Skip to main content

Used 2018 Hyundai Kona Consumer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
57 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Still Greatly Appreciate 2018 Huyndai KONA SEL suv

George in Washington, 04/24/2018
updated 04/27/2020
2018 Hyundai Kona SEL 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
141 of 143 people found this review helpful

As of April 2020 we still like our Kona. It has been fine and has not had any difficulty. The 2018 Huyndai KONA SEL suv without contrasting roof looks good and drives like a charm. The ride and comfort of the KONA is unusual in this sub-compact segment. We werre really surprised when we went to see it two weeks after hearing about. Purchased it at the second dealer we visited. It was a same day deal. It beat out a huge discount on Ford Escape, a larger vehicle. Over the last year we had looked at Honda HR-V, Toyota CH-R, Mazda CX-3, Nissan Juke, Jeep Compass, Chevy Trax and Buick Encore. For our purposes the 2.0 L base engine is fine. I did notice the cargo and passenger rating is an additional 860 pounds. Traded in a 2015 Honda Fit EX-L Navi. The Kona has Android Auto which when used with a Android smartphone will handle the Navigation aide task just fine. I appreciate the variaty of four trim levels and additional optional equipment being available for those that choose to upscale. We are fine with a SEL. I'm a 6 foot 3 420 pound senior citizen and the comfort, legroom and headroom UP FRONT is just fine. The front shoulder room is fine. The rear seats are restricted. The front doors are easy to get in and out. Defintely appreciate the standard warraanty.. traction control is fine. safety aides are controllable and not a nuisance. Greatly appreciated.

Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

Jean Haddon, 05/31/2018
2018 Hyundai Kona Ultimate 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
71 of 72 people found this review helpful

I have high praise for everything I've experienced with this car, having had it for only six weeks. The safety features are fantastic, especially the glass pop up screen that tells me my speed, shows me cars approaching on either side of me, and shows me my next navigation turn. It holds the road like a champ. It does everything automatically -- turns my lights on and off, turns the brights on and off, and runs the windshield wipers at whatever speed the rain requires. The electronics are a bit complicated, but very exciting once you've mastered them. (Love that it charges an i-phone 8 or higher by just lying it on the shelf under the dashboard.) I'm a senior and feel that this car makes me a far safer driver. It won't let me make a mistake. It beeps at me for everything from wandering out my lane to leaving my keys in the car. Navigation is not as good as Google maps, but I use it anyway as I like having my turns crop up on the glass panel. Also, really crowded in backseat with grandkids' babyseats. Think this new model offers a huge value for the price.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

My First Hyundai!

Sam, 01/04/2019
2018 Hyundai Kona SEL 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
42 of 43 people found this review helpful

As a "Baby Boomer" who favors practical cars over "flash" cars these days, the Hyundai Kona fills many of my current requirements. It's not fast, but fairly reliable; It doesn't have a leather interior, but that's OK; and It does have ample storage space with the back seats folded down. One of the main features is that it sits and feels like a full-sized car in a compact configuration, with a high roof. It really is too new to discuss reliability or car maintenance, but these should not be a problem. I only have three issues with this car: (1) The motor should have a larger option than the 2.0L version, (2) it doe not come with a sunroof, and (3) this car is unbearably noisy - especially in heavy rainfall or storms. The noise of the rain hitting the roof of the cabin becomes deafening! Really the acoustics could stand a great improvement - especially compared with other competitors in this class. So I guess this car hit the mark for its target audience, but with just a little more of an upgrade option, and better noise deadening technology for a quieter cabin, this car would satisfy the requirements of a wider audience.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Can't wait to drive it in the snow!

JamieNE, 07/11/2018
updated 01/14/2019
2018 Hyundai Kona Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
53 of 55 people found this review helpful

I love the car so far. It has plenty of cargo space for what I need, the front seats are super comfy. The only problem I have is the visibility at night. The low beams are nice and bright but pointed too low. If you're any more than 2 seconds behind someone, too close for high beams, there is a big black void between you and the car you're following. I'm going to see if they can be adjusted a bit higher. I live in a mountainous area, the roads aren't level, the headlights are pointed directly at the road so it's hard to see what's standing on the road. Like moose and deer. Update- I've driven in the snow. A lot. Winter started here mid-November this year. It's great! It glides through 8-10" like nothing. I thought I'd be stuck in my driveway in the super slushy, heavy, icky "snow" up past the license plate with a thick coating of ice underneath, and nope, didn't skip a beat.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Kool Kona, always reliable, no recalls !

Mr Bill, 10/05/2018
updated 10/16/2023
2018 Hyundai Kona SEL 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
28 of 29 people found this review helpful

I was driving a 2015 Rav 4 and I wanted something that got better mileage and with a smaller footprint. I test drove a few vehicles, but once I drove the Hyundai Kona I knew it was the vehicle for me. It is sporty, roomy for a 6 foot guy like me, fun to drive, gets an average of 30 mpg, and it a great value for the money. In Lawrence Kansas I found a Kona with the SEL trim, I added leather, and it was approx 22K. It is hard to find any SUV under 25K, especially one that has the quality and style of the Kona. I have only had it for a few weeks, but so far it has been great on the highway, getting up to 75 with no problems. It is fun and zippy to drive around town too. I have owned a Hyundai so I know they build good, solid cars for the money. I did give it a "Good" on the interior. There are hard plastics, but they look classy and seem to be designed to be long lasting. The hatch area and seats fold down for extended storage. Not sure sure if my bike will fit in the back like it did in my Rav 4, but a bike rack on the back will take care of that. Overall, the Kona is fun, well built, and a lot of SUV for the money. UPDATE- Had my Kona 6 months now, no complaints. Getting about 30 MPG on average. I did upgrade the interior through the dealer to leather and it looks and feels great. The only thing it does not do well is handling seems or cracks in the roadway at low speeds. Because of the short wheelbase you can feel these seems in the road at low speeds. Once you are up over 45 or on the freeway at 60 to 75 miles an hour it rides great. Quick Update, After 4 years I traded in my Kona on another new car. I have to admit, I miss my Kona sometimes, it was always reliable and peppy and great on gas. Very impressed with the Hyundai quality. I have looked at the 2024 Kona, new design, it looks like a great vehicle. I hope Hyundai continues to build quality vehicles and keeps up the great work !

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5