Used 1997 Toyota Celica Hatchback Consumer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
20 reviews
List Price Estimate
$1,716 - $3,992

Used Celica for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Amazing little cars.

97st6gc5spdhbk, 05/19/2012
ST 2dr Hatchback
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I'm amazed at the quality & overall craftsmanship Toyota put into this car. It ALWAYS starts. 5 speed combined w/ the 1.8 4cyl makes gas mileage INSANELY good! Full tank gets 400+ miles. Car is also super light & brakes easily/quickly. I've seen alot of people complaining about a 'lack of power' ...really? If you wanted power why would you buy a 4cyl "Sports" car? I've never had a problem passing someone when needed. All-in-all I feel this car makes for aa good investment. 193k without a problem here!

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Best car by far!!!!

neecey, 04/13/2011
ST Limited Edition 2dr Hatchback
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this car 10 years ago, and she runs like the day I got her...Just hit 150,000 miles and have never had any mechanical problems at all. That amazes me! Shocks are starting to show signs of needing replacing, power antennae motor went and that's all I've have to deal with in the last 10 years..I get an avg of 35 MPG. I can't say anything bad about the reliability or drivability of this car.. I LOVE IT!!!!!!

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Fun car-simple too

slyfox, 02/04/2003
GT 2dr Hatchback
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for 4 months now and it truely is a blast. Great handling (FWD), good acceleration (could use a little more at times). Toyota Quality. And the best of all, you are more likely to see 100 preludes, cavaliers, or sunfires before you see just one of these beauties on the road. Toyota should have kept this style, it's much better than the new celica body design. Overall, try it and you will love it.

Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

own for 8 years

richie, 06/16/2008
ST Limited Edition 2dr Hatchback
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with 65,000 miles. Now I've had it for about 8 years and it has 193,000 miles and it never has given me any bad problems other then the starter and cv boots. Overall I enjoy this car.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

First car!

swissferdi, 02/21/2009
ST 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this car as a reliable and safe daily driver; before seeing it, I had known nothing about 6GCs, and now I'm pretty much obsessed. Handling is crisp, and the car's lightness is really apparent in braking, lane-change, and general handling capabilities. As long as you don't test the 7A-FE too much, it's a really fun car to drive that'll return some pretty good MPG (unfortunately, I have the worst combo for power & MPG, an automatic coupled to the least powerful engine). Other than installing a new head unit and speakers, this car is stock, but completely livable. Interior is also great, I love how the center console is angled towards the driver, and the layout is very well thought-out.

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

Celica

maite daguerre, 03/03/2002
ST Limited Edition 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great car

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

I LOVE this car

stef, 02/02/2005
ST Limited Edition 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I LOVE THIS CAR! It accommodates both my boyfriend [who is 6'-1"] and myself [5'-6"] comfortably. I drive it everyday and I drive anything but slow and the car keeps up. It hasn't let me down yet. If you're thinking of getting this car, do it.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Cute car, fun to drive

Keri, 01/29/2007
ST Limited Edition 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my first car that I've had to myself. It is perfect for me. Very reliable, great gas mileage, and fun to drive. It has a tiny engine, but you can't tell by the way it drives. It has plenty of power for such a small car. It has sufficient room for me and for my stuff in the trunk (I am a musician). But it is pretty tight for carrying passengers. There are four seats and I don't recommend this car if you are tall. Other than that, it is a great little car. It is very sporty looking, and heads always turn as a drive past. I am extremely satified with my Celica.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

190k still going

ae117, 01/27/2011
GT 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Mine is an automatic 1995 toyota celica gt. It even has the original battery and in indiana here is constantly 10 - 20 degrees in the morning and starts everytime. The shocks are starting to go Finally but the engine is still strong as all get out. I can believe how this thing goes. Hoping to buy another one tomorrow.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

fantastic car, love driving it. super gas mileage,

Bob, 01/25/2017
ST 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

bought it used for $600, and for a 20 year old car it is amazing that everything still works as good as new. very comfortable to drive, heater and a/c still work great. gets 27mpg in the city, and 33mpg on the hwy. part are sometime expensive when have to find when it has needed them. other then normal maintenance, have only had to replace one rear strut. as with most older toyota's, it does seem to eat about a quart of oil between changes.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050