Used 1999 Chevrolet S-10 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,895 - $3,962

Used S-10 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Bullet-proof engine and tranny, but....

hamhock, 11/15/2011
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

I've owned this truck for 8+ years and am generally happy with it. I replaced the alternator in 2006, but the biggest problem has been the fuel pumps. As of 2011, the truck is on its 3rd fuel pump. Local mechanic says Chevy/GMC fuel pumps burn out every 5 years or so, and as the fuel tank needs to be dropped (or bed removed), it is a very expensive ($700-$1200) repair due to labor costs. Recently, an exhaust manifold bolt failed due to corrosion, but it was a quick and easy fix. Overall, this truck is pretty solid. It's old, but the engine, clutch and transmission have been trouble-free. It would cost too much to replace, so a few hundred bucks a year sure beats a monthly car payment.

Report Abuse

Love this truck!

Budget Tuners, 12/27/2006
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

This is a truck I have wanted for a while now and I finally got it back in Aug of '06. I got a '99 with the 2.2 5speed and I love it. I put an intake and exhaust. Sounds great, runs great. Power for the mods I have on it aren't bad. Looking to get more out of it soon but all and all a great truck to customize. A lot of parts that change out and soon I'm going to lower it a bit and put rims and tires on it. Love this truck. Best truck I have had

Report Abuse

IMPRESSED TOTALLY

RANCE H. GREGORY, 02/27/2003
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

THE 1999 CHEVROLET S-10 I HAVE HAD FOR THE PAST 4 YEARS IS A FUN WELL, WELL BUILT AND A GOOD PERFORMER WITH THE 4.3 V6. I STILL ENJOY GETTING IN IT EACH DAY AND DRIVING IT. IT IS THE 1ST NEW VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED THAT I STILL LIKE IT AS MUCH AS WHEN I FIRST PURCHASED IT,

Report Abuse

4th S-10

Dale, 06/05/2010
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Great truck, no complaints, no break downs, this truck had over 270,000 highway miles and nothing other than tires, brakes shoes, and fluids replaced. sporty look, and great color code for 99.

Report Abuse

LOVE this truck

Serrano, 09/25/2016
2dr Regular Cab SB
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck about 11 years ago. It has been a lifesaver. Four years ago on a crowded super fast highway that ran through town some maniac going 90+ tried to run my truck and a small SUV off the road. The two of us sideswiped each other and the perpetrator got away BUT my little truck did not spin out of control or tip over. It could have. Both vehicles and all occupants were safe and sound and all I got was a 4-inch dent and a lost side mirror (replaced that). The flexibility of this truck has been phenomenal. I plan on (when the time comes) to simply put a new engine in it. But so far, no need. Two weeks ago I easily (for me) replaced the pulse switch board for the wiper blades but that in essence was all. It is good on oil. I take care of it; give it regular maintenance check ups. No major issues. Yes, did have an alternator fail a month ago but the original alternator was already 17 years old. The paint job has held up too. I did have some AC issues that were handled by two different mechanics but given how heavily I use that part, totally understandable. This truck has been a workhorse in every sense of the word. It is my main commuting truck now and I used to use it for my job which required 30-40K miles of driving annually. It is a stick shift and for that reason I can scoot out of the way when I need to. One update: windshield wipers kept dying on me so I researched it on You Tube and got a 21.00 part and replaced it myself. All good now. Did have to replace the clutch a few months ago due to materials fatigue but that only cost 250. Other than that I get regular oil changes and it keeps on running just great.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Favorite truck

uncle dave, 06/08/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Bought with 89k miles on it. Now pushing 128. Only problems other than general maint. were universal joint at 110k and tps at 127k.Have had more people comment on this truck than my BMW.With 4 cyl. it's no hot rod, but it gets me to work every day without fail and averages 21-22 mpg around town. Will drive it till it dies or I do.

Report Abuse

A nice truck for the money

e8retired91, 07/20/2002
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I owned this truck for 35 months and never had a mechanical problem, rattle, or anything...period. It looks sharp and gets considerable attention from young folks. However, because the suspension is lowered 2 inches from the factory and comes with wide (235) tire it does ride rough even for a truck. The 4.3L, 180HP V-6 has a fair amount of power but it's not a drag racer; it's more like a boulevard cruiser. The extended cab is a nice feature with the 3rd door, but don't expect anybody to sit back there for very long...just use it to stow your stuff. This truck doesn't pretend to be anything but a minimal factory custom and I enjoyed it for a few years.

