Used 2012 Honda Civic Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$3,999 - $13,598

Used Civic for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best Car I have ever owned!!

yaltabei, 06/05/2011
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

I have owned alot of cars. I have never been as impressed with a car as much as this Civic. it is fuel efficient, built tight, reliable and fun to drive. I had a Nissan before I bought my first Honda. I thought that Nissan is as good as Honda but I was wrong. On my brand new Nissan, I had to replace an Axle, the rubber silicone cover on my driver side window because of a Wind Tab poor design, my fuel pump twice, an exterior trim twice and my Air Bag passanger sensor and then I hear rattling noise, paint chips off. I decided to switch to Honda based on the advice of close friends who owned Honda for years. Yes, It is alittle more expensive but this car will save you alot of money on maintance

Report Abuse

I am a Car Guy!! Love the 2012 Honda civic LX A+

William, 05/09/2016
LX 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
44 of 48 people found this review helpful

First of all i am a car guy and a old school mechanic i worked on many cars the last 20 years.,since i was a teen in the 1990's i own my first car and worked on my 1966 volkwagan classic beetle and turn it into a super bug with a 1915cc 94mm pistons and double carb 45".had 150hp. And drove many cars and my project cars.anyways loved working on cars. classic old school Muscle cars ,from toyota,Honda,ford mustangs,vw, old and new chevy Camaro and other model types big list I was a craftsman, technician who uses tools to build or repair machinery i have many trades within. Some on specialize in the electrical aspects and specialize in the mechanical aspects. i done in the Past. I and my wife bought our Like new 2012 Honda civic Lx with 41K we need a gas saver car. i own many older Honds cars 89'civic hatchback and 88"Honds accord over 200 to 300 miles on them and still running and very reliabe cars.I read many blogs on the website on these models i seen them rated poor. i was shock this is not true. the Honda civic Lx 2012 is a beauty i can trust on reliability this is car everyone can trust . gas saver,39 to 41mpg.we took it on a road trip did a 157 mile drove on a flat highway 168 in California Los Banos we when up steep hills and had no problem on speed my wife was not pressing on the accelerator full she press on it and the rpm jumps on 4ooo it the pedal was not to the floor. we were going at 77 which its normal speed for a 1.8 ivtec engine with 140 hp and 128 lb.-ft. of torque .which will do on any other car with same hp power.ll depends age and engine, carburetor or fuel injection can give the power and transmission type, is highly debated question among car enthusiasts that drive with same hp and different car model.it can handel the hills and transmission shift smooth and the turns Stability control excellent Well-performed. and with the help of Traction control. This 2012 Honda civic Engine & Performance can Handel the highway and back roads very well! I love the 5 Star crash safety test. it has Front and rear head airbags and Dual front side-mounted airbags. its a A+ for our family.And the Interior Features and the Tachometer it was lite bright and easy to read i and my wife love the inside interior simple and easy to use. never had no Eleterical issues. it has everything you need It's no secret that Hondas are arguably the most reliable car. The Honda 2012 civic still perform very well” despite what other said on the website or blog .Honda Civic offers excellent fuel economy and is well-known for being a vehicle that you can trust on the road. all you do is take care of the updated the maintenance requirements it will take care of you. "in my opinion" when I encountered many cars in my past history working on many differnet style vehicles and upgrading them. Honda Civic reliability ratings results is a A+. only con on the 2012 civic is the front Suspension designed by the vehicle manufacturer, springs are and shocks are weak. on the road you can feel the almost every bumps on the road. easy fix replacing them. This Honda is worth it! test drive one you will see . like many people out there they are very picky!There is no such thing as the perfect car. No disrespect intended. But you know how it is. Your car is never quite perfect. Nothing mechanically wrong!Nothing you can ask the garage to fix!(update 11/10/2016) just an update 8 month owning our honda civic still running strong engine, outside body,inside interior no issue at all, Best Honda civic LX & very Reliable car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best in Class

kerpalsingh, 11/09/2011
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I needed a reliable commuter car. I looked at the Mazda 3, Hyundai Elantra, VW Jetta and Mazda 6. The Civic's handling is just as good as the Mazda 3 and the LX has way better standard features. I've driven almost 1000 miles and have very few complaints. I drive about 60 miles a day (mixed) and with the 'Econ' feature off I get about 36 mpg, when it's on I get about 38mpg. The handling and build quality of the car are outstanding. The seats could be more comfortable and the standard speakers have muddy mids and highs, but good bass. I paid almost $1000 less than INVOICE so that was a huge factor in me getting the Civic. I have no complaints about road noise but the engine can get loud.

Report Abuse

Should not have strayed from Honda

tamie45, 08/25/2014
23 of 25 people found this review helpful

I started out the summer with a pre-owned 2013 Ford Focus SE. I was swayed into buying the Focus because of all the great tech and the quality interior. Unfortunately, all the comforts in the world could not make up for the awful DCT. Two months into owning the Focus I decided that I needed to trade it away as soon as possible. I went with a pre-owned 2012 Civic with 22,000 miles on it. I could not be more happy with my decision!! I first felt that the interior was a downgrade to the Focus until I actually drove the car for a while and found it to actually be much better in all respects save for the hard plastics. The smooth driving experience is much better than the Focus!

Report Abuse

The Way Car Driving Should Be

kkal, 07/06/2016
LX 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
21 of 23 people found this review helpful

You will read many reviews on how the 2012 lacks when compared to the 2013 and newer models. For instance, Bluetooth is not standard on the LX model, and the back-up camera became standard on all 2013 and newer models. With that being said, I was able to use this information to my advantage and bought the 2012 LX model at a very nice discount! I spent $50 and bought a good quality Bluetooth headset, thus saving quite a bit from having to either get an EX or higher model or buying a 2013 and newer model. Regarding a back-up camera, there are kits available that will actually connect with the I-MED screen on the Civic and the cost is fairly inexpensive. Basically, you can purchase a 2012 model using these key points at a huge discount and just pay a little bit more out of pocket to incorporate Bluetooth and a back-up camera! What I love about this Civic is how simple, yet refined it really is. I feel like cars nowadays are driven more by computers than the actual driver! I really like how I feel so much more in control of driving, yet at the same time, I have those basic electronic features that keep me safe (ABS, Traction Control, Many Airbags, etc.). The Civic is also surprisingly very smooth even at high speeds. The stock tires are great for gas mileage, but only so-so with wet/winter roads, so definitely look into some better quality tires (make sure they are low-rolling resistance to maintain high MPG!). The backseats surprisingly have a decent amount of legroom, though it would have been nice if the Civic had cup holders integrated in the side door pockets like other vehicles (however, you can fit small plastic bottles on the side). The trunk size is decent for a compact car and I have been able to fit 3 medium-large sized suitcases for the airport just fine. Really, all this vehicle should ever need are fluids, tires, brakes, and other basic maintenance, and it should last forever (I change my transmission fluid every 30K, Synthetic Oil every 5K, and other fluids every 60K or as recommended). After driving this car for 1 year/17,000 miles, I would give this car a 4.5/5, showing that although there are a few minor imperfections, remember, this is a Civic, and this car will get you from any Point A to Point B! Simplicity, with a few nice toys, at its finest!!! Update: Civic now has over 50,000 miles and not a single issue. Just drove through a rough winter storm, unplowed highways with winter tires and the Civic handled the roads very well at around 45 MPH and barely felt any skidding. Update: Civic now has over 64,000 miles and still not a single issue. At 60,000 miles I changed the transmission fluid and coolant. To my surprise, I found out that because the car has electric steering, there is no power steering fluid, which means one less cost! I also did a 500 mile trip on back roads and state highways averaging 44.7 MPG with the A/C on! Yes, this car is basic and lacking in technology areas as opposed to other competitors but you can tell that the money is really well spent in the quality and durability of what is under the hood.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Economy Car Ever!

mickyboy1, 06/25/2011
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I was getting pretty sick of the up and downs in the gas prices and really got concerned when gas approached $4 a gallon. I decided that my 22 MPG Santa Fe had to go. I shopped around and fell in love with the 2012 Civic. I gave up the power of a V6 for the fuel economy of a 4 cylinder and I don't regret it. I cruised from Cleveland to Columbus at got 41 MPG. Take that Big Oil! I don't need my wallet sucked dry every time I fill up. The Focus was interesting but the cockpit was cramped. I did not like that the auto transmission chattered on my initial test drive. The Hyundai Elantra styling was too extreme and the KIA Forte looked cheap on the inside.

Report Abuse

Best of current alternatives

mhoffman2, 06/27/2011
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a state of the art vehicle for the early 21st century, this is the best of all current alternatives. Reasonably comfortable, roomy and well designed, with excellent engineering and attractive interiors, it is difficult to argue that any other 4 door sedan would be superior. Even though a 2012 model, dealer provided discount, good trade in value and .09% 5 year financing. It is difficult to comprehend the criticism of this vehicle. If you want a sports car, buy a Miata or a Ferrari. If you want comfortable, dependable and reasonably roomy transportation with a good list of features such as bluetooth and a sunroof, AND great fuel efficiency and reliability, buy a Civic.

Report Abuse

2012 Honda Civic EX Best Buy!

gruel, 12/08/2011
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

I just got a new Honda Civic EX from Bergstrom in Oshkosh, WI. They called me, suggested I come in and trade my 07 Honda Fit. I went in, and test drove the Civic. I really noticed a couple of things immediately..the dash reminded me of the wonderful Mercury Cougar I had in 1990, and the ride was very similar...Quiet! The dash features looked complicated, but the menu took me through it all, and was not any harder than programming my cell phone. Speaking of cell phone, the Blue Tooth hookup in the Civic not only worked first time, but every time I enter the car, it automatically hooks up. I tested it with my wife in the car, watching the dash, and it mated when I was 40 feet away. BUY IT

Report Abuse

Great Buy!

dmski, 07/24/2011
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I was in the market for an econo car and Edmund's site was a big help. Narrowed down my selection to Jetta TDI, Elantra and Civic. At the end of the day, went with Civic and can't be more pleased. The car is VERY comfortable even for 6ft+ individuals. I can't get over how well this thing rides. I've owned a TL & MDX in the past and this car is a pleasure to drive! Fuel economy is also great. I'm averaging 35+mpg to the tank on mixed driving. I do spend a lot of time in traffic during my daily commute. If you're look'n for a great econo car that drives well, is reliable you will not go wrong with selecting this car. It's not flashy but gets the job done.

Report Abuse

excellent car

edlchiang1962, 12/20/2011
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

My wife and I purchased our EX sedan 4.5 months ago and we currently have 8500 mile on it. We both love the car. It drives well, it is quieter than our previous Hondas, and the fuel economy is excellent. It is true that the interior has suffered from cost-cutting such as the dashboard, carpet, and roof liner. However, I really don't touch the roof liner, our all season floor mats cover up the carpet, and even though the dashboard is all hard plastic it still looks o.k. to me. The stereo sounds pretty good and the bluetooth phone connection is great. I am very impressed with all the safety equipment that it has and the fact that it has great crash test results.

Report Abuse

Baby Blue 2012

babyblue2012, 09/08/2011
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

My new 2012 Civic replaces a beloved 1995 Camry and it immediately felt as comfortable and solid as the Camry. It handles well, is easy to drive, and gets 32 mpg in the city. On a recent road trip, we fit in three adults with luggage, camping gear, and extras. We got 38 mpg on the trip, and it was quiet enough to easily have conversations with our back seat passenger.

Report Abuse

Smart Purchase

cathy51, 01/11/2012
35 of 41 people found this review helpful

I have been looking for a while to a secondary car for our family that will be used mainly in town. I have test driven Corolla, Mazda 3, Elantra, Sentra, and Focus. I could not fall in love with any of them either due to comfort level, suspension issues, reliability, or re-sale value. Our primary car has always been Honda (our latest is a 2012 Accord LX) and my husband suggested that I consider the 2012 Civic. Though I drove a Civic few years ago, I was hesitant because of all the talks in the media about the new geneneration of the Civic. However, as I had nothing to lose, I went ahead and actually test drove the car both in town and on highway for 20 miles and was pleasantly surpised.

Report Abuse

2012 Honda Civic

JoJo91, 07/31/2015
EX 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Great, solid vehicle. I had this car for closing in on two years and it never gave me an issue. I purchased it with 7700 miles and put nearly 33,000 miles on with not a single major problem. The biggest issue I had was having to change a fuse. Great car, took me and my sibling from New Mexico to Nevada with not a single hesitation. Drove it 70 MPH is pouring rain and there wasn't a single near accident scare. I loved the heck out of this car and I miss it every day. Never gave me a problem, gave me great gas mileage, and still got many compliments over our year and eight months together. This car was my baby and I think I will always miss it. He got totaled in an accident and I was (and still am) devastated. Airbags deployed perfectly- no question. Great car. I would highly recommend.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good Car With Some Notable Exceptions

terrainorg, 06/14/2012
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I've driven Hondas for a long time now, so had high expectations with my Civic EX sedan. Unfortunately, I find the new Civic pretty underwhelming, based primarily on two factors: 1) Road noise, caused by a cardboard-thin floorboard. It's not wind noise but rather noise coming up from underneath; loudest sedan I've ever driven in that respect. 2) I'm 6'5", and had no problem with comfort on the test drive. But after several weeks I still cannot find a comfort zone with the seat (headroom is fine). That could easily be solved by an electronic seat, which the Civic EX (like the Accord) should offer. There are lots of things I really like, but if I had to do it all over, I'd get another car.

Report Abuse

loving this car

12civicowner, 12/11/2011
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I gave up my aging 2000 accord ex-v6 for the '12 civic and have no regrets. Originally my goal was to get a Honda fit which handled nicely and had good utility space but when I sat in a Civic, it was a whole different story. The drivers seat felt great(fit's seat felt stiff) and my eyes were drawn to the dashboard. Immediately I was impressed. I test drove it twice at 2 different dealers and fell in love with it and knew i had to go home with it that day. The gas milage is excellent and when I'm sitting in it I don't feel cramped at all. I will be enjoying this car for a very long time.

Report Abuse

Best value for money plus gr8 ride&handling

hondaowner12, 08/03/2011
16 of 19 people found this review helpful

We have been honda customers for a while..own a 99 accord (has crossed 225000 miles) which stills runs nicely and gives 35mileage..had leased 2007 accord which we loved. I recently bought 2012 civic and I love it. Moving from accord to civic may seem like a downgrade, but the priorities have changed, mileage and monthly cost being the top. The other option we considered was prius..But $7-8K additional price gives me -ve NPV over 5years..also I got 0.9 APR from honda financial My new civic gives me avg 42+mileage (I am mostly on freeway)..comfortable and spacious seats (for my 6'1" hubby too)..smooth ride&handling..

Report Abuse

Disappointed,

matt144, 10/09/2011
29 of 36 people found this review helpful

I purchased Civic LX (1.8L 4-cyl Automatic) in August 2011.The first impression was the car looked sharp and the price was reasonable. However, after driving it for about 2,500 miles, the biggest problem is excessive road noise. I drove Toyota, Ford and Nissan before but I never had such a noisy car. The mpg is 35 to 38 which I expected but I didn't expected such a excessive road noise.

Report Abuse

Civic - better than ever!

winkr22, 11/03/2011
12 of 14 people found this review helpful

We bought the car a few months back with overall value in mind. Overall value, for our purposes, was defined as a combination of reliability, gas mileage, safety, long term cost of ownership, and comfort. I would say in that order -- but really all of them were high on the order list. We were not looking for the type of car to modify or look thuggish, and we did not want the type of car that gets stolen for that purpose like some of the older Japanese models like Civics did. As a VALUE oriented car, this vehicle is spectacular and exactly what we wanted. We have stopped subscribing to CR as their quality of reviews over the last couple of years has gone more the way of sensationalism

Report Abuse

So far so good

montrealcivic, 02/11/2013
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Been driving a Civic for years. This is my third consecutive new Civic. Previous models were the 98 and 05. Unfortunately this model has impressed me less than the 05. I am 5 foot 11 and often hit my head getting out of the car. They seem to have decreased the cavity opening by 1-2 inches. The carpeting is not really carpet - more akin to a dish scrub brush. This was easily fixed by adding the rubber mats with the protection package. The dash is one huge mass of not so pretty plastic. The plastic on the prior models at least resembled the texture of leather. I find visibility reduced with the long window frame pillars. The good points help reduce the negatives however.

Report Abuse

Great Value

thumper16, 07/21/2011
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Hard to beat these things for value. Traded in a 2009 civic exl with 30,000 only because I have to be the first to buy anything updated. Cost me 4500 or 1500 per year. Lota nice new in electronics, softer handling and little less road noise. Downside......no standard xm in exl and the cupholders redesigned for cups that I don't have nor have yet found in stores. The center consel in my 09 was deep and big, this one is small and shallow. storage sleeves on doors have also been downsized. Have 1700 miles and at 32.9 mixed. I drive aggressively and seldom engage econ, also live in hilly area of western Pa. Aside from the storage issues love the car and would buy again.

Report Abuse

Great Car

tedert, 01/07/2014
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've owned my 2012 Honda Civic for approximately 7 months now and I love it. I get around 27mpg and anywhere from 35-42 on the freeway. Like most people have said, you know what you're buying with a civic. It doesn't have the flash of a Mercedes or the quiet road noise of a Cadillac but this car is definitely worth every dollar. I'm 6'2" 240lbs and the vehicle fits me comfortably. I traded in my 2010 Accord for this vehicle and barely notice the interior size different. Bottom line, I would recommend this car to anyone.

Report Abuse

exl w nav coupe

adansereau, 10/04/2012
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have had the exl nav coupe now for 6 weeks and about 1500 miles mostly city and averaged about 30 to 33 mpg. traded a 2010 coupe for this one. This car is quiter, more comfortable, and has more mid range torgue than the previous one. The leather is top notch and seats are great. The electronics from nav to i mid screen are easy to use and radio functions displayed are really nice. This car feels very luxurious. Its sporty, looks good, has cool electronic dash with lots of color and looks very upscale and space age. This was a good choice and i am very happy with this car.

