Skip to main content
12345...6

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2021 Prius, so we've included reviews for other years of the Prius since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

AWD-e easy to live with

DKDC, 03/15/2020
2020 Toyota Prius LE AWD-e 4dr Hatchback AWD (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
70 of 71 people found this review helpful

We’ve had the AWD-e for three months and are still happy with the car. Very relaxing to drive in the city, super efficient on the highway. Around town the size is perfect, parking assist is fun to use, rear cross traffic alert very useful, the car is quiet. MPG in town has not been fantastic in the winter, but once the weather warmed up a bit the MPG went up. Average mpg since purchase 49.6. 60+ on the highway on a trip to PA. The driver assist radar cruise control makes stop/go highway traffic less tiring. Quiet enough under normal conditions, a little rough under harder acceleration (but follow the break in period directions). Bought this over the quicker RAV 4 hybrid because the handling in the Prius is much better, especially on winding back roads. Didn’t buy a Prius Prime because the battery takes up so much trunk space on what would otherwise be a great car. Didn’t but the Honda Insight because the front passenger seat is so low it’s difficult to get out of and is not height adjustable.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Prius built for safety!

Ethan , 09/15/2020
2020 Toyota Prius XLE 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
38 of 38 people found this review helpful

In the beginning of the month I got into a horrific car crash. A semi hit my car and I drove into a concrete wall on the freeway at 75 miles an hour. Although my Prius is a total loss, I believe it saved my life. I have four broken bones and a lacerated knee. I walked out of that car. Unbelievable! I loved my Prius!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best Hybrid On The Market

Bruski, 05/08/2020
2020 Toyota Prius XLE AWD-e 4dr Hatchback AWD (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
40 of 41 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd Prius. The technology and fuel economy continues to improve. The quality, reliability & dependability is incredible. Never have to be concerned with range anxiety on long trips like with all electric vehicles. Environmentally responsible.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Prius is still the king in my book.

Pete in Florida, 12/17/2020
2021 Toyota Prius XLE 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
65 of 68 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2021 Prius XLE a little over a month ago. This is my 4th Prius I've owned. This one is definitely my favorite. Heated seats and heated steering wheel, all the safety stuff, Alexa and Android Auto, leather. The car feels more substantial than the other Priuses I've owned. Fuel mileage obviously is insane, 55 mpgs on the highway, and city driving is always over 60 mpgs. The handling seems better than the earlier versions. The car also seems to have more power when in using purely electric. No, this is not the PRIME version of the Prius. I mean when one is just driving in city traffic, there seems to be more power. The car drives more solidly, with not a single rattle or odd ball noise. The car is perfect.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

1st hybrid, so far, love it

surly jason, 04/10/2021
updated 10/23/2023
2021 Toyota Prius LE 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
47 of 49 people found this review helpful

I've owned a ton of cars through the years; back in 2014, I got a Prius as a rental and remember enjoying it very much. I finally got tired of putting gas in my tank and started doing some research on Prii -- they are made in Japan and have legendary reliability. Checking fuelly, it seems like the later models all get about 50 mpg. I test drove several Prii but decided on a gray LE model with black interior. I've owned it about 3 weeks and 1,200 miles and really like it: it's extremely quiet, smooth and pleasant to drive. I've had to put gas in it twice which is a welcome relief. It's not that I can't afford gas, I just hate stopping to put it in. I no longer feel compelled to gas up after taking a 200-mile trip because there's still about 350 - 400 miles of range left (which is what many cars have with a full tank -- like my previous CRV, for instance). I can't imagine going back to a conventional car that gets conventional mileage. There is definitely a place for larger vehicles -- like if you have a large family, you're a tradesman and carry a bunch of stuff around, or you tow things -- but I bet if lots of people were honest with themselves and what their needs are, and they tried a Prius, they'd be pleased. I am extremely happy with my purchase. UPDATE, 10/12: Love this car. I have right around 8,000 miles on it and the vehicle has consumed 134 gallons of gasoline. My operating cost per mile is about $0.51. I love how quiet the car is. The air conditioning is also the coldest and most effective system I've experienced. I am hoping the heat will be half as effective come winter and I'll be happy. I'm about 6' tall and I feel comfy in the car but I can see how a larger car could be more comfortable for someone who wants more legroom; as it is, I scrape the tops of my legs against the bottom of the steering wheel upon entry and exit. Improvements I'd like: the steering wheel to telescope out further. The automatic locking system to work on all doors not just the driver's door (I have to fish out my key fob to open the hatch if it's locked -- most newer cars have a proximity sensor so when you're near the car, pressing any of the external buttons unlocks the doors without resorting to pushing the buttons on the fob). I'd also like a self-dimming rear mirror. This is a pretty basic car and it could be that higher trim levels address my wants. I don't plan to get rid of this car but I could see getting a Camry or a RAV4 hybrid to supplement this vehicle when my significant other's car nears time for replacement. I am just so impressed with this car. I bought it to take us places on the weekends so we don't have to think about gas and it's met every expectation. I rarely go below a half-tank which means we travel about 300 miles and consume about 5 gallons of fuel doing so. The fuel range is phenomenal and I love driving the thing. April 17th, 2022 update: have owned "Alice" more than a year and over 13k miles. Still love the car and enjoy driving it every time. Mpg dipped to high 40s / low 50s over the winter but is rebounding to mid to upper 50s as it's getting warmer. One of many things I love is leaving the car "on" with the heat running while getting gas because the engine stays off and I re-enter a toasty car. The biggest thing I dislike is how low Prius is. They make lift-kits for these and honestly 1 1/2" of height would be terrific. I'm not buying a lift-kit but it would be helpful. The car is great and I still think 80% of motorists could get by with a Prius. I love my little putt-putt !! UPDATE, 10/18/22: still love my putt-putt, Alice. No complaints or problems. No unusual maintenance. Just passed 20k miles. There's a little wear on the fabric seats but I have to remind myself it's just a cheap little car. I may look into getting some colorful seat covers ... I love not having to think about my car, maintaining it, doing much of anything except pushing the start button and going. I recently inherited a CRV and while I enjoy the space inside and higher ground clearance, it's frustrating how much gas it uses compared to the Prius. UPDATE 4/18/23: Prius has been totally dependable and I still love driving it. She has about 27,000 miles and over the past 10 fill-ups, has averaged right averaged just over 56 mpg; I expect this to increase with the warmer temperatures. The Prius and CRV make a great vehicular combo -- one with tons of cargo space, AWD, ground clearance; the other with terrific comfort and excellent mpg. I went and saw the new Prii and while they're more powerful, they're also smaller inside so I remain extremely pleased with mine :-) Five stars and two thumbs up !! UPDATE 10/20/23: Nearly 38K miles and nothing but oil changes, new wipers, new cabin air filter, and new tires. I make money driving the car with the current IRS reimbursement rate and I love to drive my car. Every time I get into it, it feels like "my new car." When I got the new tires, the dealer offered me a 2023 Prius as a loaner. I liked the extra power but the interior felt smaller and I disliked how the steering wheel obstructed the instrument panel. If they bring it the bright yellow to the US, however, well, I may have to get one. In the meantime, loving my '21 Prius, Alice.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page: