Skip to main content

Used 2012 Buick Enclave SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$15,590 - $20,998

Used Enclave for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...7

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
3 out of 5 stars

Oh, how we loved you, until you let us down

Kevin E., 05/22/2018
2012 Buick Enclave Leather Group 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
101 of 103 people found this review helpful

We were so happy to get our Buick Enclave 2 years ago. It rides very nice. It is quiet. The seats are comfortable. It is easy to drive. While on a trip out west, we noticed the engine feels underpowered with 4 people and luggage traveling through the Rocky Mountains. It struggled going up some hills. All was well though until we hit 68000 miles. It started with the engine shutting off while driving. The power steering went out when this happened making it very difficult to try and steer to get off the road. After this happened 3 times in 2 days, we took it to the dealership. The power steering pump needed replaced, the timing chain needed replaced, and a cam shaft was bad. This came to around $12000. Thank God we purchased an extended warranty when we bought it. It was all covered except for the deductible. After going through that, the vehicle then started making a strange noise whenever we would turn the wheel. The brake booster is also going out. At this point, we decided to trade it in on a new GMC Acadia. I strongly recommend if you buy a used one to purchase an extended warranty. They are known for having timing chain issues (which I did not know when I bought it).

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Advertisement
Also Consider
2 Offers Near Ashburn, VA
Check out current offers on the Buick Envision
View Offers
Buick.com
*The Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. Click here to see all Buick vehicles’ destination freight charges.

1 out of 5 stars

Sorry, Buick... one and done!

G Tornatore, 04/19/2017
2012 Buick Enclave Leather Group 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
80 of 84 people found this review helpful

Like the aesthetics and functionality of our 2012 Buick Enclave very much, however cannot recommend due to drivetrain major failures. Water pump failed at 75k miles. Engine and transmission failures at only 90k miles. 4 months ago (Jan. '17), had a fuel injector failure... GM service tech strongly suggested that all 6 by replaced at same time ($2400). OK,..happens. However, just diagnosed with a failing transmission (torque converter & transmission) in April '17. Cost to install a new transmission by GM... $5200. That's it,.. at only 90k miles on a 5 year old, well maintained vehicle...I'm out. No confidence in the Enclave reliability....shame.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

My first BUICK ENCLAVE

mike, 10/23/2017
updated 11/02/2022
2012 Buick Enclave Leather Group 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
53 of 56 people found this review helpful

IF you decide to buy one then make sure that you have it checked out completely before. you buy . Original owners almost never keep maintenance records . I bought one with 95000 miles on it and it needed a lot of work done because the first owner neglected to take care of the mechanical issues . The Lexus dealer in cool springs was supposed to do a 141 inspection on it according to their list sheet . I found too many things they overlooked and did not mention on the sheet. Tire where bald, front brakes down to the metal, rear brakes almost the same, brake, antifreeze, power steering, and transmission fluids never had been changed .... Front motor mount was leaking oil , engine missing at low speeds and needed plugs . Battery was 6 years old and not holding a charge very good .. After spending around 4000.00 to bring it up to speed I an now be safe to travel in it .. Gas mileage is about 18-20 in town and almost 24 on highway . I liked the vehicle because it's very comfortable . But the Lexus dealer of cool springs did not prepare it like their inspection said when they did it ... i would never buy from them again because of their dishonesty about the vehicle .. they do not care about their customers safety with any used car they sell.. Well it's been a few years now and the SUV is still going strong with the right man behind the maintenance . I take trips in it all the time . Gas mileage is about the same as before. Still rides like a new one but it finally lost that new car smell . No one rides in the back most of the time because mostly now it's just me and the dog and she rides in the front seat . She sleeps most of the time when traveling . All the gages still work properly and the radio as well but the Navigation has went out .. the dealership wants almost 3,000.00 to change it out now .. It's a real shame for this nice car to be with out one but I have my cell phone I use most to the time and it does good. If your planning on buying one then go for it .. Mine now has 122,800 miles on it and runs really great . The dealership has been hounding me to death about buying it back as they are really low on used cars but they don't want to give you much for it . I keep her to the wheels fall off I guess and change them out for some new ones . In closing I might say that most of these older ones can get as much as 300 to 400 thousand miles out of the before anything really major has to be done . Just do the regular maintenance and keep track of it and you won't be sorry . "The car was a good investment for me . Update ; The car is now 10 years old .. The Enclave is still running good .. Just got back from a long trip to Orlando for vacation and went to put it away for the day and then the check engine light came on .. After a few weeks I got an appointment to have it looked at and they found a Fuel Rail Sensor had went bad .. the bad thing was where it was located and that was under the manifold . cost to fix was almost 780.00 dollars .. It was the high pressure sensor that was failing .. Now it also has a low pressure sensor but according to my mechanic that one tested out just fine like a few things that they had tested . All in all it's been a very good car .. A good friend of man named Stan who works for a Honda Dealership said he had one and the transmission went out on him around 150,000 miles .. I hope that is not the case with mine . I love the ride and the fuel mileage is about 24 miles to the gallon on a trip using cruise control set at about 70 to 75 MPH .. I will say that since replacing the fuel rail sensor it sure made a difference in the get up and go power that the car has now .. I am hoping I can get another 150,000 out of it before it has any more problems . I tried to trade it in the other day for a newer model car but the NADA book value on it was very poor . It still looks very good . the seats still heat and cool like they should and everything works like it should except the navigation .. that's ok though I got my cell phone and use it if I need to see where I'm going ..

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.13 out of 5 stars

Enjoying the car, but the milage is horrible

sirk2, 01/31/2013
2012 Buick Enclave Leather Group 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

We purchased our Enclave in July 2012. After 5 seat cars, we are really enjoying the space and can now carpool with others and bring the dog on trips. I wanted captains chair in 2nd row and 3 spaces in 3rd, and most SUV's can't do that. It could always use another USB port but we juggle just fine. My only major complaint so far is the milage. This winter it has been averaging 16.4 miles per gallon. This thing chews through gas like you wouldn't believe. Over the summer, it was slightly better, but we were doing more highway traveling. With nothing but metro driving, it is sobering how much we are spending on fuel. Clearance is ok, but check measurements - this is lower than hoped.

Report Abuse

4.38 out of 5 stars

Great Lease Deal

lasvegasrph, 05/05/2013
2012 Buick Enclave Convenience Group 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
34 of 37 people found this review helpful

Took delivery of a 2012 Buick Enclave Convenience FWD in Cyber Grey/Ebony Cloth interior in Oct. 2012. The lease deal was way to good to pass up. Paying $333/mo for a $39,200 SUV with free Onstar, free maint, free XM radio for the whole 24mo lease! The Enclave is BIG, it drives BIG, goes down the road BIG. Power is ample for a heavy SUV and the 6sp automatic shifts very well to get you moving. Its got style, function, and looks. Very QUIET and chews up miles with ease. The MPG could be better (I am getting 17 city and only 20-21 HWY) but its only got 5,000 miles on it. Driver and passenger comfort are great, love the middle captains chairs, and 3rd row is fine for 2 adults or 3 kids.

Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page: