Used 2003 Oldsmobile Alero Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,281 - $3,130

Used Alero for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Up In The Air

mlzebe, 06/08/2008
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought my Alero last year with 72,000 miles on it. I was loving it I thought it was a all around good car. Well it was until I started having this problem with the security system. Sometimes when I turn the car off, and go to start it again nothing happens except for the dash light coming on. I priced to fix and was told about $300 to 400 to fix. Besides that and the air drafts it's a nice car.

Report Abuse

Nice cheap car

Justin, 09/03/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car's nice. 3.4L v6 it has plenty of power. Good gas mileage 22 city 30 highway. I wish it had ABS or ETS but oh well. Good trunk space. Smooth drive. Poor quality though considering almost every 60degree v6 has a failing lower intake manifold gasket. I replaced mine once I got it around 77000 miles.

Report Abuse

Great Great buy!!!

Ms C, 11/15/2016
GL2 2dr Coupe (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My car has 283000 miles and still going!! The horn doesnt work!! Only had to get general maintenance! ! Got to get another car because of the rust underneath!! Purchase the car in 2006 with 75000 miles

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Straight Up Lemon

reddstunta, 10/31/2003
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is junk and was made too fast. The only good thing is that I have not had any motor problems. The inside is garbage, my top light just fell down, my driver side window borke twice, sometimes it does not crank, the rubber around the windshield is continuing coming up. The worse of all the dash board is coming up and look all wrinkle. This car is a lemon and practically worthless. It had a nice body style and outer appeal but it toatal garbage. I will never buy another. I hate this car, there is a new problem with it constantly.

Report Abuse

So So, Nothing Special

Dustin, 10/04/2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

First off the brake design of this car is horrible. I've already had to put in new brake pads and have the rotors turned twice. The car has less than 50,000 miles on it. The gas mileage varies from 22 to 30 depending on oil changes, driving conditions...etc. Its seats aren't really that comfy and the interior looks cheap. You definitely pay for what you get. I won't ever by another GM, next time it's a Honda or Toyota.

Report Abuse

A Lemon!

Meeme, 01/19/2009
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for ove a year now and I have put so much money into it that if I saved it all I could have paid this car off.. The pass lock locked my car first. 3 mechanics couldn't figure out what was wrong. All together $1000 fixed the problem. My Ford that I paid $1000 didn't give me as many problems as this! Brakes, bearings, spring coil, A/C, drum and the pass lock. All together well over $5000 put into it already! It makes me sick to my stomach. I will never again get an Oldsmobile! No wonder they shut down their production. The sound system is great but I would rather have a reliable car instead.

Report Abuse

Down with the quickness

ken, 10/01/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my alero in march of 05, it had 73,000 miles now in Oct of 08 117456 no problems replaced front brakes a year ago tops, and one tune- up. V6, power everything 0-60 5.4sec pretty impressive. rides a little rough I thought mine did great in the snow. Unplowed country roads after 8 inches of snow never got it stuck. it is a glorified grand am i would definitely own another one

Report Abuse

Basic GM Econo-box

Jeff, 11/24/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car in 2005 with about 20,000 miles on it. It was an ex-rental from California. I now have have about 63,250 miles on it and it has/had some problems. The passlock had to be replaced ($460), the suspension starts squeaking annually and I have to take it to the dealer to get it lubricated, and the CD player only takes CDs when it wants to. The 3.4L V6 is nothing to write home about either at 170HP. Based from what I've read, I've been lucky with this car. My dashboard hasn't started peeling and I haven't had to replace any pumps or bearings. Although functional, the interior seems cheesy. Also, this car can't handle in the snow. The rear end gives out even with good tires.

Report Abuse

Not a big fan, overall

NeglectedMind, 09/08/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had so many problems with this vehicle, that it was really not worth the money I paid. I have replaced the brakes more often than I should have to, and have had numerous problems with the security system, that no one seems to be able to fix. I will take it into the shop, and they will temporarily fix the problem, and it will stop again. I have changed the spark plus, the ignition system, brakes, bearings, command start, and the clutch. It drives nicely when it is working, but not worth the money that I have had to put into it. All in all, I plan on buying a new car and ditching this lemon of an Olds. Do not buy!