Report Abuse

2012 Civic Sedan EX-L Still running great.

martin13, 06/10/2014
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought my Civic with 9k mile on it. Was concerned because I had no idea what may have happened with the original owner. Did he unload the car because of problems (I don't trust Carfax)? So now the car has 30k and has been very reliable, fun to drive, and very economical. Just came back from road trip to North Carolina - cruise control most of the way at 50-65 mph (I know, very slow, I wasn't in a hurry to get anywhere) gave me 44 mpg. Usually I get 37+ while driving at speeds 70+ mph and no cruise control use. Car had a little rattle coming from the rear that was eliminated under warranty (seat belt mechanism was the source). Otherwise, not a problem whatsoever (knock on wood).

Report Abuse

Nice redesign

eddyc1, 05/04/2011
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Took delivery of a beautiful blue EX-L last night. Love the redesign. The 5 inch information display is a very nice addition. Performance and fun to drive didn't get high marks. I mean, it's a Civic and my other car is a 335I. But for what I was looking for in a commute car, it fills the bill. Hitting the ECON button does in fact make it noticeably harder to accelerate, but it should be great for best mileage and you can turn it off quickly. Seats not all that comfortable, but my wife thinks they're fine so could just be me.

Report Abuse

Traded my 2008 Accord for the 2012 Civic

misiu2, 06/29/2011
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

The MPG is what they claim on the sticker but you have to have the econ mode on in order to achieve 30 in the city and about 40.5-41 on the highway. I have not tried to drive the Civic on the Off mode of the econ because I do live in Chicago and the gas prices…, well you can fill in the blank. So if you are looking for a gas savior and do not want a hybrid then get the 2012 Civic without a question. I do have a word of caution…if you are driving on the econ mode and you are on the highway, do Not expect acceleration or getting in front of a Camaro. The good thing about the econ mode is you can turn it off whenever you want to including when you’re driving.

Report Abuse

Reliable, Solid Transportation.

richssss, 02/15/2015
LX 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I really just wanted something that got great gas mileage and was a car that will last me for years. I HATE car shopping! My reason for selecting a Honda was my last car was a CR-V that had 324,000 when I traded it in.

Report Abuse

owned 3 years

Sfic, 02/07/2016
LX 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is a base model car, runs great. Had to upgrade tires because traction was poor in snow. Interior is plastic looking. If you are not looking for beauty but want reliability this is your car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

review of my 2012 civic

yann grenier, 05/01/2016
EX 4dr Sedan w/Nav (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Excellent millage 32-45 mpg, excellent safety and road handling but very low to the ground, has no clearance in the snow or on uneven roads

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2012 Civic EX 4door

dickbrub1, 08/01/2011
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Disappointed to hear CR wrote a poor review. I had an 06 same model, sold to grandson, bought 2012. Not a lot of difference. The dash display encourages thrifty driving; ECON setting really works. Good handling, etc., but perhaps it just "stayed the same" in many respects while competition improved. Get 40+ on highway, 30 in city. Seems quiet enough. Have to program door locks, sort of annoying the way they work. Hard to program radio. Recommend the car. Seems a bit roomier for the driver, seatls are better than '06.

Report Abuse

It's The Best In It's Class

dagoomba, 07/04/2011
36 of 49 people found this review helpful

I have had my 2012 Civic EX-L W/Navigation for about a week now. I have never owned a Honda before and for my 65th birthday I decided to get me a new Civic. My criteria for a new car was fuel economy, performance and resale value. The cars I considered were Elantra, Focus, Cruze and Civic. I read volumes of reviews and came to the conclusion that the so called expert reviewers felt the 2012 Civic did not make much of a change to the previous years and therefore they felt that Honda had taken a step back to the other models I was considering since they had surpassed the Civic in styling. Since styling was not one of my criteria points those reviews did not stray me away from considering a Civic. In fact since I never have owned a Honda I thought the styling was perfect for best fuel economy. Without going into all of the reasons I decided to buy the Civic (Elantra comes without a spare tire) I will give you my impressions of the first week of owning one. The Civic is very roomy and comfortable. I do wish the glove box and center console were a little bigger, but I can live with the size they are. The I-Mid and navigation screen give you more data than you could imagine. Some reviewers call it cheesy. I think it's pretty cool and very informative. Civics come with an "ECON" button that optimizes your fuel economy. When your ECON button is activated your performance takes a hit and acceleration is not as good as it would be with the ECON button not in use. Some reviewers say they can't see any difference between having the ECON button on or off. Well, I'm here to tell you there is a difference and it's noticeable. But, if you are trying to get the best possible fuel economy that you can then using the ECON button will save you fuel. On my first tank of gas I used the ECON as much as possible in city and highway and got a combined 34.3 mpg. In that first tank I drove from Sacramento to Reno and got 37.5 mpg ( lot of driving uphill and ECON was off while climbing those hills) Coming home from Reno I got 45.5 mpg ( lot of going downhill and had ECON on) So far I am very pleased with fuel economy. The Civic handles well in the turns and with the ECON off it has plenty of pep as far as I'm cornered. The air conditioning works great and cools off the cabin nicely. Those in the back seat were very comfortable in 97 degree weather. I do see me tinting the back windows though. The Bluetooth was easy to sync up with my Droid and call quality is very good. I'm impressed with the sound system and love being able to use a USB drive. I still have much to learn about this car but so far it is everything I was hoping it would be. I got the EX-L W/Navi for $22,500. I added some other accessories and of course tax, license and doc fees. I also got an 8 year 100,000 extended warranty for $1,200. If you decide to get yourself a 2012 Civic you will not be disappointed. You may not have the sexiest looking car on the road but you will have a solid car that you can depend on now and in the future.

Report Abuse

No odometer

softailguy, 08/27/2013
11 of 14 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2012 Civic LX in July 2012. It now has about 19,000 miles on it. It does well on gas but I think the fuel guage is inaccurate. It supposedly has a 13 gallon tank yet even when I'm on E and the range says 9 miles I am never able to put more than 10 gallons in it. And then today I left work and noticed I had no odometer display, no maintenance minder info, no fuel mpg info or range info. It just disappeared from the menu. So now I have no way of knowing what my mileage is or when to change my oil. This is my first Honda after driving Hyundai Elantras for 15 years. I should have stuck with Hyundai. Better car for less money.

Report Abuse

Best in Class!

kaneohe00, 07/05/2012
20 of 27 people found this review helpful

I test drove a hyundai elantra, a corolla and corolla S before I drove the Honda. Didn't bother with Ford, Nissan or Kia because I wanted a car that would last for a long time without a doubt. The Hyundai drove well and had a lot of extras but based of past performance and current reviews I felt like they were trying to sell you with extras versus a solid performer. So it came down to the corolla and civic. The civic drove better, had a more attractive and functional interior and I felt Honda put a lot of effort into the design of the civic while it seemed Toyota hasn't done anything to improve the Corolla since 1985. It reminded me of the Tercel my mom had when I was 10 years old.

Report Abuse

Overall, a happy owner...minus a few complaints.

kruizer, 05/14/2013
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

We purchased our 2012 Civic LX Sedan in Dec. 2011 as a commuter car and have put about 17K miles on it. Like most have mentioned, the road noise is present and the sound system is not up to par. My biggest complaint is the shifter/transmission (auto) tends to vibrate while accelerating quickly. Pulling out in traffic can be a bit dangerous too, if you forget the ECON button is on. That being said, overall, my wife and I are very satisfied with our Civic. The legroom is plentiful for this size car. The fuel economy is great (~32 in City). And the displays are very easily read.

Report Abuse

Electrical problems have plagued this car

Honda_dad, 08/07/2016
EX 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

The only problem we had with this car was going through three batteries from the dealership within the first six months. What we found is the batteries Honda puts in these vehicles are apparently the least they can get by with. After replacing the third one and taking it to an auto parts store to have the alternator checked (which was checked and found to be ok) I bought an Optima Yellow Top battery for it and after three and half years we have had to replace it. Now it's a toss up as to whether or not the air conditioner will work. Electrical issues seem to be getting worse with age.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Happy Cowboy

makerwright, 10/10/2011
17 of 23 people found this review helpful

I'm a recreational shooter, and I do alot of highway driving on the weekends to participate in various shooting events. For many years I've made these trips in 4X4 trucks and have wasted alot of gas in the process. I wanted a vehicle that gets great mpg, would effectively haul myself and my equipment, and has the comforts of A/C, cruise, auto, CD, power locks and windows. I also wanted to buy from a manufacturer with a lengendary rep for longevity and reliability. The Civic LX sedan fits my needs wonderfully. My trips regularly take me over the high mountain passes of Colorado, and even with the automatic transmission the civic has no problem doing the speed limit over the hills.

Report Abuse

I Love My little Civic

99eclipses, 12/12/2011
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

To tell you the trusth i hated the last civic. So when the dealership initially showed me this Civic i was thinking in my head, "Im going to hate this, this is a waste of my time", till i actually looked at the car and drove it. My wife also didnt like it till she sat in it, and she fell in love with it after driving it. I had also takin the Nissan Versa out for a drive and when i got in it it was huge! But after 20 mins of sitting in it I absolutly hated it. So we ended up getting the civic for $1k more. The technology in this car is absolutly amazing. Its 3 times what the versa will EVER be.

Report Abuse

You are not buying a Mercedes

carlonz, 03/02/2012
10 of 13 people found this review helpful

So I have had my Civic for one week. Traded a 2005 Altima SL LOADED. I have a base LX automatic. I bought this solely for the gas mileage and in that respect I am getting much more than I expected. This is not a luxury car so don't buy it if that is what you are looking for. The drive is nice and tight, shifting is smooth, braking is decent. It is stylish and solid. I have about 250 miles on it and I have averaged about 36 mpg with 80% hwy and 20% city driving. This is my first Honda and so far I am extremely impressed. I was able to buy it for a touch less than invoice which made it very reasonably priced. I highly recommend this car if you are looking to save gas money.

Report Abuse

Not too shabby

moondog75, 05/09/2011
11 of 15 people found this review helpful

Just got my Dyno Blue EX-L Civic about a week ago. Going from my 2009 Nissan Titan Crew Cab was a bit tough, but this is a great little car. The new design is very cool, and the tech gadgets are fun. The MPG is great, and the econ mode makes the car gutless, but it's easy to switch off if you need more zip. If you are looking for a really nice commuter car or a great car for around town...this is it. I have had several Honda's in the past and they are reliable and well built. You can't go wrong with this little guy.

Report Abuse

Stayed with the Civic

erik25, 06/29/2011
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

No other car in this market comes to the real 40 mpg,but with honda it's easy for me,did it already with an 1992,1998,2001,2009 and now the 2012. Finally it has some comfort,noise level in the cabine is acceptable. Have the 5 speed manual and it's the same transmission used for the 2001-2005 civic. At 65mph it makes 2700 rpm's,in the automatic it's 2200 rpm's,but this time you don't here it and still you get your 40 mpg,also because of the Econ button in the 5 speed.makes 2-3mpg on a tank of gas.Like to shift again because the automatic is not my thing.That shifting up and down the gears when i don't like it to shift! Everything under control again and i like it!

Report Abuse

Honda Fan

watersonclan, 03/04/2014
LX 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

1/2014 - This is my sixth Honda in 30 years. I researched what I wanted very carefully and decided on the smaller fuel efficient Civic for commuting back and forth to work. With gasoline prices continuing to inch up, this is the best model available without having to go to a hybrid. I have put 1,200 miles on my car so far and am happy to say I am getting an average of 42 mpg on a tank of gas. I am very happy with my purchase and after shopping at every dealership in the Inland Empire, I was glad to finally find a reputable dealership in Pasadena who did not try to play games or sell me something I didn't want. 3/2016 - I have been driving my 2012 Civic now for two years and am still as much in love with it as I was when I bought it. I love the size, the handling and most of all the fuel economy. The least I have seen on my mpg was 38. I average 41. We also still own a 1993 Honda Accord and it is still seeing 28-30 mpg after nearly 24 years! You just can't beat Honda for style, fuel economy and reliability. I am a Honda owner for life! P.S. We also own a Ford Ranger pick up truck, so we have tried other car makers, Honda is just the best! 8/2016 - Still a huge Honda fan and proud to say it runs in the family. My daughter is in the market for a fuel efficient car to drive back and forth to work and what is she looking at, the Honda Civic. Thinking about giving her mine and buying a new one, but we'll see. Love my Civic!

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

42.5 mpg on first commute!

tnmansfield, 06/13/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I just traded my Infiniti G35 sedan which was a great car. Now that my commute is 112 miles each day, I needed a more economical car. The 2012 Civic EX-L has a luxury feel to it, a great ride, plenty of back seat room, and the seats are comfortable. I got a whopping 42.5 mpg according to the trip computer on my way in. I have read some negative press reviews but don't see the problem with the new conservative look. The interior is quiet, the ride is smooth, and the dash layout is really interesting. I like the new information screen.

Report Abuse

Awesome

Anthony, 01/02/2016
EX 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have a 2012 Honda Civic EX sedan all black. And to be honest it's the greatest car I have owned yet. Comfort is amazing, sport look to it, and I get great gas mililage to. Since I bought I had to put in a battery only because the owner before me had a smaller one in it. I'm planning on the staying with the civic. Plus it lowered my car insurance to. I like the whole set up of the car and technology of it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car...fun to drive!

eca72261, 08/07/2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I just put 3,000 miles on my 2012 Honda Civic HF and I must say, this car is a joy to drive and it's super easy to park. Visibility is wonderful. There is plenty of legroom/headroom even when my 6'3" son is sitting in the passenger seat. Everything in the car fits just right (I'm 5'9" weight 225 lbs). I use math to figure out the gas mileage (miles driven divided by gallons) and I'm getting 39.573 mpg on average with my first 3,000 miles. I drive 80% hwy, 20% city. I could not be more pleased. This is a conservative car (the styling) for conservative people who want to get from point A to point B without problems. I am very happy with my purchase!!

Report Abuse

Fading!!

Jessica, 04/25/2016
DX 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I got my car last year. I've had no problems with the car. The only complaint I have is that my roof is fading and it makes my car look horrible. And now the trunk seems to start to fade.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

So Happy I Didn't Listen to the Reviews

tejai, 01/31/2012
15 of 22 people found this review helpful

I bought my last Civic used--I was the 4th owner....she was a 2004 EX Coupe. Due to mechanical issues I was forced to trade her off about 2 years before I wanted to. I had read the reviews on the 2012 Civic and I was leary...so I test drove three Toyotas, a Subaru, two Mazdas a Ford and a CR-V, Accord and a Fit. Still undecided, I decided to drive a Civic. Thank goodness I make my own decisions and don't listen to everyone else..... I knew before I hit the interstate I was going to buy it. It is somewhat noisy--but nothing like my 2004. The ride is way smoother and it's a fun car to maneuver through town. I have no regrets at all--very happy with my purchase. This is my 6th Honda.

Report Abuse

Great Car!

erick, 05/05/2011
8 of 11 people found this review helpful

This is my second Honda Civic. The 2012 Honda Civic EX-L with Navigation System is a great car for all round car for technology buffs like me. Great gas mileage 40+ on the Highway. Good ride that handles bumps with composer. Technology like Bluetooth, XM Satellite Radio, USB connection for Music devices, CD player and a great Navigation System with FM traffic. What else can on ask for?

Report Abuse

Poorly Designed Lots of Rattles and Buzzes

ielmike, 01/29/2012
11 of 16 people found this review helpful

I just bought a 2012 Civic and I can't enjoy it because there is a vibrating/rattling sound coming from the dash and it is driving me crazy. I took it in and the service department said there was no noise. Huh? My mechanic and I went for a ride and he said Honda is nuts and there is a problem with the assembly with loose screws and vibrating cables behind the dash. I wish I could enjoy it but I really can't. I am going to get rid of it and get a Toyota. I'll loose a lot of money but i can't stand that noise. I drove from Chicago to Grand Rapids and had terrible neck and should pain afterwards. I could deal with it if it weren't for that stupid noise.

Report Abuse

My New Civic EX

pantera1014, 11/22/2011
7 of 10 people found this review helpful

Just got it! Fresh out of the box with 12 miles on it. I am replacing the wife's 2000 Accord that she totaled last week. I am a Honda guy and a Michelin man. It is a beautiful car, and has everything we need except for XM, though we can stream it through BT audio from our Droids. Continental tires suck, but just put Michelin Primacy's on it at 101 miles. Crazy expenditure?! Not for my wife! Result: Like night and day! I am all Honda and am pissed about CR reviews, but bucked the trend. This IS a Honda. The iMid is fun, stereo sounds decent, seats (cloth) are excellent. Paint is beautiful. Not fast, but trying to keep up with the Prius's, no batteries! Scrap Conti tires you will will enjoy!

Report Abuse

Love It

yorkielover3, 06/16/2011
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I just traded my 2009 CRV for the Civic and so far I am in love with it. It drives like a car larger than it is. So comfortable and the dash is so well laid out. Air conditioning is much colder than my CRV was.

Report Abuse

vibration issue solved

firsthonda2012, 04/05/2012
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I almost traded in my brand new 2012 honda civic sedan lx with manual trans! I was getting a disturbing vibration when I accelerated to about 50 mph. The whole car vibrated like I was driving over a grooved highway, and then I thought that perhaps I blew a tire or something. It was intermittent. The Service Tech discovered that when you have only the rear windows down halfway the vibration happens and sounds like a helicopter! An aerodynamic thing. I wanted to let people know this just in case they are experiencing the same issue! Now that I know it is nothing serious I am back to LOVING MY NEW CIVIC!!! Getting 30 mpg with mixed around town and highway driving! Great car!!!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050