Used 2001 Chevrolet Venture Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,355 - $3,997

Used Venture for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great Van

paulie69, 07/19/2014
Value 4dr Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I have now owned my no frills van for 5yrs and have 160K miles on it. It has been very reliable and I have had to do no major work to it, just new tires and tie rod ends last year. It still runs like a new car although I now need to replace the ball joints and the ac stopped working this summer. It isn't fancy and has very few power options but it is the most dependable vehicle I've had and I have always driven imports before. I wish Chevy still made this vehicle.

Report Abuse

A Chevy man

badbob, 11/28/2008
LS 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have never owned a Ford, but that may change. I have never seen an auto with more problems than this one. My wife bought it used and it was back and forth to the shop with one thing after another to b repaired. Now out of warranty it's my job to repair. It tkes more time than the 74 Chevy truck I'm restoring. The electric seat is jammed in the foward position making it impossable to drive. The windows always die in the down position. I drive a car to get from point A to point B as most of us do. The more options the more trouble. I don't need a Dolby surround sound theater, global tracking,or a fuse box with 30 miles of paper thin wires leading to useless options. Are You listening GM?

Report Abuse

So many positives, a few big negatives

Daniel DeLamater, 03/23/2006
LS 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Well, we have been pleased with our car overall. But thank God we purchased the extended warranty. I would not recommend avoiding this van - I would just say get as much warranty as possible. We stopped at 75,000 miles and it wasn't enough. We are about to replace the 2nd hub assembly, we have had gaskets go out, we have had fuel regulators to replace, etc., etc. The utility of this van is excellent. It's roominess, drivability, and overall reliability are positives. Thankfully we had the warranty as long as we did - and that we have a wonderful dealership to work with. Otherwise I might not be so kind.

Report Abuse

It's been good

chevy40, 06/26/2010
Value 4dr Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

It's been good to me and my family, I have had a few problems but nothing the dealership didn't fix right away, but after 250,000 km the transmission is making a horrible clunking sound, hate to get rid of it but I think its time to put her to rest. : ( any suggestions for a new vehicle?

Report Abuse

My HoopTee

Stas , 08/31/2010
Value 4dr Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought her brand new and 10 yrs later still cant kill it. This van has never failed my family or me. Was my wife's daily driver for the first 7 yrs and has been the household beater since. Wiper motor, blower, suspension, steering wheel, radiator was replaced since new. Other than BASIC maintenance and upkeep, this van has been very affordable and worth every Penny spent when bought brand new from the dealer. The 6 cylinder engine is pretty powerful and starts up every single time. My children, now are older, are embarrassed by it but I still drive it daily. Whether it be to work, the mall, the shore, the dump, sporting events etc. It sure was a worthwhile investment from the onset. Thanks GM, I must have gotten a gem. : )

Report Abuse

2001 Chevy Venture Plus

Armstead, 10/31/2006
Plus 4dr Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

The look of the van is the best part. Performance is excellent. Changed the fuel pump and very expensive radiator in the first year of ownership. A great family vehicle. The extended version would have been better for groceries.

Report Abuse

never buy a venture, EVER!!!

lemonloverx7, 01/30/2010
LT 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABC/ABF Package (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

It looks nice but its very unreliable. The back seats are so unfordable! Everyone hates sitting in the back two rows. 3 smalls seats jammed in the second row its not comfortable at all. the fronts seat are okay though. we have had so many problem that I can't even remember all of them. But a few big problems were, intake manifold gasket, oil leaks, leaking anti-freeze, temperature regulator, tail light assembly failure, AC stop working randomly, slipping transmission. The intake manifold gasket seems to be a big problem in chevy! Not a good car at all! The LT has to many features that brake alot. The van only has 124,000 miles on it. my friend has a Subaru with 241,000 and its still going!

Report Abuse

When it starts to go wrong, gets worse

unhappy, 10/26/2009
LS 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Our 2001 Venture has been very well taken care of with regular dealer servicing and low annual milage (about 8500 miles per year). About a year ago, the head gasket started to leak... Since then we had to replace the head gasket, then instrument cluster control module an now - the driver side window mechanism. All in all it about $5000 of repairs on a 8 year old van with about 70K miles on it! Also the dealer - Fisher Chevy in Boulder - treated us very poorly. And the repair cost just snow balled. And now - there is no telling what will be next! Awful reliability and build quality.

Report Abuse

A GREAT VEHICLE!

Diane, 07/15/2005
Warner Bros. 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABE Seats (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The Warner Bros. minivan is a great vehicle. I drive a great deal and am very comfortable with the van's handling and maneuverability. I have had this van 4-1/2 years, and the reliability has been great! I would highly recommend this vehicle. I love this van so much that I intend on keeping it for many, many years to come.

Report Abuse

No More GM (Gouge Me)

Wade Petrishen, 06/24/2006
LT 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABC/ABF Package (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Have replaced by 50000 miles: steering rack, steering pump, LF hub, cyl head gaskets, intake manifold gaskets NEEDS replacing: electronic level control shocks are leaking and should be replaced. Because of the exhorbitant cost I will probably convert the system, even though I like it, to a regular system.

Report Abuse

GM junk

looker, 01/12/2010
LS 4dr Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I love the fact that the van gets great gas mileage for a large vehicle 28.5 mpg on avg. Now for the bad it stays in the shop more than on the road, in 8 months I have had to have a new trany, new head gaskets. I have also had to have numerous other small things fixed.

Report Abuse

Observations

D Webster, 02/26/2002
Plus 4dr Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

As a previous Dodge Caravan owner, I'm happy with the Venture, and find it as good a vehicle as I might have expected from Chrysler. Gas Mileage is good, it has a solid feel, is peppy enough for a minivan, and has a good ride and a good turning radius. It has the standard 3.4 litre, six cylinder engine and automatic transmission.

Report Abuse

Too Many Problems!

Nora, 03/21/2008
LS 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I was happy at first, being that I waited and looked so long for a van. Despite my husband advising me not to buy a van, I did it anyway. First 2 month's in, I had to replace the front brakes and something else with the brakes that was expensive. 4 months later, I had to replace the thermostat. The following summer,I had to replace the whole compartment where my rear lights plug in, it burnt out. Over the months I replaced all the bulbs and the thermostat again. Same year, had to replace the radiator and water pump. 2007 had to replace thermostat again, water pump again, gas gauge went out, cruise control went out. 2008 hose leaking antifreeze which led to a rod blowing, back lights acting weird.

Report Abuse

Love my van!

Ashley, 12/21/2007
Warner Bros. 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABE Seats (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am very impressesd with the overall quality of the vehicle and the ease of use and comfort. It is very quiet while driving, even at high speeds and in wind. I own the Warner Brothers version and with the built in TV and DVD player, it's great. I like the fact that you can control the rear heat and air from both the front seat and back seats. You also have the ability to have the front and back seats on separate radio stations, or the cd player. Great for kids and or driving at night so occupants can sleep but driver can listen to music silently. I love this vehicle!

Report Abuse

This was a great car that I kept up

DSO, 07/13/2009
LS 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I brought this car new. It is 8 years old now and I no longer need a mini van. I never had many problems with it until the A/C died and I got it replaced with GM (China parts) that GM does not even make any more.It died again before the warranty was up and fixed again only to die once more. I really enjoyed this car but the back door hatches are rusting and so is an area on the roof where the roof rack is. The worst thing about this car is the headlights. Very cheap. When it still under warranty and new,I had one headlight replaced because it was holding water. Now they are both foggy and hold water.

Report Abuse

I love my van!

CoolMama, 08/13/2009
LS 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought this van new, and haven't had many problems with it. I think its very comfortable, compared to other vans we considered buying. It has great safety features like the side air bags. After 10 years the a/c compressor is needing replacement, but we've really not had that many major repairs. Just standard wear and tear stuff and some minor annoyances that have nothing to do with its overall performance. I guess we drive it gently and stay on top of maintenance like oil changes and fluid checks, tire rotation, alignments, brakes etc. These things really make a difference in the life of a car. Overall very happy with my purchase, especially since we've been without car pmt for 6 yrs. :)

Report Abuse

Like my chevy

Aray, 09/16/2009
Warner Bros. 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABE Seats (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for a while now... even been a little slack when it comes to maint. on it, but hey, Im a single mom. Anyway, all I have ever had to replace on it was the 2 front wheel hubs and the fuel pump. Not a bad deal for 8 years right?

Report Abuse

Original Owner - 2nd review, No Regrets

Paul C., 05/07/2010
Warner Bros. 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABE Seats (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Our Venture is our weekend and family road/vacation use vehicle. After having owned our Silver WBE Venture for over 9 years now for over 58K miles, overall no regrets though we've had some minor problems. Most were fixed under the 3 year original GM warranty, mainly the leaking intake manifold. The roof still leaks occasionally at the overhead trip computer/compass though not all the time. This was supposedly fixed way back by the dealer under warranty but it's occurred again lately. 1 of the rear power windows does not open fully. 3 of the tires are still the orginal FR 680 Firestones, plan to replace at 70K. Otherwise the paint and finish is like new, still drives and handles great.

Report Abuse

Never Again..