Report Abuse

Another Alero

Alero Boy, 08/18/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 00 Alero GLS sedan for this 03 GLS coupe in February because of the $5000 in rebates I qualified for. The new one seems less quality. My tailights are not sealed properly, so when rains, the water gets in & there has actually been sparks in there so the inside of the tail lights are burnt. The Tire Pressure monitor was eliminated for 03 and the hood in the 00 has struts, but they changed to prop rod in 2001. Nonetheless, it's still the perfect car for me. I would like to get one of the Final 500 next year, but if not, I'll just hold on to this one.

Report Abuse

the car that has it all

betty, 09/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this car is a pleasure to be in. it is very comfortable to be in especially on long trips. i have a sun roof which i love and even though its black i don't mind washing it all the time. great choice of a car and i'm sure i'll be happy until i buy another new one in about three years.

Report Abuse

For the money it is worth it!

jreynard, 01/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in a haste. The car has been worth every cent that I paid. The features are nice for the price. The ride is quiet and the car is mechanically sound. The steering is a little disconnected but you still have a decent sense of the road. I enjoy the layout of the controls. They seem to have put a little extra thought into the lay out in the cabin. I enjoy my car and it has been good to me.

Report Abuse

My Last Olds

Melodance, 03/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My last Olds only because GM is phasing them out. Owned Olds cars for 20 years. Overall very satisfied with this car and am glad I purchased it. Have received many compliments on the vehicle. I feel my 1993 Achieva had a little better gas mileage, but Alero delivers and handles well. Good in the city and on the road. Very sad that GM is closing the division. All my Oldsmobiles have been reliable, dependable cars with only required maintenance. Hoping this Alero follows suit--so far it's showing it will. Worth considering!

Report Abuse

pros and cons of the alero

sazisarah, 04/24/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love the way the car looks , although it is alittle slow on intitial take off but does fine when passing

Report Abuse

2003's Still: "Good as Gold!"

Bill Cuthbert, 03/10/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased Basically on Price, Dealer Knocked about $500.00 of Sticker Price @ Gen motors Was Offering a $3000.00 Cash Back. A Pretty Good Deal I'd Say.

Report Abuse

Alero Update

Alero Boy, 10/12/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new 2/2003 to replace the 2000 Alero that I had. It doesnt feel as stable as the old 2000. Now I'm having problems with the ignition: the key hesitates to go in & is difficult to remove. Of course this happens after the 36k of the warranty. (I gave back the 5yr/60k mi warranty for a $1500 credit). With rebates & discounts, I saved about $7k on this car, but I still couldn't trade it in as I owe 14500 & it's worth about $11k as I have 40k mi on it. Does anyone else have no traction on wet roads? I did a 180 into on on-ramp one morning while going 15mph. I think it's the Goodyear Eagle LS tires, but can't afford to replace them.

Report Abuse

2003 Olds Alero at 47,100 Miles

Alero owner, 01/29/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The dials and some buttons on the dash have had to be replaced under warranty. They have also lost some of their black coating, I am not sure why this happened. Also, the ignition switch went out at 38,000 miles.

Report Abuse

Nice Car

Gardner, 04/24/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was in the market for a Subaru....I liked the AWD, Was won over by the alero when i found out about the 5 speed and the gas mileage. I have grown to like this car much much more every day. I wish the interior styling was more like the new German style interior quality. fake and chinsy looking

Report Abuse

starting car

joyce, 04/07/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Our 2003 Alero won't start. Had to have it towed to dealership. Don't know yet how come. Anyone else having problems with it not starting?

Report Abuse

Great car for the price, few problems

Chelle, 04/10/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got this vehicle after totaling my Dodge Dakota. I am definitely more pleased with it than I was the truck. I read after we had the car for about a year that there were many complaints about it, especially the dash and inside door material peeling up. I have put quite a few miles, a lot of them aggressive-driving miles, and have only had the air go out (turned out that a cap was missing-less than a couple dollars to fix) and the ignition was not recognizing my key, so the car shut down. That cost me about 300. Also, sometimes blinkers quit working, then suddenly come back on. But so far, so good with anything Major.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050