Skip to main content
12345...9

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2013 A5, so we've included reviews for other years of the A5 since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

A5 Convertible is a delightful year-round driver!

Tim Moore, 01/18/2016
updated 01/27/2023
2013 Audi A5 2.0T Premium Plus quattro 2dr Convertible AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
55 of 56 people found this review helpful

My 2013 Audi A5 has been a delight to own. The car is incredibly functional with all wheel drive, comfortable interior, great looks and good fuel economy. The convertible works effortlessly, and it is incredibly quiet with the top up, as well as warm during the winter. The attention to detail is exceptional with high quality materials and options that will impress most drivers. The car is very competent on the road at high speeds, but does equally well as a relaxed touring car at slower speeds with the top down. I never thought I would ever enjoy owning a car like this, especially driving it year-round! I picked mine up used with very low miles, and for the price it was just too good to pass up. It still has the balance of the factory warranty, and the dealer has been great so far. A few highlights: The Bang and Olufsen stereo will not disappoint, even with the top down. The MMI Nav system has an incredible amount of features, but it does take time to master, so keep your owner's manual close. The heated seats coupled with the neck warmers and wind deflector will keep you cozy with the top down even on very cold days. The Quattro system is incredibly competent on slippery roads. This is just such a complete package in a convertible that's designed to be used as a daily driver. Audi's quality seems to have increased significantly in recent years, so hopefully the car will stand the test of time. So far I have had great luck with the dealer for servicing. Seems as though Audi is trying very hard to compete successfully against the other luxury brands. Update on 7/19/16: Been putting a lot of miles on the A5, and now at 21,000. It continues to be a great car to own. I did need to replace the tires though because of an alignment issue which caused the Pirellis to make a lot of noise. Other than that, it has been pretty much a trouble free ride with up to 30 mpg on the highway. It's an easy car to live with on a daily basis. Update on 1/20/17: Miles are now at 27,000 and the Audi continues to be trouble free. I put a set of Michelin Alpin Sports on for winter, and the car is wonderfully competent on slippery roads. A small disappointment is the sound quality of SiriusXM, especially when compared to HD FM stations and CDs. SiriusXM does not allow the sounds system to show off all it can truly do. Other than that, I do enjoy owning this vehicle a lot. I can't wait until it's warm enough again to put the top down! Update on 1/23/18: Miles are now at 42,000. The last year has been relatively trouble-free with the A5. The only issue was a bad fuel injector that was replaced under warranty. Other than that, the car continues to be a delight to own and drive. The mileage continues to be very good, it's always enjoyable to drive, and it goes like a tank in the winter. If you're thinking about purchasing an A5 cabrio, I would highly recommend it. It's a very easy car to live with regardless of the season. Update on 1/24/20: The A5 now has 68,000 miles on it. The extended warranty ran out, so now I'm on my own. Took it on a 3,000 mile round trip to Florida, and it performed flawlessly except for an oil level sensor issue. Seems this is a somewhat common issue and an easy fix, but it is alarming when the car tells you to add oil when it's not needed. I did need the steering half-shaft replaced a second time in two years, and the car has developed a few electrical quirks during the past couple of years including the automatic power window not working correctly on the passenger side sometimes and the inability to adjust the volume when using the satellite radio sometimes. I do still enjoy the car very much, but wonder what lies ahead because it has not been exactly a maintenance-free vehicle. Also, a trip to the Audi dealer almost always is not cheap and you may need to travel a distance to find one. It may partially explain why the resale value on these is not that great. My recommendation would be to find one with as few miles as possible that was not used in winter. They are delightful cars though! Update on 7/25/20: The A5 just hit 75,000 miles and needs a $700 required maintenance that includes spark plugs. It seems as though this car could be designed to be more maintenance free than it is. Other than that, the car is still a joy to drive. A recent trip of 1,600 miles returned 32 mpg. Other than the quirk of the radio volume not working occasionally (usually fixes itself with a restart of the car), the A5 continues to be generally trouble-free. Used A5 Cabriolets can be found at reasonable prices, and I continue to recommend this car knowing that maintenance costs will be above average. Update on 1/27/23: The A5 continues to be part of the family, and mileage is now at 95,000. There have been no major issues. The car needs to have front brakes done soon, but at roughly 50k on each set, that seems reasonable. The car is showing a little age though. The top shows some wear where it folds, and the brown dye on the seats is wearing a little in a few spots. The auto-adjusting headlights are not working properly, so the low beams are very low. Also a couple of the dash gauge background lights flicker occasionally. But overall the car continues to be a joy to own, especially when the weather is nice outside. We have other cars for daily drivers, so the Audi gets used less than in the past. That's ok as it is 10 years old at this point. I'm hoping we will hold on to it for the foreseeable future unless there is a major repair that needs to be considered.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

A car you can Drive all year round

roadrunner42, 02/21/2014
updated 08/24/2021
2012 Audi A5 2.0T Premium quattro 2dr Convertible AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
31 of 33 people found this review helpful

There are cars you ride in and cars you drive. This is a driver. Skip the FWD car with the CVT transmission. You want the quattro version with the magnificent ZF 8HP transmission. Car feels solid like a block of granite, with little wind noise. Over MPH in winter time is around 22-25 on premium fuel. Turbo motor feels like a v6 or larger car, with no turbo lag. Interior is nice and heated seats are a must in cold climates, as is the back up camera, as the only thing you see out the back is the sky. B&O stereo is very nice but don't pass on the standard Audi stereo as that too sounds good Update 8/23/16 Still love the A5 but one has to wonder if the people who design these cars actually drive them. For instance the window drops down when you open the car. Know what happens in the winter when at work when it sleets out. The window freezes up and will not drop down so you can't open the door, or if you can open the door you can't close it. Of course remote start would help but Audi will not offer one even though VW does. Another thing, eighteen inch low profile tires. I'm on the third set in 20,000 miles. Hitting a pot hole rattles the fillings, and then you can expect side wall damage or an outright blowout. Does not matter what brand of tire either. Water pump failure at 30K would cost over $1000 if not under warranty. Crank case ventilation valve bad at 35K have to replace the entire valve cover, really? Yep. Warped brake rotors a 35K miles. I do love this car but, but when we went shopping for an SUV instead of buying an Q5 we purchased a Venza. 7 years in and this car is still tight and drives like a dream. Water pumps are a major issue on these cars. On number FOUR with less than 80,000 on the car. Audi has paid for them all but, a PLASTIC water pump, really Audi.

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Audi-awesome car

Dwise, 02/10/2016
2013 Audi A5 2.0T Prestige quattro 2dr Convertible AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Amazing car, luxury, comfort, and great looks-pleased for 3 yrs and NO issues at all

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable sporty coupe that still looks great

Andy, 08/12/2016
2011 Audi A5 2.0T Premium quattro 2dr Coupe AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
32 of 35 people found this review helpful

I've had my 2011 A5 s-line 2.0t for over 4 years now, and it has met or exceeded all expectations. It did have an oil burning issue that is common to certain years of a4/a5/q5 with the 2.0t engine. This was fixed under warranty without issue and the car hasn't burnt a drop of oil since. Only other unscheduled maintenance in 4 years was a pcv valve that recently went bad and started making a screeching noise ($350 iirc). Overall at 73k miles now it has been very reliable, maybe moreso than expected, given my previous experience with owning vw/Audi, knock on wood. The car is on its 3rd set of tires, and I have not replaced brake pads and rotors yet in the 4 years and 50k miles I have owned it. City driving will give 21-22 mpg, with 30+ on the freeway (I've gotten over 500 miles on a tank before). The car is not fast but it is quick enough, and handles well. The build quality is great, especially interior materials, with no significant rattles on what is almost a 6 year old car. Rear seat space is good for a two door - I am 6'2 and have ridden back there comfortably on reasonably short trips. Trunk is large for a coupe. If I could change anything, it would be to have the sunroof open and not just tilt. Bluetooth audio would also be nice, not just phone compatibility. I am still a huge fan of the a5's styling and think it will look classic for years to come. I plan to keep it for at least a few more years. Overall I would highly recommend this car to a prospective buyer, just make sure it has has the piston ring/oil consumption repair done under warranty!

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.5 out of 5 stars

Perfect balance of style and luxury

gavrik, 12/03/2011
2011 Audi A5 2.0T Premium quattro 2dr Coupe AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

As a former MB owner, I gave them first chance. Test drove several models and was left with that empty feeling of not being 100% satified. Several of my buddies who are BMW junkies had suggested I gave 335Xi a looksee. Yes, a great upgrade from Mercedes but still something was missing. Oh, that's right the car looked blah outside. So, my 3rd choice was the A5. Somewhat smaller than 335xi, I am not a big guy, the car felt a little tight but with a miriad of seating positions I was able to find one that was perfect for me. The car looks and drives like a dream. It has enough power for me to drive fast from standstill, I love the cockpit and the way it is laid out. This one is a keeper.

Report Abuse
12345...9
Items per page: