Skip to main content
12345...6

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
1 out of 5 stars

Poor reliability and efficiency; worse support

E.H., 06/23/2021
2021 Volvo XC40 Recharge Pure Electric P8 4dr SUV AWD (electric DD)
60 of 62 people found this review helpful

I fell in love with this car when I test drove it. It's snappy and fun, it's quiet, and it looks great. Then I bought it, and everything went to hell. There were electrical problems every day I owned it. The glass spontaneously shattered (nothing hit it) and covered us in sharp fragments and nearly caused a deadly accident. Volvo's Roadside Assistance refused to respond (told me to call insurance), and their Support could not be bothered to help. The Volvo of Tacoma GM suggested I write up the entire experience and submit it to the Volvo corporate office, which I did in full detail. It was sent early in the work day, and they promised a response in 2 hours. I didn't hear back until the following day, and what I received was a formulaic response that asked me to re-type all the details I had just sent them. Either they had not bothered to read it, or Volvo has their Support people burden their customers so that they give up and go away. So after less than three months as a first-time Volvo customer, I am going away. I am paying the price to sell this rubbish so that I can buy something from a company that actually cares about its build quality, reliability, and support.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Volvo XC40 Recharge - typical "Volvo Unreliable"

JohnK, 06/17/2021
updated 08/23/2021
2021 Volvo XC40 Recharge Pure Electric P8 4dr SUV AWD (electric DD)
75 of 78 people found this review helpful

My Volvo XC40 Recharge had multiple issues, just 2 days after taking delivery of the XC40 Recharge center console crashed and reset to factory default, and lost navigation display in driver side. Even after a few visits to Volvo dealer, issues are not fully resolved. After dealer fixed the driver navigation display issue, the car is stuck in the “guest profile”, I am unable to login to Google account. At this point, your dealer is unable to fix the issue properly and whole is very frustrating that nothing really works properly. Volvo Mobile app on this car is simply terrible. If you click on the Demo mode on the mobile app you can't get out of that demo mode. And you can't simply reconnect either- simply awful. Looks like some high school dropout wrote the mobile app. And also, you have to set the privacy setting to fork over all car data to Google before anything works properly- Charge level won't show unless you set the privacy setting open to all your data to Google and Volvo. I heard about this about Volvo, but, good grief this very frustrating that your dealer can't properly fix the issues.This is my first Volvo and probably my last! I had similar frustrating experience my Tesla Model 3 with leaky tail lights and leaky roof, but at least Tesla actually fix the issue. Not the Volvo, can't seem to figure it what is wrong with the car. Update: At ~80 miles infotainment system got stuck in reloading screen and got reset to factory default and lost driver side navigation view. At~120 miles stuck in “Guest profile” and requires full reload of Software- dealer couldn’t even fix this repairs without help from Volvo USA. At ~580 miles AC stopped working in middle of 95 degree weather. At~640 miles, looks like June update happen to car and YouTube music and few other apps stop working. At ~720 miles, car reboot itself awhile driving to Volvo dealer to fix other issues. This cannot be safe to drive. More update: At ~1140 miles shut down and restarted in middle of driving again. At ~1500 miles shut down again. At ~1800 miles charging port stuck in Green. At ~2220 miles dealer finally replace IHU, AC issue is not fixed. Volvo think that replacing IHU will fix the Air Condition. At ~2250 miles same day that IHU was replaced infotainment system reboot again. Yes, Volvo is fully aware of Air Condition issues with compressor on Volvo XC 40 Recharge- they are not sure how to fix it and also part that required fix is out of stock for next 6 months.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
2 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Take my Volvo, please

L C, 11/27/2021
2021 Volvo XC40 Recharge Pure Electric P8 4dr SUV AWD (electric DD)
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

Do your research! Do your research! Do your research! Same issue as review I just read, center console computer went out on my maiden voyage home from the dealership. Took almost 2 weeks to secure a loaner just to have it looked at. After 2 days I picked it up and the console went out on the way home and 3 more times before I could get back to the dealer the same day. They loaner I got was the same make, model and color -- all electric. 3 days later the rear brakes locked up (according to the manual, these are proprietary and can only be serviced by Volvo, great another red flag). There's more but I won't bore you, the wind up is that it took almost a month to fix it. 4 weeks ago, in the middle of this month of no car, I contacted Volvo requesting a full refund. They've been dragging it out hoping I lose interest. One more complaint, I was promised by the dealer as well as in a Volvo ad that I'd receive a home charging unit for free, nearly two months later it's still a no-show. Do your research!

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
1 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

xc40 recharge electronics buggy

Lynn R, 08/26/2021
2021 Volvo XC40 Recharge Pure Electric P8 4dr SUV AWD (electric DD)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

Volvo has not figured out why I can't get connection to on call to work..2 days in service so far and multiple calls to Volvo USA. The console periodically needs reset or Maps stops working. Modem only reads AT &T and my account does not connect to Volvo..so no metrics or alerts. You need it to know when charged or if charging. Nobody is properly trained or helpful..the car was rolled out without testing. The Swedish pride is gone..instead you have Chinese rigging. I regret buying this car . should have bought Tesla Y

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

Wonderful mechanically. Shameful Electronics

Cleo Rodney, 06/19/2021
2021 Volvo XC40 Recharge Pure Electric P8 4dr SUV AWD (electric DD)
49 of 52 people found this review helpful

Bought the vehicle 2 weeks ago, fully optioned. Silver color. Looks wonderful, drives beautifully- comfortable fast and responsive. So 5 stars to Volvo for the basic mechanical design and build. But electric cars in particular are supposed to showcase the latest in IT linked enhancements. Being fitted with "native Google"we assumed that the infotainment component would come close to matching Tesla. And maybe it could, but with hands-down the most useless manual (paper and on line) of any car I have ever driven, a user interface that is tersely obtuse to the point of incomprehensibility, and a system instability that requires frequent resets, it is impossible to actually get the car to perform as the advertisements claim. Volvo USA don't appear to have invested in dealer training, or if they have the money has been squandered, since neither the dealer reps nor the "OnCall Help" staff have a clue either. Maybe Volvo did the design and Geely the programming and UI, but something somewhere has gone badly awry and the car is simply not fit for purpose.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page: