Skip to main content

Used 2018 Kia Sedona Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$20,999 - $33,590

Used Sedona for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...12

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2018 Sedona, so we've included reviews for other years of the Sedona since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
    5 out of 5 stars

    KIA Sedona is a fabulous vehicle

    Peter Beinetti, 12/21/2016
    updated 01/14/2019
    2017 Kia Sedona SX Limited 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
    105 of 105 people found this review helpful

    Reviews complain about gas mileage, but I don't know why. My wife and I took an 8000 mile road trip and got 24.5 mpg -- loaded with people and luggage. The last two days we took a 400 mile road trip and we got 26.7 mpg. We were in the mountains on the 8000 mile trip and I used the manual shifting a lot. No manual shifting on the Pacifica, which we compared with the Sedona before we bought it. Sedona handles extremely well with a very good turning radius. Pacifica about 3 feet larger radius. We test drove both and the smaller Sedona radius was obvious. Dash layout on the Sedona is well thought out, and attractive. The nav system is the best I've ever used, by far. Vehicle is extremely quiet, and tracks perfectly on the interstate. It's quick -- I saw car magazine reports that rated it at 7.4 seconds 0-60. That's fast for a large vehicle. I keep saying vehicle because it looks and acts more like an SUV than a minivan. Nappa leather is great, airplane type second row seats are a true luxury. Dual sun roof really lets the light inside. I've driven the Pacifica, Odyssey and Sienna -- I think the Sedona is the best vehicle. Update to my review one year later: I still think the Sedona SXL is a great vehicle. We have over 16,000 miles on it, and have had no problems. We are currently on a 12,000 mile road trip around the USA, with about 3,000 miles completed. Average MPG so far on the trip is 24.7. Handling on the interstate continues to be perfect, ride is excellent. No complaints whatsoever. It is now January 2018 and we have 28,500 miles on the Sedona. Our 12,000 mile trip ended up to be 12,600 miles, and we averaged 24.5 mpg. I can't figure out why the Sedona is rated low on gas mileage, I think it's fabulous. So far we have had zero problems. I've never had a car before, with over 28,000 miles on it, that didn't have something go wrong. It still rides great, and handles well. I thought our 12,600 miles trip would be very tiring. It turned out to be just the opposite. The Sedona is comfortable, and easy to drive. Lots of power, no problems in CA keeping up, or passing, on the freeways. The last car I had, a 2015 SUV, had what I call 'high effort' steering. It made for very tiresome driving. On our Sedona we can choose between two different steering efforts. I'm 78 years old and it's a joy to drive the car. Update July 2018. We are on another road trip, so far 4400 miles. Again, the Sedona has performed perfectly. MPG on this trip is 24.9 to-date. There is really nothing more to say, except that my wife and I love the car. Update January 2019. Best car we've ever had! Still not one problem, and we have 43,500 miles on it. It's an easy car to drive, all the high tech works perfectly. There's not much more I can say. It was the best buying decision my wife and I ever made. Oh, I should say this. My wife DID NOT want a minivan -- now she loves it!

    Safety
    5 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    5 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    5 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    5 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    5 out of 5 stars
    Value
    5 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse

    5 out of 5 stars

    CUVs are for chumps

    ahightower, 07/06/2016
    2016 Kia Sedona SX Limited 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
    40 of 40 people found this review helpful

