Used 2004 Dodge Viper Convertible Consumer Reviews

List Price
$51,995

Used Viper for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Nothing but smiles every time I drive it

Wayne, 01/01/2009
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

The car is raw and does what it is designed for and that is go fast, turn fast, and stop fast. You must add Corsa catless track exhaust to get ride of the horrible UPS truck sound the factory exhaust makes and it frees up 40hp and get rid of all the drivers compartment and side sill heat problems. I have already modded mine to 600bhp 650tq and not ready to quit yet. Be forewarned once you buy a Viper the spending has just begun, The performance bug will hit and the viper tax is high when it come to viper performance parts, but worth it trust me. I could easily use mine as daily driver if I wanted to but its not a benz. Oh, best mod is MGW shorty shifter with low profile bezel.

Report Abuse

should have bought an SL55

mistake, 02/25/2004
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

bought on impulse, should have bought an SL55. looks like an 85k kit car.

Report Abuse

Dream Car

Thom, 04/18/2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Dodge Viper has always been my dream car. The latest generation Viper is the best yet. The performance is amazing, the acceleration incredible. And the car really does attract attention everywhere it goes.

Report Abuse

Viper

gseely, 08/19/2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

One test drive in this car, and I was sold. Love it.

Report Abuse

VIPER Review -- MY PICK!!!

BillyD, 05/09/2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just purchased one. I am 41 years old and it took a lot of wife convincing. Anyway, on the maiden voyage, I came up against a Mustang Cobra SVT (690hp). I had my 8 year old boy with me. Before I even knew what I was doing (and thinking I was 21), the race was on. The Viper won by a hair from a rolling start (10mph) to 80mph. Exhilaration was the feeling until I realized what I had done (on a 30mph 4 lane street in a very upscale neighborhood). Thank God there were no cops. If you love beautiful, fast cars, buy one!

Report Abuse

SRT-10 2004

alex655321, 12/05/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Car is very fast, a handful to handle (vs. my z06) and overall I like it alot. Puts out alot of heat, but stays cool inside, so far. It requires a good driver to drive it fast.

Report Abuse

Super Car

Douglas C Miller PhD, 07/09/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my all black Viper for almost a year now--just about at 10K miles. Performance is as expected-- unbelievable. I find it very comfortable as an everyday car but superb out on the road. My only complaints are how hot it gets once the engine is warm, particularly in traffic, and the poor gas mileage (but I expected that with this engine). It's not easy to fit in a tall passenger either, but at my height I'm very comfortable, and the driver's seat just hugs one. Acceleration is far and away the best I've driven, better than BMWs, Porsches, Vettes. I test drove everything except Ferraris and Lamborghinis and chose the Viper, and I'm still happy with it.

Report Abuse

WOW!

The , 01/01/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

IT IS AMAZING VERY FAST AND FUN TO DRIVE HIGHLY RECOMENDED

Report Abuse

80 Miles New and Top End Destroyed

PilotInLA, 01/13/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned the car less than 12 hours/80 miles and the Top End self destructed. Dodge has done nothing in helping get the car fixed. I'm told repair could take 10 + weeks to pull the engine and send to factory in MI. District Manager Jason Baldwin will not even return my phone calls. Very poor customer support for a $90K cash purchase. I own two Benzs' (S55 and SL55 AMG's). You'd think D/C would support their upper level customers better. Last D/C product I'll buy...

Report Abuse

skullboy

i don't know, 01/20/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

it goes very fast, and its a great car.

Report Abuse

snooch to the nooch

james naughton, 01/20/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

its a great car

Report Abuse

EXCELLENT RIDE

BAMBY7L, 01/26/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I ENJOY RIDING WITH MY FAMILY.

Report Abuse

HAS500HP

Bob Jr., 01/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have to say that I was a little apprehensive about the new design. The original Viper design was a classic that will last forever. But after owning the new SRT-10 for about 8 months now, the design has grown on me and I like it more and more each day. Now for the good stuff. 500hp. What else can be said?? This car is a rocket on wheels. Big wheels. The performance is simply astonishing. The full potential of this car can only be reached on the racetrack. The handling is much better than the original. The interior is finally worthy of the price. All in all, Dodge has done a great job.

Report Abuse

My Car Mr.Viper

bobford@aol.com, 01/31/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the greatest car ever. It has great interior, exterior, mileage, looks, and speed. I once went 185mph in it.

Report Abuse

not the comfort of a corvette

jwdunn, 02/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

pretty much says it all in the title ,if you are all about speed than strap in, but if you like speed and comfort i would caution you to drive one first (good luck finding a dealor who will give you a ride)

Report Abuse

2004 Viper

H. T. Pettigrew, 02/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Pure excitement! Not for the weak at heart.

Report Abuse

wow what a car

randyboy248, 02/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

my experience with this car was great it felt like i was in miami florida and that i was rich.

Report Abuse

more power needed

jerry rice, 02/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is a fast and nice car. but it needs about 150 or more horspower and needs better handling.

Report Abuse

new viper

bestone, 02/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had 3 vipers thus far. 94rt-10,2002 ACR- absolutley rode like crap because the springs in the rear were 1200IBS and the fronts were 800IBS. Those were factory setups mind you? Current viper (2003 srt-10)suspension is improved ride logistics, but with really really strong springs with zero pressure tires from michelin. The ride is firm, the seats are firm. Needs headers and exaust to make V10 heard!

Report Abuse

Great

homerboy602, 02/22/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My car is great. It's so fast I can't count the numbers of cars I passed. It's got a great look and helps me pick up dates. I love it!

Report Abuse

sweet

Mufasa, 02/28/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the nicest car I have ever had, it is fast, powerful, and a beuty for the eyes and ladies

Report Abuse

sweet car

joshbob, 03/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this car is vary fine in a sport car. This is definitly the car to buy, if you have the money for it. The viper is a geate car for just crusing and if you like speed, this is the car for you

Report Abuse

X-Vette owner

soundman, 04/11/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned a lot of fast cars, mostly Corvettes. Some were stock, but most were pretty highly modified. I found that no matter how much I did to the Vettes they were still just Corvettes and people did not react like they do now when I drive my Viper. Dont get me wrong I love Corvettes and I drove the new 2006 Z06 but the top didn't come off and it looked like a standard Corvette with a body kit. The Viper on the other hand was the car I wish the Corvette had become. It reminds me of a modern version of my '69 427 Stingray, raw power, purely American and in-your-face attitude. Some say the Z06 is faster, maybe it is, maybe it isn't? As for me, I'll be saving up my money for the next Dodge Viper

Report Abuse

Dodge Vipers are awesome!!!

Roy Harrigill, 03/04/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bad to the bone. Got rid of my new Corvette Convertible and bought GTS Viper. In a league all its own. Owns the fast lane. My GTS bone stock runs 7.80 1/8th mile. Dynoed 423 h.p. to the rear wheels and 469 lbs of torque to rear. AWESOME, and truely Americas fastest and badest sports car. King of the road hands down.

Report Abuse

Dodge Viper

TJDADJ, 03/05/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I Purchased My Viper last year and it is one of my most prized possessions. It is very fun to drive and has pretty good milage. I took it to a local track and was amazed by this superior car. It has a good price a high end car for a not so high end price

Report Abuse

Viper

marieshoward, 03/14/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

excellent machine, fun to drive, quick and exciting

Report Abuse

Love my car

RjB, 03/14/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this vehicle for several months now and can only say that while it's not the car for everyone (limited seating and space, not the most comfortable[very stiff but secure ride], not for off road or everyday travel, it's got to be the best sport vehicle on the road for the price and features it offers. I have the srt-10 silver model.

Report Abuse

dodge viper

jettblack0027, 04/08/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

awesome car. I've already had it for a few months and i can't picture riding in any other car... you gotta love it!

Report Abuse

dodge viper rocks

fritz wellman, 04/19/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

it the best sports car in the whole world even compared to a ferrari or a lamborghini

Report Abuse

viper

viper4480, 04/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

its great i love it !!!

Report Abuse

The Viper Experience

viper1821, 04/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the best car that I have ever owned and I think that anyone who wants a nice car that goes fast and is fun to drive should get a viper.

Report Abuse

Pretty Good Car

JayBo, 04/27/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is the best car that I have ever owned. Thank you so much. I can bet money that I could beat any one that pools up next to me. This is an awesome car.

Report Abuse

Great sports car

RobbinConner, 05/07/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Having owned BMW M3's, z06 corvettes, and extensively driven porsche 911's, boxster s's and mercedes sl's, I have never found such a well balanced powerful car. The body stays nicely planted over bumps and easily communicates its limits. Torque out of corners is phenomenal. It does idly roughly and generates noticeable heat at all times. It is noisy but not much worse than other high performance cars. The engine produces lovely moans and growls in hard driving. After reading several reviews criticizing ride harshness, I approached the car with trepidation but have not found it any harsher than the a Boxster S with large tires. Convertible is lovely.

Report Abuse

2fast 2furios

todd williams, 05/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

way fun to drive, especially the way people stare at you when you drive it its really cool.

Report Abuse

I love this car.

Zackattk, 05/09/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the best car in the world!

Report Abuse

White Vipe

steve Gillen, 06/15/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's everything you imagined. You must be careful, It's a tiger, you hold the leash

Report Abuse

EXCELLANT

HANNAH, 06/23/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

IT IS THE FUNEST CAR TO RIDE IN! I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THIS CHOICE OF CAR. THAN

Report Abuse

viper mamba edition

TExarhos, 07/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Viper is truly a fun sports car to drive, gives you the feel of a 67 Vet with real power. It takes a little time to get used to the large tires feeling every contour in the road, but the clutch is easy to handleand the mufflers give off just enough rumble to make this a great car to cruise in. At highway speeds the road noise could be softened up and the speaker placement needs improving but overall I am real happy with the car having driven an NSX,911, and f-348 in the past.

Report Abuse

Vipers rock

Mark Van Erden, 07/07/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Vipers are great cars ! just bad mpg's. great speed same with luxury and design I love vipers!

Report Abuse

I love it

justin fletcher, 07/06/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love it i love it i love it i love it ilove it

Report Abuse

Completely Impractical & Just Right

Mark M. Rankin, 07/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Viper is hot, loud, cramped and difficult to buy if you're married, but it's a heck of a fun car to drive and own. Since buying mine, I can't pass a red light without getting a thumbs up or an admiring nod. Thinking of owning one, don't think -- just buy.

Report Abuse

GORGEOUS CAR!

CentrinoPM94087, 08/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car and i fell in love with it im 17, the fact that this car is assembled by hand is the most beautiful thing about it, such elegance and perfection.

Report Abuse

2004 Snake

Jim Clymer, 10/22/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Can't believe how many times I been ask by others if they can have their picture taken with my Viper

Report Abuse

Best Sports Car Value!

Nowayforya, 09/01/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Power, brakes and handling are excellent. I have never enjoyed any car more than my Viper. If you like driving and want to have a blast, get a Viper!

Report Abuse

Don t Settle For Less

slypops, 11/14/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My oldest son traded an 07 Corvette for this car as he trades cars every few months. No problem. But he sold this car to me way under book just to keep in the family. I had no problem watching the Vette go (and the others) but down deep I knew this car was not leaving. If you didnt have a Shelby Cobra back when, (I didn t, but did have a college roommate with a hi po Ford in a Sunbeam tiger in 1970) this car is your passport to that feeling. And there are not many passports issued. I have a 1970 440 Challenger and I love the exhaust, but it's not the same.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050