crossovers I have rented for a few days of cross country travel. The "eyebrow" over the rear window probably prevents the use of most simple bike carriers and it prevents easy cleaning of the glass with the usual filling station squeegee. Bummer. Interior content does not seem to me to come up to the standards I learned to expect from Toyota in a garden variety Camry, but there is no visible wear at all in the driver's area. (I am often the only person in the car.) Shoulder width in the back seat is narrow -- smaller than the Soul in fact. Footroom for even 6 foot + occupants is adequate all around. Overall, the car seems to me to retain legendary Toyota qualities - tight body, good wearing materials, decent seating and reasonable sight lines. This 2014 RAV4 has been entirely trouble-free through 32,000 miles. But interior content seems to me to be a little wanting - if this is important to you, inspect and survey closely to verify the presence of the stuff you like. Do I feel I have gotten top-notch value for my $23,000 in 2014? No, but I think there is reasonable value especially in terms of trouble-free operation and probable longevity. Perhaps more recent models have addressed some of my concerns.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Meet my expectation in every way

blao, 02/12/2015
XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
38 of 38 people found this review helpful

After a year and several thousand miles, It is time for a review so others can use as a reference. The gas mileage is as advertised. Average about 26m/gal (mostly highway). City is about 21. Some people complaint about the transmission and the car's power, but it is not true. They must learn how to use eco mode and sport mode to bring out the car true performance (play with shift paddle some time also). With my personal experience, I use eco mode on highway and sport mode on back road or city road. The car has good surrounding view and I love the rear view camera. The cargo area is almost as big as my 1998 grand Cherokee and the rear seats could be folded real flat. Review update: Currently in August 2017, This 2014 RAV-4 has been seized by my wife and I have to use her 2014 Prius-4 to get around town and to commute to work. The RAV-4 still running great without any issue. I just change oil and filter once a year. I did not bring the car back to the local dealer for free oil changes and checkup. I have no trust for anyone but me taking care of any vehicle I own and operate. I still make people mad at traffic lights because they did not believe the RAV-4 could be so responsive at start (using the sport mode. I also make people mad with my Prius using the Power mode.) After 3 years driving the 2014 RAV-4, we (my wife and I) have no issues. We found it quite fast when use "Power" button. Now the model is becoming old and out of style. I just wish that Toyota will come up with something slightly bigger with more ground clearance, more cargo area and adjustable rear seats (for smart cargo management). put exhaust pipe in higher place undercarriage. We also want to see more color options for next generation. If we don't see new features, we might have to pick CRV instead.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Road hugging AWD performance

Tartallini, 01/19/2017
XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
43 of 44 people found this review helpful

When my 2003 Toyota 4Runner hit the 197K mark and needed a 4K repair, I started looking at other vehicles and found the 2014 Toyota RAV4 AWD XLE. For me it is the best blend of Toyota styling, performance, reliability and fuel economy, with the perks of fun to drive (SPORT mode), roomy cargo, comfort, optional equipment and good MPG and safety ratings. I purchased a Certified used (newly off lease) which came with a 1 year 12,000 mile warranty and 27K miles on it. Mine has a roof rack with bars, Etune infotainment system with navigation, Bluetooth and apps, and sunroof. I added a hitch via Uhaul (installation with lifetime warranty about two-fifty), to use the CURT 18153 Basket Style Cargo Carrier I'd used with my 4Runner. What I like about this vehicle... ☆ Drives like a car versus a truck or larger SUV, making it more fun to drive! ☆ Excellent head and leg room for all passengers. Driver of 6'3" had no problem with head room to spare! ☆ Tight turning radius makes it easy to pull into tight parking spaces. ☆ Comfortable seating all around. Rear bench seats even recline! ☆ Highest capacity cargo space in the compact SUV class. ☆ Fog lights work very well to enhance bad weather driving. ☆ SPORT mode (on demand all-wheel-drive mode) makes the vehicle hug the road; cornering with no slippage, and is very peppy! ☆ ECO mode for around town where boosts of acceleration isn't really needed is great for sipping fuel. ☆ Good visibility despite a smaller back window. ☆ Toyota reliability has been very good for me, giving me peace of mind with this purchase. ☆ Toyota RAV4's hold their resale value, especially with AWD. ☆ Back up camera works well and if you let off the gas while in drive, you can put the transmission into reverse while you're traveling forward (as shown to me by the dealer... I'm not sure I'd trust it to do it myself...) making the backup lights come on IN traffic. Works to get those who are tailgating ease off your bumper! ☆ Spare tire is easily accessed by lifting the floor of the cargo area. (Not full-sized.) ☆ Backseat has flip down armrest with cup holders, and no center hump on the floor to contend with if you are the 5th passenger seated in the middle of the backseat. ☆ Flattening the cargo area is easy to do, and two sets of golf clubs in bags can fit near the opening when placed horizontally. ☆ Interior lighting; reading lights for driver and passenger, cabin light overhead, and rear cargo light as well as courtesy lighting that goes on when the car is put into part and doors are opened. ☆ Excellent ETune navigation and info-entertainment center. Paired with my iPhone 5S easily to make calls and stream music, and the sound quality from 6 speakers after adjusting treble, bass, mids and fader, was great! ☆ Fit and finish of the entire vehicle is very good. ☆ Daytime running lights. ☆ Setting for AUTO means headlights and external lighting (not running lights) turn on with key, and off when ignition is off. AUTO setting on headlight settings must be left on the 3rd position to engage this feature. (Check page 216 of Owner's Manual for more.) ☆ Well placed gas hatch cover release on floor to left of driver seat. Takes unleaded fuel. ☆ The lines of the 2014 model (particularly the front grill and back end) are attractive (at least to me) by comparison to the 2016's and 17's. --------------------------------------- What I wish was better... ➤ XLE model has an adjustable driver's seat, but it's manual; back n' forth, up and down, and seat back - no lumbar support. ➤ Storage cubbies exist, but the flip down sunglasses holder I used daily in my 4Runner doesn't exist in the RAV4. I miss it... ➤ Recommended roof rack weight limit is only #100. ➤ Some wind noise inside the cabin during a particularly blustery drive. (Maybe it's just my vehicle and a door seal that needs attention?) ➤ Gas mileage varies widely depending upon what 'mode' you are driving in with an average of 25 for varied highway and in town driving. ➤ Takes synthetic oil, which is more expensive to have changed. (Consider buying in bulk and bringing your own when you get it done to save a little money.) ➤ Cabin noise is more noticeable than in the Honda CRV of the same year or newer. ➤ Can be a bumpy ride, but I think your perception of this will vary based upon what else you have driven. ➤ Rear hatch release tough to find (rubbery handle on back at center near camera) - no remote release. ➤ Tiered dash means passenger's knees may get bumped when getting in and out. **The model I have has a smart-key, not push button ignition as seen in some newer models. Some of the features on the vehicle (like headlights) act differently as mentioned in the Owner's Manual. I had seriously considered purchasing the newest RAV4's, Honda CRV, Ford Escape, Subaru Outback and Mazda CX5, but chose the 2014 Toyota RAV4 as for me it offered the best driving experience, size, comfort and value.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A great and fun vehicle to drive - city or hwy

fray1, 04/09/2014
72 of 76 people found this review helpful

I got the top trim level and added remote start, homelink, and a trailer hitch. Remote start and heated seats are great on those chilly, Midwest mornings. I am a conservative driver, having traded in a 2008 Prius, and I am routinely getting between 32-33 mpg on the hwy, and about 27-28 in city driving in Eco mode. This vehicle is fun to drive, and dollar for dollar is the best deal on the market. I test drove the Honda CRV, Subaru Forester and Crosstrek, and the Mazda CX-5, and none could compare pricepoint and features. Reliability and comfort have been fantastic!!

Report Abuse

Nice Ride

Daniel Hogan, 07/07/2016
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Has lots of std. Features. Added front & rear park pilots, remote start, neat wheels (dealer provided). Decent mileage usually 25+. Also added film protection for all frontal surfaces. All round very nice vehicle. A bit too big for our needs

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Drivers seat lumbar support?

usnftcret, 03/31/2015
XLE 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

I have the 2014 RAV4 XLE. The drivers seat lumbar support hurts my back. There is no adjustment on the XLE model, why? This is my 5th new Toyota and I have not had this issue before. My only other issue is the lack of a power lift for the rear hatch on the XLE as an option.

Report Abuse

A Good Choice!

Ross, 07/30/2017
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Some reviews on here are a little unfair as they complain about lack of features. I know some of these features are on competitors entry level SUV's. But these people complaining should have paid a little extra to get the Limited version which has the interior rear hatch release, (4) cup holders in the back seats, power drivers seat, back up camera, etc. Front seat is comfortable for me at 6' 1" and 200lbs. The only small complaint I have is the instrument layout is awkward and sometimes the shifting is noticeable when the air-conditioning is on. Overall I expect to get 3 to 4 hundred thousand out of this vehicle with very little problems, as I have with my other Toyotas.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Very Let down!

chrisg48, 01/26/2015
XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
21 of 27 people found this review helpful

We are a Toyota family having owned 6 cars and a truck but this car has really let us down. The gas milage is terrible. We average 22 and the best we have gotten is 24 on a trip to Florida. The seats are uncomfortable and the back seats have no cup holders or a power outlet. 4 adults fill this thing to the brim. There is no button inside or on the key fob to open the lift gate. It is an option that must be paid for extra. One would think this would be standard on the XLE edition. The touch screen is hard to use and the navigation will not let you make any changes unless the car is in Park. The car does ride and drive smooth but that doesn't make up for the other downfalls.

Report Abuse

Almost a great car

Walter, 02/06/2017
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
15 of 20 people found this review helpful

We don't drive much so we only have about 6800 miles on our 2014 RAV4. Here are the impressions. 1) Handling low speed is great. Nimble and quick. On the highway it's downright dangerous. Wanders aimlessly with no road feel. Best snow driving car ever, though! And we have had Jeeps 'forever'. 2) Brakes are terrible but dealer says 'normal'. As you come to a rolling stop, like a traffic light, the pedal suddenly drop about an inch or more. You react by pumping to brake to restore height. 3) Transmission shift great up and down. CVT is impressive. 4) Interior issues include a) the silly armrest slides back and forth about 100 times a day when driving or getting in/out; b) Like most, the backup camera is pretty much worthless during the day/great at night. Also, the angle of the screen forces the driver to lean to passenger seat to view clearly day or night. 5) Radio is very poor. Turns on, Changes stations or modes or even volume by itself. Even if you are not touching the steering wheel at all. Dealer says 'normal'. 6) Great for little people but sucks if you are tall. Getting in/out a challenge and, because there is no tilt function on the steering wheel, you smash your knees every time. 7) Annoyances include: a) Cheaped out idea to use the same switch on driver/passenger door locks saved them 10 cents but make it tough to use since lock functions are opposite on passenger door; b) Downright silly programming on the rear hatch lift. And poor button placement too. Needs an exact set of circumstances to allow open/close. b) Also silly programming n the chime alerts. You'll spend lots of time trying to figure out what it wants and getting it to shut up is often a multi-person game.; c) Information screen is worthless and tiny. d) Seat belt attachment point is too low. You spend a lot of time just trying to get it high enough to connect. e) Supports for power liftgate are out pretty far. Be prepared to whack your head often if taller. New iisues: water flowing in around windshield. 2018 Update: I figured out the screwy radio issues: system remembers even passive steering wheel button contact EVEN WHEN CAR IS OFF. Then, when you turn he car on, it starts going thru button command you may have accidentally hit while exiting the car. Very strange. Just try and replace the rear wiper. All blade manufzcturers show their blades fit. They do not. Toyota wants you to buy from them alone for big $$$$.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A bunch of 4's

billiebad, 10/08/2014
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

1500 miles and three weeks since purchase. Black with Terra Cotta - I like the interior colors versus all black. Just finished a road trip. Milage since purchase 26.8 - estimate highway at close to published 29. It is not a race car but I knew that. Wanted the range of milage we are getting. Enjoy the wide storage in the rear. Better than competition. Front seat comfort is good - visibility is good using mirrors. Interior style is appealing. Challenges - none of which would change my decision. No Homelink - even in Limited trim. Didn't realize and would like. No rain sensing wipers - spoiled with this on another vehicle - and had a very rainy road trip.

Report Abuse

a real lemon

oldtoyotausser, 11/03/2014
LE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
22 of 32 people found this review helpful

The Rav 4 has had 25 recalls, which should say it all. I have had to replace both front and rear brakes at only 50k miles. The sensors went at 25k. The battery died at 49k. The front end is so far out of alignment that I must replace tires every 16000 miles or drive on badly, unevenly worn tires. I have had the car to 3 different alignment shops which verify the car is badly out of alignment. This is an unfixable problem. Unfortunately it still falls within Toyota's specs. I guess it is easier to change specs than admit this problem should also have been recalled. I have also had repeated computer problems. I feel that this car is unsafe to drive and a money pit.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Electrical Issues between Year 4 and 5

C Seymore, 02/10/2019
XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

At about the 4.5 year mark, my radio/navigation console went out with a constant loading screen that changes in brightness sporadically. Not only is it a distraction while driving, but I was told by the dealer the repair would cost $1600 since the general warranty coverage was over past the 3rd year. My USB port is also not working. I bought the car new and this is very upsetting. You expect reliability with Toyota and I am shocked to have issues like these so early on. While searching the internet to solve this electrical issue, I found that this is very common of the 2014 Rav4 at the 4th year.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not the quality I expect from a Toyota

Aaron, 07/26/2018
XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
8 of 11 people found this review helpful

It seems that Toyota has determined that, like American car manufacturers, customer satisfaction is not as important as making every single penny they can from each customer. Example: after 4 years, the stereo system in our 2014 Rav4 has stopped working and is in a constant rebooting loop. There have been numerous reports of this online and the only solution (according to Toyota) is to purchase a new radio from them. Ridiculous! Toyota has dishonored their family name and is a disgrace to the Japanese people - shame on them!

Performance
Report Abuse

Very Bad Rear Suspention

Kiran, 09/30/2016
XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

The ride is very rough , I can feel every single bump on the road. Now I have 32000 on it and dealer was never able to find the suspension issues. Also car seats vibrate because of bad suspension. Car looks great inside and outside, but when driving in city I feel like someone is trying to shaking me from behind. Checked with both dealer and individual mechanic both said the car is designed in such way.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Okay

Sharon, 05/19/2017
XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
8 of 12 people found this review helpful

Meh

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2014 RAV 4-XLE-FWD Gas Milage Terrible!

terryljam3, 11/22/2014
XLE 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
19 of 31 people found this review helpful

I purchased a new RAV 4 in April of this year. My 2014 RAV 4 was the XLE with front wheel drive only which was rated for 24 city and 31 hwy mpg. I have over 5000 miles on it and have taken multiple highway trips and driven it to work locally each day. No mater what driving condition, I have only achieved 24 mpg. I tried different gas octanes and no difference. My Mazda's always achieved there rated mileage so the idea of my driving habits have nothing to do with it. This car is a lemon and the dealer will not even talk to me about it. I cannot promote this car that does not do what it was advertised to do. Two years later and the gas mileage still sucks! No improvement. Update-2017: I traded this gas sucking RAV-4 and got a nice Honda CRV that gets 35 mpg as advertised. On the RAV-4, the Berglund Toyota dealer in Lynchburg VA and Toyota HQ refused to back their advertising and did nothing but try to blame it on my driving! I will never buy or rent any Toyota product until I'm dead and will not drive one in heaven because all Toyota cars and dealers will be in hell!

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not worth it

duke98, 12/16/2014
22 of 37 people found this review helpful

This is my first Toyota but will be my last. It has problems from the first month and the dealer is not willing do do any acceptable resolution. The car runs OK but not better than competitors and there are numerous quality issues. The navigation is not working properly and lost on the road at least once ever 5~6 uses. I now use my iphone more due to its reliability. Seat-belt locks when I put on, so I have to try many times to unlock it. I often locks when I need to reach the glove box while parked in a parking lot, so I had to take it off. The rear brakes make strange noise. [HTML removed]

Report Abuse

Happiest I've ever been with a car!

Phil C, 04/27/2016
LE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My 2014 RAV4 is the best car I've ever owned. It gives me everything I want from a vehicle of this class. At 51,000 mi the car is still A-1.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

So reliable!

J Shoup, 09/13/2017
XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

40 months, 60,000+ miles and no major repairs. Just recently replaced tires, and we're happy with how the car has held up. Our only complaint is that the touchscreen has topped working after three years, something we've seen mentioned in RAV4 chat groups. Winter performance in PA has been strong. Would absolutely buy another one. Just got 34 mpg on 300 mile highway drive this past weekend.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

3 rd year and running great

Nancy McKee, 05/02/2016
Limited 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is my third RAV 4 and highly recommend it. Especially love safety features.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Radio

Richard chang, 06/20/2018
XLE 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

My onboard radio went out of commission at the 4th year. I spent another $780 to get a new one.They said the wiring and interface of Toyota radio was too complicated to work properly. I never drove a car with radio went dead first. Is this "Toyota quality"? OMG! They ought to be ashamed of themselves. Not gonna buy Toyota anymore.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2014 Toyota Rav4 XLE AWD

bvarga1749, 04/30/2014
55 of 108 people found this review helpful

I was having several problems with my 2013 Ford Escape, needed something reliable. I had always owned Chevrolet and Ford. Decided to give Toyota a shot for reliability. I am very pleased with my purchase. The transmission is smoother than the Escape. Voice commands are much better than the Microsoft Sync System. Interior room is wider and back seat leg room is bigger. For the value, the XLE comes with sunroof and several other features standard. The APPS button on radio is great, Weather provided by Weather Channel, along with traffic. Works in areas with HD FM signals, I did not opt for the Navigation. MPG much better than Escape. I would highly recommend the Rav4.

Report Abuse

Meh

2manycars3, 09/10/2014
12 of 23 people found this review helpful

Recently traded a 2003 Hyundai Santa fe for the 2014 RAV4. Based mostly on price I leased the car, it's okay but styling is boring, ride is firm, interior is cheap. If a Hyundai dealer would have been closer to home I think I would have stayed with the Hyundai, or a KIA. Inconvenient storage(coins, phone). Seat fold downs in back are okay, but the front seat could have been included to maximize full length hauling . The doors sound cheap/hollow when you close them. Overall a little disappointed, I have never owned a Toyota before, don't think I would get one again.

Report Abuse

Toyota living off a reputation, not building on on

Toyota regret, 07/31/2017
LE 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
4 of 7 people found this review helpful

Most uncomfortable seats I have ever sat in, after 20 minutes my foot goes numb, my back aches I cannot drive more than 45 minutes without extreme discomfort. my 2012 Fusion seat is a lazy boy next to this joke they call a seat zero lumbar support. If you don't have back problems but want them buy a RAV4. I have owned this for 6 Month's and have to take a loss trading it, it is that bad to sit in. The delay wipe has only 1 speed REALLY??? The cruise control is a lever attached to the steering wheel and when the wheel is in a certain position you tend to hit the wiper control. Brake rotors replaced at 20k not aggressive braking or towing, after much argument dealer replaced rear rotors not pads and wrote on the WARRANTY repair recommending I replace the front rotors, NO MORE TOYOTA'S for me. . Seems Toyota is living off a reputation instead of building on one

Performance
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Very disappointed

Disappointed RAV4 owner, 10/25/2017
XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my 2nd RAV4 and will be my last. It started out pretty great, I bought it new and now have 45K miles. The sunroof rattles horribly and the dealer will not fix. The brakes/suspension sound like its eating something yet 3 different shops have told me its just how it was made. As other reviewers have said at certain times of the day the sun hits the chrome interior dash trim and its blinding. The radio/navigation screen is next to impossible to read in bright light, despite changing settings. The spare tire is only a donut. The seat fabric is wearing unevenly. The rear door/trunk doesn't have any automation and the tiny handle to pull it down is hard to find. The storage is limited and what is there is pretty useless. All in all, extremely disappointed.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Poor sound stereo

Dinorah Gallegos, 05/15/2018
XLE 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

After "only" 4 years of having my Rav4 2014 now I don't have a functional sound stereo, instead I have a weird image, I went to Toyota dealer and they didn't find the problem, now I stuck with a vehicle that I didn't pay yet, with no sound at all,I am very disappointed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Rav4! The comfort vehicle

Hector, 11/30/2017
XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This SUV is is quite comfortable it has enough space for running around town but also to go out and camp or do other activities on the weekend. Soft ride when going over 45 mph but a little rough suspension on the rear feels like a truck suspension. One thing i do miss is the sunglasses holder. Also the navigation system seems outdated and the entertainment system is a little on the slow side. Other than that its a all in one package vehicle that feels complete. Haven't had the chance to take it out in the snow but will be doing it later in the year!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Incredibly Reliable Vehicle

JShoup, 08/17/2018
XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

When you buy a Toyota, you expect to have it fo 200,000 miles or more, and this is well on it’s way there. Zero major repair issues (knock on wood), strong highway mileage of 30MPG, and a great riding position make this the favorite SUV ever. We’ve had a Highlander, which was also outstanding, but the RAV4 is a little bit less and and a little bit easier. Easier to park, easier on the wallet. I would buy another one tomorrow. About three years into owning the RAV4, the only issues we’ve had are a mis-signaling tire pressure warning (minor), and the failure of the radio system (annoying!). Apparently, the radio issue is something that’s well known in the Toyota owner message boards. Replaced it with one from an electronics store for $250, and it’s better and more current than what came with the car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Realistic

LaurieF, 10/05/2018
XLE 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Good price, looks, and gas mileage. It always starts,good acceleration. Now.........Problems: poor paint quality/rusting around doors and lower aspects of car, loud inside/sounds like a semi, rattling sound from dash/unknown origin, radio system went out/a known problem with this vehicle and the dealership repair is about $700, drivers side seat clicks and moves when in locked position, requires a fancy oil change that costs about $65 each time, no response from Toyota from an email detailing complaints, no support from dealership, which I understand, because limited warranty had expired..just as problems started showing up.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great except for bluetooth...

rmundlimo, 01/31/2014
78 of 250 people found this review helpful

The Rav 4 is a responsive, small SUV and well appointed. The auto liftgate is handy and all the features you might want are available in the Limited. HOWEVER, if you have an I-Phone 4, you will not be able to load the contacts from your phone on to the bluetooth system! Wish they had told us that the contacts would load on the base models, but NOT their top of the line model. If this is important to you, and it should be, look elsewhere.

Report Abuse

Torque Converter Replaced then Problems

Carol, 02/02/2018
Limited 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have a 2014 Rav4 purchased new. Has anyone had a problem with their RPM's surging or the Transmission not going into drive or not changing gears after the recalled Torque converter was replaced. This only happens when it's cold. My dealership has been trying to find the problem for 2 months to no avail. I absolutely no problems until the torque converter was replaced. Update 08/14/18 My dealership (Prince Toyota Tifton Ga) never found a problem. I had video to prove the problem. I have had no problem since the weather has been hot. Only time will tell when winter comes.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it

Mike, 04/13/2018
XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Very happy with this Toyota purchase.

Report Abuse

SHAME ON YOU TOYOTA

Kristin S, 12/13/2018
XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have a 2014 Rav4. I have had nothing but electrical problems with locks and now my radio/cd/navigation. I have had electronic malfunction with locks which have been replace numerous times. It was fine when it was under warranty, but now that it is out of warranty. Right front passenger door won't open with key fob or with button on drivers side. It needs new actuator to the tune of $260.00, which is simply a magnet in the door to signal the lock to open and close. I called Toyota and they would DO NOTHING. How can you stand by your quality of your parts which can't even seem to last over a year? This vehicle is 4 years old. Now the radio stopped working. Same problem hundreds of others are complaining about with the same year Rav 4. Are you kidding me? The dealer wants $1200.00 to replace. I am disgusted in the quality and lack of responsibility of Toyota to stand by it's products and take care of their customers. Are you looking at these reviews Toyota?? You have a lot of dissatisfied customers.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Rav4

leonard smith, 07/30/2016
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 12 people found this review helpful

Before you but a Rav4 there is a engine noise at 55-60 mph. The mechanic says that is normal but did not happen to us until 250 miles was put on the vehicle. Very sad because of the price you have to pay for the Rav.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Radio

Richard chang, 06/20/2018
XLE 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

My onboard radio went out of commission at the 4th year. I spent another $780 to get a new one.They said the wiring and interface of Toyota radio was too complicated to work properly. I never drove a car with radio went dead first. Is this "Toyota quality"? OMG! They ought to be ashamed of themselves. Not gonna buy Toyota anymore. In addition to the radio, my shock absorber tuber was leaking on the first 3 yrs, Toyota quality was once famous, not anymore! I'll buy Subaru next time.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2014 Toyota RAV4 Great except ride smoothness

Mike Ratcliff, 08/18/2018
LE 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Take a long test ride over bumpier roads, like we didn't.

Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Pretends to be a jeep

Tim H, 06/12/2019
LE 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 8A)
2 of 12 people found this review helpful

My sister in law bought a Rav 4 And all of the lights of the dash lit up and the dealer told her it would cost more to fix it then to buy another like vehicle. So the dealer turned off the engine lights and they were able to trade it in for a Jeep which they have had now for 5 years with no problem. The Toyota dealer also admitted that they had similar problems with the Camry. Toyota used to be a good car but they are over rated.

Report Abuse

Great mid size SUV

MsGigi, 06/14/2016
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Third RAV4 and live it. I purchased the limited this time.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

love this vehicle

Steel, 04/03/2017
LE 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Toyota quality and safety. I am a big man and love the comfort and size of this SUV.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Great staff of off lease only Orlando

Gnel, 02/09/2018
XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

A great economic vehicle the RAV4. I thank, the staff and employees, of off lease only Orlando. Thank you, again to the sales reps Sam Hackett, Tommy H, sales manager Vince and also Jose in finance department. Wonderful service guys keep up the great work.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

I like my suv

MAGDALENA VEGA BOYZO, 01/15/2018
XLE 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my suv 🚙 everything good for now

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

"RAVE 4"

Terry Dactyl, 11/28/2019
LE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is quite possibly the most reliable, most useful vehicle I have ever owned. My last three vehicles are a 2013 Mini Cooper "S" Hardtop, a 1996 Chrysler Concorde and a 1996 Chrysler LHS. My 2014 RAV4 kicks them all to the curb. The MINI Cooper is too dangerous here in "HUGE SUV-LAND, Denver Colorado". I was cut off and forced into the end of a guard rail by an ignorant Audi driver (and ...really ...aren't all Audi drivers ignorant and arrogant?" The driver was arrested for leaving the scene and several other charges. THe MINI Cooper was a total loss, so I bought a 2014 AWD RAV4 with only 36,000 miles on it. A "Certified Toyota Used Car" which means new windshield, new tires, new engine parts where available. It was like a new car with a similar warranty. I bought it from a dealer. BEST move I have ever made. The car is a dream. There is no stopping it even in these Denver snow storms. And that 2.5 Liter 4-cylinder actually chirps the tires shifting into second on hard acceleration. Plenty of power!! My wife has a 2012 RAV4 Limited with the 3.5L V6, and I must admit ...it is an awesome powertrain, and sad that Toyota ditched it in 2013. Witness every time we go into a Toyota dealership a salesman approaches my wife and offers her a generous price for it, since the 2012 was the last year the 3.5L was offered on the RAV4. She politely declines. Her car is paid for, and likely to go 500,000 miles or more. It has over 100,000 on it and drives nice, crisp and tight like a new car ...still! In the old days we used to look to get rid of our cars when they hit 100K. Not Toyotas. Many Tacomas and 4Runners hit a million miles. A million!! Toyota has the right reliability formula.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050