Skip to main content

Used 2021 Nissan Frontier Consumer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
66 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2021 Frontier, so we've included reviews for other years of the Frontier since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

Does exactly what I bought it to do

C. C. Jordan, 06/15/2019
updated 12/29/2020
2019 Nissan Frontier SV 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.0 ft. SB (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
155 of 159 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2019 Midnight Edition Frontier, in gunmetal with "steel" interior . It is fitted with 18" black wheels, black out trim and a really useful package of options, including tow package. The second weekend I had it, I drove it a considerable distance to spend the weekend with friends at their beach house. The bed extender came in handy with two kayaks and two mountain bikes strapped into the bed. Nissan's Utili-track system is outstanding for this purpose. This truck is very comfortable to drive, both short and long distances. I found the steering ratio to be slower than I prefer. It took some getting used to. Brake force distribution and ABS prevent rear wheel lock-up, but add to the stopping distance at highway speeds. Around town, brakes are excellent. While the Frontier interior is minimalist, with hard plastics (except on the door arm rests), it has a simple elegance all its own. It is a pickup truck, and simplicity isn't a sin. I don't expect to take it off road very often, I have a Wrangler Rubicon for that. Yet, after airing down the tires to 18 psi, I drove the Frontier on the beach with ease. I bought the Frontier because I needed a vehicle with greater utility than my Wrangler or my 2016 1/2 Mazda CX-5 Touring. After shopping midsize pickups, and seeing ridiculous MSRPs (a Ranger Lariat at $45,655, a Colorado at $42,280 and a Tacoma at $44,148), the $34,030 sticker on the Frontier Midnight Edition was surprising. After rebates, discounts and negotiation, the bottom line price was $29,030. None of the other midsize trucks can come anywhere near that price with similar options and equipment. Therein is why I bought the Frontier. Superior reliability, and the best value for the money. By far. Update: As of seven months of use, my Frontier has been driven from Long Island to the Space Coast of Florida and back. It carried over 1,000 lb each way. Despite the load, fuel mileage averaged 20.7 mpg. The ride was comfortable and quiet. The responsive V6 gets the truck up to highway speed effortlessly. Nissan's excellent entertainment system was flawless, streaming music and audio books. I have zero complaints to date. Update: As of 12/28/2020, I have 17,300 miles on my Frontier. It has required nothing more than routine maintenance. No issues whatsoever. Both tires and brake pads show only about 20% wear. We have used it for towing a camping trailer. Several trips to the Carolinas and Tennessee. It's quiet and comfortable on the highways. Thus far, it had proven capable and utterly reliable.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Tried and True

Jacob, 10/22/2019
updated 05/16/2023
2019 Nissan Frontier PRO-4X 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.0 ft. SB (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
141 of 145 people found this review helpful

After looking at the new Ranger, the Colorado, and a few different Tacoma’s, the Frontier won me over. I’ve read a lot of the negative comments from the “expert” reviews, but the simplicity of my truck is what ultimately sold me. It took the salesman at the Ford dealership 15 minutes just to explain the infotainment system in the Ranger. This truck is great; it handles well, has plenty of power, and is surprisingly comfortable. For the price, it can’t be beat. I haven’t had the chance to go off road or tow yet, but I have no doubts. The technology is simple and straightforward to set up, and as a bonus the sound system is outstanding. I don’t have many negatives. I’ve averaged around 17 mpg around town, which could be better. But honestly I’m happy as is. It's very satisfying during my daily commute, and as I’ve mentioned, I love the simplicity. I have no issues with the “dated” feel that’s prevalent in a lot of reviews. ** UPDATE 2023 ** Still going strong, zero issues. I've been on some tough trails, I've towed around 6,000lbs up the coast, and it's been my daily driver. So far only standard maintenance. The fuel economy isn't great (around 17 combined), probably the only negative.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Bargain priced solid truck

Grandpa Steve, 07/15/2019
2019 Nissan Frontier SV 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.0 ft. SB (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
57 of 58 people found this review helpful

New 2019 Frontier SV 4x4 auto Midnight Edition, under 2000 miles. My truck has excellent steering, a speed sensitive power type with no sloppiness what so ever. I like the feel of it, not overly sensitive. Has been very good on handing from slow speeds to freeways. Trip this week via freeway at 70-75 with gusty crosswinds gave a stable ride while seeing other vehicles being moved around. Maybe the 18" wheel/tire combination just works better. Ride is very good IMHO, better than our new RAV4. It also seems quieter. Can't say why Edmunds similar test truck had issues. Yes it may have a "dated" interior but it works and will age better under hard use. As a driver for 49 years I have figured things out and don't need lane assist, blind spot monitoring, etc. The backup camera is great giving you a slight wide angle view and is very bright. At night its way better than turning your head and looking! The sonar works flawlessly. On this still new engine I'm getting 19.5 mpg in suburban driving while running the ac full blast. I may see some improvement after the engine is "broke in". The backseat is not overly comfortable but it will seldom be used for riding so thats a non-issue for me, while the foldability is important. This truck fits my needs and wants. Other brands? Chevy seemed to feel less refined while driving and cost $4000 more. Add in how fast they rust out here and the choice was easy. Tacoma was even more expensive with a higher driver entry height. Prices on new Ranger and Gladiators were crazy high also. My truck was just under $30K. Best value overall, which made my choice simple. Loving it so far and Frontier dependability is nice to have around me.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Great for the price!

AJ, 01/29/2021
2020 Nissan Frontier PRO-4X 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.0 ft. SB (3.8L 6cyl 9A)
27 of 27 people found this review helpful

Does it have all the fancy new technology? No. But if you don’t need all of that, or if you’re worried that all of that stuff is likely to be expensive if it fails, this is a great option! The new 3.8 liter V6 has plenty of power and the 9-speed automatic is buttery smooth. I disagree with the Edmunds review, I think it’s very easy to drive on pavement. Of course it doesn’t have a small turning radius, but I live in the Atlanta area, and I don’t have issues driving this little truck in a big city. The interior is surprisingly quiet and comfortable. Through all of the years of this interior, I think they’ve perfected the design. There are no creaks, rattles, or poor fit. The materials on the dash are hard plastic, but the PRO-4X has plenty of leather that is soft on the seats and door panels. And as far as technology goes, it’s like the old Xterra saying “everything you need, nothing you don’t”. You’ll have one USB port, an aux jack, navigation system (PRO-4X trims), a great Rockford Fosgate sound system (PRO-4X only again), power seats, heated seats, dual zone automatic climate control, and a sunroof (PRO-4X only again). I would’ve loved it if it had adaptive cruise control, blind spot warning, lane keep assist, and other modern driving aids, but I’m assuming I would be paying a lot more too! I don’t think any of the features this truck has are likely to break. My gas mileage hasn’t been great, I’ve been averaging 17mpg in mixed driving. I’m still breaking the truck in, so I am anticipating that to change. But the best part of this truck is the price. The MSRP for my fully loaded PRO-4X trim is over $39k, but I got mine at a tick over $34k. Dealers are discounting these because a redesign is on its way, and they know it doesn’t compete well with other trucks in the segment when it comes to features. But if you’re like me and you’re happy with the options this does have, you can get this at a bargain. Plus, at the time I bought it, this was the only mid-size truck being sold with 0% interest financing. I think it’s worth a test-drive for buyers of mid-size trucks. I’m very happy with my Arctic Blue PRO-4X so far!

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

The "Con's" Listed Here Are Wrong

Shain3777, 01/27/2020
2019 Nissan Frontier SV 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 6.1 ft. SB (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

I have been a fan of the Nissan Frontier for more than a decade. I have been driving one for more than 5 years. The vehicle handles great. Better than most trucks in fact. My daughters (6'-0" & 6'-1") have enough leg room in the back seat. The gas mileage is not "lagging far behind" it's competition. It fact it is about the same. Very few trucks get 16/22 mpg. The interior does not look or feel cheap. This is a top notch quality truck and a great value.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5