Kowall975, 11/22/2003
LS 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought this car with 7 miles on it and have had nothing but trouble since. All I can say is thank god we bought the extended warrenty. In the last 18 months we have replaced the AC twice. The master locks 3 times, Rear wiper motor fixed, front wiper motors twice. The seals around the doors and windshield. (water gushed in everytime it rained) Also had the Right and left ABS hubs fixed. With that problem came a whole other slew of problems. (ie: Throttle sticking, no brake lights) All in all the engine and ride is great but for a car that is only 2 years old there should not be a bunch a repeat problems. I would not reccomend this veichle to anyone!

Report Abuse

Great family van

catam, 03/17/2004
LS 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned this vehicle for 2.5 years and put almost 50 K miles on it. This has been the best family vehicle I have ever owned. It has been very reliable, with only a couple of minor problems. The gas mileage is superb I average 26 mpg on road trips, and 21-22 around town.

Report Abuse

Excellent Van

ILoveTheVenture, 04/11/2004
Warner Bros. 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABE Seats (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this 2001 Venture with 71k miles on it. We put about 4k miles on it so far and no problems or loss of power despite the high mileage. I merge with 60+ mph highway every morning from a dead stop into heavy traffic with NO PROBLEM. Feels like a car with an impressive turning radius despite the elongated van body. Fits in normal parking spaces too (some big SUVs barely fit). 30 gallon gas tank and good (23mpg) gas mileage means fewer trips to the pump. Seats are top notch, suspension is soft but gives you enough road feel to keep you involved, runs quiet, holds more stuff than I can fill it with, and has a great entertainment system. I love it.

Report Abuse

No More Buy America

Jimmy911, 07/14/2004
Value 4dr Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have this car for just three years and 50,000 miles. I have visited Service Department for 8 times for repair job, the Computer chips, Ac, Left Wheel bearing, Cooling System, Battery Leaking, Air blower, and Ac again. It cost more than $3,000 after the factory warranty was end. I don't think I could handle this kind the troble any more.

Report Abuse

Minivan Comeback

Felix, 04/26/2005
LS 4dr Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great vehicle for family. Handles like a car and good gas economy. Not too sure about the auto-daylights running all the time.

Report Abuse

Next time, not GM

Mark Oveson, 02/01/2005
LS 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is an OK car, but it really is not great. On the plus side, it has never broken down in the middle of Wyoming. But reliability is a real problem. In 65K miles we have replaced the air conditioning condenser ($1300) and a couple of brake rotors. The brakes seem to warp very easily. The car goes out of alignment easily. We have spent $2000+ in unscheduled out-of-warranty maintenance, which is too high for only 30,000 miles over warranty. Trim has a typically cheap GM feel. Styling is ho-hum and unchanged (again) for 2005. I figured I would sell it before it lost all its value. Whoops! Too late! I will buy a Toyota or Honda next time.

Report Abuse

My 2001 Venture

Heavy, 03/23/2003
LS 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this van new in 2001 and have been very pleased with it. I previously had a 96' Plymouth Van and would have to say that the ride in the Venture is far superior. The gas mileage is better as well. I now have 26,000 miles on it and have had no major problems. I did have a couple of minor problems right after I bought it which I and the dealer knew about prior to purchase. The dealer quickly took care of these minor problems. I would have to say that my dealer deserves an A+ rating.

Report Abuse

Maintenance Nightmare

familyGuy, 03/08/2007
Value 4dr Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This has been the worst vehicle I've ever owned. I bought it used at 45k miles. Intake manafold gasket started leaking at 50k miles ($800 dollar repair), transmision went out at 60k miles ($2000), fuel gage stoped working, cd player stoped working, water pump and heater went out...the list goes on. The only good things I'd say is that its comfortable and has good safety features. ..none of which matter if you can't keep it running.

Report Abuse

Chevy Venture

cepressler, 03/26/2002
LS 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This van is great. It is comfortable. Easy to get in and out of. Plenty of space for a family

Report Abuse

Worthy of Consideration

paulc, 04/10/2002
Warner Bros. 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABE Seats (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Too bad to hear of some people's problems with this van. We've had ours almost a year now and over 8K miles with no problems at all. We are happy with its performance and features, very smooth with great handling.Great gas mileage, not the most powerful 6 cyl. mini-van engine available but good enough.

Report Abuse

A nice van

lcabrera, 04/11/2002
LT 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABC/ABF Package (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The power doors, backup alarm and audio components make me very happy that I chose the LT edition. The Venture rides very smooth and gives reasonablly good gas mileage (~20 MPH average over the last 7000 miles) considering.

Report Abuse

Good Job Chevrolet

Kevin , 05/08/2002
Warner Bros. 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABE Seats (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is our first van and Chevrolet. We are comming up to one year of ownership, no problems what so ever. Thats a first for us. The van has nice ride, good gas mileage and tons of useful gadgets. Onstar is a nice safety and security option. Given the high level of satifaction from the van and the dealer we will be buying another Cheverlot product from Mike Shaw in Denver.

Report Abuse

Great Van

Cheesehauler, 07/12/2002
Warner Bros. 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABE Seats (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is our second Venture and we will quite likely buy another. TONS of room, great gas milage, huge gas tank. Power sliding door is great and easy to use.

Report Abuse

Completle Satisfied

Nasir Awan, 09/23/2002
LS 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best value for the Money, in this compatitive market place.Chevrolet service dealer net work is awesome. warranty is good,Roadside assistance always comes handy espacially when you lock your key in the van.My nexy vehicle will be 2002 model.

Report Abuse

Van

ckwalters, 03/13/2002
Plus 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

None

Report Abuse

Buy American

dmille909, 07/11/2003
LS 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great van for price, roomy, great ride, awesome features.

Report Abuse

Overall a very nice van

Laban Cabrera, 10/28/2003
LT 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABC/ABF Package (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall the 2001 Venture has been a pleasure to drive and has been very reliable. The car handles well in all conditions including rain and heavy snow. The interior of the car is a bit flimsy.

Report Abuse

my 2nd venture

ohhutch, 11/27/2003
LS 4dr Ext Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

very roomy and fun to drive

Report Abuse

WB edition

mjlong, 12/15/2003
Warner Bros. 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABE Seats (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We have been very please with our Warner Bros. edition. This is our second Chevrolet venture purchase. It has been very reliable and fun to drive!

Report Abuse

Keeping Me Broke

going broke fast, 01/15/2006
LS 4dr Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the van with 140K on it - salesperson vehicle. No big deal I thought! Ha! Head gastket went in first month (covered under the extended warranty I purchased). A/C didn't work, replaced 3 wheel bearings at $680 each, struts $777, engine light on almost all the time - various things replaced, blower system didn't work - wouldn't switch from one position to another $1000, then wouldn't work in position 1,2 $300. I added it up on Christmas day night and in 2 1/2 yrs I've spent now $7300.00 in repairs! It has been such a HUGE disappointment. I've always been a GM person but no more. Oh ya, gas gauge doesn't work AGAIN - this is the third time and it is a $700 fix!

Report Abuse

Great job for Chevy

stanley, 11/28/2006
Warner Bros. 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABE Seats (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This van is great. It's my first van and I drive it all the time. We drove it to on a 500 mile trip and the seats were very comfortable even for the three kids. We have we only stopped for gas one time and for a break. No back problems driving this van and my wife has back problems. It's very fun to drive on a long trip. I never liked minivans until I got this one. We love it.

Report Abuse

Couldnt be happier

VentureFan, 04/26/2003
Warner Bros. 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABE Seats (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We couldn't be happier with our venture. It gets great gas mileage for such a big vehicle. 27 hwy/21 city. It rides like a car and the kids love watching videos in it. It makes the long trips with 2 boys very pleasurable.

Report Abuse

First Van - So far it's been Good Choice

rjk from SF Bay, 04/23/2003
Warner Bros. 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABE Seats (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Compared everything & narrowed down to this & Honda. The Chevy WB edition had much better bang for the buck. Only complaint is a squeaky door we never had with Honda or Nissan products. Still happy about our choice.

Report Abuse

Don't buy this Van!

Chevy Venture , 03/16/2008
Warner Bros. 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABE Seats (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought this van about 2 1/2 years ago with around 34,000 miles on it. It was very nice for the first year but then things started going wrong with it such as brakes needed replacing, tires wearing out too early, alignment off, sound system acting strange, video stopped working, doors not closing right. But the worst part is six weeks ago the transmission went bad and we replaced it for $2600! But it gets worse. Three weeks later the head gasket blew which is another $2000. With only 80,000 miles on this van, I am very disappointed. We've owned estate wagons for years and never had to put money like this into them. My advice, buy foreign never American. Don't ever buy a Chevrolet.

Report Abuse

GREAT FAMILY CAR

teecee, 07/01/2003
Warner Bros. 4dr Ext Minivan w/ABE Seats (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

THIS VAN IS GREAT FOR KIDS. IT COMES WITH FLIP DOWN SCREEN. THEY CAN WATCH MOVIES OR PLAY VIDEO GAMES. PLENTY OF ROOM. PLENTY OF "PEP" IN THE MOTOR AREA. GOOD LOOKING CAR! WORTH THE EXTRA MONEY (FROM THE REGULAR VENTURES).

Report Abuse

Will miss when gonr

Mike Markusic, 04/03/2018
LS 4dr Minivan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Engine repair difficult because of mounting for do it yourself mechanics. Headlight assemblies fill with moisture.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050