Skip to main content
List Price Range
$23,590 - $23,990

Used Sierra 1500 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...7

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

2017 4x4 6.2 liter V8 W/8spd transmission, Nice!

CJJ, 11/24/2016
updated 06/06/2022
SLT 4dr Double Cab 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
29 of 31 people found this review helpful

This review did not allow for the proper 6.2 liter 8spd option to be selected as a detail regarding this vehicle which is what I am describing here… I Have a little under 900 miles on this truck, barely breaking it in after trading up from a 2014 GMC 5.3 liter 6spd double cab... The new 2017 with the 6.2L engine and 8 spd tranny is far more drivable under every condition I have experienced to date… lots of low end torque and power… mountain driving in Colorado is much less an effort for this power train, it always seems to be in the right gear for the task… less clunky and more responsive than the 5.3 w/6 spd… Also, I am getting similar maybe even better gas mileage than the 5.3L 6 spd did… The 6.2L now needs to run on 87-91 octane so a bit of a trade off for fuel expense… I registered approx 27 mpg avg for a 60mph 50 mile run through the hills... 30 mpg one way and 24 mpg returning… some light snow and rain at the time… I have the All Terrain package which is great except for the Rancho shock absorbers which feel mushy at highway speeds... too much disconnect from the road, like the stock 20" wheels and tires are bouncing at times… I much prefer the grip and feel of Bilstein shocks and will change them over after a bit more driving… did the same on my 2014 with a vast improvement in handing and control… it felt much safer to drive under all conditions especially on rough roads, paved, gravel or dirt… almost got a speeding ticket right after changing to the Bilstein shocks on my '14 All Terrain double cab because it felt like I was driving slower than I was used to, when actually I was going 10 mph faster… I do wish the 1500 frame was stiffer with less resonance like the 2500HD… Didn't like 2500 gas powertrain… felt sluggish… The GMC '17 electronics now have a much better user interface for the most part, a more positive touch screen and works fairly well at linking the functions on my IPhone… some distractions, random glitches, possibly user error… there are a few mysteries yet to unfold in that 8" glowing screen on the dash even after studying the manual for an hour… All in all… Yes, I am liking this truck! Is it worth the $$$$ ??? Time will tell... Update! This truck is a great truck! Love the 6.2 liter engine and after upgrading to Bilstein 4600 shocks all around and getting rid of the original Rancho shocks with seemed terribly unsafe at highway speeds on Colorado roads I also got rid of the original factory Goodyear tires and replaced then with Michelin LTX Defenders... OMG what huge improvement all around, way better in snow and ice, quieter, better handling, traction and overall control. Gas mileage remains about the same a surprising 24mpg highway in the mountains running on Premium as recommended by the owners directives in the manual. Still 18-19mpg in town with being a lead foot... I drive more with the torque of this great engine rather than the revs... however when I do stomp on it to pass a lumbering semi... IT CRANKS! Only complaints are the frame resonance which many trucks seem to have and I wish they would just give me a place to plug in an IPAD on the dash and get rid of GMC touch screen which GMC is proud of but doesn't compare in terms of user interface to a newer iPad. Update again... Now with 39,000 miles I can say this is the best truck I have owned to date... The dealer (Auto Nation GMC) has been helpful for things like oil and filter changes, transmission fluid change etc. All normal maintenance items, and one minor recall to reprogram the ABS. Would I recommend this truck to a friend? YES, so long as they were up for getting the 6.2 engine and matching tranny at the added expense at $2495 retail, here in the mountain states there is no substitute for the better tranny and low end torque of this engine... I would also encourage them to update the shocks to Bilstein 4600's as soon as they were able. Far more controlled and surefooted ride than the OEM Rancho suspension... If they drive on twisty roads or in bad weather conditions int eh mountains then they would be far better off with the far better tracking and handling Michelin LTX Defender tires than the OEM versions. I drive the Colorado mountains in very bad conditions often and there is no comparison in snow... These Michelins are not actual snow tires however they perform amazingly well as an all around tire.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Advertisement
Also Consider
2022 SIERRA 1500 LIMITED
Check out current offers on the GMC SIERRA 1500 LIMITED
View Offers
GMC.com
*The Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. See your GMC dealer for details.

5 out of 5 stars

First year of ownership, 2017 SLT Double Cab 6.2L

Steven D., 07/11/2018
SLT 4dr Double Cab 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

The performance from the 6.2L V8 is exceptional, torque can be had at any engine speed, the 8-speed shifts a lot better then the 6-speed, which hampered my 2014 SLT with the 5.3L V8. It surprises many how quick the truck is and the passing power is phenomenal. Towing is easy, especially hooking up a trailer with the backup camera. With tow-haul mode engaged, towing is relatively effortless with the 6.2. Braking, handling, and ride quality are adequate for a full-size truck, but much better than most older trucks. The seats are large and comfortable, especially for highway use. They're not bolstered especially well for sporty driving, and rear seat room is limited with the double cab - the back seat is straight against the cab wall. Ergonomics are excellent - the center console with the bucket seats can fit a laptop or several file folders, the underseat storage accessory is great for holding a few tools, and there are plenty of cupholders and cubbies for front and rear passengers. Technology is great, the active safety tech works well though I've had several false alarms with the emergency braking and forward collision warning, the active lane keeping works well. Navigation, Apple CarPlay/Android Auto, Bluetooth are all there, even Wi-Fi, an owner experience app with cool features (MyGMC), OnStar telematics and emergency services, SiriusXM radio, and even a cool little app store with podcasts and other available apps. The infotainment system is easy to use and intuitive. Most buttons are large and placed conveniently, and the infotainment is set up so you don't have to dig through menus to find most features. I love the spray-on bedliner, cargo tie downs, LED bedlights, and bumper-mounted bed steps. They make using the truck easier. The LED headlights are a welcome addition - the standard halogen headlights are not bright enough. I'd recommend springing for the Intellibeam headlights for a little extra visibility at night. In just over 12,000 miles and 1 year of driving, I have had 1 oil change and service around 7,000 miles and have had no issues or reasons to bring it to the dealer, a welcome improvement over my 2014 with its malfunctioning Safety Alert Seat, A/C condenser, a set of tires, and radiator all before being traded in at 39,000 miles. Gas mileage is about 15 on average with the 6.2, I mostly drive on 2-lane backroads and in town. I've gotten over 25 mpg on a 200 mile highway trip before. BOTTOM LINE: No truck or car is without it's compromises, but I have been very happy with my purchase. PROS: Acceleration, utility, technology, ergonomics and large list of creature comforts. CONS: 8-speeds seems too much, although it shifts a lot smoother than the 6-speed in my 2014; interior quality is a little lacking, they keep getting more and more expensive.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Where's my Gas Cap?

Junior, 12/14/2017
updated 01/06/2021
SLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.8 ft. SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
33 of 38 people found this review helpful

Love most everything about this truck. TWO things I HATE. Low speed shifting and No Gas Cap. My truck is the SLT Premium Plus package that has the 8 speed transmission. At slow take offs it shifts hard to 2nd gear. Have also experienced "lunging" into 2nd gear when crawling to a stop such as heavy traffic. This could be dangerous if so be alert! I was told by the stealership that is is an adaptive learning transmission and it would learn my driving habits. Well, I now have 2900 miles on it with no change. My transmission obviously a slow learner. Now the gas cap... Capless fuel filler is the most ridiculous option that GM has come up with in my opinion. The 5 seconds that it takes to unscrew and screw back on the cap doesn't justify the "convenience". First off, there is nothing to keep dirt, water, or any other element from pooling on the flapper door for the nozzle insertion. The time that I am suppose to save by not have to remove or install the cap is used searching the gas pump island for a paper towel to soak up the gas that will inevitably pool on top of the flapper. Water always pools here as well whenever the truck is washed or it rains. GM, please bring back the tried and true GAS CAP! Absolutely happy with the fuel mileage for a big V8 truck. I can get 24 mpg on a 55MPH road and 19's on a 70MPH road. City is OK. Averaging 15-16MPG. Update: 10,000 miles now. Transmission still hasn't learned anything even after going to school at the stealership multiple times.' Update: It's now 2020. 13,800 miles. Transmission still hasn't learned anything. Patience is wearing thin. Been waiting on the stealership to call me for 6 weeks now to set up yet another appointment to get my transmission woes resolved. It's like they are hoping my warranty expires or something. RAM is in my future... Oh, I still miss my gas cap! Update 1-6-21. Got rid of this POS because GM couldn’t or wouldn’t fix the known transmission problems with the 8 speed!

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Shaky Mess of a Truck

Zach Cesternino, 05/30/2017
updated 06/01/2021
SLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.8 ft. SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
30 of 38 people found this review helpful

I have had this vehicle for two months and it has spent 20+ days in the shop. The truck vibrates at all speeds above 40 mph and can be felt in the floor, seat, steering wheel ,pedals, etc. Even though multiple dealerships have confirmed there is an issue GM corporate has stated the vehicle is "operating as designed". Not sure which car companies design their truck to make the occupants nauseous. Anyone looking to purchase this truck should research Sierra/Silverado vibration issues and purchase something else. GM isn't going to make it right or fix your issue so steer clear. Update- Switched to a RAM Rebel and couldn't be happier.

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
1 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Extremely disappointed

Disappointed customer, 09/04/2019
Denali 4dr Crew Cab 5.8 ft. SB (5.3L 8cyl 8A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I got my 2017 sierra denali with a 5.3l and 8 speed transmition brand new while working at a gmc dealer. I was so excited as this has been my dream truck for many years. After 1 month of driving I had loud clunking noises coming from the suspension. After 20 plus times in the shop . 1 year later after gm denied to assist me in trading in they finally "fixed it" they replaced every bit of the rear suspension and put some kind of pad between the springs, this seems to be working but since they replaced the entire suspension I won't trust it until I have several thousand miles. From day one the transmission has shifted so harshly it feels as though your being punched in the back. It slams gears and lunges at times. The trans recently has started the dreaded chevy shake which is a vibration that causes everything in the truck to rattle. The rear power window rattles constantly. Recently I was driving to work when my truck went in to limp mode. I called the dealer and brought it In. They told me that it was the battery which I thought was odd since the truck is less than 2 years old and has 40k miles but I live in warm weather so anyway I said ok they replaced the battery then they could not get the truck to start. Hmmm ok so turns out it was an electrical component of the high preasure fuel pump under the manifold which was a 1000 dollar repair and apparently not covered by warranty. GM covers half of the repair to be fair not enough but it's something. So again I ask gm to please buy this truck back! I promise to buy another gm but I want out of this lemon. Well gm said no again. And it's likely because I'm not the only one having these problems. Gm clearly did not test anything on this truck before slapping a 65k price in it and shipping it out to customers like me. I have been a loyal gm customer for my entire life my family have purchased numerous gmc models and only drive gmc for the last 30 years. Sorry gm you have lost our business completely. Don't get stuck like me. Gm is not loyal to its customers.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page: