Used 2002 Chevrolet Astro Minivan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,839 - $4,692

Used Astro for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

This is one great van! Bring it back!

Ron, 01/07/2009
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I have owned four of the Astro series and one Safari van since '96. I've had only good experiences with them. Maybe I apprciate its comfort level, driveability and road feel because I don't expect this truck to drive like a luxury sedan. My Astros gave me better mileage than any pickups I've driven from time to time (including the big new Toyotas), yet with much bigger enclosed hauling space for my tools, lumber, etc., with the seats out. Then, when you need it, unlike a pickup, it's a great people mover too. And, as far as the styling goes, a nicely detailed 2002 Astro looks better than anything else out there. I'm keeping this one!

Report Abuse

Satisfied

Mike, 08/19/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Purchased vehicle as a rental return. I need AWD because I sell property in the mountains and occasionally go off road. Clients are always comfortable. Currently has 180K miles, mostly reliable, minimal repairs have been needed. Gas mileage in the mountains averages 13-14 MPG. 18-20 MPG on the road.

Report Abuse

2002 Astrovan

Jed Depew, 07/16/2006
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I purchased an Astrovan due to its vast cargo capacity and some advice from a mechanic I know. While the engine and drive train has been good it seem likes everything else has a problem. Small things break on a regular basis and are a pain to repair. Door handles, door locks, rear seats, windshield, lights front and rear, etc.

Report Abuse

Astro Snow Mobile

D-Mac, 12/31/2015
LS AWD 3dr Minivan (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

bought the astro w 130,000 mi. 3yrs ago. 160know. Replaced a jeep cherokee with it and so happy with our choice. More cargo and smoother ride. Mine is not a soccer mom mobil. It's the Toy Box. And I have a long playlist. Take one seat out. still seat 5 comfortably. and put 5 bikes in the back. Or skis or snowboards... climbing gear... windsurf/kitesurf rigs... or a mixture of them all. In the winter move the seat to the back row and you have a nice space to put ski boots on or have lunch between snowkite sessions or sleep in it..rear heat works great. No need for a rocket box. but it has factory racks so easy to do if needed. Hook up a trailer and pull 4 dirt bikes or two snowmobiles no worries. Right now its winter and this van loves it. So stable on ice and snow. Good tires of course do help a lot. We ski little cottonwood cny and chase wind for snowkiting so often driving in blizzards. Its weight is well proportioned to its size and make it a smooth reliable snow mobile. The gears work awesome. Just put it in 1st or 2nd on steep snowy downhills and you barley need to use the brakes. I work on the great salt lake, if it's not stormy, and have to commute across a 15 mile dirt road which gets icy, horribly washboarded, and rutted this time of year. Set the cruz control at 45 and let the S-10 chassy do the work. although i have had to replace fuel pump and catalytic converter, normal stuff for its age, affordable parts and minimal labor made it no big deal. I recommend this van to all fun hogs... especially snow lovers.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Sad to see them go

Donn, 03/18/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Our 4th Astro, obviously we like them. A-B'b the Caravan, Aerostar & Astro when we were in the market for a small van in 1985. Thought the Astro was the best choice then, still do now. Sorry they're no longer made

Report Abuse

Poor Stepchild to the Suburban

KVD, 12/10/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Got the LS AWD (with leather and every available option) for family trips. No aftermarked flip-down video made for the model. Owned vehicle 6 months and has been in the shop 7 times, once to re-attach the gas tank! Rattles like garbage truck and parts coming apart on the interior. Had a 93 Astro that we drove all over the US with no problems. Get the impression that all the attention goes into SUV design and production. This could be a great vehicle.

Report Abuse

Astro is a strong minivan

Mike, 04/08/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is our second Astro. The first one was destroyed in a side-impact collision by a drunk driver. The impact was so hard it flipped the van over onto it's roof and spun it around the intersection. No serious injuries to my wife and children, just small cuts from broken glass. Astro vans are built on a truck frame, and are durable, strong, and can almost drive like a pickup. It's been on many a campout with my son's scout troop. If you're thinking about buying a minivan, and need durability, strength, and space, get an Astrovan.

Report Abuse

Don't Buy It!

fire44, 12/02/2006
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

Unless you have a large family and you intend to tow more than the typical mini-van will allow, don't buy one. With just 35,000 mi. I'm already having mechanical problems. We've replaced the ignition, "U" joint and the water pump. There is something else that is making noise under the hood that I haven't tracked down yet and the front end will need work in the very near future. It gets poor fuel economy when compared to other mini-vans and really is not a comfortable vehicle to drive.

Report Abuse

It was time to stop making this model

Mr P, 08/26/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This van was a good fit for my needs at the time, It can tow medium size loads, and is OK in comfort. The engine box should be pushed forward some. Cargo space is great, if you remove the third row seat, which is a chore for one person.

Report Abuse

Chevy, make another!

Jason, 04/25/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We purchased our '02 because we owned a '91 & my wife loved being up higher than a typical minivan. It was barely used when we bought it & it had everything we wanted. The biggest improvement over the older one was the rear dutch doors. It's a system that makes complete sense. The adjustability of the bench seats is tremendous, allowing ample leg room for an adult in the back if neccessary. Try having an adult in the back of a Caravan; they may decide to walk! The only thing I needed to change was the factory rims & tires; looked really soft for such a tough truck (and it is a truck!). We love our Astro van and plan on keeping it for years to come

Report Abuse

It keeps going and going and...

Knuckles, 07/20/2017
LS Rwd 3dr Minivan (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Over 300,000 miles on the original engine and transmission. My wife has been through 3 Odysseys since Ive had my Astro. Who says America can't build cars that last?

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2002 Astro Conversion

hope46, 07/07/2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

The only things I don't really like about this van are the turning radius, which isn't as tight as the Voyager we used to have, and how difficult it is to back up at night, because we have dark tinted windows, and the seats are quite high, making it difficult to see. It's a great traveling van, the back seat folds down to a bed, and it has nice blinds on the windows. It gets better mileage that we thought it would, averaging 20 mpg. I've gotten 24 mpg with it on the interstate. We'll keep this until it falls apart on us; we're quite happy with it.

Report Abuse

3 Astros and Counting

Moms on her 3rd, 06/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Well, I am on my third Astro Van. I literally cried we I was told I had to give the 1st one up at 100,000. Then the second one at 107,000 miles. Today in our throw-away world its nice to know there are somethings still dependable. I carry alot of children around and the ruggedness of this vehicle is unbelieveable. My only suggestion would be for Chevy to ask mothers what changes they would make. The rear windows opening is a very good point.Other than that I hope they keep making this model.

Report Abuse

A minivan that works like an SUV

cgoetz, 06/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We had owned a '90 Plymouth Grand Voyager, and liked its large interior, but didn't like its reliability. The Astro has at least as much room, but has been perfectly reliable so far, and has a lot more power. We enjoy camping, but never dared take our pop-up into the mountains with the Plymouth. The Astro does a nice job of taking us and our stuff wherever we want to go. The old van was good on snow, but the Astro is something else altogether - it is diffucult to make it slip even when you try. I'd recommend it to anyone who has an active family.

Report Abuse

Old reliable

Alex Rose, 12/31/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Chevy has left the challenge in place for any other manufacturer to put as much value in a van as the Astro. It may be an old design, but it continues to fill a niche in the NA market. The room, fuel mileage and towing are great! The styling may seem boxy, but when you are looking for reliability, you cannot beat this combination.

Report Abuse

Great Van

Androog, 03/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This van is a work horse. It is a great compromise on driveability, size, comfort, economy, and trailering ability. It drives like a car. The all wheel drive is incredible, the astro van sticks to an all ice road like a goat. This is our second, and we feel there simply is not another product on the market like it.

Report Abuse

Much more than a mini-van - SUV killer

flyingdutchman01, 02/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd Astro, a 2002 LS model. I hope that GM comes to its senses and redesignes the ASTRO. There is no other package like it on the road - good cargo and towing ability and room for my family and still has room for more stuff behind the 3rd row!). Mid- sized SUVs scrunch a 3rd row (if you can even get it in the highest costs models) right up against the back glass. Full sized SUVs cost 10-15k more and drink more fuel with no more space. This is a great package. GM - you've redesigned the s-10 replacement. Now its time to do the same for the ASTRO!

Report Abuse

chevy astro

boyd6577, 01/24/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have really enjoyed our astro for almost 2 years, now and would recommend it to anyone with more than 2 children. it is very comfortable, and reliable

Report Abuse

Astro better than SUV for my family

cmaricle, 09/09/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The astro is much better than the Suburban for my family, much better accessability between rows when dealing with kids. Hey, its not sexy but its a good ride.

Report Abuse

time to retire it?

roger c, 03/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Pros: I like the way it looks, tougher than the typical mini-van. Torquey engine feels powerful, accelerates nicely. Seats 8, not 7 like many others. Dutch door is convenient. Cons: Those wheel. The seats don't fold down and out of the way and weigh a ton if you want to remove them. Storage bins, etc., seem like stuff glued into a cargo van- feel like my kids will snap them off at any minute. Back seat hard to get into. Dual sliding doors not available.

Report Abuse

Great Combination

Moms Green Machine, 03/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Vortec 4300 V6 Engine All-Wheel Drive w/Locking rear differential and 3.73 axel ratio. Test drove this van because my husband asked and I am glad he made the suggestion. This van has more leg room in the rear seats and is very easy to get in and out. Our family loves the split-folding leather bench seats. More room inside with a shorter van.I like being higher then the oncoming headlights. The power of a truck with the luxury of a mini-van. I couldn't have asked for a better combination.

Report Abuse

this is the family vehicle

momwithkids, 01/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We are on our second Astro. We love the room, comfort & ease of movement, (important when you have to get back to little kids in car seats quickly no center console to trip over). Most of all we found that this van is reliable, powerful easy drive, sits high for great visibility. Lots of cargo room. There isn't a minivan that can compare! It is like an SUV w/minivan price w/better gas mileage and manuverability. Astros are only for the economically minded who need a reliable work horse to tote a family.

Report Abuse

Astro Review

Houstonastro, 03/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I found this vechicle to be very reliable. After 2 years of service, only the original battery has failed. For my purpose it has served me well in hauling boy scouts for campouts as well as family vacations. I selected the Astro van over other mini-vans because it is on a truck frame, the usable interior space & seating, and the superior gas milage compared to SUV's with comparable interior space.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050