Skip to main content
MSRP Starting at
$27,900

Save as much as $5,766
Select your trim:
12345...7

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2022 Terrain, so we've included reviews for other years of the Terrain since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

Kim, 05/15/2022
updated 11/30/2023
2022 GMC Terrain SLT 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
90 of 92 people found this review helpful

Had a 2018 Terrain and now have a 2022. I have nothing negative to say about the Terrain. No, the 1.5L isn’t a powerhouse, but it’s completely adequate around town, and it’s surprisingly quick entering the freeway with ample passing capabilities. Anyone who says the 1.5L is a slug hasn’t driven the car. The ride is firm and well controlled, never bouncy. The upscale cabin is comfortable and extremely quiet. Gas mileage is very good. Build quality and paintwork are excellent.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

2021 GMV Terrain SLT

Stgcret, 04/19/2021
updated 07/03/2023
2021 GMC Terrain SLT 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
34 of 34 people found this review helpful

As of today, April 19/2023 I still own my Terrain purchased in November 2020. It has, so far, not given me a minute's issue. The 1.5L Turbo is "okay" but the 2.0L Turbo is so much better. The Terrain is a very well thought out vehicle. Back seat flip flat at the push of a button and easily clicks back in to place. Seats are at hip height, which at 71, makes them very easy to slide in and out. The front bucket seats are fairly comfortable with many power adjustments. The front seats could use another 1/2" to 1" of width. I would buy this beauty again. UPDATE: I purchase my 2021 GMC Terrain brand new in November 2020 before the chip shortage, that isn't an issue with the 2021 at all. I just hit 20,000 miles a couple of weeks ago and all-in-all has been a pleasure to drive. I'm a big guy of 6' 2" and 285 and I easily slide in and out of my Terrain. Quiet ride and efficient and peppy 1.5L Turbo motor, although I would have preferred the 2.0L Turbo like I had in my 2018 Terrain, but the 2020 was the last year for the 2.0L On the SLT, that I have, are many positions to adjust the front seat and I do prefer the leather over cloth seats. For a 2-row seat SUV, there is plenty of room and the seats fold down at the touch of button or pull that works with the effort of one finger. I really like the info system and Sirius Radio. I have not used the Navigation or phone interface because I just don't need to. One oddball fact I discovered though is that when you want to take out the Cabin Filter, you have to use a 5.5 mm socket and that size is difficult to find. They need to go to a more conventional size like a 6 mm or 1/4 inch. UPDATE: I drove my 2021 Terrain SLT Elevation Edition out of the dealer showroom on 11/27/2020. I am 6' 2" and 72 yrs old. I specifically like the way I can slide in and easily slide out of the Terrain. I also find the front seat very comfortable and easy to adjust and has a nice lumbar support. I don't find the road noise so bad, but maybe that is because I have Talk Radio on all the time. I do agree that a 2.0 Turbo would be a better engine option. I owned a 2018 Terrain Denali with the 2.0L and I thought I was in a rocket when I stepped on the gas. I have owned my 2021 for 31 months now and have put 21,530 miles on the ol' girl and have not had a single issue, but there was one "what were they thinking moment" the screw for the driving compartment air filter is a 5.5 mm! I did change that filter at 18,000 miles although the manual called for 30,000 miles. Such an odd and hard to find size. I have changed the oil and filter every 5,000 miles and rotated the tires. I would like to see the same vehicle but 10" to 12" longer and maybe 4" to 6" wider to fit just a bit more beefy seat like the Tahoe has. Other than that I will most likely buy another Terrain and for sure if they reinstate the 2.0L Turbo.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

2021 GMC Terrain

S.M., 06/11/2021
2021 GMC Terrain SLT 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

It’s been a about a month with my 2021 GMC Terrain and I absolutely love it. It’s not the fastest car in the world but it’s 4 Cylinder engine can actually run hard and smooth at the same time. As far as the milage it runs on gas, I honestly can’t complain. it’s the perfect size efficient vehicle anyone can ask for.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Terrain

Mproctor, 01/28/2021
2021 GMC Terrain SLE 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
44 of 46 people found this review helpful

I was pleasantly surprised how peppy this small SUV is. I love all the safety features and the fact that I don’t have to pay so much for gas since it takes regular 87 octane. I took it on a long trip this weekend and it performed great.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

At4 terrain- love it

Benny, 06/04/2022
2022 GMC Terrain AT4 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
31 of 32 people found this review helpful

Ingot rid of my 2020 acadia as wife complained too big. Well got a 2022 at4 terrain and wife loves it and really like it too. Going from my 6 cyl in acadia had me worried but that 9 speed tranny takes care of any doubts i had . Shifts smooth , no hunting like my wifes former crv cvt. Mileage is great ,ride solid . Glad we bought and would buy again.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page: