Skip to main content

2023 Honda Accord Consumer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
62 reviews
MSRP Starting at
$27,295

Save as much as $3,162
Select your trim:
1...

3 out of 5 stars

Attractive clean design, quality compromised

KyleB, 04/27/2023
2023 Honda Accord Sport Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid EVT)
52 of 53 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 2020 Accord go the new 2023 Accord Hybrid Sport. It drives even better than the previous generation, and the powertrain is very powerful. Unfortunately, Honda has cut lots of corners to build these, and they didn’t even try to hide it. First off, there are a lot of new features that come standard (including the generous safety suite), however, they came at a cost. HD Radio and Satelite radio are no longer included. Also, there aren’t any heated mirrors, which is a very important safety feature. The quality of fit and finish in the interior is highly questionable. For example, the Sports models no longer come with sport seats. They used to include a combination of leatherette and cloth for the seats. The rear seats no longer have separate headrests. The lighting also has some issues. You need extra effort in order to push those light buttons, otherwise they won’t stay on. When the lights are on, they get so bright that they obscure the occupants vision. Second, unlike the front doors which close solid and are hefty in terms of weight, the rear door interior panels are completely made out of cheap plastic. As if the rear occupants don’t deserve a comfortable ride. The rear doors are much less solid and lighter. Whenever they’re closed shut, you can hear the sound of hallow metal and the mechanisms inside the doors rattle. Third, only the highest end model include rear AC vents. I wasn’t very fortunate with my vehicle. There are several noises coming out of the engine bay. The noise from the inverter is highly noticeable. You can also hear several components in the engine compartment move around as if the engine mount or struts were worn out.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Solid but lacks some options

John S, 02/15/2023
updated 08/16/2023
2023 Honda Accord EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
49 of 50 people found this review helpful

I love the Accord EX even though I had my heart set on a hybrid but difficult to find and $5,000 more than the EX.The handling, MPG ( 34 combined city/highway driving); safety features galore and looks are all outstanding. I was disappointed that leather seats not an option unless purchasing hybrid; no wirelss charging or XM/Siriius, no universal garage opener- Honda definitely forcing buyers into purchasing a hybrid. Passengers sitting in the front seat have no capabilities of raising the car seat, thus legitimate complaints about sitting on the ground! I had 300,000 miles on my 2009 Hionda Accord but had more options than the new one purchased.. Plus expect to pay MSRP with no negotiating and could not even get the all weather mats included in the deal- ended up paying $200 for these. Still quite happy with all of the car's features but ...

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Sport Hybrid

Don Kleinfelder, 03/15/2023
2023 Honda Accord Sport Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid EVT)
57 of 59 people found this review helpful

This is my first Accord, so I cannot compare it to previous models. Pros: 1. Excellent road performance and control. 2. There is practically no learning curve involved with the car’s features. I’ve owned many vehicles in my lifetime and I would rate this vehicle among the easiest to learn (radio/climate controls ect.) 3. The trunk is huge. 4. I really like the options given for what is displayed on the dash. Cycling through information is simple and logical. Cons: 1. A compressor is provided in lieu of a spare tire. I suppose you’re more likely to need the compressor than the tire, but it has the potential to be very inconvenient. Mixed: engine noise is almost nonexistent. However, there is road noise. Nothing I consider out of the ordinary, but I’ve read some reviews where people thought an Accord should have less road noise. I traded a Nissan Versa for the Honda Accord. The Accord has less road noise than a Versa, which is good enough for me.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Accord still on top of sedan segment

Tom Hockman, 03/22/2023
updated 01/02/2024
2023 Honda Accord EX-L Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid EVT)
89 of 94 people found this review helpful

I have owned Accords from the 8th, 9th, 10th, and now 11th generation. With each generation the Accord has improved ride quality and technology to be my favorite Honda model. I bought a 2023 EX-L in order to do short and long term reviews on its performance that I will share with you before you buy or to assist you as you configure your Accord to your taste. Stylewise, I agree that the front end is a bit bland compared to the 10th gen, but I still like the front grille. I don't see a Taurus like some people, but more of a classic Accord. It's far better than the styles of the Accord from 2007 with parallelogram taillights or the jelly bean Taurus look of 2010. Some upfront Pros and Cons from my point of view Pros - EX-L is the model to buy if you can afford a hybrid trim. The 17 inch wheels have low wind noise on the road and deliver the best MPG for the whole lineup. Touring is overpriced, and Sport models lack rear AC vents and connectivity. - Performance is fantastic for a hybrid. I don't miss the 2.0 since I was not into the Accord for speed or high performance. I'm more of a nerd that gets more joy from high gas mileage - Seats are more comfortable than previous gen. Have yet to test on long road trip, but feel they will be comfortable. - Driver's dash UI is improved. You can configure both sides of the driver's info display to show current music input, powerflow, maintenance, trip odometer, miles to empty, etc. that is first rate. You can configure the look and feel of the dash interface mores than the last generation. - Build quality is first rate. No squeaks, rattles, or noises that don't belong (so far). Cons - The tech/info display has a learning curve much steeper than previous generations. Car reviewers have largely skipped discussing actual setup of the UI for user preference. There are two default profiles, owner and guest, as well as the ability to create named profiles that are matched to specific drivers. I'm finding it takes much longer to mate with my iPhone when starting the car. Sometimes it's 30 -45 seconds, others I have to manually tell it to connect to the car and enable Apple Play again. This should be a simple, one-time setup, but is wasting time getting it configured to connect automatically, quickly with every drive. - content services are now totally based on your phone apps that port to Apple Play or Android Auto. There is no longer built-in support Sirius XM. For any music, audio book, or maps app, you need to subscribe via your phone and use the app's Android or Apple interface to use. You can still get an XM 3-month trial, but you will need to negotiate that with Sirius XM directly. Sirius UI in Apple Play is inferior to previous built in app because you can't save station presets or have as much control over channel and category (at least, not that I have found). - Built in subscription based apps of HondaLink, Alexa and ATT Wifi hotspot are the only apps built into the tech interface. ATT Wifi can be acquired for $20 month after 3-month trial. I will probably not keep it active, but testing built-in wifi to see if it helps. I have experienced some degradation when phone loses wifi and tries to revert to cell data and back again to wifi. - Blind Spot Indicator (BSI) is not standard on every trim that it should be standard on. The supplier of the mirror-based sensors cannot keep up with Honda's production demand so many Sport, Sport-L's, EX-Ls and EX's don't have BSI sensors. You will have to ask about each specific car you test drive or order to know if it has BSI or not. No LX's have BSI. This shortage also affects CR-Vs. - Return to column shifter. Most people seem to prefer the stick shifter over the flat buttons. but I disagree. The column shifter gets in the way of your phone and cup holders. The push button design was easy to get used to and more functional. This return to a shifter is purely a visceral change to please the people that like to grab something. - placement of power button. This generation the Power button has been jammed in tight next to the steering column and the dash. I find it harder and less intuitive to reach. Why was it moved to such an awkward location? Still on first tank of gas and getting 39.8 mpg. I expect this to go up as weather warms up and a fresh tank restarts the mpg calculation. Update: Just took a road trip of 229 miles each way and got 48 mpg on mostly highway miles. Can't complain about that MPG! There were a lot of potholes in Ohio and Kentucky that haven't been patched so wear and tear on the tires/suspension could be a factor as those hard impacts add up. I'll also say the many people who drive huge pickups and SUVs that think speed limits are just guidelines while zigzagging through traffic make every road trip feel like a Mad Max movie. The Accord held it's own, but I don't want any run-ins with vehicles literally twice its size. Overall, I'm still very happy with the new Accord despite the Cons I've listed above. It drives like a dream and is built rock solid. Update June 2023: average mpg in summer weather is 50.5. Mileage actually seems better in Normal mode than Econ. Can't explain that one but try it for yourself. On USB as a music source, you can copy m4a (AAC) or .mp3 to folders on a USB thumb drive with Type C connector. Playback is flaky at first as the radio needs to scan through all files in a folder to read them and identify the true music files from supporting files. It will initially report 'unsupported format' until it completes the scan. Then, it will play back music files in order or random based on setting. USB sometimes stops without warning and needs to be restarted with Play button. Accord has nice Music Library view to see folder names and artists that older USB players on Honda's do not have. Overall, convenient to have music on tiny USB tailored to your taste and saves on music subscription, but can have a few kinks in the playback process. Still loving car at 2500 miles. Update December 2023: still love this car after 9 months, but the difficulty lowering myself into the driver seat is increasing. If you aren’t nimble and in shape, this car is low and awkward to enter. Once seated I love the drive, but getting in and out at age 59 is getting tougher. No wonder Honda can’t stock enough CR-Vs for its old Accord buyers. Gas mileage on EX-L still great. Winter numbers are around 38-43 mpg.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Haven’t even got my first oil change!

Mr. 2023 Sport hybrid lemon , 11/21/2023
2023 Honda Accord Sport Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid EVT)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

Car drives/feels great and has everything you need but I’ve been having major issues recently. The car will say keyless access problem and when I try to start the car is it says power system failure, brake system problem, electric power steering problem, and literally every other warning light comes on the dash. This has happened to me 5 times been to the dealer and they said oh we had to do a system reset and we are waiting on Honda to release a new system update. Yesterday morning the same thing happened and the dealer said “oh it was the corrosion protectors on the battery that cause the cables to not be tight enough causing low voltage which is why all the codes went off. Well here I am the next morning waiting on the tow truck with the same problem!!! This makes me feel cheated and upset because I bought this car brand new in June of 2023. Everyday since I’ve been having this problem I have to worry about if my car is going to work smh. I haven’t even got my first oil change yet.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5