    If you need three rows of seats every day, and do not have $65K for a new Suburban, minivan is the ONLY way to go. We had downsized from 2005 Yukon XL to a 2014 Pathfinder, and that was fine for a while. But when surprise baby #4 came along, we realized the limitations of the CUV. Access to third row was a daily nuisance (constant flipping and folding of seats - easier in the Pathfinder than most of the competition, but still a thing that has to be done), and most importantly, cargo space in the way back is very limited. We took our annual Florida trip with two adults, four kids. Luggage stuffed to the gills, and a cargo platform hanging off the trailer hitch for extra capacity. We had some serious saggy butt. It handled alright, but clearly was not designed to actually carry a full load of people AND stuff. This was the trip that convinced me it was time to return the lease a bit early and get into a van. Wife wasn't quite ready to go dork mobile, but she eventually admitted if there was a really nice van than looked okay and had all the features she wanted, she would consider it. The Sedona and new Pacifica made her very short list. 3 minutes walking around the Sedona and marveling at the space and luxury finishes, and she was sold before I could even test drive. This one evidently has a bit less room behind the third row than Odyssey and Sienna, but it is downright cavernous compared to even the biggest CUVs (Chevy Traverse). And loading the baby is so much easier with sliding doors. These are all things I knew, but Mrs. Cool needed to live with her Pathfinder for a few months before coming around. We went for the SXL Tech 8-seater in dark blue - it's actually a really nice looking vehicle, and not just "for a van". I've stored away that 2nd row "jump seat" to create an aisle for two of the big to easily walk through to the third row. But I did want that 8th seat, just in case we have an extra passenger (grandma) for a long trip, or perhaps we will want to fold half of the third row to max out cargo space for beach gear next summer. And, I didn't really need the sun roofs, which we never used in the last car, and which they say compromise headroom in the third row where two of our growing young teens reside. Also didn't really care about the "lounge seats". One of them just has a baby carrier on top, and honestly there's not enough leg room back there to really utilize the "ottoman" feature for a teenager, unless he scoots all the way back and steals all the leg room from the third row. Just not something we would ever get any use out of, while the 8th seat has potential uses. Anyway, this is quite simply the most luxurious vehicle we've ever owned. The interior materials are beautiful, and I hope they are durable as well. I'd prefer darker leather, but other long term tests I read say they hold up well. The gadgets are "Sofa King" cool - I've never had many of these features before. Xenon headlights, automatic high beams (this really works!), radar cruise control (again, this actually works great - it can't do stop and go traffic, but it will take you down to about 5 mph and back up again), blind spot monitors, birds-eye-view camera for parking. I don't love the chrome wheels, although they look sharp it's going to be a lot of effort for the boys to keep them clean :) The bluetooth audio doesn't seem to work with the newest iPhones, you have to plug in to USB to get any sound from your phone. Nor does it read texts as it says. Wish it was apple car play instead of UVO. But the navigation is decent. I thought Nav was stupid, since that is free on everyone's phone anyway. But having it integrated into the dash is nice, and its directions on the info screen between the gauges driver side is cool. When we get the XM activated, will see how good it is at traffic. Cooled seats are a Texan's best friend. I'm 6'3" and have plenty of leg and knee room, even with the bulky baby carrier behind me, and his seat scooted forward a bit to give the third row boys some extra space. Wife is 5'1", so memory settings for seat and mirrors were an essential feature for us. We had the dealer install remote start, and it works fine with the factory key fob, though it will only run for 30 seconds once a door has been opened. We had been used to starting up the AC and taking our time loading groceries. Instead, you have to jump up front and hit the ignition if you want it to keep running, but that's a minor complaint. The ride is very quiet, and it really smooths out with a full load. Enough power, transmission is responsive. Steering is very light at low speeds but firms up nicely for the highway. The price was very fair, lots of features for the money. I am a little bit hesitant about Kia long term reliability in general, but we will be covered b2b for the duration of the lease, so I was willing to give it a chance. Overall, we are both very pleased with this vehicle.

    Safety
    5 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    5 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    5 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    5 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    5 out of 5 stars
    Value
    5 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse
    5 out of 5 stars

    A wonderful minivan

    Joseph Friedman, 07/17/2018
    updated 08/01/2022
    2017 Kia Sedona LX 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
    30 of 30 people found this review helpful

    I purchased my Kia Sedona in 2017. It's just a great minivan. It has been operating perfectly. The safety and advanced electronic features make for a great ride. I always look forward to getting into it and driving away. I wanted a minivan that could hold all the professional gear that I need to carry with me on jobs. It has a bit less cargo space than the Dodge Grand Caravan that I had earlier. The only thing that I miss is the fold down seats in the 2nd row that the Grand Caravan had. The other manufacturers like Honda and Toyota also don't have fold down seats into the floor so I chose the Kia for its safety features. It's been a wonderful purchase. My opinion of it has not changed. I still love driving it. And it has kept me safe. It was a great purchase. I have not driven the vehicle that much over the five years. I have 22,000 miles on it, which is really nothing. It will last me for many more years.

    Safety
    5 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    5 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    4 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    5 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    5 out of 5 stars
    Value
    5 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse

    5 out of 5 stars

    Could not have wished for a better minivan!!!!

    CK, 03/25/2016
    2016 Kia Sedona EX 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
    26 of 26 people found this review helpful

    We absolutely LOVE our Sedona! We spent a lot of time looking at minivans and trying to find the right one that would be safe for our family. After driving the Sedona we knew it was what we needed. It is always a little scary buying a new car but we have had it for a few months now and are still incredibly happy with it. I actually told my husband the other day that after owning this I will probably always want a minivan it is so comfortable.

    Safety
    5 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    5 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    5 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    5 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    5 out of 5 stars
    Value
    5 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse

    5 out of 5 stars

    2016 KIA SEDONA EX rules the roost.

    Dave, 03/07/2016
    updated 03/14/2017
    2016 Kia Sedona EX 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
    40 of 42 people found this review helpful

    This is our first experience of what was called a mini van, but what now is called a MPV, ( multi purpose vehicle ). We only considered the safer MPV's, Honda, Toyota and KIA, the other's were considered too much of a health hazard to their passengers. All 3 we tested drove very well, the KIA Sedona just has had a firmer, more confident driving experience. The fuel economy of the Honda was the best of the bunch, but was let down by the poor access to the 3 row seating, very dated interior, the price would be considerably more to get some the basic standard features of the Kia, and the concern of falling to 10th place in brand reliability, only average, by consumer reports . So our choice was between the Toyota and the KIA in the end. The Toyota is good, but only gets a acceptable rating for the small overlap front crash test, which is more important than it sounds, reliability is rated 2nd place behind Lexus, very good. The dash board looks and feels, if come from a different generation in the past, and price for a similar spec was nearly $5000 more than the KIA at list price. The Sedona just has a more modern design, inside and out, taken the best features of some the other's, and made them better still, then backed by a ten year warranty, became a easy choice. Update, we have had the Sedona now for 12 month and 12000 miles, and is still problem free, I can understand why the Kia brand is rated number 5 for reliability by consumer reports..

    Safety
    5 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    5 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    5 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    5 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    5 out of 5 stars
    Value
    5 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse
    12345...12
    Items per page: