Used 2013 Toyota Prius c Consumer Reviews - 21 Car Reviews | Edmunds

2013 Toyota Prius c Consumer Reviews

View reviews for a specific Prius c model:

sort by

Most Recent|
Most Recent Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating
great choice for cheapos like me
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By kristen
on

Vehicle

2013 Toyota Prius c One 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)


Review

my sole purpose was to find a car that made my 160 mile daily commute affordable - done deal! the car is cute, affordable, and regularly gets over 45 mpg.


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Fantastic vehicle
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By Rich C.
on

Vehicle

2013 Toyota Prius c Two 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)


Review

The C gets great gas mileage! It can seem like you don’t hit the city mileage, but if you are driving short 5-10 minute trips, you won’t. The car uses gas to warm up. I routinely beat 46 mpg in the summer on the highway. You will see a dip in the winter, but i still clear 40 mpg routinely. I live in northern Indiana and the car is also pretty solid in snow. You have to realize you can’t go through deep snow, but in almost 4 years of ownership I have never gotten stuck. I have never needed anything but oil changes and new tires at 44000 miles. The only thing I don’t like about the car is the slow pickup when pulling out on an interstate, but besides that this car is reliable and fun to drive. I am about 6-3 and the driver side is a little cramped on long trips, i fixed that problem by getting some seat extenders.


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Gas mileage inaccurate
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By arshimer
on

Vehicle

2013 Toyota Prius c Four 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)


Review

Reported mileage by the car was off by 17%.See chart below: Date; Starting mileage; Ending mileage; miles driven; # of gallons; miles/gal as reported on "C"; miles/gal actual 01/13/17 24189 24464 275 7.103 40.4 33.297 7.103
01/16/17 24464 24747 283 6.922 43 36.078 6.922
01/21/17 24747 25088 341 8.112 44.1 35.988 8.112
02/07/17 25088 25388 300 7.278 41.8 34.522 7.278
02/24/17 25388 25742 354 8.352 44.8 36.448 8.352
03/09/17 25742 26081 339 7.961 44.3 36.339 7.961
03/29/17 26081 26573 492 7.945 44.1 36.155 7.945
04/11/17 26573 26888 315 7.249 45.4 38.151 7.249
04/22/17 26888 27252 364 7.775 48.8 41.025 7.775
05/04/17 27252 27628 376 8.129 48.3 40.171 8.129
05/15/17 27628 27979 351 7.529 47.3 39.771 7.529
05/30/17 27979 28348 369 8.271 46.7 38.429 8.271
06/27/17 28324 28692 368 7.731 44.8 37.069 7.731
07/16/17 28692 29040 348 7.896 45.5 37.604 7.896


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Need 1 in your stable
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By RJR
on

Vehicle

2013 Toyota Prius c Four 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)


Review

The car is just perfect as a 3rd car. I have an A5 and a Volvo S60 Cross Country and the Prius C 4 is still a hoot and a blast to drive. I call it my little truck with hatch and use it for home depot, Walmart, Target etc for big shopping, I can review stock market, my wife shops with the entune system, we check the weather, listen to satellite radio, cruise set at 70 on parkway with Climate control on and heated seats whilst never taking hands off wheel. and our navigation system is finding the way while we enjoy the scenery. I can only recommend the 4 level the 15 inch wheels and the optional interior weather tech floor mats. I also recommend the hatch floor mat, tinting the windows and rear bumper guard. I drive the car from NY to Pittsburgh all the time and gas costs me about 26.00 dollars each way, incredible. Never had an issue with the car, did replace the brakes and tires within 27K and wipers but I average 48.7 MPH for the life of Car. Mileage goes down 8 MPG in winter with winter fuel. Plus people love it, some call it clown car but cant believe how roomy the interior is and the technology it has. My favorite feature is MPG, Heated Seats, Entune System, Touch Screen Graphics, Steering wheel controls, cargo capacity and bullet proof reliability. My least favorite feature is the Faux Leather and the headlight system is not bright enough which I have upgraded, especially for winter weather driving in pittsburgh.


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Super economy gas and maintenance
7 of 7 people found this review helpful
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By Richard
on

Vehicle

2013 Toyota Prius c Three 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)


Review

If you are looking for a super-cool one of a kind yuppie worship vehicle, don't buy this. If you are looking for super dependable, safe, reliable economical transportation, buy this. My purchase was made strictly because my new business required these features, not extra cup holders and lots of chrome features. In the two and a half years of ownership I have driven 160,000 miles and the car still runs like new. Maintenance has been synthetic oil/filter change every 5000 miles. Transmission fluid changed at 50,000 miles, tires every 55,000 miles. Tuneup at 100,000 miles, and brakes, rotor replacement at 135,000 miles. I was forced to drive over a wooden pallet at 70 mph on the interstate because I couldn't change lanes . Bent front steering arms , replaced and runs like new.
Update at 190,000 miles.....4th set of tires installed last month. Replaced 12 volt battery as a maintenance thing. May change belts and hoses next month. Remarkably well running, economical vehicle.
220,000 mile update...just out of the body shop because an idiot didn't
like the shape of a front fender. $2800 later ( insurance reimbursement) and I am glad to have my little go-cart back. Rented a Nissan Sentra for a week.....SO happy to have my Prius back!!! Last month had a shop do it's second tune-up, they said I should expect another 220,000 miles..... this from a hybrid specialty shop! Maintenance costs are no more than normal in frequency and cost. This is a work vehicle for me....so dependable and economical. Prius surprised me, because I didn't expect much from such a little car....I have nothing much to say about styling but I drive the snot out of this thing and it's like the Timex watch commercial...takes a licking and keeps on ticking. If it comes time to replace it, I will get another one with low mileage(75,000 miles) because it depreciates quickly in value but not in performance.


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT