Skip to main content

Used 2012 Ford Fiesta Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$10,990 - $15,998

Used Fiesta for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Great, affordable car

bayoubus, 12/08/2011
2012 Ford Fiesta S 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
31 of 33 people found this review helpful

I got a basic model Fiesta at a steal of a price after my hand-me-down car from college suddenly needed a new engine. I didn't have much time to shop around because my job requires transportation, so I was apprehensive about the sudden purchase but couldn't turn down the deal I got on this car. I don't regret it! I previously owned a Toyota Echo that drove great but always felt a little flimsy on the road. I don't get this feeling at all with the Fiesta. It's stylish, drives great, feels solid and it gets awesome gas mileage. I'm pretty tall and I never feel smashed into this car despite its subcompact size. Perfect for a purchase on a budget. I didn't feel like I was sacrificing anything.

Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

2012 Ford Fiesta SE Sedan (6-spd Auto)

mathjack22, 09/25/2011
2012 Ford Fiesta SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
27 of 29 people found this review helpful

I've had my new Fiesta for just over a week now, and I have to say, I'm incredibly impressed with its overall package. I downsized from a Mercury Grand Marquis LS to save on gas and to drive something much sportier for my age (23). To be such a small car, the Fiesta has plenty of front seat space, a feat in itself because I am 6'2 and 280 lbs. There is plentiful head and leg room; my only caveat would be the slightly narrow feel of the driver's side, though I can still get quite comfortable. As far as the back seat, it's a no-go for any practical use, but I didn't need the extra space, so it wasn't a deal-breaker for me. The features on the SE (along with the 203A package) are plentiful.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

SE Automatic 6-speed (review didn't have that option)

groksurf, 09/17/2011
2012 Ford Fiesta SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
45 of 50 people found this review helpful

Have owned the SE for three weeks. The Transmission prefers a very light touch when starting from a stop. It shifts 1-2-3 rapidly up to about 25 mph if you do it that way, very smoothly and quietly. Then you can push the accelerator more for nice quiet power. It will switch awkwardly if you give it heavy foot at low speed. You definitely need to learn how it wants to be driven; once you do it's a pleasure to drive. At higher speeds very quiet engine (although at 70 the rpms almost reach 3K--I'd prefer 2300 at that speed), and minimal road/wind noise. If you do push the rpms, the engine sound is throaty and not at all unpleasant. Great mileage so far, about 33mpg at 60% city/40% highway

Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

6 years later Ford finally bought it back!!!!!!!

Rose, 09/05/2015
updated 10/03/2019
2012 Ford Fiesta SEL 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

We have had transmission problems since day 1, they always tell us it is fixed and it never is. It has spend so much time in the garage that Ford should be making some of my payments for me. I don't complain often about vehicles because I know things can go wrong with anything mechanical but please listen when i say don't buy an automatic transmission fiesta from 2012. This vehicle has had so many recalls and they are still attempting to repair the transmission after the 30th time at the garage. Just got it back a week ago and back it goes again next week for the SAME issue. I can say it is very economical on gas when we do have it to drive. The other upside is that i have never been stranded with the vehicle, the transmission just doesn't work right. ****update 9-18-2016 fiesta has been in the shop several times. Mechanics verify issues verbally just not on paper, prompted by Ford Motors, and refuse to remedy this ongoing issue. Drove it for a trip to Boston recently and I can tell you if you think the transmission is horrible to drive for normal driving DON'T drive it in large cities or rush hour because it is horrendous jerking, jolting and skipping of transmission with acceleration!! March2018 as of this week & thanks to the class action law suit against Ford I have received notification that Ford is buying my junk vehicle back. I guess I didn’t realize how much time, accumulatively, my car has been in the garage being repaired until I had to count the days for the buy back. It has been in over 1/2 a year for repairs & that doesn’t count the time I have had to spend running it back & forth to the garage that is 45 mins away. Most recently in August 2017 they refused to continue fixing it at Quirk Ford in Augusta, Me. Hopefully this will be a nightmare that is soon over, never would have had this issue if Quitk Ford would have sold the the standard transmission I wanted but they convinced me this one was a much better deal. Yes a deal for them because they already knew the issues these cars had. Fingers crossed within the next mo th it will be fine because we have emailed confirmation of a buy back & the requisition team is supposed to be contacting us within 2 weeks! October 2018- if you have one of these lemons stick with the class action lawsuit & fight for the buy back. Yes they make you jump through hoops, spend hours filling out paperwork & submit the same informations SEVERAL times but it is worth it. I received a check for 2/3 of what I paid for the fiesta 6 years ago. Pls remember our fiesta is on the extreme issue end therefore we were compensated for the extreme number of days it was at the shop. If you are in the process & feel it is not worth it just remember the extended warranty they gave is running out & then all these issues will be at your expense so hang in there. I have myself a new Hyundai Elantra with 20k miles that i was able to pay cash with from the buy back check. Guess Ford should have bought it back several years ago when I offered it to them for $6k.

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3.63 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive but Squealing Clutch

cventrice, 03/15/2012
2012 Ford Fiesta S 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
24 of 28 people found this review helpful

Overall, I like the performance and design features of my Ford Fiesta. The base S model is very affordable and it comes with several features such as ABS and stability control that are not normally standard in the base model. The car is a little slow in city driving but handles and accelerates well on the highway. Unfortunately, the car that I bought has had persistent problems with a squealing noise when the clutch pedal is depressed. It started the morning after I purchased the car. The dealer replaced the slave cylinder/throwout bearing assembly after 600 miles. It squealed again the morning after I picked the car up and has been intermittently squealing ever since then.

Report Abuse
12345...12
Items per page: