Skip to main content

2023 Mazda MX-5 Miata Consumer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32 reviews

Pricing

Edmunds suggests you pay
$27,262
1...

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2023 MX-5 Miata, so we've included reviews for other years of the MX-5 Miata since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Best Miata Yet!

Dr. Roger Tilton, 05/17/2021
2021 Mazda MX-5 Miata Grand Touring 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl 6M)
25 of 26 people found this review helpful

I just recently bought a new Miata grand touring manual shift. I should mention that I have driven only Miatas since they first came out in 1989, and this will be my sixth. My first very pleasant surprise was the appearance. I wanted the Soul Red Crystal but based on the pictures on the dealer's website it didn't look too good with the gray top which is all that any of the dealers had in the grand touring. I went to test drive one, and when I saw the red with the gray top in person I almost fainted. The color combination looked just fantastic in person and nothing like the picture. My car until then was a 2016 soul red special edition with the tan interior which looked great, but this looked even better. The red is deeper and more beautiful than before which I didn't think was possible. In fact I think this is the most beautiful red I have ever seen in a car including Ferraris and Corvettes, and other people tell me that when they see my car. (I got the first compliment on the color on the test drive from another driver at a stoplight who said he loved the color.) I tell people it looks like a $100,000 car, but I honestly can't think of a $100,000 car that looks this beautiful. With the gray top it adds a sense of elegance. I had been a little concerned, because this car has a sports suspension which now comes with the grand touring manual, since I have always had the regular suspension desiring a smoother ride. However with the sports suspension it is just fine and in fact better overall. It felt a little bit rougher on a not so smooth road during my test drive, but then I decided I had better check the tire pressure. Mazda recommends 29 psi which is inside the driver's side door. Sure enough the dealer had 50 psi in all four tires which I then corrected. I have had the car for a week now and have driven 500 miles. All I can say is that as much as I loved my 2016 Miata this one is better in every way. The added horsepower added in 2019 is very noticeable and just puts the driving experience on a higher level. And on a decent road the ride quality is better than ever. It is even smoother than my 2016, and there's something about the overall feel of the car on the road that is just sensational. You feel this on the freeway at high speeds but even at just about any speed unless it's a really rough road. It's 0-60 time of 5.7 and it's quarter mile time of 14.4 is comparable to the former Honda S2000 and to the 2013 Porsche Boxster which were formidable cars. I used to love the Boxster, but I test drove one a couple of years ago and in the manual shift I was really disappointed. You almost couldn't drive it normally in the city, because you would be going 70 mph in second gear. I like the Miata better which is more like the Boxster use to be. When I say everything is better with this Miata than my 2016 that includes the clutch which is even easier than before and something, about the integration of the manual shifter and the clutch which seems even more seamless. With all of my Miatas I always thought they couldn't be improved upon, but each one is noticeably better than the one before. However this ND2 is really something else. The subjective enjoyment factor in driving this car is really off the charts. If you watch some of the current YouTube reviews with young guys who say they had never driven a Miata and had some negative preconceived ideas about it, they are noticeably blown away when they are test driving it. It's also nice to have the Apple Car Play which can be connected wirelessly on the grand touring, and the black leather with white stitching looks really nice. This Miata is the best ever and is truly a remarkable car. Given the looks, performance, and overall driving enjoyment there really is no car I would rather have.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Advertisement
11 Offers Near Ashburn, VA
Check out current offers on the Mazda MX-5 Miata
View Offers 
MAZDAUSA.COM
MSRP excludes tax, title, license fees and $1,165 destination charge (Alaska $1,210). Vehicle shown may be priced higher. Actual dealer price will vary. See dealer for complete details.

4 out of 5 stars

an enjoyable ride

Chris N., 02/17/2019
updated 08/28/2023
2019 Mazda MX-5 Miata Sport 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl 6M)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

This is the first car that I look forward to driving every day. The small size makes it very agile and the car feels like an extension of the driver, and it's easy to ignore the compromises made. With the top down, visibility is great and the wind creates of a feeling of speed, even when driving moderately fast. With the top up the car feels cozy, but rear and side visibility are very limited and the noise from the soft top is excessive at highway speeds. The addition of aftermarket wide-angle side mirrors, noise cancellation earbuds and a clear wind deflector (why not include it upfront?) helped. Acceleration is good with room for improvement. Fuel economy averages about 29 mpg although savings are negated by the requirement for premium gas. The ride on my Sport trim is sporty but not hard, so I am glad I didn't go for the stiffer suspension of the club. Body roll is acceptable when the electronic control is activated. The cloth seats were quite comfortable but retained moisture so I had them upholstered with marine leather - a must in a convertible. Mazda apparently also decided to punish buyers of the Sport by saving a couple of dollars on a padded armrest, but that wasn't enough for me to upgrade to the Club. I did pay $450 to get an Android Auto but ultimately found that I didn't really use it. Gear shifting is good. The entertainment system is sub-par and the speakers failed after 3 years, the first car that I have that happen. On removal, they were $5 paper speakers, so shame on Mazda for installing garbage in a $30K car. My AC had a leak that took 3 years and many trips to different dealerships to get diagnosed and fixed, and even without the leak it is pretty useless, making driving in the summer in Florida an ordeal. Overall, I am happy with the car and it remains by far my favorite vehicle but wish Mazda wasn't pennywise and cared a bit more about their drivers.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Most fun of any car ive ever been in.

Mark hoyle, 05/18/2021
2021 Mazda MX-5 Miata Grand Touring 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl 6M)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Ive had a 2000 vette, two mini coopers (which I loved), multiple Chevy ford Lexus Nissan Mitsubishi land rover Honda Toyota cars and trucks (I'm old!) and this is the most fun of any car ive ever had. Its my daily driver. The handling is phenomenal. Its sweet spot is 90-100mph but even at slower speeds its a blast. The cornering is fantastic. Its like driving a comfortable go cart daily! Could it use a smoother ride and more storage ...yes but it would add weight and size and its perfect size now for anyone 6'2" and under (I'm 5'10"). 32 mpg and I drive it like I stole it! Had it 6 mos now. I suspect I will trade it in for every new major update until I die or until the other companies make something similar. Havent had a "stick" since my 20's but stick is the way to go here. Very easy to shift. Mark hoyle Dallas Texas.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Advertisement
2024 Mazda MX-5 Miata
At a Glance:
  • 2 Colors
  • 3 Trims
  • 5 Packages
  • $28,985starting MSRP
Search Inventory MAZDAUSA.COM
MSRP excludes tax, title, license fees and $1,165 destination charge (Alaska $1,210). Vehicle shown may be priced higher. Actual dealer price will vary. See dealer for complete details.

5 out of 5 stars

Deja Vu Many Years Later

Should have done this sooner!, 03/12/2023
updated 09/14/2023
2022 Mazda MX-5 Miata Grand Touring 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl 6M)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I just purchased a 2022 Grand Touring 6 speed manual in Soul Red. Many years ago, I went to buy a fully loaded Protege. they didn't have what I wanted and the salesman asked me if I wanted to have fun? I said yes and we took out a Miata. (1st gen.) Most fun I ever had buying a car until now. I went there looking at something totally different and ended up buying in right off the showroom floor! The art of driving is can still be had with this amazing vehicle. It's been said a thousand times, the Miata is truly an extension of the driver. It makes you feel like a way better diver than you really are. (Not trying to offend any boy-racers out there.) You can handle any turn and twist the road ahead of you has to offer all while enjoying the elements. (Wind in your hair if I had any ;) Driving was starting to be a chore and now I look for excuses to go and don't even mind the "grind" that is my commute. You owe it to yourself to drive one and learn to drive a stick before it goes the way of the Dodo bird! Besides, it's the best theft prevention on the planet. The only this I'll say about the size is that I'm 5'5" and it fits like of glove. I'm also older and can still get in and out of it easily enough. Visibility is good and BSM picks up on anything you might miss. If you miss the art of diving as much I as apparently did, this is your ticket for the best time you can have behind the wheel of anything! You only get one trip around the block, have fun doing it!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

2006 MX-5 updated to 2020

Charles, 10/21/2020
updated 10/24/2023
2020 Mazda MX-5 Miata Grand Touring 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

What an update! Hated to trade my 2006 after 14 years but glad I did. My new 2020 GT is fantastic. Love all the tech , the increased HP, the exhaust SOUND, the ride, the look, and the drive. One feature that I was not aware of is the picture of the latest speed limit sign displayed on instrument panel. Can’t believe the MPG of 37+ combined with jackrabbit starts (0 to 60 5 seconds) and 70 to 80mph with the top down! Only draw back is my 81 year old legs need seat all the way back to get out. Little different ride from my Genesis G-80 and GMC Sierra.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5