Skip to main content

Used 2020 Toyota Camry Consumer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
103 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

The battery gets drained every time!!!

Tsedenia Fikru, 06/30/2020
2020 Toyota Camry XSE 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl 8A)
143 of 153 people found this review helpful

I would think twice before I buy the Camry 2020. My battery gets drained almost every 3 weeks. The dealer say there is no issue with the vehicle. They know what is wrong with the new Camry 2020 but they don't tell us. There is something which drains the battery. I keep bringing my vehicle every time till I get this issue resolved.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Unreliable! So disappointed!!

Fairen, 10/13/2020
2020 Toyota Camry XSE 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 8A)
138 of 149 people found this review helpful

I'm so disappointed in Toyota. I bought a brand new camry in May 2020 and in sept 2020 the battery turned off completely. After a nightmare with toyota trying to get it towed, the dealership can not find the reason why it's having issues and the only explanation is it had to of been struck by lightning! There was no damage to other cars, my carport, anything! I explained this to Toyota and they told me to contact Toyota directly. Each time I call Toyota, I get the run around and am not able to talk to anyone. This will be my last Toyota and I will make sure everyone I know hears about this experience. I'm so upset!!! What is the point of warranties if when something like this happens with NO evidence of damage, they decide not to cover it! Ridiculous!!

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
1 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Buyer BEWARE!

Scott Dennis, 09/04/2020
2020 Toyota Camry SE 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 8A)
110 of 119 people found this review helpful

I have a 2020 Camry SE and since I've had it I have had two main issues. When I get to a steady speed my car acts like it is "out of gear" and jerks. The second is when I start from a stop and push the peddle down like normal the car doesn't respond equal to the pedal. I have to push the pedal to the floor and then it lags for a few seconds then goes into full throttle. I have jokingly said its the all or nothing Camry. Its dangerous and I have pulled out in front of cars with plenty of room to just sit in an intersection as cars barrel down on me just sitting there. I have asked the dealership what is the issue and the only thing they have said is the car is working "as designed." I have filed a complaint with Corp Toyota and it sits at the dealership and they say all seems to be ok. I'm in a 2020 Camry SE rental and it drives perfectly! The service advisor said its a common issue and I should buy a pedal commander to correct the programming issue! Unacceptable! I told them to keep my car until its fixed. We shall see what happens. Toyota seems not to care until someone dies. If they don't fix mine or allow me out of it I will find a good lemon law attorney. Maybe a class action law suit is on order!

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

If xse sits more than a few days battery goes dead

Doug, 11/20/2020
2020 Toyota Camry XSE 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 8A)
32 of 34 people found this review helpful

I have a sporty camry xse. If it sits for more than a few days the car wont start making it extremely unreliable. My guess is something is draining the battery. Denial by toyota isnt helpful. Its under warranty less than 7k miles. They say battery is fine. Fast forward six months it sat in garage then would not start. Toyota camry 2020 xse has a problem. Denial doesnt help by toyota. Fix it...

Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

The XLE is like stepping into a spaceship cockpit

gmk2311, 01/18/2020
updated 08/18/2022
2020 Toyota Camry XLE 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 8A)
84 of 93 people found this review helpful

We were stepping up from a 2003 Camry LE with 136k mi that was starting to need repairs. We originally tried for a '16 or '17 non-smoker just to get a V6 and keep our coveted ignition key, but prices were so ridiculous it made sense to go with new after getting about $5800 off the sticker. As expected, the ignition button is a hassle when trying to use phone, windows or fan with motor off. Also, she tends to keep the fob in her purse, so when I drive and drop her to the storefront, the motor shuts off. All the digital goodies and busy buttons are quite a learning curve. The NASCAR styling had to grow on us for a few years, but we're even starting to appreciate that. Although not having a Spotter, the reduced visual ability of the slantback design makes backup cam and blind spot monitor especially important. After shopping for used camrys thru the holidays, Jan 2, we finally went to test drive a new '20 and discovered contrary to some reviews, there is NO stop/start on the Camry... EVER so far. That was a huge relief. It has many Big Brother "features", fortunately you can shut-off most that you prefer not to use, like cruise control radar (which tracks the car ahead of you from at least 1/4 mile away, so you're constantly slowing down and falling back in traffic as 3 or 4 cars decide to invade that huge gap...Especially when in NY traffic). We were UNimpressed with the SE pkg, About 3 grand for paddle shifters, a spoiler and rough riding suspension?? My GF (and I) preferred to put that money into XLE which included upgrades like keyless entry and heated seats, garage opener, safety monitoring, etc. I consider myself a bit of a driving enthusiast. I tend to manually shift my automatics sometimes, but I'm not a fan of paddle shifters no matter what Jason Statham says. So, it was nice the XLE included manual shift mode on the traditional shifter. The XLE has a nice wheel and tire upgrade over the LE which gives the car a very stable feeling. The XLE suspension is comfortable and seems more than sporty enough for a daily driver without jarring you through every little bump. My main complaint, which I am sure applies across the entire line, is the TERRIBLE turning radius. It's terrible trying to park. The '03 Camry and my '14 Chrysler 200 uses about 20% less space. Maybe that's part of a Nascar design? Also the sunglass compartment seems so cheap, I fear it may just disintegrate. The cruise control radar was a particular puzzle. Owners manual has very convoluted instructions. Basically... Hold the ON button for 3 seconds to disable radar. Why couldn't they just say that? The trunk seems smaller than the 2003, and the opening is definitely smaller, but the folding seats are a great feature, I can even haul a twin size mattress in it! It seems insane that you must have WiFi and the latest iPhone or Android PHONE to REMOTE START your car!? That's a pretty worthless implementation of a feature that just lives on most key fobs WHERE IT SHOULD BE. After your 3 free months of wifi, I doubt it even works unless you pay a monthly fee. Their GPS implementation is about the same, WORTHLESS, it works only thru your phone. Just go buy a TomTom which picks up GPS signals in more areas than your phone will. But overall we do really like and enjoy the car because those features are not something we needed anyway. We were initially disappointed at the lack of V6s available and the cost. But, the new 203HP 4 cyl motor with 8spd trans really surprised us, especially with local MPG. The 4cyl is adequate and smooth IMO. Sport mode really helps. It turned out that the V6 is a bit overpowered and should come with the AWD standard instead of excluding it. Update1: The headlights on this car are amazing! Super bright and right on point. Update2: After a year of mostly local driving we're still satisfied. A bit dissapointed with Hwy MPG, which sits around 27 (our 2014 Chrysler 200 with V6-6spd Auto gets 31.7, yeah exactly! ) I would still definitely recommend the car. It is also nice that it is manufactured mainly in the USA. Update 3: 2 yrs in12k miles. Had a tire puncture. Tires were dang expensive so we lowered the speed rating on the replacement. So far so good. Still running and driving fine. No additional complaints. Still loving the shimmery solar white paint or whatever they call it!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5