Skip to main content

Used 2016 Jeep Cherokee SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$8,850 - $24,998

Used Cherokee for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...29

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

I love this SUV!

Lisa Schooner, 06/10/2016
2016 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl 9A)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

I have owned many SUV's in the past and have not been as happy as I have been with this one. It is not as large as some of the other SUV's, so it is easier to manuver than other SUV's. The Cherokee also has a great turn radius which also helps. I purchased the trailhawk with the 3.2L engine and with all the upgraded packages. I test drove the 2.4L and that model was sluggish. This is the reason I went with the larger engine. The larger engine combined with the 9 speed transmission you will not be let down. It is also a quiet ride and with the trailhawk it comes with the locking rear diff, stiffer suspension, and larger off road tires. I have yet to find anything I do not like about this jeep!

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Advertisement
Also Consider
7 Offers Near Ashburn, VA
Check out current offers on the Buick Envision
View Offers
Buick.com
*The Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. Click here to see all Buick vehicles’ destination freight charges.

5 out of 5 stars

Quite possibly the best vehicle we have ever owned

Mark, 11/02/2016
updated 11/09/2018
2016 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl 9A)
80 of 85 people found this review helpful

My wife and I purchased our 2016 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 3.2 V6 in April, 2016. We have taken it on three road trips and just absolutely love it. Comfort, ride, visibility, power I could go on and on. I am a car guy so upkeep and cleanliness are top priority for me, this thing is put together like a Mercedes Benz. In fact, my parents liked ours so much they purchased one too. So far very pleased with product and dealer network and hope it stays that way. Note: I found no option for the Trailhawk with a 3.2 V6 so I used the 4 cylinder. Update: We are still just as happy with our purchase two years later. No creaks, rattles, leaks, etc. It just does everything well for us. My only complaint would be the headlights & Fog lights, but I did some research and corrected that problem. I replaced the OEM headlights with Sylvania Silver Star Ultras and a pair of LED fog light bulbs. The lighting is 100% improved. The 2019 has had the front end redesigned, so I assume the lighting issue has been resolved. We will keep driving this one until the wheels fall off. Update: Almost three years later and still just a pleased as we were the day we brought it home. It has been to the shop for a battery replacement and a wiper nut recall. Interior, exterior plastics, drivetrain and leather seats are all wearing less than average, but I do take really good care of it. Drivetrain is excellent, off road capabilities are very good too. The one thing I have really noticed this year is how well the vehicle holds the road in really bad rain storms. I hope the next 30k are as good as the first.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Too soon to tell - update #2 - Update #3

Opa Schuh, 09/01/2016
updated 09/06/2019
2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland 4dr SUV 4WD (3.2L 6cyl 9A)
27 of 28 people found this review helpful

I just took delivery of my car today but I had a similar loaner for 3 weeks as mine came from an out-of-state dealer and had to be prepped to my specifications. I bought this machine so I can flat tow behind my RV. I always keep a car for 10 years or more, and given my age this could be my last car. Hence I bought all the bells and whistles and sure glad I did. The more I drive it the more I love it. Regarding fuel economy, maintenance, etc. it's too soon to tell. UPDATE: I've had the car for several months now, got it primarily because I can flat tow it behind my RV. To do so there is a mandatory accessory electrical harness that must be installed. Most dealers didn't know anything about it. That said, I pretty much love the car. Good power, good trail capability, GPM up to 30 on highway & tows great. I have almost as many towed miles as I do driven. (odometer shows only driven miles). 2017-09-02 I've had the Cherokee for about a year and am basically very pleased with it. HOWEVER: I am currently 700 miles from home, in the mountains, in a tinny town. Yesterday the liftgate would not lock. It goes up and down, tries to lock but won't. I called my dealer who walked me through some trouble shooting steps and it was determined the actuator is bad and needs to be replaced. I called the closest dealer to where I am (97 miles) and the best they could offer was for me to bring it in, they look, order part and fix. This I was told on Friday before a 3 day weekend. Only thing I can do is abort my vacation and go home and let my dealer handle it (they stock the part). In the mean time the car won't lock, interior lights stay on and the gate stays open about a 1/4" providing ample opportunity for rain to come in. This failure occurred w/in 30 min of me telling my wife that the more I drive the car the more I like it....which is still true. 2018-03-05 I still really like the car but I have to downgrade the interior a bit. The moon / sun / panoramic roof has developed an annoying creaking noise. You can tilt / close the roof and the noise goes away for awhile then returns. Dealers claim they can't repeat it or don't know how to stop it. There are MANY on Facebook (Cherokee forums) that complain about the same thing, on the same side (passenger) and the problem is consistent from 2014 on through at least 2017 year models. One person came up with a permanent work around by adding a piece of sticky back foam between a piece of metal on the roof track and the plastic part it is rubbing on. If it is that easy I'd have thought Chrysler would have fixed the problem by now. Other than that I love the car. 2019-09-06 I am completely satisfied with the car and would like to update previous negative comments. Regarding the lift gate...my fault. I broke the rear window and a piece of glass was jamming the lift gate mechanism. Roof noise- it took a number of dealer visits but they did find broken parts in the moon roof mechanism and replaced the entire assembly under warranty. I had a dealer loaner car for the entire repair period. Harsh ride- I switched to All-terrain tires because of anticipated off road use. The new tires have a softer side wall and greatly improved the ride. I purchased this model specifically because it can be RV towed, I have approximately 25,000 towed miles on it now (does not show on odometer).

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice vehicle

John M., 09/14/2016
2016 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 9A)
39 of 42 people found this review helpful

We have had this 2016 Jeep Cherokee Sport 2-4L fwd for about a month now and have already put 1800 very pleasant miles on it, through a combination of mountain, freeway and city driving. In all conditions it handled very nicely. Going uphill was never an issue. It's power was more than enough to help us up the hills at a nice pace, and it's handling made it unnecessary to use the brakes except on the sharpest turns. On the freeway, there was no trouble merging at the right speed. Acceleration was always just right. Very smooth ride, even at highway speeds, and also very quite. Interior is great.High quality materials made it feel almost luxurious. Very comfortable seating for 5. Plenty of leg and headroom. We really like the front grille and the daylight running lights too. I was really pleasantly surprised and would recommend it to everyone. If you don't need 4wd, the 2.4L is really great, and along with the 9 speed transmission it provides a smooth very quick way to arrive at your destination, relaxed and refreshed, no matter how long the journey. Just wanted to update the review. We have driven over a thousand miles more since the initial review. Everything is still great. I really, really enjoy driving this car. Very smooth. Very comfortable. Very quite. Acceleration is just right. Everyone who had driven with us is very impressed. My friend, who is 6'2" said he had plenty of head and legroom in the rear seat. He also said how comfortable it felt. I can't wait for a very very long road trip. I wish I was driving it now.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome SUV

Tony D., 10/10/2016
updated 10/12/2017
2016 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl 9A)
30 of 32 people found this review helpful

This was my first jeep purchase and i am very pleased with my 2016 Cherokee Trailhawk. I got a great deal and was quite suprised on the comfort and the overall performance. The first weekend I had it i went out of town and i got about 28 mpg on the highway. The scond trip was to the beach and went about 300 miles on a half of tank. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for an SUV.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...29
Items per page: