Used 1997 Honda Accord Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,271 - $3,108

Used Accord for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

I LOVE MY HONDA

jenny, 02/12/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is the best car out there i have many cars before but this is the best... cheap to fix good in fuel and everything else.

Report Abuse

forever honda

cici, 06/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

low mileage, great shape, one owner, maintenance kept up as scheduled

Report Abuse

Wish I Could Keep It

Brenda Eiland, 04/10/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The only reason I am buying a new car, and turning the beloved '97 LX wagon over to a relative, is that my leg can no longer handle any clutch and the car has a standard transmission. Otherwise, I'd pay what it took to restore! The windows are slow, and some plastic pieces broke (holding visor and rear cargo space cover). Hubcaps' paint peeled but new ones weren't expensive. Has had good mechanical attention. Timing belt replacement at recommended mileage was difficult per an excellent mechanic who said he won't do it after the next 100,000 miles. Had 2 axle boots replaced, but the originals might have been weakened by being hit in the side by 2 big deer almost simultaneously. Tough car.

Report Abuse

1997 Accord LX 5 Speed

Liquidfender, 07/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used with about 62,xxx miles on it. Now I only have about 66,xxx miles on it. But I have only owned it for a few months. This car lives up to its reputation and beyond that. Coupled with the 5 speed manual transmission, this car dips for a 2.3L. This car is fantastic for the everyday driver, fuel economy is great.

Report Abuse

Great Sedan

Ozzy, 09/29/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought a 97 accord over a 2000 civic by the looks and I do no regret it. I've had the timing belt snap on me but because we had no idea of the history and did not take enough caution to change it while it was still good. Previous owner was horrible. With the timing belt change we redid the heads gaskets, radiator, water and etc. Window motors are horribly slow at the front and nice on the back. Ignition assembly had to be changed. Starter changed. OEM speakers are really amazing for their year. Although a lot of work had to be done it was mostly because of previous owner with horrible habits. This car really is great A to B in comfort, speed, and style.

Report Abuse

Great car

miso, 08/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the 6 cylinder 97 Honda Accord back in Dec 97 as an exchange for a BMW 325 EX and I was very happy I did it. Not only it was more comfortable but also cheaper to maintain. The car was great I say was because they stole it 5 days ago and when the police found it it was destroy by the vandals who stole it. They killed a GREAT CAR Never had a problem with it i will certainly miss it. Now I will have to find another honda to replace it.

Report Abuse

Great car, but...

JonesHonda, 09/17/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've driven my Accord for 3 years and been very happy. the only regret is that the power gadgets are cheapo. The power mirrors have failed and the motors for the power windows are flimsy; I've had to replace both. Otherwise, the comfort, design and engine reliability have been superb.

Report Abuse

FANTASTIC CAR

Tristan, 09/23/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

On my third Honda and second Accord. This one to replace my '87 that never failed me. Manual transmission feels great. Superior styling and comfort. I'm keeping this one forever.

Report Abuse

97 Honda

Cyborg, 09/29/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

reliable transportation, adequate pep, very few mechanical problems.

Report Abuse

97 Honda Accord

wig, 09/29/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent, reliable vehicle. Fun to drive, comfortable. Everthing works.

Report Abuse

Wan't the worst car - get a Honda Accord

DavidG1023, 10/31/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my sesond and last Honda. After reading all the reviews here and in Consumer Reports I figured my first experience with a Honda (car had to be sold for junk with less than 100,000 miles) was an anaomoly. Wrong. My second Honda is just as bad. Fuel pump blew, electrical system has more things wrong than right, alternator had to be replaced. If you want to be stranded multiple times then the Honda Accord is the car for you. I'm going elsewhere

Report Abuse

Heaven Sent

val, 10/11/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle has been heaven sent. First owner and vehicle now has about 53,000 miles, and never experienced one mechanical problem. Prior, owned a little civic hatchback and same history, never one mechanical problem. As a woman, I thank the heavens for this vehicle, never leaving me stalled, brokedown or anything unexpectedly going out on me especially on the road. I feel safe with my honda. Thanks Honda!

Report Abuse

Excellent Car for the Money

gatorkat, 08/16/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I would definitely recommend this vehicle to anyone. It is stylish, yet functional and economical. AWESOME GAS MILEAGE and the engine (2.2L, 4 cyl.)is pretty peppy. I have the EX-L and the interior is stylish without being too frilly, very spacious as well. No mechanical problems whatsoever, very sound car. Rides nicely too. Definitely recommend this car to anyone interested in buying one!

Report Abuse

1997 Honda Accord 4dr LX

Robert Bloomquist, 03/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Car is extremely reliable. I am 6'2" and I thought it was more suited for someone that was 5'9"-6'0". truck is roomy for this size car and it handles well in the snow. Very good car, we also own a Camry 1998 and I would pick the Honda over the Camry. I believe the Honda's construction is more sound than the Camry, the trim on the Camry seems less refined and much more chinsy.

Report Abuse

1997 Accord EX pleasure

Susie, 08/28/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This 1997 was our 5th Honda and it has excelled in performance as have all the others. I prefer the std. to the aut.; not because of the 4 cyl. eng., but because the Accord is such a driving pleasure. It gives you all the power you need and I never worry about it hesitating or holding back. We are anxiously awaiting the 2003 to see what they are like. You can NEVER go wrong with a Honda.

Report Abuse

hondas go forever

HMC fan, 11/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my second Accord, and third HMC product. This Accord is my favorite car I've owned so far. It has 118k miles on it, and no problems. Never had to replace one part or take it to the mechanic for anything outside or normal wear and tear.

Report Abuse

Fun to Drive

jk1601, 12/08/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my third Accord and I bought it off a lease in 99. Compared to my previous 89 DX, this thing has power, since it's 5 speed with VTEC engine. IT's my first car with power everything and I really love to drive it, 50 miles/day to work. But 3 years after buying it, I think it needs even more power. The the only problem I've had is the power door locks failed. It's got 80,000 miles and going strong.

Report Abuse

97 Accord EX

Remus, 12/11/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had the car for almost 2 years now. Good sedan that gets good gas mileage. I wished they've used a DOHC head instead of the SOHC. Good response. Car is slow up the hill and loud engine noise. The windows roll up too slow. Very comfortable. A/C sucks. No problems with the car since I've owned it.

Report Abuse

Honda's at High Mileage

PTheofanis, 12/14/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When you read high rated reviews about 97 Honda Accords, keep in mind that they are written by people who clearly do not have high mileage. I own a 97 Honda Accord LX sedan, and it has fallen apart exponentially after 80,000 miles. I admit that I drive my car hard, and this car will not keep up with others like me. Its seats are not designed well, the suspension falls apart, there is too much body roll, and the transmission isn't smooth during shifts.

Report Abuse

Good car for that year

sbvmax, 12/21/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall the car is good for what it is designed for. A cheaply priced car with good gas mileage. Wish I would have bought the V6 model, but thought they didn't come out until '98. A couple of weeks ago just turned over 50k and had 4 recals taken care of free of charge.

Report Abuse

I love my honda!

ErinS, 01/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was very surprised to see that people have had problems with these cars. My car drives like a dream. At 102,000 I haven't had a single problem. Great commuter car, comfortable and great on fuel economy.

Report Abuse

decent first car lasts quite a lot of miles#

datonechiik, 08/25/2014
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with 230k miles on it, the engine had already been replaced and I did all the maintenance i could on it at around 260k the power steering went out, at 280 the check engine light came on and auto zone could not help, granted i sold the car

Report Abuse

1997 Honda Accord 4dr LX

WhiggyNutz, 01/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought a Honda because of its reputation and reliability. the last year and a half I've owned this vehicle I've never been dissapointed. I am very pleased with every aspect of my Honda and when I run this one into the ground I fully intend on purchasing another.

Report Abuse

1997 SE

rda, 02/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fine vehicle, good styling. Somewhat noisy on highway. Fuel economy in city poor. Gets 400 miles to the tankful on highway.

Report Abuse

Very respectable car....

Steve-n-Beantown, 02/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned my 1997 Honda Accord SE since 2/02. I drive about 20k mi/yr. It's a good ride, but the very annoying, creeky suspension in the winter (which is a known problem-refer to Honda's service bulletins) drives me mad! Also, for as long as I've owned it, whenever I hit a pothole, I think the car will break apart...Dealership says that's "just the way the car rides..." The only major work done to this point has been the exhaust...The car is still on the original brakes! I'll be replacing them soon, but it's remarkable that they've gone this far! The seats sit a bit low for my taste, but it's comfortable....In the Summer, the car cleans up nice.

Report Abuse

Great car!!!!

Twoscalfs@aol.com, 06/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my 1997 Honda Accord Ex new. I have had great luck with the car. 71,000 miles later the only thing that I have changed on the car has been the brakes and tires. The orginal brakes went 65,000 miles before I had to change them. The interior is excellent and I love the 1997 exterior design. Great Car!!!!!!! If you have a chance, buy this car.........

Report Abuse

Mixed feeling...

likes2ski, 07/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I consider this car basic transportion only. I neiether love or hate the styling. The single most important issue i have seen is the automatic transmission.I dont think most people will ever notice it but yes it does shift a little rough and yes it feels loose at 80,000 and it bothers me. I am starting to be a little conserned about it. so yes, the auto is not the greatest and i would consider it before buying one. This is a car i would drive anywhere and not worry. Buy the car, youll like it.

Report Abuse

Do not count on old Honda's reliability

DailyDriver, 08/03/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

As many of us I bought this car because of common knowledge that Hondas run 150K with no problem. My previous car was Honda Civic 1984 hatchback with flawless 230K on speedometer. Now, at 95K on Honda Accord LX 97, I already replaced AC and transmission. Good that I had 100K bubmer-to-bumper warranty but what awaits me in the future?

Report Abuse

Low Maitenece, High Reliability

alig, 08/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my second accord. My first was an '88 LX that went for 200,000 miles without any major mechanical repairs (only brake jobs and oil changes). The only reason I got rid of it was a car accident. I was quick to buy another accord. Since I do a lot of traveling I put 46,000 miles on the car within the first 2yrs (I bought it at 60,000) Now at over 100,000 miles, I have only needed to replace the brakes (a regular maitenance item). I would definately recommend this car for anyone.

Report Abuse

The Best Ever

Tober, 09/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been our "second" car -- the other is a 5 series BMW, also a fine car. However, this Honda is without a doubt the best yet. For whatever strange reason, probably to compete in the SUV market, Honda no longer makes wagons. It is a shame. This car does everything, and more, that a owner could ever want. Comfort, pickup, space for dogs and or children and or adults and old folks, fuel economy and mileage range, great exterior and interior design, you name it, it has it and it does it. Don't have a clue, when it comes time, as to how to replace it.

Report Abuse

Good on the outside

NissanGuy, 07/18/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just plan on replacing alot of the stuff on the inside.. ive owned two hondas both of which have had a problem with the power windows.. they like to break. the air conditioning knobs like to fall off.. so you hafta super glue them back together.. and my passenger seat is stuck all the way back.. however, ive had no major mechanical problems and it gets great gas milage and looks wonderful.

Report Abuse

Great commuter car

Philman, 09/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has been great for commuting. I drove it for several years with no problems.

Report Abuse

Awesome Car

Brindy, 10/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car has great acceleration and great gas mileage. It's super comfortable, spacious.

Report Abuse

I love my honda

vizcaino, 10/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for 6 years now and I love it, When I get rid of it I will buy another honda

Report Abuse

The best car, EVER.

juanHonda, 03/01/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought this car in Oct/2001 with 105,000 miles. The car has been prefect so far. The most reliable car we ever had. MINIMUM MAINTENANCE REQUIRED, if you like to stay away from the shops, this is the car for you. These are the only few repairs done to the car so far: CV axles and transmission fluid at 140,000 miles $400.00, front rotors and pads @ 150,000, $250.00,timing belt and serpentine belts replaced at 163,000, $300.00, 2 tune ups and regular synthetic oil changes, aprox, $300.00. Awesome that's $0.02 a mile!

Report Abuse

97 Honda Accord LX - 5 Speed

mlippysr, 11/02/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is an excellent car to drive. With a manual 5 speed, it has acceleration that can compete with the best. Very low maintenance and minimal manufacturer's recalls.

Report Abuse

Dependable, trouble-free transportation

ivorykeyer, 11/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought this car used (17K miles) in a hurry when our disaster of a Taurus Wagon had a catastrophic engine problem. Our primary goal was to get a car that wouldn't require monthly visits to the mechanic and in this the Accord has been a rousing success. Other than power window problems (front windows becoming progressively slower as time goes on) the car has performed absolutely flawlessly. I use it for a long daily commute (100 miles/day) and it is very comfortable with decent gas mileage (23-25 MPG). While not exciting visually or performance-wise, it has lots of room and has been a great and extremely reliable car for our basic transportation needs.

Report Abuse

i love my honda!

accord ny, 05/30/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I own a 97 Accord EX 2dr. I purchased the car 9 months ago and have put 16,000 miles on it. I've driven it from NY to FL 4 times and all I have done is change the oil. I owned a 96 Civic before this, and would definitly buy another honda. The check engine light is on, but I'm not sure why. It's probably something small since I've put 12,000 miles on it like that. Drives very smooth, good gas mileage, roomy trunk for such a small car, the sound system sounds great even though it's stock. i love all the features too, because mine has the 6-disc changer and sunroof. the power windows are slow, especially the passenger side one. overall, a fabulous car that i would reccomend to anyone.

Report Abuse

8 years, and virtually problem-free

Ann Marie, 06/11/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This was the first new car I ever purchased. Nearly 8 years and 130,000 miles later, I've hardly put any money into it other than regular maintenance and maybe 2-3 repair jobs in the $500 range. My last car, a Ford Topaz, I got rid of after it was 6 years old and had only 85,000 - and that was after the transmission was replaced. I plan on driving this Honda as long as possible, and because it's been so good to me I'm almost scared to buy a different type of car next time for fear that no other can match its reliability.

Report Abuse

Runs Forever

Runs Forever , 06/14/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Finally retiring our 97 Accord LX for a new 2005 Accord LX replacement after 209,000 miles. Engine & Drivetrain still going very strong, but rest of car starting to go. This is by far the best and longest lasting car my wife (aka lead foot) has ever owned. Still getting 24 MPG, we have changed the oil every 3000 - 4000 miles on this car and will continue doing the same with the new one.

Report Abuse

Great Car

jennie, 12/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first Honda, and I have been loving it. Great car!

Report Abuse

97 Accord very reliable

jh0212, 07/10/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have a 97 accord 4-dr EX w/ 184K miles now. Very reliable. Has lost a little juice and feels underpowered now compared to newer cars, but otherwise runs great. Only problems/complaints: (1) Warped rotors (replaced once, new set warped again), (2) paint is faded and splotchy now, (3) driver's side window slow to slide back up, esp on cold days, (4) A/C is not very strong, (5) mileage is so-so (about 24 mpg in mostly fwy driving, but I don't exactly obey the speed limit either). Not most exciting handling, but more responsive than Camry or some American cars I've driven. Never get tired of my car. Would definitely buy another or recommend to someone.

Report Abuse

Great Car

jonie, 01/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great car. I have had it for about a year now and there hasnt been any major problems. These cars last for a long time so I guess honda lives up to its name.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Nelle, 10/31/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for almost 5 yrs and it drives great! This is my 2nd Honda Accord and they really last. I may pruchase a 2003 shortly. This car is great for a person with a child and limited amount of funds to work with. Only problems I had was my radiator went-just wear and tear.

Report Abuse

Solid car; would buy it again

Kevin S., 03/15/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this car, then put 1,000 miles on it in the first week. Extremely frugal on gas; averaged 300 miles on a tank of gas in city driving; 400 miles on highway. A/C quit at 150,000 miles; repaired by dealer. Replaced brakes and thermostat; a few tires, but no major work. I'm a Honda driver for life.

Report Abuse

An excellent first car.

Steve, 07/06/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased by my aunt new, I bought this car from her as my first with 80000 miles. I love it! In my aunt's care and my own short stint owning the car, its been stone reliable. The car has a much more engaging drive than the later 98-02 Accords.

Report Abuse

Great Car!!!

ReganS, 05/07/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We wanted a newer Accord but found this 97 with all the bells and whistles, low miles, and a great price. I love the car. It's quick an smooth, and still looks nice. Can't go wrong with a Honda.

Report Abuse

1997 Honda Accord 4dr LX

A. Albonetti, 05/09/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent automobile, reliable, very little maintenance required other than oil changes. My next car will be a Honda!!

Report Abuse

My Honda

GDN, 07/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall this has been a reliable yet sporty car. Problems: engine light came on at 60,000 miles, which turned into a faulty chip in the engine (under warranty). Power Windows have stopped working in the past but started again VERY slow. Dashboard light that circles the "D" when in drive has just gone out. No other problems.

Report Abuse

My Dream Car

Ecks, 08/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just bought my Honda and I love it, I have wanted an Accord for a while now and everything I was hoping it would be it is. The only complants are the rough shift from 1st to 2nd, slow power windows, and the seams on my leather seats are coming apart, but I suspect it was the previous owners lack of leather conditioning and care.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050