Report Abuse

Little truck that could

Ridinforever, 05/30/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have abused this truck with off-roading, burnouts and aggressive street use, hauling up to 1700 lbs and towing 5000 lb trailers. I have 165k and stills runs the same as when I got it. I only changed out the seats cause those were the worst things that came with the truck. I am glad I bought this truck.

Report Abuse

2 cents worth

BriD, 03/16/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Five yrs owned, have been super pleased with reliability and comfort. Well over 100k now and only cat cvtr. and TPS sensor replaced. Gets 19/26 real-world mpg. 4cyl gets you up to speed if you rev it high enough. Would definitely look for V6 if you plan any hauling or commute using freeways. Ride is rough with ZQ8 suspension and doesn't really give you above and beyond cornering abilities. Softer shocks help if you don't mind the more freqent bottom outs. Cabin:spacious. I'm well over 6ft/200# with plenty of headroom and side room. Ergonomics good. Minor knock: spark plug wires a headache to change. Overall:Unique look, sharp but basic truck with outside speedy look.

Report Abuse

S10 - Midsize Dream Truck

abottorf, 04/28/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've always wanted a Chevy. I haven't been disappointed. Don't get me wrong, I have nothing against my Ranger, its a sharp truck. But the S10 is built like a tank but rides like a car. I love it!

Report Abuse

Great Truck!

Chris, 03/03/2019
LS 2dr Regular Cab LB
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Purchased new, driven daily 315k before Head Gasket went. Put another used motor in, now has 392k still going. WOW!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Mule

The Mule, 09/01/2010
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Fairly well buit truck although I like Ford. Everything with this truck is well build and fairly easy to take care of and operate.Also the v6 vortec. Easy to control larger 2-3 horse, horse trailers.

Report Abuse

This one's a keeper

Jo Momma, 09/27/2004
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Im not rich, so I looked for something reasonable. The S-10 has satisfied me in all aspects save for one. Its smooth lines give it a sporty look, and with a few minor engine adjustments give it a rumble and growl that lead many to believe it is a V-8. The black interior glistens in the sun when I give it its weekly Armor All treatment (the only for the interior complaint is that in california heat you need breathable seats. Finally my truck may sound like a V-8 but really it is a V-4, the only thing keeping me here is the fact that it is a stick shift otherwise this vehicle would be way too slow.

Report Abuse

To bad they stopped making them.

VTorres, 11/01/2005
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I was looking for a basic 4wd compact pickup truck with 36k miles or less with a v6 for under $10k. After 40k miles I have had zero problems with it. I get 19-21 mpg. It uses no oil.

Report Abuse

Best small truck

DECline, 04/13/2003
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

It was sad to see it go...

Report Abuse

Great Truck

cbb8490, 04/30/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought by S-10 new and have put 90,000 miles on it in 3 years.I have put this truck through some hard driving and have had no problems at all. With the 2.2L I obvioulsly don't have the power but I knew that before I bought the truck. The only problem I have had is the reclining lever has broke on both seats but that seems to be the case with most reviews, I agree this should be a recall and GM should replace the contraption all together. But an overall great ride and dependable. The is my 2nd S-10 I also had a '97 that I put 60,000 miles on. I would not hesitate to buy another. But I think I will go with the 4.3L next time.

Report Abuse

Not Great

400Degreez, 07/07/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have a 1999 Chevrolet S/10 Sport...I think the looks are nice..but mine is falling apart..like the others said, the seat lever broke with so little force..and I have had sum problems with the engine.

Report Abuse

Fun little truck

Z Man, 08/06/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great winter and summer truck fuel mileage is decent, great trade off for the power and take off overall awesome truck!

Report Abuse

Xochitl's Review

Ofelia Arellano, 08/12/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have been satisfied with performance.

Report Abuse

My 1999 S10

Dean Maropoulos, 11/26/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle 0n September 29, 2002 as a used vehicle. I noticed a few drops of oil on the garage floor and first thought it was from the dealer oil change from the filter. But it has persisted and gotten larger. I took it back to the dealer today to see if it is a main seal leak. The truck has just 56,000 miles on it.

Report Abuse

S-10 Extreme

Zelmo, 03/31/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The S-10 extreme has been an exceptional vehicle for it's price range. I have put 34000 miles on it since buying it used in 2000. It has only had to have new front brake pads and noting else other than oil changes and filters. It is loaded with accessories and has been great for the price range it is in. It looks great and the interior has held up well. The only problem at all with the vehicle is that it has a 4 cyl. motor that is some what under powered for all the othe features of the vehicle.

Report Abuse

1999 and here it is still running in 2017

Jaywil, 05/24/2017
LS 2dr Extended Cab Stepside SB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

First off. Cheap plastic . Alot of the truck inside is cheap "snappable" plastic inlcuding the console which has a fix available online. The engine compartment also has a decent amount of cheap plastic. Especially above cooling fan and around radiator. However , my gas mileage is great, only big fix is a new fuel tank , fuel neck and fuel pump_ also new flywheel_ starter alternator_ brake light lens and that's about it. Had rear main seal replaced while flywheel was changed. Truck is pretty damn reliable after only having it over two years and it being a used vehicle. Almost 199k miles at the moment and I've had it since about 178k (At 218k she is still running for being 20 years old or so.) Body rot and patches to cover it to make it pass inspection. However she just passed inspection despite not being pretty. Safety only counts but , she still runs for being old and reliable. Maybe not pulling uphill the fastest but, you'll get there at 4 cylinders. *Body rots as well as frame quicker with New England road salt. *Truck old as hell but, still chugging along. *The interior will always be cheap plastic but,somehwhat comfy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

No regrets, but one...

hishiad, 06/14/2008
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I got this truck basically as a gift since I had been driving the cheapest thing we could fine when I start back on my associates degree. My parents were kind enough to pay for the truck (no complaints there!). Anyway I've had the truck over a year now and drove it daily. A few complaints I've had could be the reliability or the fact the previous owner didn't take too well care of the truck. First the seats I absolutely hate the adjustable handles are flimsy (both have been broken off completely!) and the material has ripped easily as well. It's the 4.3 vor-tec so it'll fly. I've no problem with how it drives, other than issues with break downs.

Report Abuse

My truck

Gilgal, 11/07/2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I replaced the rear end twice in the first year I owned it. I have had the have the third door hand replaced and it is broken again. Neither of the seats recline anymore, both handles broke.

Report Abuse

been great for me

mikal2, 07/11/2004
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck new. It fits my needs well. The truck has been back to the dealer twice for minor repairs, one muffler and one hyd.line. It averages 22mpg consistently, and will get 26+ in extended highway driving. I have used Amsoil since the first oil change,and have experienced no oil loss to note. I did have to replace the radio in 2002, when the cd player quit working. The lever for the driver's side seatback broke shortly after purchase, due to poor design, and inferior materials. Overall, I have been satisfied with it.

Report Abuse

This Ain't Like The Old S-10's

MGDguy, 04/28/2003
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've have owned a '89 S-10 Reg Cab 4cyl/5spd, a '91 S-10 Reg Cab 4cyl/5spd, and now a '99 S-10 Ext Cab 6cyl/5spd, and by far I liked the two older ones the best. The '99 I've owned for only 9 months and I already want to get rid of it. Sqeaks and rattles while driving down the street, not to mention the automatic headlights, the radio that stays on after the ignition is turned off, and the interior light that comes on after removing the ignition key are too much. Plus the fact that the newer S-10 are cheaply built. This is by far the worst S-10 I've owned. Do yourself a favorite if you want a S-10 buy one that's pre-94.

Report Abuse

This Ain't Like The Old S-10's

boogerathome, 04/28/2003
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've have owned a '89 S-10 Reg Cab 4cyl/5spd, a '91 S-10 Reg Cab 4cyl/5spd, and now a '99 S-10 Ext Cab 6cyl/5spd, and by far I liked the two older ones the best. The '99 I've owned for only 9 months and I already want to get rid of it. Sqeaks and rattles while driving down the street, not to mention the automatic headlights, the radio that stays on after the ignition is turned off, and the interior light that comes on after removing the ignition key are too much. Plus the fact that the newer S-10 are cheaply built. This is by far the worst S-10 I've owned. Do yourself a favorite if you want a S-10 buy one that's pre-94.

Report Abuse

Will Never Get Another Chevy

Michael, 12/13/2009
2 of 7 people found this review helpful

My favorite thing about this truck was selling it! It was a "nice" looking truck, but every time I took it in for a relatively simple thing, several other problems would always emerge. Truck was always well taken care of. At 80000, I had to replace the starter. The seat lever handles had broken off (common), and the center console was smashed in. At about 90,000 miles, I had to take it in to get the transmission rebuilt. At 100,000 miles, it needed new a new idler arm on the drivers side and a set of new shocks. At 110,000, had to replace rear shocks again, replace cross link, and valve cover. The truck got poor mileage and was totally GUTLESS! Low horsepower. Happy to sell is last week!!

Report Abuse

S 10 are too avg.

Saint79, 03/12/2004
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

The truck is extremely boring! The engine lacked power, the stereo lacked umph, and I just don't like the way the look.

Report Abuse

good little truck

g.may, 03/31/2003
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I HAVE DROVE FORD RANGERS OVER THE PAST 15 YEARS AND THIS TRUCK IS BY FAR THE FASTEST AND BEST RIDING TRUCK I HAVE OWNED.THE 4WD IS GREAT FOR SNOW AND GOOD IN THE MUD.THE STORAGE BEHIND THE SEAT IS GOOD FOR TOOLS AND SMALL ITEMS(NOT FOR ADULTS).GETS AROUND 20MPG AROUND TOWN.

Report Abuse

Glad I have another truck that runs

j willey, 09/01/2006
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

With less than 100,000 miles and already on its second motor and needing a transmission, I am very dissapointed with the quality of this truck. The mechanicals are poor, the ride is not bad, the interior falls apart and has more rattles than a box of nails. I am afraid to put the windows down after having them work going down every time but a guessing game when going back up.

Report Abuse

To the Xtreme

bigjr_fan, 11/29/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It took me awhile to find an xtreme in my area with the right color and engine combo (for me: black, 4.3, 5 speed) but once I found it I was very happy with almost every aspect of the truck. I have made several modifications to the engine and interior to boost performance. I would'nt recommend this vehicle for a daily driver, rather a weekend toy.

Report Abuse

S-10

Jason Lieu, 01/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ive owned my s-10 for about 7 months and i really enjoy it. I have done a few mods and it really makes me enjoy it alot more. Although with most new vehicles There is to much brakable plastic.Also to do any engine work is really a pain that needs alot of special tools, which gets annoying but after your done it the day is over.

Report Abuse

Excellent first 90,000 miles

dbf1999, 02/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my S10 for 4 years now and have put over 90,000 miles on it. I needed a brake job ($190) at around 70,000 miles...and that's it! It has been very reliable. This truck is perfect for a teenager (I was 17 when I got mine) or someone buying their first vehicle.

Report Abuse

I LOVE my Truck!

malinche, 07/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought it based on the 3rd door and the color (indigo blue)--yeah, it is a "girl" thing, but I am from a true Chevy family (5 Chevy cars, truck, SUV's from the same dealer) and my getting it was no-brainer. I live in the Bay Area and the V6 has served me well go up and down hills. I drive A LOT to SoCal and it is a comfortable drive. I've have had no maintenance problems other then normal wear and tear. I will buy another truck.

Report Abuse

Best vehicle I've ever owned

Great Truck, 05/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great looking and performing vehicle. I get a lot of compliments on its looks and also on its offroad abilities. No mechanical problems of any kind. No squeaks or rattles - tows and hauls everything I've thrown at it.

Report Abuse

S10

KRC, 06/05/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The interior seat adjustment levers both broke with normal use. Other than that built well and very reliable.

Report Abuse

Extreme!

2Extremeforu, 07/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my truck 99 Chevy s-10 pickup extreme extended cab stepside If anyone is looking for a truck and still wants something sporty this is the truck for u!

Report Abuse

S10 Xtreme - Extremly frustrating

Delfim, 03/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

S10 Xtreme has the worst quality I have ever seen on a car. A mosquito is enough to break the body paiting. The suspension makes noises since first the day I've got the car from the dealer (0 miles).

Report Abuse

Not Much Trouble

fabiant, 03/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had very little trouble with this vehicle. I have had it for three years and the only thing I can honestly say that I didn't like was that the seat lever for moving the seats forward and back broke several times with minimal force on them. Once while under warrenty and both sides broke after warrenty period. They make them out of pot metal and that stuff is worthless!! I think the levers should have been a recall item!

Report Abuse

1999 S-10 ZR-2 5-Speed

Very Pleased, 03/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned. Zero defects from the factory and a grand total of ONE in three years. I liked it so much I bought a ZR-2 Blazer for my girlfriend.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050